DriveThruCards.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.

 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Feng Shui 2
by BENJAMIN C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2016 16:44:05

I love this system. I've been GMing it for a while and my players love it. It's quite similar to two other games we love, The Strange and Star Wars: Edge of the Empire.

Feng Shui 2's two strongest points, the Setting and Mechanics, are also a bit difficult to describe simply. I hope the following comparions help inform GMs as they consider buying this book.

Setting-wise, the game is similar to Monte Cook Games' The Strange RPG and Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's book series The Deathgate Cycle.

  • Multiple settings exist in which there are different rules for each, providing a large variety in scenery and situations.
  • A dangerous "space between worlds" exists where the players/protagonists can go and use to travel to different settings.
  • Portals weave the worlds together, and are important strategic points.
  • Many factions exist and often entice the players/protagonists to work for them.

Mechanics-wise, the game mirrors Fantasy Flight Games's Star Wars: Edge of the Empire.

  • In combat (which is the game's main activity), one roll resolves both hitting and damaging the target.
  • Weapons and other attacks have preset damage values, modified by the characters' attributes and attack rolls.
  • Enemies have multiple tiers of difficulty, and the lowest level of enemy (mooks for FS2, minions for EOTE) goes down on any successful hit.
  • Characters advance by choosing "Schticks", closely resembling the perk/talent tree of EOTE in terms of power level or abilities added.

I should mention that the mechanical similarities to Edge of the Empire stop there.

  • No custom dice required. Regular 6-sided dice will do.
  • Actions have binary outcomes.
  • To create a character, you print the archtype you want, add a name, and add a story hook.
  • Advancing a character requires little book-keeping.
  • No huge number of splat books (there are 2 or 3, as opposed to EOTE's 20+). Truthfully, you could buy this book and have everything you need to play a long-term campaign.


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Bonin Horse: Cyberpunk 2020 Adventure
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2016 14:44:46

An interesting take on an underwater adventure in the Cyberpunk universe. A few surprises, and concepts that could be borrowed for other adventures as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Bonin Horse: Cyberpunk 2020 Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Feng Shui 2: Secrets of the Chi War
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2016 04:18:38

This is a fun read, and so far the only supplement for FS2 which adds new material.

There are three rough sections to the book; a more detailed look at the standard junctures, a list of additional pop-up junctures that were not included in the core book and a pre-written adventure.

The extra details on the fours base junctures plus the Netherworld is very welcome, especially the focus on specific locations. I liked the look at Chang'an in the Ancient juncture, but the most useful is probably the three locations in the Future juncture, since it's the one setting you can't research via Wikipedia. They're all in the same format as similar write-ups in the core book - why you might go there, who you could fight and where, with a list of films for inspiration.

The pop-up junctures are just as fun as they were in the core book, and presented in much the same format. I believe these were originally stretch goals during the Kickstarter, and would have been in the core book if they had been met, though I'm not certain of that. There's no sense that there are the leftovers though, as they are fun mini-settings, and it's easy to see how you could have a great scenarios dipping in to one and playing to the conceits of the period or genre. My only real issue is that there are quite a few 'modern' junctures, and I'd have liked a bit more variety.

The adventure seems serviceable, though it didn't especially grab me. It makes use of the Tokyo setting detailed in the first section of the book, has a little bit of investiagtion, obviously some fighing and some time-travel matchmaking. You might want to tweak it a bit to tie into an ongoing campaign, but then I think that's usually assumed with Feng Shui.

Overall, I enjoyed reading the book and if I do get to run FS2 later, I think this will be a very useful resource to have. I'm hoping there will be more books coming out, even if only in PDF format. There's print version of this available, and it seems unlikely that there will be , but I could see a compilation of this and a few other similar products being sold for print on demand, if there are any others published. Well worth the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2: Secrets of the Chi War
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Feng Shui 2: Secrets of the Chi War
by Rennie S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2015 12:17:26

From top to bottom the re-release of the Feng Shui RPG is top-notch gaming fun. Secrets of the Chi war adds a lot more depth to an already rich world. It gives hints on characters and locations for all the major factions, which in Feng Shui world means more baddies to shoot at and expensive buildings to blow up. Kick butt. Blow things up. Save the world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Where the Deep Ones Are (Mini Mythos)
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/17/2015 17:57:18

The classic children’s book “Where the Wild Things Are” by Maurice Sendak has been parodied before, but rarely as successfully as in Ken Hite’s Where the Deep Ones Are. Ostensibly a childrens’ book, Deep Ones is a story of a boy who rebels and is banished to his room in punishment, subsequently discovering a hidden world that calls to him enchantingly.

Instead of Max, we now have Bobby, a boy who loves to eat fish. He also wears a frog-like costume with several tentacles dangling from the face, and it’s mentioned more than once in the text that he has a cousin named Larry Marsh. This boy is well on his way to becoming a Deep One himself, which parallels the story of Shadow Over Innsmouth, on which the actual tale of Where the Deep Ones Are is partly based.

Max travels in a boat on a magical river to Innsmouth, where he meets an old drunk that tries to warn him off. When Bobby mentions his cousin Larry Marsh the old man leaves, having “got skeert.” Bobby turns to the hotel for a meal that consists of bad bread, bad soup and even bad water – but lots and lots of fish. Bobby grows sleepy thanks to his full belly, and it’s then that the Deep Ones come for him.

The illustrations by Andy Hopp are perfect; they pay clear, loving homage to Maurice Sendak’s original work from WTWTA, while at the same time maintaining their own squamous integrity. Hopp was an excellent choice as illustrator for this book. After the first pass, go back again and study each picture more carefully; the level of small detail is impressive, and Hopp manages to sneak a number of Lovecraftian in-jokes into the backgrounds. Be sure to keep an eye out for the Cthulhoid salt and pepper shakers.

Where the Deep Ones Are is an amusing book that will comfort the soul of any true Lovecraft devotee. Perhaps a bit frightening for younger kids, (although the same was said of Where the Wild Things Are in its day) Where the Deep Ones Are is a loving tribute, both to Howard Phillips Lovecraft and to Maurice Sendak and his best-known work. Kenneth Hite and Andy Hopp are to be commended for producing such a delightful tome. Now in its second printing, Where the Deep Ones Are is a must-read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Where the Deep Ones Are (Mini Mythos)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Feng Shui 2
by Brett D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2015 07:39:01

Very cool RPG I hope to play or run soon: It's heavily based on player-enablement, with the players asked to add props and stunts to make combat exciting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Feng Shui 2
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/03/2015 19:06:06

Deserved of all the accolades it receives, Feng Shui was a seminal RPG of action movie violence that utilised a time-travel/alternative history conceit to be able to mesh together multiple settings into one big shoot out.

Feng Shui 2 steps up the physical presentation to a full colour edition closer to the vision of the original Daedalus Games game (before the company went belly up). The rules are also reviewed and streamlined, with some good additional sub-systems (like car chases) and an updated setting (with some sensible revisions to the future setting - including road warrior chimps..). The game runs faster than before and the setting is more open. If you haven’t experienced it before, and like the idea of action movie melodrama, you really need to give it a shot. One of the best introductory RPGs out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Marvin W. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2015 15:57:51

What can I say about Feng Shui 2?

Well for starters, I loved Feng Shui "1". It was one of the most fun and easiest to play RPGs out there.

That being said, I must inform anyone who is curious about Feng Shui 2 that as awesome and as much of a Home Run as Fen Shui was, Feng Shui 2 is easily a GRAND SLAM in comparison. Feng Shui's already streamlined and simple system has been even more streamlined in Feng Shui 2. Character Creation is way faster and simpler. Statistics have been minimized to work so much better.

All in all, its the best RPG purchase I've made in years. If you've played Feng Shui or are curious about playing a Hong Kong Action RPG, I STRONGLY suggest Feng Shui 2! You won't be disappointed, I sure wasn't!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Dave B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2015 05:52:33

The original Feng Shui was one of the best games that I have ever played. It changed the way I view, and write games, and it taught me so much about game design.

However, that was back in 1996, and many games have taken the lessons of Feng Shui, and built upon them. It is really the "father" of many of the games being published today.

So now we have Feng Shui 2, how does it look?

Amazing! It has streamlined and improved upon an already corker of a game!

Get it! Love it! Live It!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Dave H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2015 15:43:17

I have been playing Feng Shui since the original Daedalus edition, and have always had a great time with it. Kickstarted the new, upcoming book, started a campaign off of the playtest rules, and have not been disappointed.

If you like quick-playing, over-the-top action games, where rules do not get in the way, you will like this.

If you like rules-crunchy systems with a load of character options and rules/guidelines set up for almost any situation, this probably isn't for you. Then again, you might find Feng Shui wildly liberating... The only way to know is to pick it up and try... =)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Robert K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2015 19:00:05

I am fairly new to tabletop RPGs, and am one of the Kickstarter backers. Originally, I heard of Feng Shui 2 and backed the project merely to get the alpha version of the rules to evaluate the game. After having tried an OSR RPG, Fate, and a few other rules lite RPGs, my players just couldn't get into enjoying roleplaying. It's as likely due to my skills as game master as it is my players' newness to the concept of roleplaying.

But Feng Shui 2 seemed like an interesting alternative. I ran some test fights with my players, whipped up a few tools and resources, then started the campaign seed in the back. Brand new roleplayers were able to pick up concepts in a single night's roleplaying session. The game was entertaining, fast paced, and just as over-the-top cinematic as advertised. Best of all, the one player I wasn't sure would continue past the first session was eager and chomping at the bit to continue playing. Even better, my players relaxed and loosened up actually started roleplaying their characters.

Circumstances, holidays and finals among other things, wound up terminating that campaign. But I do feel confident that if I ask those same players they'd be happy to play again.

As a newbie game master, I never felt trapped or constrained by the rule system. The idea of graduated success translating into near ludicrous stunts, it is kung fu after all, never seemed foreign or unrealistic. I was never at a loss for what to do. In the alpha things weren't as well organized as they are in the final product, but even then it wasn't difficult to infer an answer.

I highly recommend Feng Shui 2, and give it 5 out of 5 cyber monkeys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2015 16:31:15

For those of you that bought this game when Hong Kong was still a British territory, this new edition is an amazing improvement on a classic. Rules have been streamlined, settings updated, and (if you bought the Daedalus edition) the glue has been improved! OK, so by "improved glue" I mean new improved non-falling-apart-y PDF format.

If you waited for the more robust Atlas Games edition of the original, then Feng Shui 2 has improved full colour design and better artwork.

But let's face it, if you bough either version, you already backed the Kickstarter. Who wouldn't, given the chance to breathe new life into Furious George and Battlechimp Potempkin?

So, those of you looking at this as a first time purchase - what's in it for you?

Detailed terrain maps, accurate simulation of combat tactics, accounting systems for both money and ammo, and a character creation system that takes three hours to complete, are NONE of the features of this game. Instead this is a ruleset that allows players to do cool stuff, without thinking too much about anything.

Want to crash through the mansion's gates in your sedan, and do a handbrake turn on the front lawn while you partner stands through the open sunroof, shooting mooks with a pistol in each hand? Piece of cake. Want to jump to your certain death while lassoing a demon so that you'll choke him to death at the same time as breaking your fall? No problem! These and other crazy stunts are things my own players have done in an effort to make their characters look cool and blow stuff up.

A great system for picking up and playing, that works for a one-off or an extended campaign. Robin D Laws' conversational writing style is both informative and HIL-AR-I-OUS!

Buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Feng Shui 2
by Jefferson D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2015 10:13:11

Two words - AWE & SOME! One of the best RPGs of all time has just gotta better. It took almost 20 years but it is worth the wait. Worth ever penny if you are a fan of the 1st edition. IMHO Feng Shui was the first indie rpg, way ahead of its time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles