DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2018 21:57:43

Set your expectations correctly before ordering. It's only $1 and it's only 8 pages long. It'd be even shorter without the artwork, which is thematic filler, not illustrations of game elements.

In short, I'd use it to seed a Star Trek-like one-shot adventure.

You might like this title if you're expecting:

  • Fate Accelerated. It's there in the title.
  • A somewhat Star Trek-ish setting in that characters are members of a starship crew, facing aggressors and seeking out new worlds.
  • A straightforward, non-crunchy way to handle starships.
  • A page with some general discussion on creating characters for this setting, including some sample stunts.
  • Material suitable for a one-shot: five basic world types, six typical plot seeds. These are seeds only, not fleshed-out worlds or fleshed-out adventures.

You'll be disappointed if you're expecting:

  • Fate Core. There are no skill lists.
  • Star Trek canon (or any other canon). That's not what this is.
  • A full campaign setting. You get a one-paragraph overview, and that's it.
  • An adventure generator or a sample adventure. These are simple seeds.
  • A world generator a la Traveller. Each world type is described in a few sentences. The descriptions are qualitative, not quantitative.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Robots of Known Space
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2018 23:27:23

Produced by Nothing Ventured Games, this PDF is 18 pages containing nineteen robots across a CR 1-19 spread, from the lowly Observation Bot right on up to the terrifying CR 19 Hellreaver Automaton, forged literally in the bloody fires of hell to destroy all level 17-20 PCs in it's path. I'll be using this book quite a bit, as anyone who has picked up the Alien Archive from Paizo will notice that it is woefully short on meaningful robotic foes. The PDF is clean, follows the Starfinder stat block protocol, and has some nice black/white illustrations that get the job done. I look forward to seeing what the author, Paul Stefko, comes up with next for Starfinder. This appears to be the first Starfinder resource from Nothing Ventured Games, and hopefully they make more thematically utility-driven resources in the near future.

Source review: http://realmsofchirak.blogspot.com/2018/01/starfinder-reviews-robots-of-known.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Robots of Known Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Interstellar Patrol Adventure Cards
by Marcus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2017 22:50:41

The font on these cards is tiny... I mean get out your magnifying glass tiny. For me, there's no way I can make use of these; I'd have a headache by the time I got through 10 of them.

What a shame.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Patrol Adventure Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
by Wally W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/29/2017 17:49:26

It's 5 pages of vague abstract description about creating a space campaign without much substance. It's NOT a campaign setting. It's flavour comes directly from shows like Star Trek TOS and it reads like the examples in the FAE rulebook. There are half a dozen 'plot seeds' and a basic description of 5 planet types (can you guess what they are?). A few lines of description for some example aspects and skills but nothing at all you couldn't easily develop on your own by watching a single episode of Star Trek or any other Sci-Fi show you like to get some basic concepts and archetypes. Nothing at all special here. For $1 is it worth it? It's only $1 but I'd give it a miss and I recommend you just spend 30 minutes of your own time to flesh out some of your own ideas.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Situation Aspect Cards (for Fate)
by dR K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2016 13:33:24

After my previous review with some remarks, publisher contacted with me, and send an updated version. Now it's perfect. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Situation Aspect Cards (for Fate)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Arthuria (Fate Accelerated Edition)
by Vik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2015 21:38:42

Excellent work. A simple two page setting with everything needed to set up some great stories in a Camelot with a twist. Some great ideas with the clockwork armor and time travel (essentially Merlin is a Whovian style TimeLord). I am looking forward to playtesting a few sessions on roll20 virtual tabletop with this setting in the next few weeks. Thank you for contributing this to the hobby.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arthuria (Fate Accelerated Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Model (Dungeon World)
by Marques J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2015 13:47:45

I really enjoy the ideas presented here and my only complaint is that I wish there was simply more of it. This CC would go great with narrative based charisma and presence based classes like the Bard, Dashing Hero, or Mask. Anyone who plays a character who utilizes fashion or poise would likely find this useful as well. Some might argue that this isn't as hardcore as your average Dungeon World CC, but I think it tackles the topic of being a fashion model as seriously as is possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Model (Dungeon World)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Model (Dungeon World)
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2015 11:17:59

A couple of pages of fun. They could have handled it a little more seriously; but that didn't seem to be the intent. If you are looking for something to add to your campaign, this isn't it. looking for a good joke and maybe something for a humor campaign, a good buy.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
by Bruce B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2014 19:56:02

Outstanding! This is a short but rich collection of tools to use in making up a setting and adventures as you go. Paul Stefko has done a fantastic job bringing together key elements of optimistic space exploration in the vein of the original Star Trek, and making each bit intensely useful. It's loaded with insights that simply hadn't occurred to me before but made immediate sense the moment I saw them, like how the stunts each PC crew member take can help flesh out their part of a ship and implicitly the whole culture of their fleet. The idea of crew taking consequences on behalf of the ship while it's in battle - including damage from showers of sparks, being flung around, etc. - is another one of those "dang, I wish I'd thought of that" elements.

There's a lot of humor in here, but no mocking, and enough to allow for drama that's very real and consequential as the characters experience it. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in the genre. It's not a campaign ready to go, it's what you need to go ahead and go without everything done in advance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Interstellar Patrol (Fate Accelerated Edition)
by J L. W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2014 10:19:17

eight pages of mostly so generic material that anyone could put down on paper in 5 minutes of thought. Take it for free, if you take it at all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Galilean Run
by Gary W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2013 08:36:48

Very simple, neat little game. If you want a sci-fi flavored time killer, buy Galilean Run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Galilean Run
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles