DriveThruCards.com
Browse
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.

 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Light Speed
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2015 13:14:53

This is one of may favorite card games. It's fast, it is incredibly simple.

tldr:

PRO:

  • Fast to learn.
  • Luck or Tactics (players choice).
  • Portable.
  • Replayable and easily house-ruled.
  • FUN! REALLY FUN!.

CON:

  • Need a stable surface.
  • Can't play it solo.

Review:

Depending on who you are playing with, it can be skill based or tactics based. Even if you never played the game before, you can still win (good way to rope people in to games) by outpacing your opponents and getting more ships on the board.

It is portable, and you can teach a new player the game in less than 30 seconds. The game itself takes 4 - 8 minutes to play (including scoring).

The only draw-back is that you need a stable surface to play. So you can't go on a road trip and play it in the back seat (well I guess you could try?).

I have had hours and hours of fun with this in the past. Sadly I lost my copy. When I found it here, I immediately ordered it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light Speed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Light Speed
by Bruce C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 21:45:57

A quick light card game. It is fairly easy to learn the rules. It can be fun, but if people play quickly then luck plays into it more than tactics. Not bad if you just want to play something simple and quick.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Renfield: Gambling Card Game
by Pete D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2015 14:32:43

The cards are very nice! You do have to print the rulebook seperately, and you probably should kick Cheapass games a donation because the game is free to print, and Mr. Ernest and fellows are awesome for that. I have yet to play a game yet, but I gave one as a gift to a big pinocle/bridge player friend, and one for myself because of the trick-taking/gambling novelty. My only regret is that I didn't have the option to buy a deck with the original backs. The cards, at least when I orderd, come with the 'subdued' backs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Renfield: Gambling Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
The Big Cheese: Brian and John Edition
by Joe A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2015 15:26:18

Great experience like most things from cheapass/James Ernest. Big Cheese was one of my favorite print-and-plays. I really like the addition of the rolls at the bottom of the cards in this version. You still need counters or some other way to keep track of bids but without the dice it's much more portable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Big Cheese: Brian and John Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Pairs: A New Classic Pub Game
by Emily W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2014 17:47:30

Great simple card game. The more people the more fun! I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pairs: A New Classic Pub Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Renfield: Gambling Card Game
by Brant C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2014 13:06:01

Despite needing to head over to the Cheapass Games site for the rules (in highly printable PDF format), Renfield is a devilishly tricksy but fun group game. You get a very high quality deck with this purchase, and if you get a 99 cent deck case here also, you can print the rules, fold them, and put deck and rules nicely together in the case. So what's the game like? As noted, the Cheapass site has all the game's rules available for free, but like most really great games, the play's much more than the rules lead you to believe. The official description correctly implies that Renfield is like Hearts and Poker had a love child in a graveyard. It's not difficult to learn the rules, but Renfield's up there with Bridge for strategy. Maybe it's a little tougher. I find Renfield's theme amusing enough that I'm grinning while my head is furiously working out how to win in the long run. The depth and card art put this at a teen-and-up minimum age. A Renfield night could replace a Poker night, but be sure everyone's ok with extra thinking. Bugs and body parts are also part of the game's theme. Think of them as leggy dots and broken statue bits instead if you'd like. Yeah. Renfield's a creepy strategic betting trick taking blast of a card game. As much as I enjoy the game, I docked a point off my review for not having rules included.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Renfield: Gambling Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Renfield: Gambling Card Game
by Eric S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2013 19:23:47

shipped without box & rules, not made clear that box & rules do not come with the product, indeed the product page has a reference to the rules, but they weren't shipped with product. Drive Thru Cards has lost my business.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
BRAWL: Morgan Deck
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2013 16:25:01

I had originally given this deck 4 stars. I'm giving it 5 stars based on the update below. This a review of the deck quality and shipment. I'm not reviewing the game; if you like Speed, you'll like this.

Updated Review: After posting my review, I received an email stating that a deck box was supposed to be shipped with my order. I received a clear, plastic card box about a week later. I wasn't expecting one and I hope this above and beyond level of customer service is just their "regular" customer service. I also noticed that there is a link for the pdf rules right under Morgan's picture. It's entirely possible that I missed that the first time around. My initial review of the cardstock quality was based on me just holding the card in my hands. After comparing it to one of my Android: Netrunner cards, they feel very similar. I still recommend sleeving these cards though; multiple games of speed are going to be rough on these cards.

On it's own, I still think this deck is four stars (an option for better cardstock would bump that up to five). After being contacted and shipped a card box - that they could have easily said nothing about - I really want to give a six.

Original review: Ordered this pack because I wanted to see quality. Cardstock is okay; better than a standard business card, but you're going to want to sleeve these if you plan on playing more than a small number of games. I'm only bringing this up because of the frenetic pace of this game. I think the cardstock is fine for a board game where you're not handling the cards much. This is the second POD card game I've purchased (the other was an FFG game), so I wasn't expecting air-pocketed, Bicycle card quality.

The cards arrived in a padded envelope. No card box (wasn't expecting one) and no rules sheet (not surprised, but a little disappointed).

Overall I'm pleased with my purchase; it's more or less just what I expected from a POD format.

This game was OOP for a long time and I'm happy to have it available again. I hope Cheapass Games has a revival here (U.S. Patent No. 1, Get A Life, other non Doctor Lucky/Zombie games) and would like to see old and new games available.

Rating: [4 of 5 Stars!]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BRAWL: Morgan Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ben Hvrt
by Dennis O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2004 00:00:00

Having had my old copy disappear at a convention, and found out that it was out of print finding it at RPGNow was wonderful. This is a great game<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ben Hvrt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ben Hvrt
by Robert F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2004 00:00:00

Good old Cheapass Games! If there isn't enough demand for a new printing of a product, why not sell it a a PDF?? I hope they will continue to offer at least some of their products in this manner.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Cards formatted to fit standard business cards make for easy seperation.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Board was a little tricky to print and asssemble.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ben Hvrt
by James S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2004 00:00:00

Good games never die - they just find their way to PDF and, if you're at all familiar with Cheapass Games, this is a good thing. Ben Hvrt is a very fun game of both gambling and racing and its nice to see this game get a new lease on life with a new group of players.

If you're into games that encourage backstabbing your dearest friends, this is a very good choice for an evening's entertainment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Ben Hvrt
by Will W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2003 00:00:00

This game is just damned fun! I bought the paper version years ago and now I have this version in case we spill stuff all over the board again. I advise playing with a lot of people, the more you have the more fun it gets!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles