DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.

 Publisher Info







Back
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game $14.99 $11.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
5 12
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Click to view
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Mindy E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2015 07:39:35

We love this as a quick but strategic 2-player game (how we normally play). It's easy to learn (after round 1 of the first game, you've got it down), and the look is gorgeous. I've played many of the games by this designer, and this is my favorite to date!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Annette V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2015 14:21:27

Moving cards from your hand (house), to your tableau (pond) and discard (river) is so well tied into the theme. The game is simple to teach and quick to play. I tend to teach it to friends and they immediately request another play. I HIGHLY recommend this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Travis M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2014 14:18:32

In line with classic game similar to Rummy, but for people who want more art and more depth.

What makes this game fit into my top 10 so easily is how approachable it is. I play this with gamers and non-gamers. 2-4 players as well.

Every player count is a different experience, and only 1 training round of 6 turns is usually needed to explain the game thoroughly.

There is not enough praise for the complete package. I wish it was available more broadly so other people could find a new classic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Kirk L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2014 22:45:00

Our family of four brought and learned Koi Pond on vacation, and it's given us great hours of family time. The kids, 11 and 12, have no trouble playing and strategizing, in fact the 11 year old has won more games than anyone. We've played with two, three, and four players and found the game to be fun in each case. Totally worth the price, in fact we're seriously considering buying the rest of the available Koi Pond card expansions. A solid five stars from our family.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Phil A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2014 11:41:52

My wife and I sat down and played this and thoroughly enjoyed it. We are already looking forward to many nights playing and plotting.

the rule structure is a bit obscure at first due to wording, but there are videos and a manual available (search Google for 'Koi Pond Card Game'). It was almost as much fun just learning as it was playing. Definitely worth the money and easy to play as long as you have the space.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Nicholas T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2014 11:50:37

A fun game. It's very unique, but the play feels similar to 7 wonders (multiple strategies can win, 6 turns for each round, three rounds). It is much simpler to teach than 7 wonders and I think just about as much fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Linda N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2013 20:22:22

I like the quality of the cards. The art looks really good as well.

Gameplay is fast and strategic. We didn't expect this game to be one of our favorites.

Because of how much we loved koi pond, we decided to get the promo cards and also get two of Daniels' recent games, Suspense and Nine Lives.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Adam B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2013 11:43:36

Koi Pond is a very clever and beautiful game. The unique scoring algorithms add weight to every decision, yet avoids feeling bogged down. Plays great with 2 players, allowing a lot of tactical play between opponents. Printing and production of cards looks great. Quality of the materials is akin to what you might find in commercially produced CCGs. Nice game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Roger H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2013 10:51:37

Loved this game. Unique gameplay - I don't think there is anything I could relate it to as it is different from anything else I've played. Wasn't sure how much skill was involved and didn't have much of a strategy until the second round. Drawing face-up fish out of the central "Lake" added another layer of depth. By the end I realized just how much strategy was involved. Well worth the purchase price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Jonathan L. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/15/2013 12:12:48

Absolutely a great thinker, with lots of nervous moments and a little strategy. It is definitely a "hard to explain, easy to play" game, and after a single round most people understand exactly how to play.

The strategist at your table might not be completely involved, but anyone who likes a good, competitive game with hard choices will love this. This, unlike many card games, does not feel like an exercise in randomizing. You feel like you have a lot of control over how you use your cards and match your sets.

The card quality is excellent, the art is really cool, and fun. There are symbols, colors, and numbers, so the game is very accessible to color blind or dyslexic players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Simon W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2013 22:28:30

Great art. High quality cards. Fun, simple game, with engaging strategy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Koi Pond: A Coy Card Game
Publisher: Smart Play Games
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2013 14:38:00

My first play of this game makes me want to find more people and play again.

Even with just the three rounds in the game, I saw more and more strategic decisions. I started to see that what I played could affect the other player, and nudge him to play cards differently. This game was very fun, and I expect to have many more good games in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items