DriveThruCards.com
Find Category
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.

 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Bulldogs! Fate Core Edition
by Lee A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 14:46:31

I love this game so far. It's such a novel concept.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! Fate Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Backstory Cards: Distant Worlds
by Blake H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2017 15:00:56

So I had already purchased the original Backstory Cards, which seemed pricey but were pretty decent in play. Since I'm currently running a space opera game using Uncharted Worlds, I thought I'd try these.

There are fifteen new cards, a two-page PDF. For a $5.00 price point, I'd have thought there'd be more meat. The cards themselves are OK, but not that amazing or creative. This is a $1.99 product at best. I see now that they've marked down the price on the physical deck + PDF to $5.00, which might still be high, but does me no good. As it is, I feel ripped off. Caveat emptor.

My recommendation is to skip this one and any other Backstory Card supplements at this price point.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Backstory Cards: Distant Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Blake, Thanks for your review. It looks like we made a mistake in pricing the extension cards' PDF. I'm fixing that now in the DTC system, and I'd like to make it up to you. I'll send you a refund, or a copy of the physical cards. Your choice. Just send a note to support@brooklynindiegames.com. -Tim
Spacenoir: A Bulldogs! Technoir Transmission
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2017 20:28:44

Spacenoir: A Bulldogs! Technoir Transmission, is a good and consice small game module, with all you need to play the game. I like it and give it 10/10.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spacenoir: A Bulldogs! Technoir Transmission
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Backstory Cards
by Tim P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2016 02:42:56

Far from a new idea, but perhaps the best executed I have seen so far. With a few exceptions we found the cards to be exactly right in directed vs. choice balance. In other words, the cards give exactly enough guidance to get the creative juices flowing. The rules recommend you skip cards that don't make sense, and I would even suggest GM's prune the cards before use to take out the ones that they don't think will fit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Backstory Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Backstory Cards
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2016 16:43:42

Works as intended. Great for weaving backstory and creating hooks for future adventures. Builds player investment in the story and the characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! Fate Core Edition
by Brian T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2016 17:11:41

All you need to start a rollicking sci-fi epic in FATE, using either the setting provided, or as a basis for your own adventures.

I appreciated how it gave you the building blocks to make your own races, and build on a deep, but not overly complicated system.

My only criticisim would be to echo the wish that the PDF had bookmarks in it to get to the major sections quickly.

I'm looking forward to FATE Core suppliments to this setting when they come out in PDFs, especially the Ports of Call planet book to save some time in generating additonal setting, but there's really quite a lot you can do just with this book alone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! Fate Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bulldogs! Fate Core Edition
by Pierre S [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2015 17:03:06

Bulldogs! is a reworked version of a previous release for FATE version 3, re-released for Fate Core (there was also a d20 version). It is a game centered on the Bulldogs, space truckers for the TransGalaxy corporation involved in hauling Class D cargo in aging rust-bucket freighters, the shipments nobody else wants to take. Characters sign on with TransGalaxy for 5 years, and ply the space-lanes in a galaxy far, far away, in the wild Frontier Zone straddling the democratic but ruthless Union of the Saldralla and the theocratic Devalkamanchan Republic.

Bulldogs! is complete with Fate rules included, but the presentation may be a bit back-to-front. In exposing how a character is constructed, some Fate features may not be immediately explained, so people totally new to Fate reading this might need to flip through some pages and get things straight before making choices for their character's Aspects, Skills and Stunts.

Characters can be of 10 principal alien species: human-like Arsubarans, intelligent Robots, and 8 more, which were well-written and not just humans in funny costumes. Each species has species aspects and special abilities which cost Refresh points. Attitudes and sample names round out each description. Guidelines are also given to create your own species.

Characters cannot be created without first considering the TransGalaxy Ship they are in, and their Captain (usually but not always an NPC). Characters have 7 starting Aspects, but two are reserved for Aspects relating to your species heritage, one is tied to your the reason why you signed with TransGalaxy (which is your "Trouble" in this game), one to your relationship to your Captain, and two more Aspects resulting from how you "crossed paths" with Crewmates. Characters have a whopping 6 Refresh (but less if you pick a species with lots of inherent abilities, or if you want more than 2 Stunts or 2 Gear points.) Money is abstracted by 10 Credit boxes for major purchases -- but as a Bulldog, you have 9 of those checked, meaning you are in the debt of TransGalaxy principally.

The "dials" of these Fate Core rules are set up for bold action. There are 4 Conditions each with its own kind of Stress track: Winded, Angry, Stunned and Broken. Using up a track will lead to a Consequence related to that Condition, and depending on the level the Consequence may take some time to remove. Armor is in Mild (-2), Moderate (-4) or Severe (-6) varieties, obviously built to absorb stress of those magnitudes. Energy shields can be added to absorb even more as well. Weapons have light, medium and heavy categories and, depending on their category, can "bypass" one or more lower Conditions to deal Stress on a higher track. So weapons and armor can be powerful science-fiction tropes but operating on a soft, squidgy being who doesn't have much inherent defense. Like I said, a game built for bold, swashbuckling rock 'em sock 'em action.

There follows a standard discussion of Fate rules, a slightly reworked list of 18 Skills, and a discussion of Stunts appropriate to each Skill and the setting's style. Gear is covered: equipment meant to rise above the mundane, with information on creating your own and figuring out the gear's worth in Gear Points. Spaceship rules and combat are described. TransGalaxy is paying for your ship, fuel and basic maintenance, but refuses to pay for your adventurous "excursions" or ammo for combat or anything else you might have to do despite company policy! Larger categories of spaceships have more of the lesser Stress Tracks, and their powerful weapon categories can again "bypass" the lower Stress tracks of enemy ships. There follows information about Conflict design (including villains and their minions), and tying them together to make lengthy Adventures. A couple of pages on setting up campaigns with other kinds of characters rounds out the book.

All told, this is a strong, action-oriented Fate game with colourful aliens and working-stiff ethic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Backstory Cards
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2015 07:54:39

These are cool inspirational cards (and a page or so of rules) to get your game flowing. I feel they're a little pricey for a 7 page PDF, especially when you don't get a card back image to brighten your printout.

They're laid out 9-up on a page so it's a simple print, cut, slot into deck protectors and shuffle.

You can use them either to get the creative juices flowing while you're creating characters - like an expanded version of the "This is your connection to the other PCs" options in Numenera and The Strange. I think I'm going to use them in play - players each get a hand of 3 and they can use them to flesh things out as play progresses and we're thinking of doing flashbacks.

I wanted to get in on these when the Kickstarter was running but I must've missed the digital option - international shipping was prohibitively expensive. It still is on playing card type products. RPGNow please source a printer in Europe who can do these for you!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Backstory Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Astrozombies Must Die!: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2013 04:16:47

Astrozombies Must Die! provides a quick fix adventure for someone looking to fill a single session. I ran a game of it in about 2-hours with some snipping of the content, so you could easily make it 3 - 4 hours - which makes it perfect for a convention demo. While written for the Fate driven Bulldog! system, the adventure will work with any flavour of Fate (or Fudge for that matter) - I used Fate Accelerated.

The adventure presents a premise and a loose structure of how the player characters can get from the start, out to the stranded ship, then slowly uncover what happened and the threat standing between them and returning the cargo to it's rightful owner. The game includes stats for the Astrozombies, their Captain and Engineer - in four different flavours of increasingly power and difficulty to handle. I ran with the Fresh Meat (the lowest), but would have opted for Trouble or greater if I had more than 2 hours to spare. It means you can adapt to your group size, expertise with Fate, and desire for challenge.

One added bonus - I found the cover illustration really handy as a prop. I printed it out, used tacky glue to apply to cardboard (from a cereal box) and then cut it out as a standee. When the Astrozombies reveal themselves to the characters for the first time - voila! - you have a visual reference so that they know what they're up against (though the descriptions in the text reverse the way the image works - with a coloured skull inside a roiling black flame).

Great and FREE! What more can you ask for?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astrozombies Must Die!: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
by Martijn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2012 16:02:45

Nice scenario!

Could do with a bit of editing though. I noticed an "it's" that should be an its ("its security"), but what really bothered me was Javal Kran switching from male to female and back. Mostly she's female, but "his guards", and "He's already talked to his superiors". Likely the trace of incomplete editing after a gender change.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stormy Weather: A Bulldogs! Adventure Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Ports of Call: The Frontier Zone
by Markus S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2012 16:28:56

While the Bulldogs! RPG rocks, Ports of Call does not. A collection of anthropomorphic animals whose society and fashion exactly resemble their clearly recognizable models on Earth. Nothing alien or futuristic about it, a large part of PoC feels like bad persiflage. Not what I want my Space Opera game to be like. There are a couple of cool things in the book, too, but not enough to make it worth buying.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Ports of Call: The Frontier Zone
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Kingdom of Nothing
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2012 16:53:14

Kingdom of Nothing is not your typical RPG: for a few examples, Players don't make their own characters--at least half of a player's character is generated by the other players and the Narrator of the game; there are No dice--challenge results are decided by tossing coins (which integrates with the themes of the game in a most impressive manner); though still open ended as most RPGs are--there are some defininte win and lose conditions for the characters which act as rewards and punishments for them.

The rules are a little sparse in areas, but I regard this as an invitation to write my own. I'm intent on e-mailing my rules to Galileo Games--maybe they will be included in a future edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdom of Nothing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2012 15:48:05

A must-buy for anyone wanting sci-fi for their D20 games. Good background. Artwork is ok. Some interesting races (the Templari look a little drow-like). Also has a race creation section.

The only niggle: a thick black border on every page (this will drain the ink quite a bit. A print-friendly version would have been nice.

A good buy for £1.26



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bulldogs! (d20 Edition)
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2012 21:52:53

An awesome book! Somethng every player should have. Even if you don't plan to play a D20 sci-fi game this has some awesome content. I've used the race creation system in most D20 games I've played sense finding this book and several of the classes can easily fit in other systems! BUY THIS BOOK!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! (Fate Classic Edition)
by Leonardo P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2012 22:49:18

Looks: The art is simple, but good. Liked a lot the layout and format of the book, keeps it easy and quick to read and find stuff.

Writing: The writing is good, it shows the FATE system very well and it has nice explanations.

Content: Now, I think this is the best Sci-Fi FATE implementation out there. The organization of the book is very good, the FATE system rules are well presented and all the sic-fi stuff is pretty nicely done. It has some standard species (or races) and a great ruleset and guideline to create your own races, also I really like the way they incorporate races into the FATE system. Most parts of the contents includes guidelines to creating your own stuff with some really nice rules. You can create starships, weapons, species and stunts that match your scenario with ease and not worry about them being unbalanced. It also has some rules to work as a crew on your spaceship, you assign positions and responsibilities for the crew members and they act different in space combat, for example.

Awesome book! When I'm creating my own FATE games and settings I mostly use this book as a reference.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bulldogs! (Fate Classic Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 34 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles