DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
by Ethan [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2024 18:57:34

I was very happy to have backed this book. It ended up really well written and organized, Flavor text is wonderfully well done. The adaptation of the 5E rules to a modern setting works much better than I thought it would. The lore is both faithful to the original video game IP, but has enough new added to both move the timeline forward and also provide some inspiration for game masters and players alike. Additionally, the fact that you only need this one book to play is awesome. It does make for a pretty weighty tome but it's well worth it. The artwork is very nice and gives good illustrations of the setting and overall vibe most games will want to go for. As someone who played both versions of the video game to death, the inclusion of every bit of lore from the game is appreciated. You can approach this book even if you've never once encountered the video game at all. I'm sure some players of the original video game might feel a lot of the lore in the book covers old ground but it's a godsend for entirely new folk. And as a game runner, you can share as much or as little with players as you want/need. If you're already familiar with 5E as a system, I think you'll follow this without issue but even if you're not, it's all explained clearly enough that I doubt you'll have any issues. Star Anvil have done a wonderful job with this version of the Secret World TTRPG and I look forward to seeing what else they do with it in future. This is well worth your time/money if you want to use 5E's system. If you don't, there is also a version of this coming out soon for the Savage Worlds system (due to popular demand). Star Anvil are going to continue to support both versions. As a publisher, Star Anvil have been phenomenal and I, for one, plan on backing and supporting every product they come up with that strikes my fancy. If they continue with the quality of work they've already shown, I will never be disappointed and neither will you. A+++++......



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
by Daniel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2024 17:28:17

Incredibly lazy, uninspiring and shallow execution of a great setting. Choosing 5e is a questionable, but not inherently a bad idea, but the mechanics are terrible.

Classes feel lazy, copy pasted mixtures of base DND classes, and fully combat focused. From what I've seen there's hardy any class or subclass features focused on social or exploration aspects of the game, It's all about combat. Every other class or subclass has Brutal Critical feature, some classes get proficiency in ALL saving throws, some can cast any spells without concentration, warlocks need to trade their spell slots for incantations... the list goes on. From a balance pow it's a mess. Backgrounds: very poor. No "normal" people finding out about secret world, again uninspiring and lazy.

Mechanics are clunky, combat, magic items, spells, it's all just unfinished and lazy. The only thing I liked is the list of spells. They got rid of most of the gamebreaking spells.

Bought the pdf on a 50% sale and I still regret it. Not worth full price.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
by Chris [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2024 20:17:44

For a 5th edition conversion a $60 price tag is far too high for such a mediocre conversion. The lore is all from the MMO The Secret World so I can't really give them credit as they did very little work designing that. I'd honestly if you want a game like this to get World of Darkness or even fan made games if you want something grimdark.

Why to buy: You played The Secret World and want a nostalgic memento.

Why not to buy: This product is 4 times too expensive. You'll struggle to find people to play it as it's super niche and just a 5e conversion (there's a million of them). There's much better grimdark.

Disclosure: I love The Secret World and supported this as a Kickstarter at the $60 level, along with other backers I was under the impression that I'd be getting the game books or at least cover a vast majority of the cost. This was not the case. If this was the only issue then I'd have given it a 3/5.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
by Lewis [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2024 02:22:02

Full disclosure: I kickstarted this project, purchasing all physical material.

Can I in good conscience recommend this product? No. Why would you want to buy this product then? Simple. Because when it is good, TSW is very good. The problem is poor feedback response for community concerns, lack of attention to detail, mechanics that clunk and critical sections of gameplay that are missing.

If you wanted to run a game in mythos of The Secret World, but have never played the video game before, then certainly buy this book for the fluff. The writing and exploration is, for the most part, excellent and serves as a solid primer to the great world.

If you already know the setting, then rely on your knowledge, some refreshing from a wiki and choose another game system.

Let’s dive into this.

TSW is built on 5e. That I don’t mind. There have been excellent 5e based games such as (updated) Dark Souls, Genefunk, Ultramodern or Broken Weave. TSW is not one of them. The classes feel hollow and the irony of declaring at the start of the chapter that the Warlock in TSW is not the Warlock from 5e fantasy, yet the actual TSW Warlock is a copy-pasta of the Sorcerer cannot be lost on me. And the Trickster is just a Chaos Sorcerer but without the chance to turn blue. It feels lazy.

The Archetypes mechanic of changing subclasses in and of itself is an interesting fit. The problem is that not all Archetypes are made equal by any stretch and some lack any sort of power or flavour. A brief nod to some feature from the game and that is all.

Backgrounds are awful. Unless you directly come from a X-Files Lone Gunman conspiracy origin, you are up the creek. What about the blue-collar guy who got dragged into this mess when his work-site dug up something they shouldn’t have? Or the white-collar office worker going through their boss’s email logs and discovers secrets no mortal should know? How about a mother of three who loses a child in the park one day and becomes obsessed with their disappearance and those crows that always flock to the swings?

Sorry. You’re a pachinko player or vampire hunter or an Illuminati graduate. The normal is completely forgotten and it clunks.

Talismans are equally a joke. Yes, this is meant to be a self-contained book. But you will have no choice but to look to the 5e srd to get inspiration for any sort of magical item. The very least could have been some basic rules or concepts on how to craft and flavour the magic items of TSW.

Speaking of magic. Where is the modern arcana? People can toss fireballs around but no one can use magic to interact with the modern world? Read USB sticks on the fly. Interface with security surveillance. Transport across landline cables? Urban Arcana in the 3.0 D&D system was doing this better 20+ years ago.

Oh and don’t ask for a “Technology” skill because there isn’t one. You might know how to tame a lion with Animal Handling but sifting through digital logs or hacking isn’t there. Pretty much everyone I know has house-ruled the skill in.

The number of bullets in a magazine does not match the number of bullets you can purchase per magazine for certain weapons. Others aren’t even fully fleshed out.

The list goes on and I’m likely boring you now. TSW is a bolt-on of 5e to a game-world that just doesn’t gel with the mechanics, mechanics that in principle could work but in execution simply do not. Even the monsters just… clunk.

I think that’s how I would describe TSW. Clunk. You can tell when the writers put their love and passion into this book. Chapter 1 is a delightful read and really understands what TSW is. If they release Chapter 1 as a standalone primer, then I implore you buy that in a heartbeat. It is well worth the read. But the rest. When I got the beta release of the rules I declared “Dark Days are Coming.” With the official release all I can say is “Dark Demons Cry Gaia.”



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Secret World-5E-Core Book
by Sergio A. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2024 06:57:00

I am, admittedly, not an expert in ttrpgs, but the videogame this is based on is one of my favorites of all time, and I feel that this book is an accurate portrayal of that world, advancing it from the early 2010s to the 2020s.

Honestly, I feel this book is worth the price just because of the lore it has. Some might disagree with this, and that's fair, but personally, just seeing Kirsten Geary again is worth any price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
SAINTs and Synners Jumpstart
by Adamek [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2023 04:32:05

Cool setting primer, good adventure. I really like that both cyberware and hacking use Arcane Backgrounds, it is a really creative use of that subsystem. I like the art style as well, I hope I will see much-much more of it in the full setting book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SAINTs and Synners Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Knights Arcanum Jumpstart
by Timothy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2023 09:54:01

Ok.. Good lord.

I've gone through this three times and I cannot wait to run this. This looks like so much fun and the perfect setting for any of us old hats who want to relive our Saturday morning nostalgia in game form.

If this every becomes a full fledged setting... "insert Fy meme here" and take my darn money!

12 out of 5 stars. I held aloft my magic sword, my wings of metal, and nerves of steel as I felt the magic, heard the roar and before I got loose and took that Tiger-shark by the tail even though none of their ships had sails.

Or at least that's what I'm hoping for my players when we get this on the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights Arcanum Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Accursed
by Ronnie W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2021 13:28:39

One of my favorite Savage Worlds settings, and holds up well with Savage Worlds Adventure Edition (the Accursed Adventure Edition Update helps)!

Universal Classic Monsters meets Castlevania, this setting simply oozes with ambience. From the layout to the art, it wholly embraces its theme and draws you in. From the start, you find yourself immersed in the world of Morden, a post-war land ruled by evil witches where hope lies with the renegade monsters they created. And, the choice to include the short story "Hunted" was a stroke of genius! It gives you a taste of the tales that can be told and leaves you wanting more!

Well-designed, well-written; I can't say enough about how much I love Accursed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
NorTek Armory
by kender m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 18:25:32

Great addition to my sci-fi campaign. Even though we don't do a lot of combat, the players seem to enjoy the options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NorTek Armory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you soo much for the kind words!
pixel_trans.gif
NorTek Armory
by Joshua A. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2020 20:41:47

This is a fantastic little book (only 7 pages long) with great art and weapons. Each weapon, the guns and grenades, has it's own illustration accompanying it's description. What's better is the weapons stats themselves. Instead of just giving a couple of new Science Fiction sounding descriptions for guns that are just "roll to deal damage" clear effort was put in to make each item unique. With this book your soldier types will have more options than just being damage dealers; each item has it's own charm and flavor that will give gun toting bad****s a bunch of fun options that allow them to be just as versatile as your mind melters and psychic wizards (assuming you have those). Definitely a must have for anyone that wants to add some cool new gear to their campaign that will do more than change the type/amount of dice rolled on hit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for liking what we do!
pixel_trans.gif
Accursed Player's Guide
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 21:31:23

Accursed is an amazingly well written and wonderful background and book. The players guide is a brilliant addition to this as it adds an option for the players to build characters and learn the world without revealing all the background game master information to the players. Highly recommended for anyone who loves League of Extraordinary Gentlemen or other “Monsters” are the good guy’s style settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Accursed
by Lee L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 21:29:16

Wonderful Fun and a great concept. Would love to get a group to play this setting! [not run, I want to play some times too]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Accursed
by Kyle P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 17:21:26

The story provided is fantastic as is the overall concept, however I find a few aspects lacking.

1-The currency system is roll based which falls short for this setting.

2-The fact that werewolves and vampires are just as susceptible to ordinary weapons as an ordinary human is a bit of a let down.

However these minor short comings can be overcome with house rules SHOULD YOU FEEL THE NEED as I did. These are only my personal complaints and theyre minor.

Overall a decent book, especially as an idea generator.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Accursed: Grove Point - Fate Edition
by zackery W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2016 14:48:47

a solid little download . I would love to see accursed turned into a full fate system . Im gonna run this adventure for my family while they are down . The adventure itself is well written, with plenty of information to spend a couple hours of fun . Stunts and aspects appropriate to the settint are included which is a huge help to see how the game is supposed to be run. The inclusion of witchcraft and alchemy was a very nice surprise and while they arent anything groundbreaking by themselves , having the SW book gives plenty of inspiration . Thanks for a great thanksgiving present .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: Grove Point - Fate Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Accursed: A Quiet Life
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2016 04:50:21

Set in the Outlands, this adventure has a distinctly Wild West feel to it, a feeling that is further accentuated by the ophidian illustration on the final page. The scenario presents the heroes with an interesting moral dilemma, and encourages thinking and diplomacy over mindless confrontation, although the adventure provides suggestions for handling either solution.

Overall it's an excellent addition to the setting, and would also make a great Savage Tale for anyone running an Accursed Plot Point Campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Accursed: A Quiet Life
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles