DriveThruCards.com
Find Category
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.








Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 07:32:37

After purchasing and using the basic, scifi, and horror decks for some time now, it was a no-brainer to back the fantasy deck on Kickstarter. I use these decks in every game I run. I've always used the basic deck when running fantasy games, but now I have a dedicated deck for such occasions. There is so much information on each card, it's ridiculous. Especially if you are a GM who likes to wing things and improve a lot, these are the fastest way I have found to gain a bit of inspiration at the table. I highly recommend them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Boris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:25:41

I backed this on Kickstarter and can't say a bad thing about it. This is essential for both solo RPG and games mastering fantasy RPGs. As others have said there is so much information on each card with absolutely no wasted space: random names, directions, smells, belongings, dice rolls, elements and many more. This is a very well-thought through system and is essentisl for any fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
by Boris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:16:52

ALONe comes with a promo version of the Games Master's Apprentice (GMA) and both work together as solo roleplaying game. Rules include character creation and lots of examples and explanation of how the game works. One of the wonders of this system is that it can also be used as a solo GM emulator for other RPGs. The GMA can also be used to aid a games master in any RPG adding flavour and randomisers (directions, names, runes, elements (literally, as in air, earth, fire and water), smells, belongings, etc.).

I've used the system a couple of times for solo play and find it inspired; one of my favourite aspects is tension levels and the ability to add random events using the GMA.

This is a beta version and I know that the creator is going to be working on it soon, however I feel that it is perfectly useable as it is. The GMA deck that comes with beta is only half the size of the standard deck but allows huge amounts of utility. The full GMA deck is an indespensible tool for both solo gamers and games masters. There are also decks that are genre specific such as fantasy and sci fi.

Bottom line: this beta is free and fantastic. I can't recommend this product highly enough: get it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Dan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 20:59:14

This is hands down the best RPG resource I have ever come across! Every inch of the card is used to maximize the space available. This deck has soooo many possible ways to use not just the cards themselves, but given pieces of info on the cards. While I have found some digital resources that come close to accomplishing what there cards can, this product is quicker to use and NOT digital. The designer did a tremendous job! Just in case you think at first glance that there may be too much going on with these cards, I can assure you that with the effective instructions you'll have it down in minutes. This is also a blessing for solo RPG play!

In short, I'm super happy with this product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 14:34:56

Although this is the GMA deck that I use the least (only because horror is a genre that i don't play often), it works for inspiration and GM Emulation jsut as good as the other decks that I own. Getting ready to run a Call of Cthulhu game soon, and can't wait to use them. Great product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 14:32:30

Along with the base set and the horror set, I use these cards in every game I play. If you are curious at all about trying these cards, do it. You will be surprised at how useful they are.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 14:29:08

I'm ashamed to admit that I realized I had ordered these cards quite a while ago, and had never left a review. I have used these cards, along with the horror and scifi decks, in just about every game I have ran since I recieved them. Especially since I do a lot of solo gaming, these cards are invaluable. If I am stuck for inspiration, a yes/no answer, name, anything, I just pull a card from the deck. Like I said earlier, I also have the horror and scifi decks, but the base deck is the one I use all the time. These are definitely worth it, get a deck and try them out, you won't regret it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by José M. N. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2017 06:33:52

This is Nathan Rockwood's latest iteration of his GameMaster's Apprentice decks. This one, as you can see on the title, is focused on the Fantasy genre. Additionally, this time he has added ONE more generator in the form of a random image inside the dice rolls. In short, these products are the foundations of my dungeon mastering and solo playing: it only takes me (literally) 20 seconds to create new quests, describe new scenes, NPCs... And it keeps the game fresh, which is something I like as a GM (being surprised by the game). The only bad thing about them is that the shipping cost to the EU is too high, but that is a DrivethruRPG problem, not Nathan's. Overall, any Game Master who likes to improvise things (and I'd say that everyone has to do it sometimes) should get these. If you're running a different plethora of genres, you can just get the base one. But if you only run D&D, Pathfinder and such, do yourself a favor, get this deck (pro tip: if you get it on pdf, you can load it an app like Cardwarden on iPad and use it on the go) and enjoy all of its random glory.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2017 20:01:52

As a DM who is not creative, this gives me EVERYTHING I could need to generate ideas, characters, settings, even responses/rolls! This gives me more time to focus on the bigger picture than worrying about the nitty gritty. There are so many variables placed/randomized on each card that I have trouble thinking of generation/randomization that can't utilize these cards (even races!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Age of Sail Deck
by Gene G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2017 20:26:43

This review corrects an earlier review of mine that incorrectly stated an expected item was missing. At the time I was new to DTRPG and the vendor contacted me to let me know where the find the item.

This series of decks from this publisher are wonderful. In practice, I used them to enhance a Pathfinder Skull & Shackles campaign, but they can also be used for free-form storytelling (your purchase will include directions on how to do this). Need a name quickly? This will help. Not sure how to make a situation visually interesting? Draw one of these cards for a sensory cue for every important scene. In short, this deck, and the other decks in the series, are wonderful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Age of Sail Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Mason R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/02/2017 14:41:38

These cards are AWESOME! Don't get the deckbox, though. it arrived at my house broken and beyond repair. it wasn't even ON right!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I'm glad you like the cards! I'm sorry to hear your deck box broke; have you contacted DriveThru about a refund and/or a replacement box? I've ordered dozens of them, and while I've had 2-3 arrive broken, they are usually fine, and DriveThru's customer service is pretty solid about making the situation right, in my experience! If you have any trouble getting that taken care of, email me at LarcenousDesigns@gmail.com and we'll get you taken care of.
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
by Anthony J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2016 20:22:30

Although the horror deck feels really specialized when you first look at it., it does give results for exactly those moments you need a little randomization: when the PCs enter dark alleys or empty rooms, when they are confronting something but aren't sure what it is. When the plot stalls and they aren't sure what to do next. In those specific moments, the deck really shines. In the not-so-horror moments, the deck provides some weird results so its best not to use it. The trick I found though is that you don't really need the deck during most of those moments anyway. Keep drawing cards so the PCs don't notice any pattern to your drawing, but learn when you need to use the results and when you don't, because this deck isn't generically useful... it seems specialized to help for particular situations that are usually kind of dull without it. This deck helps you take those moments that are usually skipped and glossed over and make those moments interesting... those moments that really emphasize the horror genre. When you enter the dark room. When you are about to open the door. When you open the mysterious package. When the lightning flashes. When the players examine a room feature that isn't otherwise important.

Without the deck: Is there anything on the desk? Yeah, that's some paper and pencils, and a notebook with a lot of checkenscratch on it. It looks like some of the pages have been ripped off.

With the deck: Is there anything on the desk? There's a wet newspaper on the desk. A tipped over unmarked brown bottle has spilled liquid all over the desk. It has a sickly sweet smell to it, like fregrant candy. Is it today's newspaper? Ummm... no. This paper was dated 5 days ago. As you pit up, you have this sudden sensation that someone is watching you.

It's a good product, but I can't recommend it... mostly because of the layout and graphioc design. I printed out the whole deck to use during my sessions, and very often I can't read the card. In the heat of the moment, everything has to be quick and streamlined. That was the beauty of one deck for all this stuff in the first place. I'm running the game in a game store under florescent lighting, and I have to read text that is very tiny, written in a "horrific" font, with a partially transparent background... it doesn't work. On the PDF, things look clear because the size is so huge, but when printed out... it's a problem. A big problem. And what gets to me is all the white space on the card... it seems like some of those letters could have been bigger or used a font that made better use of the space. Even the die results are tiny, which is strange considering how much space looks available on that wheel. The problems get even worse if you sleave the cards in plastics. I don't know if the POD product has the same problem, but I don't see why it wouldn't.

The basic set, on the other hand, looks laid out well. It doesn't have a background. It's grisp, clear, neat, with specific text boxes. Even the icons look easier to read without that dark red background. I'm looking forward to getting it soon.

Get the basic deck. Judging by the content in this product, the basic deck is totally worth it. It will be easier to read and probably applicable to many more situations. I recommend this product only to people who already have the basic deck and are used to using it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks for taking the time to write out your thoughts, and for the feedback on the font--I definitely agree that it's the most problematic of all the decks, which is why the download includes a 'backup' PnP version using the Base Deck art and font! I originally used the base deck for quite a few horror games, so you can definitely go that way if you prefer, but if what you really want is the text from the Horror deck in the Base Deck art, no need to buy both! The file should be called "GMA_Horror_PnP_Classic_art_greyscale_9_23_15.pdf" (Sorry for the huge file name; I was trying to be descriptive and may have overdone it). In beta-ing the art, we found that some household printers handle the horror font better than others, but the PoD deck seems to work for most people, so I gambled on it because I love the look of the PoD. However, I do consider it good reason not to bother with more elaborate fonts at this scale in the future, so my next horror deck will either have bigger font sizes, or stick to something like Calibri, or both!
Questions Without Answers
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2016 21:41:33

This is a surprisingly good resource for GMs who need ideas to build campaigns around.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Questions Without Answers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2016 19:54:34

Must buy for solo games.Great purchase.Text and graphical elements are really nice. Since i purchased all 6 pdf decks and use them on my ipad it would be great if they all were illustrated with the decks vertically rather than horizontally as i use my tablet in portrait orientation (demon,scifi,base are all vertical whereas horror,sail,steampunk are horizontal). I would gladly buy different genre themed decks if they are produced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Horror Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Heya! Thanks so much for your support of my work, and also for pointing out that flaw in the production--I've updated the last three decks to have their card pages in vertical landscape mode, so if you go into your order, you should be able to re-download them and have them properly formatted! The change happened because I switched PDF printing software after the first three decks, and I didn't consider all the possible settings to check! I hope this helps.
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2016 16:49:29

Great for writing as well as RPGs. The ability to whip up situations, people, and items at the draw of a card makes awkward game mastering situations much easier



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles