DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Rio de Janeiro Noturno
by William G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 23:31:45

Um ótimo suplemento, esperado por muito tempo e escrito por um grande conhecedor do Mundo das Trevas.

Leitura fácil e trama complexa, mas de fácil entendimento, que dá ainda mais gosto em se jogar nas noites turbulentas cariocas (e olha que sou paulista hein?)

Recomendo muito para novos e velhos jogadores, mas saiba que é muito importante entender qause que todos os termos utilizados nos manuais básicos/cenários para entender muitas coisas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rio de Janeiro Noturno
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bloodlines: The Legendary
by Johnathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 14:07:17
“Bloodlines: The Legendary” is a collection of 9 vampire bloodlines, which are kind of “sub-clans” or offshoots within the big five. These bloodlines, as the title says, are supposed to be legendary in nature- feared, or at least well known, by other kindred. It explores their unique appearances, certain covenants they lean towards, and the history and lore of the bloodline. Additionally, these bloodlines add unique clan Weaknesses, Disciplines and Devotions to follow their theme. While some certainly go above and beyond the mark (creating personal favorites), others seem to fall short, or just reach the bar, or just don’t seem to fit. As such, it’s a mixed bag that needs to be individually appraised. And, going through the book, my main critique is the actually the lack of variety in clans: There are 3 Ventrue bloodlines, 3(ish) Daeva bloodlines, 2(ish) Mekhet bloodlines, 1 Nosferatu bloodline, and no Gangrel bloodline to speak of. As such, it’s value and usage to players who prefer Gangrel or Nosferatu is severely lacking. My opinion of individual bloodlines is below:
  • Brom are seekers of the grail and “Fisher Kings” of the Ventrue. Their unique Discipline, Crochan, deals mainly with healing their injuries and the injuries of others. Their Ventrue weakness reflects their search for the grail, causing them to be nomads. While I like the idea of a grail seeker bloodline, the Brom personally don't appeal to me as more than storyteller characters.
  • The Carnival are deformed “Freaks” of the Daeva and take up a look similar to freak show exhibits. Their unique Discipline, The Show, is all about imitating show tricks such as stretching limbs, climbing on walls, and even creating siamese twins. Their Daeva weakness is augmented in one of two ways: either they become so physically deformed that they obtain the Nosferatu weakness, or they have a physical impairment that reduces your speed. The Daeva/Nosferatu combination weakness is an intriguing concept that I personally feel is superior to the speed impairment (in addition to roleplay). This striking offshoot of the Daeva appeals to me both as storyteller characters (or, like the book suggests, an entire troupe) or even as player characters.
  • The Children of Judas are introduced as “Suicide Kings”, deriving their unique affinity with suicide and depression. A major section of their lore goes into the anatomy of despair, depression and suicide (to preface their heritage). Their unique Discipline, Despond, is very much based around making targets so miserable that they are more likely to off themselves. Additionally, the more knowledge you have on an opponent grants you more modifiers on the roll (such as knowing their Virtue or Vice, some personal trauma in their life, etc), something I very much appreciate. Their Daeva weakness is a slight addition to the vanilla weakness, in that you now lose willpower by not indulging in personal despair or despair in others. While I enjoy this bloodline, it’s usage as a player character seems less appealing that as a storyteller character (perhaps as a sheriff).
  • The Galloi are the “Pretties” of the Nosferatu, gaining supernaturally attractive (and adrogenous) forms by bathing in special Vitae. Their weakness comes from this blood bath, where once you become supernaturally beautiful you still have a mechanical disadvantage in social situations; and, if you don’t refresh the beauty, you are even more repulsive than a regular Nosferatu. Their unique Discipline, Taurobolium, is a scaling Discipline: When used, you are more likely to gain successes during a blood bath (which give you bonus dice on social rolls). As such, my main criticism of this bloodline comes from the symmetry of it: You aren’t gaining a mechanical bonus when becoming more attractive, instead you go from “supernaturally repulsive” to “repulsively attractive”. To offset this, you must garner more successes than the negative modifier already in place (You have to achieve at least 3 success to offshoot, so about a dice pool of 6). Personally, this irks me. However, I overall feel like this is a pretty cool bloodline, one that I can see as a potential storyteller character.
  • The Gulikan are the “Bloodhounds” and “Perfumers” of the Daeva clan, being supernaturally good (even obsessed) at identifying scents and creating Vitae infused products. Their weakness, as an offset of the Daeva, has them completely entranced by individual scents- if they don’t find “the one” who carries their scent, they take a -1 dice penalty until they can. Their unique Discipline, Ortam, is awesome: You can learn “Essence Vitale Absolue”, giving products such as soap, tobacco or even perfume an addictive Vitae scent. Additionally, they can create various “Fragrant Devotions” that can act as pheromone-based imitations of other Disciplines, such as Majesty. The overall idea of this clan, as those who can control others simply through scents, make them an awesome start for player characters or storyteller characters.
  • Then we have the Kuufukuji’s, a Mekhet (or Daeva) bloodline nicknamed the “Hungry” because of their tradition of self-control over man and beast. Their weakness reflects their internal balance of the beast, where having too much vitae means you cannot use your Disciplines and having too little makes you likely to frenzy. Their unique Discipline, Shihai, lets you spend willpower to gain bonuses to resist Wassail. Honestly, this is probably the least “legendary” bloodline in the book; one that, I really don’t find compelling as a storyteller or player character.
  • The Macellarius are the “Gluttons” of the Ventrue, high-bred connoisseurs of blood and flesh. Their weakness stems from this fact, as they grow older their bodies start to become overtly large and obese- making dexterity rolls far less effective. This is compounded with their thematic Discipline, Gustus, which enables them to consume raw human flesh for Vitae, poison others, release stomach acid for aggravated damage, and even temporarily absorbing a victims skills or attributes. I’ll admit, I like the aesthetic of this bloodline.
  • The Melissidae are the “Queen Bees” of the Ventrue, and my personal favorite bloodline in this book. As they imitate hives of insects, their weakness makes Queen Bees weaker when not around one of her drones (a cumulative negative modifier for each hour she’s away). Out of the other bloodlines, the Mellissidae gain a variety of devotions, along with their own unique form of Animalism based on insects. Through this, they can create severely addictive blood that tastes like honey, host a swarm of insects in a victim, and create hive drones out of thralls. Making entire cults of personality from this bloodline is well described, even thematically reinforced. Overall, I really can’t express how awesome this bloodline is and how much higher quality this is than some of the other bloodlines. I would love to play a fledgling Melissidae or even run a storyteller character Melissidae.
  • Lastly, we have the Players, a group of “Wannabe” vampires from the Mekhet. Their main schtick is that they imitate other vampires, while never really being better than pretenders. Their weakness causes them to lose power over people they’ve influenced, causing them to fade out of the spotlight. They don’t have a unique discipline, instead using a mixture of Majesty and Obfuscate to create devotions that thematically suit them. One enables you to imitate movies, for example, while another lets you turn your mundane self into a star. While I enjoy the concept of a bloodline of vampires pretending to be stereotypes, it’s lacking the “legendary” status that several other bloodlines feel like. As such, not impressed (also doesn’t help it was put after my favorite bloodline).


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodlines: The Legendary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
by Timothy A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:57:32

After having some time to review the material I wanted to let others know what I thought of the book in general. If you just want to know if I would recommend the book please advance to the end for my final thoughts.

Layout and Format: I would say that there is some room for improvement in this area. Currently the book reuses art from their previous works and does not seem to have any new pieces that I could find currently. This to me is not necessarily a bad thing but I do hope that they do get some new pieces of artwork for the Volumes as a whole when they move to consolidate them in the omnibus. The current layout is readable and does not seem to have any cut-off paragraphs and flows from one section to the next in a logical fashion for a book that is intended to be an update and expansion of a previous work. My only critic of the layout at this time is that the table of contents seems too long for a PDF supplement that has book marks. Currently the table of Contents spans 8 pages and this could be condense down to one or two. 4 out of 5 stars.

Chapter one: This introduction gives me all the information that I need on the intentions of the company moving forward that I would require for an update to the current rules and though I do not find it useful for my purposes it does give advice for integrating the material into an existing game and I find that useful information to have. 5 out of 5 stars.

Chapter two: As this is an update/Errata section and much of this material is free online in the form of errata, I did find it nice to have it in one convenient location that is now much easier to find. I do however not like continuing to use the Blood and Betrayal story line elements since they only apply to that chronicle. Most games use the cannon metaplot or diverge from that with their own stories and I find using a chronicle specific meta confuses players of many games and since it has effected my games in the past was not happy to see it continued here. I would much rather see a chronicle agnostic approach to the meta given by sticking to the cannon given in the source we already have. That being said there is not a lot of material in this section dedicated on that subject. 3 out of 5 stars.

Chapter three: This chapter is lengthy, 28 pages, and give each clan and blood line three new merits. Though I find the usage of the term "alternate" rather than "additional" to be somewhat confusing on the purpose of these merits in regard to wether the writers intended for these to replace the existing merits or is not really relevant since these merits will be used as STs see fit anyway, I would like it clarified in future installments. The merits are intriguing and overall I find this to be one of the more useful sections of the book and one of the primary reasons to buy the book in the first place. 5 out of 5 stars.

Chapter four: Another lengthy section, 31 pages, and another reason many buyers will wish to acquire this book is this chapter on Techniques. This to me was a let down. Though I feel that everyone should get some love in a book that is for everyone, I found this section caters to Rarer Disciplines more than Common ones and wish the dispersion of the techniques was the opposite. If you look at discipline rarity to classify the techniques into common, uncommon and rare classifications the book gives you 25 Rare techniques (3 Warrior Salubri, 3 Healer Salubri, 3 Ravnos, 3 Gargoyle, 2 Kyasid, 3 Bali, 2 Daughters, 3 True Brujah, and 3 Samedi), 21 camarilla/anarch uncommon (3 Malkavian, 4 Assamite, 4 Followers of set, 1 Giovanni/Tremere, and 7 Gangrel, 1 Protean/Quietus, and 1 Protean or Dementation), 7 Sabbat uncommon (4 Lasombra and 3 Tzemisce) and 14 common techniques (3 Toreador, 1 Malkavian, 1 Knight of the Moon, 1 Gangrel, 1 Nosferatu fit current discipline spreads). Brujah and Ventrue have to buy an out of clan for any of the common techniques to work for them so they get the least amount of love here. I didn’t look to see if any of the rare or uncommon techniques required out of clan disciplines since common disciplines are easier to come by. The clans I have listed is due to the discipline in question being the primary focus of that particular clan and when looked at from that perspective you the clan dispersion you can see a more balanced approach from the authors even though Ventrue and Brujah get the short end of this stick and the Gangrel see a lot of love. This would have been a better section for me personally if the number of common and rare techniques had switched but that is just a personal opinion. It would not have been much of an issue if Rare Clans and bloodline only got 1 each since all clans have access to at least two common disciplines for the most part. 3 out of 5 stars.

Chapter five: This chapter was 45 pages of good information, though it is primarily up to your ST on wether it gets used or not since it is mainly system for them to use. I found this section to be very good and has a lot of information. The only thing I did not like is the 1 page of Blood and Betrayal chronicle specific info and I don't think it will ever become anything but a sticking point for me even if I played in a Blood and Betrayal chronicle I would rather it be in their chronicle's setting document instead. Another thing to note about this section is that it is also material that you can find in other places such as the quest system from werewolf and it is primarily a cut and past of that. I do think for players and STs that do not own or have the Werewolf book it is nice to have it in this one so it did not bother me to see it here. 4 out of 5 stars.

Chapter Six: This is a good chapter full of information for your ST. It covers some very interesting topics which I will not go into detail on. Obviously not every question you could ever have will be covered here, but it did make me want to look in to BNS' other essay titles. If you are looking for advice on how to run a better game this section has that in spades. 4 out of 5 stars.

Final Thoughts: As an update and look at what is to come, I find the book useful and overall tries to give a bit of something to everyone. That however is a part of its downfall as well when it comes to the price that is being charged, especially when you add in the information that was cut and pasted in, artwork reused, and material used that is free online already. If you are an ST I still think this is a good book but the price should have been $10. The essays, merits, techniques, dramatic systems and so on are useful to you as an ST. For players however, you typically only have one character and when all is said you will use very little of this book and do not get any new artwork to look at for your investment. With 3 merits, 2(other clans)-7(Gangrel) techniques, maybe locations and beast trait section being the only things useful to you in the systems update, you are paying $15 for less than 40 pages worth of stuff, 60 if you want to know the Quest rules. I would say it is not very sound since nothing that I saw in here was particularly must have material. If you are a player that likes to have info for your next character and you don't know what you wish to play and your STs are not very restrictive I could see you wanting to pick up the book but as a pLayer that is the only times that the material will be very helpful. even though I say this, I still think people should pick up the books and support BNS, if we don't help give them money we won't get more stuff in the future that may be much more useful to us.

Final rating: 4 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Roma by Night - Liber I: Damnati super Damnatos
by Secrets o. t. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 18:26:03

4/5 simply because I couldn't enjoy the book at its full potential. My understanding of Italian is the same as my underatanding of Portuguese, as in, I more or less understand what I read because I know French, Spanish and Latin. The few things i didnt get I could yse a translator. So while I certainly missed some details, I could sense the beautiful narration (similar text structure helps).

This first book is a full NPC book, with great unique art for portraits, very deep backgrounds and interesting stories to be told around this massive cast. While as a RPG supplement it is a little lacking, as we are waiting for tome 2, the characters are amazing and I would LOVE to read a comic, a series or a fic about them and their interactions with each other. I can't wait to read tome 2 and see how PCs would fit in this madness. There's all sorts of bloodlines too ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Roma by Night - Liber I: Damnati super Damnatos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 12:49:29

Layout issues fixed and full of great material. Very excited to see more issue.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

World of Darkness: Blood-Dimmed Tides
by Joseph C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 09:33:37

In my opinion, this is one of the most enjoyable and fun books ever released by White Wolf. If you're going to run a chronicle set in or around the water, then it is essential. Good writing, great art, and well put-together.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Darkness: Blood-Dimmed Tides
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
by Vincenzo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 07:11:41

Another great Secrets of Masquerade guide. Well detailed, it shows a truly remarkable study of Bordeaux history and Vampire the Masquerade mood, integrated seamlessly. Surely among the best Storyteller's Vault products.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bordeaux by Night - Players Guide
by Vincenzo B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 07:02:07

Such a great, inspiring work! Way better than some official by Night sourcebooks, it shows true love both for Vampire and Bordeaux. Truly a joy for players and Storyteller's alike. Both visual and intellectual eyecandies everywhere. Take it and read it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Laws of Ascension
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 10:17:35

As a concise write up of the very complex Mage setting, this product does manage to pack a lot in. The rules are well written and the premise sure gives a lot of options for 'let's pretend'. Doubles up well alongside the Companion book (for Technocracy characters).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Laws of Ascension
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Beckett's Vampire Folio Omnibus
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 01:33:21

More game fodder than a storyteller can ever really use in a single chronicle!

Plus, it is simply impressive to see the project start and follow through to the end. There may be a few typos or glitches, but the thorough bookmarks to every section and character more than make up for any issues. The fun nerdy side of reading the details in this book is researching and figuring out which details are obscure references to previously published bits ... and what has been improvised and added in to "fill in the blanks".

Between this and Becketts Jyhad Diary, you have everything you need for running stories that jam right into the game's core metaplots.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beckett's Vampire Folio Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Hallean Effect
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2019 16:52:58

The Hallean Effect introduces character tio the fringes of Hollow Earth. The Adventure revolves around a Hermetic mage who in the pursuit of finding Hollow Earth activated the Hollow Earths defense barrier which threatens to destroy a near by town.

The Tabletop Gaming Club enjoyed the setting and concepts presented in this book. The concept of Hollow Earth promises many sessions of enjoyable gaming. We recommend this adventure to all Mage storyteller's looking for a campaign to run.

As a follow-up to the author's question, we did find it suspenseful and many of the players had to scramble to find the solution to various plot elements.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hallean Effect
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks! I am glad your people liked it. More than my other titles, I am hoping this is received well because i feel I had to do more creating-and-balancing in this one than other titles. I am curious. Without asking for a long drawn out answer, did the pacing allow for at least a little suspense or cause the players to scramble for solutions a little bit?
Beckett's Vampire Folio Omnibus
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2019 14:25:31

Beckett's Vampire Folio Omnibus is a collection of all the previously published Vampire Folios. It does a great job of distilling material from Beckett's Jyhad Diary into something that is easily useable by Storytellers. The book contains statistics for hundreds of NPC. It's an amazing and wonderful product.

That being said there are a few formating errors and typos but nothing that really distracts heavily from the content of the book.

The Tabletop Gaming Club highly recommends this product to any storyteller wanting to feature events from Beckett's Jyahd Diary.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beckett's Vampire Folio Omnibus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
by Paul D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 22:10:39

This is a good expansion to the current BNS book. No doubt there is some polish needed and most of the kinks should be worked out in the next edition.

Over all, The content is great and contrary to what you're seeing here, there's a lot of positive reviews on social networks and through word of mouth.

The Clan and Bloodline merits seem pretty well fleshed out and balanced, the Techniques are a good spread and will definitely add some fun to the game.
I especially like the obeah techniques, and the 1-pt Nos Merit, but everything I've read seems neat.

The additions seem to help make the bloodlines more fun and hopefully it'll shake up the builds a little bit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
by Arby S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 19:07:50

by far my favorite "By Night" setting in both official and unofficial material. This book is full of interesting, memorable, well-researched characters with skeletons in their closet and secrets to be exploited by cunning players and PCs. A treasure trove for any ST wanting to run a "behind closed doors" personal horror tale and weave their characters intothe gripping narrative of the city. There is so many ways to bring Bordeaux crumbling down. Do you dare to open Pandora's Box? Lift the silk blanket off the rotten carcass? Or do you prefer stability over justice?

I give it 5 Stars, one of the best fiction content to come out of STVault and VTM at large.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bordeaux by Night - Storytellers Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 13:32:18

While the fiction, mechanics, and systems look very interesting, reading the book can be hard. This is due to issues like multiple pages, pages that are cutoff, and inconsistent sizing of the pages. I really hope someone goes back and does a lot of editing and proofing on this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Mind's Eye Theatre Vampire: The Masquerade Volume II: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2282 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles