DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 00:38:50

An excellent OSR take on space opera.

7 Classes to choose from including 'Robot' and 2 kinds of Alien the 'Alien Brute' and 'Alien Mystic'

Very smooth, but combat focused, OSR gameplay. Check out the 'White Star Companion' for an easy way to make the mechanics less combat focused.

Excellent starship combat system and a large galley of example ships.

Psychic powers included in 2 flavours. Alien Gifts and 'Meditations of the Way' for 'Star Knights'

A very strong 'How to GM Space Opera' section with several example campaign modes

A large bestiary of aliens and adversaries.

An example star sector and intro adventure.

Black and white art throughout. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:20:49

White Box Gothic by Barrel Rider Games is everything you need to bring Hammer Horror into your White Box game.

The book starts with an introduction to horror and then gives us several new classes.  These classes are:

Monster Hunter - Like Captain Kronos or Van Richten, these fighting men (and women) are trained to track down and destroy the creatures of the night. Each Monster Hunter picks a specialty. Metaphysician - This is a man of supernatural science. The learn forsaken lore, get some spells, and can turn undead. Spiritualists - These individuals have a connection to the dead. They can interact with the spectral and turn incorporeal undead. Wanderer - These nomadic folks are survivors that use luck, trinkets picked up, and eventually a bit of magic to stay alive. Dhampir - This class is for the children of vampires and mortals. Want to play Blade? Now you can. Reanimated - Ever wanted to play Frankenstein's Monster? If so, this racial class lets you do just that.

The second chapter is short, but to the point. It has rules common in horror games, mainly corruption, dread, and curses. The third chapter includes a small selection of spells. Some of these are perfect tools for those fighting against the darkness. Others make the servants of darkness even more powerful. There are also several new magic items suited for horror games. My favourite is bottled courage, which basically gets your drunk, but makes you immune to fear. Many of these items can be used by all classes, which makes them quite useful.

The final chapter includes 15 new monsters. Most of these are classic monsters and opponents, like cultists and werebats. We're also presented with the vampire lord and bride stats, for those of you that what Dracula. Another particularly nasty monster is the plaything, which is like Chucky from the Child's Play films.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:36:45

You want good ol sci-fi in a white box feel....check out White Star....

check out my youtube review: https://youtu.be/O3ack2DaMvw



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

White Box Omnibus [Swords & Wizardry]
by Wilhelm F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2017 15:15:04

The mini-campaign setting and adventures are a goldmine no matter what version of the worlds most popular fantasy roleplaying game or its offshoots your are into. I'm currently 13 sessions into a 5e campaign using this material, and have lots more to go. Excellent value for your gaming dollar.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Omnibus [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2016 02:48:38

Full of neat ideas, White Box Gothic is unfortunately let down by the lack of a good editor and, as a result, is full of typos. That said, these errors don't detract from the product's utility, just its aesthetic. I hope that the publisher gives the product a few good editing passes before releasing this as a POD title.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Brimling
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 17:35:06

Oh what fun this brings to the space pirate genre. I will be using this at a convention this spring to add somthing new to my game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brimling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2016 07:35:00

I got my POD and have had a while to look it over and am please to say that I'm very, very happy with this game. The content, the quality and the layout are all top notch!

Here is a review I did for it on my youtube channel:

https://youtu.be/mSXZAxPyRmM



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Star: White Box Science Fiction Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sleepy Hollow
by Ahimsa K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2016 14:33:30

There's not much to this, but what there is I really like. I think they could have done without reprinting the story as it's public domain and anyone with an interest in Irving's tale probably has it already. But the scholar class is a cool non-combat class and the NPCs are well made. It's 2 bucks and has about that much content, so it's a good buy (especially around Autumn.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sleepy Hollow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bard
by Dorian Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2016 21:45:23

I like my Bards like I like the economy. No magic. This bard is perfect. The saving throws and ac are not explicitely stated. Instead you are told to treat the bard like a thief at the same level. That was a good decision because it means that you can incorporate this bard in any system (swords and wizardry, basic fantasy, LL, etc) and you know that it will remain balanced with the other classes. The bard is simply a thief with a different set of abilities like mimicry and sleight of hand that improve as the levels go up. The bard is also allowed to use some of the weapons of a fighter.

I feel like this bard is very close to the one discussed 40 years ago in the strategic review. I am very pleased. With this I consider Swords and Wizardry Complete... well... complete.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bard
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Hero's Journey Character Sheet
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2016 13:52:32

A two page character sheet with hand drawn artwork, giving it a 'ye olde' look to it. I'll likely use it in conjunction with my own version.

The 2 pages cover practically everything you'd need to make note of.

Worth a download: it's free.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Brimling
by Nickolas H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2016 01:33:23

If you like your Sci-Fi Space Operas to be a little more on the fantasy side (like I do!) then I recommend this fun White Star Race/Class supplement. Everyone's favorite little fantasy homebodies have taken to the stars in their opendecked galleons in search of fun and food! I can't wait to integrate these half-men swashbucklers into my White Star games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brimling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Wayne H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2016 19:09:33

James Spahn is the master of OSR games. Coming off the success of his brilliant take on Space Opera, White Star, he takes us back to the origins of the game. The Heroes Journey is an innovative take on Swords & Wizardry, this is James' fantasy heartbreaker. Drawing upon the classic tales, like Tolkien he is practically giving you this game. Well, okay technically he is giving you this game. So get it! Praise it! Love it. Take the journey, the Heroes Journey.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 23:09:30

The Hero's Journey by James Spahn is an old school, Swords & Wizardry White Box inspired roleplaying game of epic, nostalgia-driven, proportions. The rules are light and simple, leaving the role playing to the imagination and without bogging down gaming sessions. The entire volume evokes images of Lord Of The Rings, Dragonlance, A Wizard of Earthsea, and the Sword of Shannara, all of which were instrumental in my early gaming years. There are nods to early editions of D&D, but options to avoid those nods if one chooses. Speaking of choices, the book is littered with them! Optional additions are found on almost every page, which allows Game Masters and Players to set the level of comfort that they enjoy. The Magic section brings back those classic spells which every old school player knows and loves, but doesn't become overly packed with useless incantations and barely understandable casting rules that some of the most recent games have. Creatures and bad guys abound in the section on monsters, and even includes a short section on creating your own evil minions to populate your home-brewed worlds. My favorite part of this amazing book is the Magic Items section. it is filled with an abundance of classic and new trinkets for your players to get their hands on. But, what really makes this section shine is the way it treats magical weapons and armor. These items do not gain their mystical powers by enchantments placed upon them when forged, but by earning reputations and glory through battle and noteworthy events. This draws my imagination to things like Excalibur in the Arthurian Legend and Naegling, Beowulf's sword. Weapons who were feared and held in awe by those who had heard of their mighty deeds. Which lead me to think about fantastic stories where weapons might fail among enemies which either did not fear them or had not been introduced to their epic pasts. All in all this is a fantastic game that throws back to those fondly remembered gaming days of yore, without jamming it down your throat, and still creates a new and exciting table top experience. You would be a fool for not adding this title to your collection!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Joseph E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2016 12:17:18

I really loved the look of the PDF from the layout to the art this is a top notch production that PWYN pricing does not convey.

Within the first few chapters I was getting a very DCC vibe with the addition of luck to attributes and an Occupation table along with wording how most commoners never travel more then a few miles from home their entire lives. Now if you give the player race a d4 dice to start and no classes you could have a 0 level funnel.

The next thing I noticed was the reduction value some races get it like the Half-Orc when you roll damage against them you subtract that reduction value from the damage before applying it to the hit points. Also armor will add to the reduction value. This is a heroic RPG after all and steps are taken to make the heroes stronger. I'll return to reduction value in a moment.

Next up are the Classes all the popular classes are here and some others like Jester. The Demi-Humans have level restrictions and this is where the text fell apart for me and I need to go back a re read but it doesn't really discuss multi-classing or dual-classing which based off some of the restrictions and wording seemed like was an option.

The Spells, Monsters, Equipment and GM advice was all well written and was useful for new GM's and players but if you have run some games most likely you know these things.

Magic weapons was something new, they are not forged or crafted they are made by both deeds and actions. Simply put if you crit with the weapon mark down a myth point. You hit 5 myth points the weapon becomes a plus one. You created the legends and reasons for your world. I love this it seems like something that belongs in DCC where the players action forge them, now the action also forge the legendary weapons of the world. Now here is the kicker and you can tell this was inspired by Tolkien writing specific the Hobbit. If one of the Crits that gained a myth point also resulted in the death of the creature fighting the weapons becomes a bane of those creatures. Like Thorin's Blade Orcist "The Goblin Cleaver" or Gandalf's Glamdring "The Beater" who's legends where made century ago.
Now back to reduction points if your armor Reduction value saves you from going down to 0 HP it gets a myth point and at 5 myth points it will give you a +1 to both AC and reduction values.

This is a very cool little Whitebox hack and if you like Whitebox play and want something more heroic this could be the game for you. I've recently been getting into OD&D and I like some of the ideas in here.
At PWYW it's steal and even at $10 for the PDF it's a good deal. When the print version comes out it will definitely get a place on my shelf with all my OD&D stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hero's Journey Fantasy Roleplaying [Swords & Wizardry]
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2016 19:25:25

The layout is clean and readable. Although, It is not hyperlinked. The art is good. Fans of Larry Elmore will enjoy his pieces throughout the beginning of the book. The rest of the art is as good or better. Larry's seeming unwillingness to illustrate feet and his preference for all women being voluminous haired 60's/70's pin-up is not a draw for me, personally. It is however very reminiscent of the re-issued Red Box and effective in garnering a sense of nostalgia.

I've looked over the book only briefly. I noticed that the thief skill subsystem (sneakery and such) use a d6 mechanic where starting characters succeed at tasks with a 1 in 6 chance. This chance improved with experience, but the granularity does not leave room for personal attributes or situational modifiers. All classes with non-combat skills use this same mechanic.

There are some nice bits regarding background professions and legendary weapons.

All the classes are present. My biggest gripe is that Clerics and Druids share the same spell list which contains only 6 spells per level. In fact, there is only the Wizard and Cleric spell list. These two lists are shared by the Bard, Cleric, Druid, Jester, Paladin, Ranger and Wizard.

The equipment, monsters and magic item chapters seem to be well fleshed out and unrushed.

In short, first impressions would have been worth 5 stars if there was a nature spell list for Druids and Rangers (0E be damned!), Jesters were replaced with some type of mountebank or illusionist class - again with their own spell list and again ignoring their history in the annals of The Dragon. Acrobats also need something to make them a conceivable player choice. With the Duelist an existing character option, the Acrobat class is less of a Swashbuckler and more of a cartoon gymnast. Overall, my complaints are typical of many white-box emulators in that enforcing maximum word count for each class sometimes backfires and you end up with options that seem either incomplete or trap choices for inexperienced players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 112 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles