DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Curse of Castle Ravenstein
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2021 00:05:52

I have all the decks and this is a good line of products, but one thing I would really like to see added to the decks is a card with a backstory on it. It would be nice to have a bit more story to go with the adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Castle Ravenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Curse of Castle Ravenstein
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2021 18:22:32

Great theme and another unique victory condition make this another great adventure!

Playing with the cards is a real treat - the printed oversized cards are very nice, drawing for each results of room type, contents, etc. I really like this style of artwork as well.

Slight update to the Magic Treasure cards is nice "If you already have this, roll on the 4AD magic treasure table instead." I be applying that to all of these dungeons from here on out.

For this set I would not reommend adding in extra Bosses - you will want to meet these guys. And they go away from the deck so at that point you could sub in a card or three...

Also note that the bosses scale along with Highest Character Level to make sure you have enough challenge. My level 2 characters made is out a little beat up and mostly leveled up to 3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest of the Spider Queen
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 14:43:04

Just played through this with new characters and here are my impressions:

  • The first printed cards I have gotten from DTRPG and the quality is very nice - the oversized cards are a real treat! Not sure what I'm going to store them in yet though.

  • The goal for this adventure is quite different, carve a path to all four edges of the map, which makes for a nice change and forces you to travel a bit. For an extra challenge, don't allow these paths to be within 4 squares from the corners of the map - that'll prevent you from bee-lining to the corners.

  • Generating all room content from cards is very elagent. I drew a card for each element until the stack was empty, then reshuffled. Makes me want a crazy full 36 card deck to play the base game with! (Note: Alexy just came out with a Monsters Deck in the time it took me to get this order, it for sure will be in my next physical order...) I did add the two Boss Monster cards to the mix but they didn't show up this game. (That dang giant spider through, I saw him a few times...)

  • Moving around outside was a nice change of pace, with lots of dead ends, but ways to hack through the trees and/or swim/fly across rivers. Double the wandering monsters on this map, I ran into many! (In fact wandering monsters killed off my wizard and cleric while returning to the start room...)

  • Overall a very fun 'dungeon' to play through, I look forward to playing through the others!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest of the Spider Queen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Animated Armor - Boss Card
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 14:24:32

Very nice to have these to add to the boss pool while playing these 4AD adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animated Armor - Boss Card
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bestiary Playing Cards
by Kim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2021 04:50:20

A nice set of "monster" cards! Why?

This is a well-made standard deck of 54 playing cards with a variety of info and graphics for Fantasy gaming fans. You get the usual 4 suits found in any normal deck of cards, but there are 16 "dungeon" tiles among them and 36 "monster" cards and the Jokers are entrance or exit tiles. Each of these cards is different, none of this same monster pic in a different suit you might see with similar decks...each is an individual well drawn pic of (mostly) recognizable fantasy creatures. On each card is a "die" roll with a different number. This set looks like it was made to be "system agnostic" so that it can be played with different rulesets. There are no instructions, but I imagine an imaginitive soul could find a way to use these with whatever game they want...including all the usual card games played with a standard playing deck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bestiary Playing Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Curse of Castle Ravenstein
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2021 12:14:13

I found this adventure to be both a challange and exciting. I will be vague here to preserve the fun for others, I loved the mechanic used to know when the task was complete. I thought the BBGs were great and the overall deck was once again well done. Joseph and Alexey both did a great job on this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Castle Ravenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Curse of Castle Ravenstein
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2021 17:59:44

Being a fan of both Ravenloft and Castlevania, I have a soft spot for any rpg materials that delve into the undead corners of fantasy. I loved Castle Ravenloft. I really like Four Against Darkness. I have been looking for ways to combine these two myself with varying levels of success. Unfortunately, it's hard to collect stats for the monsters unless you buy every book and thumb through them, and currently there are no rules for monster creation or scaling. Thankfully, this adventure has a good chunk of the types of monsters I'd find useful.

Basically, it's seven different d12 charts spread out over twelve cards, and then two boss cards and two magic treasure cards. I actually like the art on the boss and treasure cards. I also picked up the Animated Armor card to add to my collection.

I do hope to see more of these Dungeon Decks. The format is perfect for 4AD.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pocket Lands: Kingdom
by Ryan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2020 18:56:34

Just received my pack in the mail today. It looks amazing! The colors are vibrant, and there is a good amount of variety in the cards. I'm really looking forward to using these with d100 Dungeon, and I've already ordered the High Seas deck as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pocket Lands: Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bestiary Playing Cards
by Shad C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/07/2020 23:42:19

This is a incomplete deck of playing cards. Every card contains a image of a different creature. The artwork inspires the imagination. Very clean, very detailed. The diamond, clubs, spades, and heart symbols are easily identifiable but have a kinda awsome look. There are also images of six sided dice on the cards. They do not have an official use but do look neat. I think I could use the deck of cards instead of rolling dice. Sort of like in the "fighting fantasy" books. I really like the cards, and look forward to seeing what else this artist produces.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bestiary Playing Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles