DriveThruCards.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Secure Card Storage
plastic box photo

Store your cards in our inexpensive, stacking deckboxes.

Standard deckbox holds up to 70 cards.
Large deckbox holds up to 120 cards.








Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Nightmares of the Dead Dreamers (Digital Early Release)
Publisher: Atramentis Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/05/2017 19:20:46

By all the gods! A game more pretentious than Immortal: The Invisible War!



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmares of the Dead Dreamers (Digital Early Release)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Kobold: A Totally Expected Parody
Publisher: 9th Level Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/04/2016 21:23:03

So here's the thing: Obviously this little booklet cannot parody the entire plot of The Hobbit, yet it is noted several times that the kobolds will be expected to go on the big stupid quest for which everyone is preparing. Yet, just as we get to that moment, we run out of text. I can't tell if that's just shtick, or if the file is incomplete, or if it really is just "Part 1" and more is coming later.

There is technically a scenario's worth of activity here, but it would be highly repetitive and just not that interesting, and then the game would end on the note of "and now you start your big quest! okay, thanks for playing," which is why I can't tell if that's the intent--that would fit the overall KAMB aesthetic, certainly--or if this is a prelude to an actual KAMB campaign.

Basically I'd say this could be pretty good if it explained what it was just a touch more. Until then, caveat emptor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Kobold: A Totally Expected Parody
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Best Friends, Protocol One-Sheet
Publisher: post world games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:55:54

This game: Creepy, quirky, fun.

Protocol system: Pretty good! Feels a little bit like Final Girl, a little bit like the story components of Savage Worlds (i.e. without all that math). Quick & easy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Best Friends, Protocol One-Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tweaks
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:54:10

Competent & functional. Contains just enough setting, plus a few vague story prompts; enough to go on but you can do whatever you want with it. One flaw: Characters start with an amount of money between $111 and $444, which is maybe enough to buy one upgrade. So it's either street-level teenage shenanigans, or you'll want to make some allowances for starting equipment.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tweaks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Orc Hospital, Protocol Game Series 55
Publisher: post world games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:51:48

This game: Exactly as weird as you think it will be. A delight.

Protocol system: Pretty good! Feels a little bit like Final Girl, a little bit like the story components of Savage Worlds (i.e. without all that math). Quick & easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orc Hospital, Protocol Game Series 55
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Schoolgirl RPG
Publisher: Yaruki Zero Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:49:43

Well, it does what it says on the tin, I'll give it that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Schoolgirl RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Dakkar Unlimited
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:47:22

I know what you're thinking! You're thinking, "This must be so bad it's good!"

Nope.

Sorry.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
HOT CHICKS: The Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Septimus
Publisher: West End Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:44:56

Ugh. I tried. I really did. But after 90 pages of setting that's presented like you're supposed to already know the history, I couldn't take it anymore. Or maybe it's the fact that nearly every enumeration is sevenfold. Think I'm kidding? The Seventh Empire has existed for seven centuries and is divided into seven regions. After fighting a war on seven fronts, it's dying, so people are heading for this mysterious alien Dyson Sphere they've just found, which has seven planets orbiting within it and was colonized by a group of humans who promptly built seven cities. The name of the Dyson Sphere? Septimus.

Also, if the Dyson Sphere is 1AU from its star, which is established very firmly, how are there seven habitable planets within the half-AU they have left to move? I don't normally insist on good science in a science fiction setting because it's fiction, but if you're going to give me all these measurements, don't expect me to overlook that they don't make sense.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Septimus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Doll
Publisher: Ginger Goat
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/29/2016 10:34:51

Okay, I need to acquire a creepy doll to take to cons with me so I can get in as much of this game as possible. Trust me, you will get way more than $4 worth of fun from this game, as long as you're willing to obey rule #1: Play in public.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Doll
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Urban Faerie: Pocket Edition
Publisher: Postmortem Studios
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2016 19:56:47

Simply and straightforward; a good game for a quick one-shot while drinking. Loses one star for being unable to sustain narrative attitude without punching down.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Faerie: Pocket Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Librarians of Doom
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:47:55

This seems like it would be hilarious, but 2/3 of this is devoted to the system (even though they advise you to buy another download containing the rules), and the explanations of setting are vague to the point of being useless. In essence, they're like, "Hey, wouldn't it be funny if librarians were evil and there was some quasi-religious order fighting them? You should do something with that." Thanks, guys, but that's what I paid you for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Librarians of Doom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Game Master’s Guide to Friends
Publisher: New Realms Publishing
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:39:10

If you're a brand new GM with no idea how to build interesting characters, this might be of use, but it's extremely basic information, and not much of it. There's only 8 pages of content here, and even then there's a fair amount of whitespace. I just can't endorse paying money for this product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Game Master’s Guide to Friends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
Publisher: Dancing Lights Press
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/28/2016 18:18:20

This is so much better than it has any right to be. I know it seems like an absurd concept, and it is, but somehow it actually works. The author has put a lot of work into this, and at 138 pages, this booklet contains everything you could possibly need to run this game. (Except dice, obviously.) There's pregens, NPCs, a sample adventure, several pages of solid GM advice, the entire Fate Accelerated ruleset, synopses of the movie and TV show (I didn't even know there was a TV show), and ... I just ... wow. I am deeply impressed.

What a profoundly odd world we live in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (Powered by Fate Accelerated)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Witches
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2016 22:02:00

This is basically genius. It's one of the weirder niche settings I've encountered, but somehow all the more powerful for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Savage Suzerain (Savage Worlds)
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Patrick H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/27/2016 21:59:41

According to this book's introduction, it is brilliant. To my mind, not so much. A "universal setting" just isn't that revolutionary when you're using a universal system.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Suzerain (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items