DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.








Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Missions: Gone Long Gone (5A-03)
by Denise M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2017 14:53:54

This mission is poorly written. It's full of sterotypical tropes: the hypersexualized female contact, an alternate bid for the mission property, a poorly set up ambush that any player could see from a mile away, a 'rescue' from said poor ambush (that should almost never go off because the party avoided the ambush), and an overly deadly final combat with stats that can't actually exist in the game rules. Avoid this mission.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Missions: Gone Long Gone (5A-03)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: The Seattle Gambit (Enhanced Fiction)
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2017 15:44:39

This was a fun little Shadowrun short story. I love the Halloweeners and the author did a good job giving them more personality than they usually enjoy in Shadowrun lore. The setting was very well described throughout the story. The rundown neighborhoods where the Halloweeners and the First Nation gangs have their turf wars really spring to 'life'. Street-slang is in full use in this short story, and it really brings that Shadowrun ambience to the story. The story is a fun, entertaining read.

The story revolves around Yuri, a former Russian army man, and his somewhat more mysterious girlfriend, Soren. Yuri is given the right mix of mystery and detail for his backstory, but I wish Soren was developed a bit more.

There's a bit of adult content in the story, which honestly felt a little bit out of place for me.

As a Shadowrun GM this story greased my hamster wheel for how I could better integrate gangs into my Shadowrun adventures other than offering them up as easy target practice for my players.

The crunch at the end of the story includes stats for a few weapons and some NPCs, in addition to a negative perk for bad cyberware. I thought these were well done. I especially liked the inclusion of incendiary rockets. Those might actually make it into one of my games sometime. I know that this is a short story and not an adventure, but still I think it would have been nice to include the stat block for Yuri, and maybe one or two of the other major characters. Then maybe I could write them in as guest-stars of one of my adventures for the players to run into.

For the asking price of $2, I don't know how much more you could ask for. It was a good, entertaining purchase as far as I'm concerned.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Seattle Gambit (Enhanced Fiction)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Mr J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2017 21:37:46

Compact rules light version of Shadowrun rules that run very quickly. All special abilities are channeled through a universal Shadow Amp system that seems like a good idea. We made characters in under an hour and played during our first session.

Problems with the game

1) Could be organized better, you can flip all over to find all the rules for a particular subject that really could have been consolidated. 2) Mistakes, some pregens and amp designs violate the rule. 3) Drones and spirits are overpowered as written 4) This doesn't really need to be a round robin narrative game, it works great as a traditional GM run game. Not sure the Cues and Tags really have much use either way. 5) Most importantly, if you're interested in GMing this game, you have to know how Shadowrun is supposed to work already. There are whole subject areas that are just not explained in the rules aside from a quick mentions (Notably astral space, most of the Matrix, good luck if you don't know how technomancers and sprites work together)

I'm not familiar with Shadowrun 5th edition at all, so I'm actually adapting the structure of 2nd edition to create the framework for my Anarchy game. It's really not something that I should have to do, Catalyst should have provided a better built in framework so you didn't have to know how 5th edition is supposed to work. However, it has been a fun way of playing 2050s Shadowrun that doesn't require much player knowledge of crunch to play.
BTW, The systems are so close that once you figure out the way the old damage scale worked, you can rapidly convert NPCs and equipment from old supplements. I am working on converting spells and cyberware/bioware from my old 2nd edition supplements.

Also if you searcj around a bit a user called Gingivitis on multiple platforms has done excellent work revising some of the problem areas, finding cool uses for plot points, creaitng generic threats and a very good quick reference guide for running the game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: Forbidden Arcana (Advanced Magic Rulebook)
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2017 10:30:23

This is a great book. It might be one of the best SR5 books as of late.

The book does have its flaws. There are typos and editing errors, and some of the mechanics are broken as-written. Some of the rules are ambiguos. This is why I rate the book 4/5.

However, those are relatively minor complaints - the book as a whole is tremendously informative and extremely fun to read. I really enjoyed reading it, and the piece about the bridge in the astral literally gave me goosebumps. Phenomenal writing.

Even if you have a bone to pick with the rules and magic in SR5, the book is worth it just for the flavor text. And I actually like a lot of the rules in this book too.

SR5 authors! If you are reading this - please do not be discouraged by some of the hate on the reddit and forums. It is a good book. Just please pay a little more attention to the rules.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Forbidden Arcana (Advanced Magic Rulebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/24/2017 21:28:42

Shadowrun: The Complete Trog is a runner resource for Shadowrun and this makes it unusual at it is a player facing book in many ways, providing world information to make playing orks and trolls deeper and more tied to the setting. It provides considerable, if scattershot, information for ork and trolls and how they fit into the Sixth World. For any campaign that features orks and trolls (and their struggles) prominently, it will prove to be a vital resource.

Shadowrun: The Complete Trog, is the first of the Shadowrun Runner Resources for the 5th edition of Shadowrun, this particular book is all about how orks and trolls, and their variants, fit into the Sixth World of Shadowrun.

After a short introduction to what is in the book, we get two fiction sections, and then starts with a section entitled What Are You? Which is an in-game look at being a trog with commentary from others. This gives an interesting, and fairly nuanced, view on what life is like in the Shadowrun world, at least the American section, for those who are orks and trolls.

Living as a Trog in . . . looks at how orks and trolls are treated in various places across the Sixth World. Starting with the Black Forest Troll Republic (in what used to be Germany), life in the Native American Nations, Chicago, Dubai, Seattle, Neo-Tokyo and Nagasaki, and many more. Mostly providing information about places that have not had their own sourcebooks recently. These provide useful snapshots of places for characters to be from or visit. It would have been nice to see more information on the variants of orks and trolls and how they fit in, this is done a bit for the giants in Scandinavia, but other metavariants get a sentence or two at best.

Working as a Trog in . . . talks about what roles and what challenges are faced by those who work for the various megacorporations. This is useful for playing characters who are former corporate employees and for interacting (and infiltrating) those same corporations when you have orks and trolls on the team. I would have liked to have seen a little more expansion on the government employee section (they only covered Seattle). What is life like for those who join a national military in North America for example would have been exceedingly useful.

Trog Heroes is about the orks and trolls who have made it in the Sixth World whether by talent (such as rock star Orxanne) or birth (such as King Alphono XIII of Spain), a dozen successful people who can be inspirational (or not). Mostly this is interesting world background but there are some potential plot hooks woven in but you have to disentangle them. There is also a very short (page and a half) section on Or’zet, the Orkish language with some useful words and phrases.

Trog Enemies is just that, various groups ranging from political organizations to terrorist cells and powerful individuals that are oppose to ork and troll rights at the least and seek to eliminate them entirely at most. In many ways, this is one of the more useful sections, it gives you instant enemies but it is also states that there is a racist conspiracy of vast proportions that is manipulating the megacorps and governments . . . While I have no problem with an anti-meta-human conspiracy, the megacorps should not to be reduced to patsies of racist creeps, the corporations are the true villains of the Shadowrun world. (Also amusing, one of the enemies is a UCAS Senator, never once in his description, it is mentioned which state he is from.)

Trog Runners provides history and statistics (for both Shadowrun and the Shadowrun Anarchy rule sets) for sixteen well-known Ork and Troll runners, including 2XL, Bull and Clockwork. Followed by nine example starting ork and troll runners. Useful for many campaign uses: contacts, mentors or even rivals or enemies.

United We Stomp: Trog Groups & Societies is just that, starting with three groups based out of Sweetwater Creek area of Atlanta (CAS): Southern Guard (security), Trog Rock Recording (entertainment), and Big Tech (guess). All good and interesting companies, but they read a bit like the characters from someone’s campaign, which is not all bad but they have a bit too perfect of a shine to them. But good to see some more information on MoM. (Mothers of Metahumans) and the ORC (Ork Rights Committee) which have been around as long as the setting has.

It concludes with Everything Trog, new quality (mostly ork or troll only), new gear (just a little, one new piece of cyberware, one new vehicle, one new weapon and some interesting utility items), and some life modules for people who use that character generation method. Sadly, there is no index but the table of contents is fairly complete.

If you are playing an ork or troll, this is an excellent resource, it will give all you to build a solid character foundation. If your campaign is focused around orks, trolls or the struggle for metahuman rights, get this book. If neither of these are true, it is still a worthwhile reference but not a must have book.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: The Complete Trog (Runner Resources)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: Succession Wars
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2017 12:12:14

As said above: this is for either new players who are just starting out, or people who absolutely must own every BattleTech product ever made. It's literally a compilation from prior sources: there's no new text, and, for that matter, no effort to rationalize the timing of any given entry, so references to "recent events" on one 'Mech's entry may be ancient history for another one, which for a new player might lead to some confusion, especially as then the opening fluff is referring to an even farther-in-the-future period of BattleTech history.

The artistic style varies wildly based on what book it was taken from: the rough line sketches from the original TRO: 3025 sit alongside the clean well-inked drawings from TRO: 3050-Upgrade. It does omit all the Unseen (those classic 'Mechs whose original art was the subject of a rights dispute). Given that many of the Unseen 'Mechs have had revised artwork in either Project Phoenix or in the Combat Manuals series, I would have really liked if they had included those 'Mechs as well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: Succession Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: Serrated Edge (Denver Adventure 1)
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 09:20:38

So good! I cannot recommend this enough. This is probably my new favorite SR5 adventure.

It gives you everything to run a truly dark, difficult, and engaging game. The plot is well-structured, the decisions the team has to make have actual dramatic weight attached to them, and the players have to think and plan to succeed. The adventure also shows just how dark and ruthless the Sixth World is. Love it!

It is not without flaws, of course. The pay for most of the runs is weirdly low. The specific scenes are poorly organized - you have to read the whole scene before it starts to make sense. The Matrix part is written by someone stuck in the previous edition. But those are all really easy to fix.

P.S. I have not run it yet, so I may need to adjust the review after I am done with this adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Serrated Edge (Denver Adventure 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: NAIS Fourth Succession War Military Atlas, Volume 1
by Jason T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2017 16:15:07

Decent quality, but PDF is missing pages 61-64. What a rip off.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: NAIS Fourth Succession War Military Atlas, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3058 Upgrade
by Simon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 12:20:51

A nice follow-up TR to 3050 and 3055 with excellent mech and vehicle drawings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Technical Readout: 3058 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shadowrun: Battle of Manhattan (Boardroom Backstabs)
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 10:15:36

Oh, boy... I am a fan of Shadowrun. I love Shadowrun products and don't mind typos and errors - the products are usually amazing despite all that. But this. This adventure is flat out terrible.

I was looking for an adventure to run for a new group I assembled. I can't prepare my own adventures as I have very little prep time available, but my experience with other Shadowrun adventures has been great before this one - so I decided to buy the Battle of Manhattan.

Well, this adventure requires so much prep time (or on the fly improvisation) that it pretty much defeats the purpose of buying an adventure. A ton of things are omitted or left up to the GM. Some things are not explained, like how Shadowrunners smuggle their gear on a flight to the Rotten Apple. Or why anybody wanted to hire outsiders anyway. Then there are maps with doors and stairways missing.

There are some OK ideas in this, but the adventure is a mess. I am probably going to use some of the NPC stats in my other games, which is why I give it 2 stars.

But if you are looking for a good adventure with cohesive plot that is explained well and that doesn't require a ton of preparation - just buy Splintered State.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Battle of Manhattan (Boardroom Backstabs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: LAAF
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 19:00:52

not surprised that the Steiners come out with the best jump ship navy left, the military seems much less effected by the social climbing officers



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: LAAF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: The Clans
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:58:52

slight disapointment that there's little info on the home clans there also seems to be lack of good info on many of the inner sphere clans compared to older books but maybe thats do to the clans finially smarting up on the intellenge front



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: The Clans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: Periphery
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:56:26

i find the Periphery book a little disapointing with the lack of info on some of the smaller realms but otherwise the information is very good



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: Periphery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: FWLM
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:54:30

in many ways seeing the leauge fracture is not a surprise and the military will be all over the place loyalty wise wether it's obvious know or not



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: FWLM
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

BattleTech: Field Report: DCMS
by william j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2017 18:52:54

Finding the DCMS completely rebuilding from enimes within and without is not surprising great info on the effect on the military and the fact the civilians are told as little as possible



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Field Report: DCMS
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 966 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles