DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Karthun: Lands of Conflict
by Trey M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2019 00:58:28

An amazing, well detailed setting that is rich with adventure and possibility. Highly reccomended



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Karthun: Lands of Conflict
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 05:44:56

Layout was great. New fighter rules look fun and engaging (and adaptable so when I get around to kitbashing Crimsion skies and fate using this) chracter creation easy and again adaptable. World is basically open with a few settings but no major spoiler arcs so you can make it whatever story you want. (its basically a supported "mercenery" unit like the Flying tigers in Earth history but if you want to do more hard mercenery (piolt has to pay for repairs consumables himself) Like Area 88 not much change is needed would have liked to see more about the enemies but cannot say it was really needed.only one other thing i thought was missing so I will put it here
An Irish Airman Foresees His Death W. B. Yeats, 1865 - 1939 I know that I shall meet my fate
Somewhere among the clouds above;
Those that I fight I do not hate
Those that I guard I do not love;
My country is Kiltartan Cross, My countrymen Kiltartan’s poor,
No likely end could bring them loss
Or leave them happier than before.
Nor law, nor duty bade me fight,
Nor public man, nor cheering crowds, A lonely impulse of delight
Drove to this tumult in the clouds;
I balanced all, brought all to mind,
The years to come seemed waste of breath,
A waste of breath the years behind In balance with this life, this death. although in my head while reading this i kept changing it to "somewhere among the stars above"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:33:33

I got to play this at Origins 2018 and had a blast! (Pun intended.) The no-skills variant of Fate is interesting and fast to play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:31:24

Although I prefer Fate Core, I have run Fate Accelerated to good effect. Since Fate Core and Fate Accelerated have the same roots, I have a few of the print copies on hand to lend/give out to the players. The basic rules are all right there and the Actions & Outcomes table on page 15 is invaluable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Core System
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:24:33

Fate Core is currently my favorite roleplaying game system! It really can handle just about any setting. We've done postapocalyptic, pulp, space epics, superheroes, steampunk, and so on (I still have a hard time running horror, but that may just be me). The ability to handle any scene without looking up some peculiar rule (I'm looking at you grapple) is a godsend! The game really sings if you get buy-in from everybody at the table and they push the system to its fullest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Spirit of the Century
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 01:16:10

This was the first roleplaying game that introduced me to Evil Hat's Fate system. it was so different then everything else I was playing at the time (D&D, GURPS, Champions, etc.). I devoured it! This will always have a warm spot in my heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Century
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Spirit of the Season
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2019 22:55:55

The adventure is full of wacky hijinks for a more lighthearted Spirit of the Century game. Of important note is the section on Mystic Spellcraft, which I referred to often in my SotC campaigns!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spirit of the Season
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron • Those Who Were Here Before
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 11:54:57

"Those Who Were Here Before" is a nifty little supplement for 'Tachyon Squadron,' which is itself a setting for the Fate Core system. If you aren't familiar with Fate Core, you probably should be-- it's one of the easiest, fastest-playing, most versatile systems out there. If you play Fate Core, you should really check out 'Tachyon Squadron,' too, especially if you grew up loving the tropes of rebellious hotshot pilots from TV shows like "Baa Baa Black Sheep" or "Battlestar Galactica" or films like "Top Gun" or even "Star Wars." And finally, if you already play 'Tachyon Squadron,' you should pick up a PDF copy of "Those Who Were Here Before" for your game.

With "Those Who Were Here Before," author Clark Valentine pulls a nifty trick-- he expands the emotional and thematic palette of 'Tachyon Squadron,' giving GMs the opportunity to introduce scenes right out of "Aliens" or add elements of Lovecraftian horror to their games, and to do so without derailing an existing game focused on PEW! PEW! PEW! starfighter combat. This scenario essentially introduces the possibility of alien horror to a standard 'Tachyon Squadron' game, framing that possibility as an incredibly rare encounter which might be a one-off experience for your pilots-- or might be the sign of more horrific things to come. It's your game, and "Those Who Were There Before" allows you to season it to taste.

I really like this supplement. Buy it now, or your name isn't Goooooooooooooose!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron • Those Who Were Here Before
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
by Sterling H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 16:13:09

Yes, there is no art, but the content in here is pure gold so I won't mark down for art (I'm hopefully it'll be in in the near future). I'm mostly a fantasy setting fan, but reading through this makes me want to play sci-fi Fate right now. There are tons of options/knobs/dials to play with that should suit anyone. I'm very impressed with this. Evil Hat normally does a bang up job, and continue to do so with this toolkit.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Space Toolkit • Prototype Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Accelerated/Core Conversion Guide
by Michel V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2019 05:53:38

Well written and simple game. I have used it to lure many players into playing RPG's do to the flexibility of the format. The conversion guide helps to transition to the more complete (IMO) core version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated/Core Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Core System
by Dean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2018 15:48:45

Fate is a really neat system, but the biggest issue I have with it is that it seems to take a group of active fairly experienced roleplayers to pull off well.

The Fate system needs the players to have a ton of input into the world and be driven. This tends not to work well with a group that is experienced and timid. I struggled as the GM to get players to contribute and unfortunately the FATE system kind of falls apart if that is the case.

If you have a group that like mechanics-lite, story driven roleplay and you have players who love to regularily contribute to what is happening in a more impactful way, then FATE could be a really good system for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Great points, Dean. And honestly I tend to agree with you. If folks aren't comfortable putting their own ideas forward at the table — an act that Fate celebrates right down to its bones, and indeed, depends upon — it's gonna dud out for them. Thankfully there are plenty of highly motivated players out there that Fate works great for. :) Thanks for the review!
Improv for Gamers
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 08:25:03

I've purchased and reviewed Improv for Gamers. Check it out here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Improv for Gamers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Uprising: The Dystopian Universe RPG
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/07/2018 02:41:14

https://www.teilzeithelden.de/2018/11/07/rezension-uprising-vive-la-resistance/

Vive la Résistance! Wird es eurem Team gelingen, vor den Gendarmen der Regierung zu entkommen, die Ketten der Augmented Reality zu sprengen und Paris Nouveau in die Freiheit zu führen? Und werdet Ihr den Verräter in eurer Mitte rechtzeitig enttarnen?

Bei Uprising geht es darum, Angehörige einer bewaffneten Widerstandsgruppe gegen ein unterdrückendes System in der näheren Zukunft zu spielen. Das Ganze basiert auf dem Fate-Regelwerk. Uprising tritt mit dem Anspruch auf, ein schnelles Spiel zu sein, und setzt sich zum Ziel, in nur einer Sitzung die Fate-typische Weltenerschaffung, die Charaktererschaffung sowie ca. zwei Missionen abzuhandeln, was durch einen Praxistest bestätigt wurde. Dabei ist das Ziel, die Regierung zu besiegen, dermaßen präsent, dass dieses Kampagnenziel tatsächlich das Spiel beendet. Man soll Uprising quasi durchspielen können. Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt ist das Misstrauen der SCs untereinander, weil jeder über ein Geheimnis verfügt, das den anderen SCs das Leben schwer macht, wobei tatsächlich einer der SCs auch ein Maulwurf der Regierung sein kann.

Die Spielwelt Nach einem nicht näher definierten Atomkrieg mussten die Überlebenden sich inmitten radioaktiver Verseuchung und zerstörter Infrastruktur neu organisieren, was dann in Form von abgeschotteten Stadtstaaten geschah, u.a. Paris Nouveau, wo die Handlung spielt.

Paris Nouveau wurde auf den Ruinen des in der Seine versinkenden Paris gegründet, wobei das alte Paris als la Cave unterhalb der neuen Stadt als Ruinenstadt und Rückzugsort der Résistance liegt. Darüber auf Pfeilern errichtet liegt la Bas, was im Wesentlichen ein riesiger Beton-Klotz ist, der mit den Wohneinheiten der Einwohner vollgestopft ist. Darüber erhebt sich L’Aerie, ein dem Eiffelturm nachempfundener Wolkenkratzer, der der Oberschicht als Wohnort dient; dessen Spitze wird L’Apogée genannt, wo die High Society sowie die Regierung untergebracht sind.

Vive la Résistance! Die Gesellschaft ist in drei Schichten unterteilt: An der Spitze steht La Societé, die Oberschicht, die auf Kosten der anderen Schichten ein Leben in Luxus führt, der z.T. mit Augmented oder Virtual Reality (AR bzw. VR) aufgewertet wird. Les Élites, die Spitze der Societé, hat aber nicht einmal das nötig.

Darunter als breite Masse leben Les Citoyens, die gewöhnlichen Bürger. Ab dem 11. Geburtstag bekommen sie ein neural casing installiert, dass ihr Leben mittels Augmented Reality mit angenehmeren Oberflächen für alle Sinne überzieht, was bitter nötig, da die Wände in La Bas blanker Beton sind, die Nahrung aus den Ausscheidungen der Einwohner gewonnenes Artificial Proteine Extract (APE) ist, die Kleidung ziemlich abgerissen ist und dank Wasserrationierung die Körperhygiene der Insassen in La Bas sicherlich überblendet werden muss. Das neural casing als Implantat ist allerdings für einen Citoyen unbezahlbar, weswegen er einen Konzern als Sponsor benötigt, für den er letztlich 80 Stunden pro Woche arbeiten muss, um seine Schulden zu tilgen zu versuchen, was aber unmöglich ist. Nach spätestens dreißig Jahren gibt das neural casing ohnehin seinen Geist auf, und der betreffende Citoyen stirbt und wird zu APE verarbeitet. Letztlich sind Les Citoyens wie Strafgefangene in einem stereotypen US-Gefängnis, nur dass durch die AR es meistens nicht so aussieht. Je weiter man aber von L’Apogée entfernt ist, desto schlechter ist die Übertragung, so dass in den unteren Ebenen von La Bas das APE wieder so schmeckt, wie es das eigentlich tut.

Darunter stehen Les Exilés, Leute ohne neural casing, sei es, weil sie außerhalb von Paris Nouveau geboren wurden, oder sei es, weil ihnen zur Strafe das neural casing zerstört wurde. Diese sind nun völlig der Willkür der Gendarmerie ausgeliefert und müssen, nur um zu überleben, die Tätigkeiten verrichten, für die sich selbst Les Citoyens zu fein sind, vergleichbar mit den SIN-losen bei Shadowrun.

Dagegen wehrt sich La Résistance, eine bewaffnete Widerstandsgruppe, die die Regierung niederwerfen, die Betäubung, Überwachung und Ausbeutung der Massen durch das neural casing beenden und das Terraforming-Programm wiederaufleben lassen will bzw. verkünden will, dass man außerhalb von Paris Nouveau wieder leben kann.

Dabei wird sehr auf Ambivalenz geachtet: Bei mehreren Missionen im Buch stellt man fest, dass La Résistance zweifelhafte Mittel einsetzt, die Konzerne z.T. Gutes tun etc., so dass die anfängliche Schwarz-Weiß-Malerei deutliche Schattierungen erhält: Kämpfen wir wirklich auf der richtigen Seite?

Insgesamt präsentiert sich das Setting aber als Mischung aus Shadowrun, Paranoia und Matrix. Während zu Beginn die Fronten klar zu sein scheinen, stellt sich die Sachlage von Mission zu Mission immer ambivalenter dar, so dass die Charaktere immer öfter vor einem Dilemma stehen.

Die Regeln Die Regeln von Uprising sind grundsätzlich Fate Core. Über die Sinnhaftigkeit oder Funktionalität der Fate-Regeln an sich kann es bei der Rezension eines konkreten Fate-Settings nicht gehen. Diese Regeln vorausgesetzt, gehe ich nun auf die wesentlichen Abweichungen ein:

Die Regeln wurden deutlich entschlackt, bei einem Fate-Spiel ist das schon einmal eine Ansage. Es gibt nur vier means genannte Fertigkeiten: Fight, Manipulate, Maneuver und Observe. Verglichen mit den Methoden aus TurboFate sind die means – wie der Praxistest gezeigt hat - deutlich griffiger, ein Schlag ins Gesicht erfordert eine Probe auf Fight, sich am Gegner vorbeizuschlängeln eine Probe auf Maneuver. Aber wie die TurboFate-Methoden kann man je nach Beschreibung auch andere means benutzen: Will man sich durch die Reihe der Gegner hindurchrempeln, würde man auf Fight würfeln, ein Schuss mit dem Scharfschützengewehr vom Hausdach an der Oberseite von La Bas würde ggf. auch über Observe abgehandelt werden. Allerdings gibt es Boni wie zusätzliche Schübe, wenn man suited means verwendet, also z.B. Fight, um Schaden zu verursachen. Aber griffiger und damit schneller als die Methoden von TurboFate ist es sicherlich.

Der Schaden wird nicht wie bei Fate Core über Stress und Konsequenzen abgehandelt, sondern direkt über Zustände, wie sie das Fate-Handbuch kennt; je nachdem, welches Template man bei der Charaktererschaffung (s.u.) benutzt, sind dies durchaus andere Zustände. Dadurch muss man nicht lange überlegen, welche Konsequenz nun ein Treffer hat.

Neben den bei Fate üblichen Fate-Punkten gibt es noch sogenannten Blowback. Bestimmte in der Mission genannte Situationen und Aktionen der Spielercharaktere geben dem Spielleiter Blowback, z.B. wenn die SCs nicht heimlich vorgehen, sondern den LKW in die Luft sprengen. Blowback-Punkte können vom SL eingesetzt werden, um ganz konkrete, vorher in der Mission definierte Effekte oder Ereignisse zu erzeugen wie z.B. einen weiteren Trupp Gendarmen die Szenerie betreten lassen oder einen SC mit dem Marked-to-death-Zustand tatsächlich sterben zu lassen. Blowback-Punkte sind also zweckgebundene Fate-Punkte. Stattdessen hätte man aus den Aktionen der Charaktere aber auch Situationsaspekte herleiten können, die man über die normalen Fate-Punkte gegen die SCs reizt. Andererseits ist hier viel klarer geregelt, wofür Blowback verwendet werden kann. Der Fluss der Blowback-Punkte erfordert weniger Entscheidungen und beschleunigt so das Spiel, weil sie automatisch generiert werden. Im Praxistest benötigte ich als SL oft keine Fate-Punkte, um den Testspielern das Leben schwer zu machen, da ich einen regelmäßigen Strom von Blowback-Punkten zur Verfügung hatte. Gerade an einem müden Freitagabend empfand ich das als sehr entlastend.

Charaktererschaffung Charaktere werden eigentlich wie bei Fate üblich erschaffen, allerdings ist die Charaktererschaffung deutlich gelenkt durch die 3x3 Templates, für die man sich entscheidet: Für jede der drei Gesellschaftsschichten existieren drei Templates, aus denen man wählen kann. Bei jedem Template hat man die Wahl zwischen drei verschiedenen Verteilungen der Punkte für die means, so dass man eine zur Rolle passende stimmige Verteilung beschleunigt erhält. Jedes Template definiert durch einen individuellen Satz an Fragen die Aspekte, die den Charakter ausmachen: Wer einen Soldier spielt, erhält durch den Template andere Verteilungsmuster für seine means, andere Fragen zu seinen Aspekten, andere Zustände für Verwundungen im Kampf und andere optionale Stunts, als wenn er einen Hacker spielt. Ein Stunt ist verpflichtend durch die Gesellschaftsschicht, ansonsten hat man eine begrenzte Auswahl je nach Template. Dadurch, dass es durch die Templates so vordefiniert ist, beschleunigt sich die Charaktererschaffung, weil viele Überlegungen bereits vorweg genommen wurden: Wer einen Blueblood spielt, kann und muss sich nicht überlegen, ob er Fight auf 3 setzt. Das spart Zeit, passt zur Rolle, negiert aber ungewöhnliche Kombinationen. Die Charaktere bleiben so etwas stereotyp. Im Praxistest kam selbst der Spieler, der sich mit Entscheidungen notorisch schwer tut, zügig zu einem Ergebnis.

Ein wichtiger Punkt sind die Geheimnisse, die jeder Charakter hat. Dazu wählen die Spieler gemeinsam Geheimnis-Karten aus, der Spielleiter mischt noch eine oder bei großen Gruppen mehrere Spion-Karten darunter. Nun zieht jeder Spieler reihum zwei Karten, behält eine und steckt die andere zurück. So hat jeder Charakter ein schmutziges Geheimnis, und alle wissen, dass einer der Charaktere ein Maulwurf der Regierung sein könnte. Indem die Karten zugelost werden, ist auch sichergestellt, dass in einander sehr vertrauten Runden die Identität des Spions ein Geheimnis bleibt. Ansonsten wüsste ich in meiner Stammrunde schon durch die Personen am Spieltisch genau, welcher Mitspieler bei einer völlig freien Wahl sich die Rolle des Verräters ausgesucht hätte. Nun ist es ein Geheimnis, jeder verdächtigt jeden.

Die Charakterentwicklung ist untypisch für Fate: Wer bestimmte Aktionen in einer Mission durchführt, erhält sogenannte Advancement-Points. Diese kann er während der Mission gegen Fate-Punkte eintauschen oder nach der Mission für eine Steigerung eines means sowie einen neuen Stunt einsetzen. Was Advancement-Points bringt, wird durch die Mission vom SL im Vorfeld bestimmt und ist durch das Template sowie das Geheimnis festgelegt. Im Praxistest empfanden es die Spieler als hilfreich, ihrer Rolle entsprechend zu handeln, weil sie für dafür unmittelbar und transparent belohnt werden.

Als weitere „Charaktere“ werden La Résistance und die Regierung gemeinsam geschaffen, die mit jeweils zwei Aspekten und Stunts versehen werden. Je nachdem, wie die Missionen laufen, erhalten auch La Résistance und die Regierung Advancement-Points, die die Möglichkeiten der beiden Organisationen verbessern. Der letzte Stunt im Entwicklungsdiagramm der jeweiligen Organisation leitet die Endgame Mission ein, mit deren Abschluss meistens das Spiel auf die eine oder andere Weise beendet ist: Hat die Résistance gewonnen oder wurde sie von der Regierung zerschlagen?

Weiterer Inhalt Neben einigen vorgefertigten NSCs ist eine beachtliche Sammlung von 17 Missionen als Vorlage für eigene Missionen enthalten. Sie veranschaulichen sehr praktisch, wie die Fate-untypischen Elemente wie Advancement für SCs, Résistance und Regierung sowie Blowback in das Spiel eingebaut werden können. Was sich im Regeltext noch sehr abstrakt las, wurde mir nach der vierten Mission völlig klar. Die 17 sehr an Shadowrun erinnernden Missionen sind angenehm vielfältig: Neben Überfall- und Sabotage-Missionen gibt es Spionageabwehr, die Suche nach Verbündeten, das Kapern des AR-Signals und anderes. Von der Menge her sollten sie ausreichen, um eine der beiden Endgame Missions zu erreichen, auch wenn gegen Ende eigene Missionen die Entwicklung glaubwürdiger machen würde. Vom Ablauf her wirken die Missionen manchmal, vor allem die späteren, etwas vage, was aber Fate-typisch ist und durch sachgerechten Einsatz der Aspekte und Zonen aufgefangen wird. Letztlich ist die Kampagne sinnvoll aufgebaut und geeignet, im sogenannten Kurzen Spiel die Kampagne zu einem Ende zu führen. Für das Lange Spiel reicht die Menge der vorgefertigten Missionen aber nicht aus. Besonders passend finde ich auch einen bestimmten Serienbösewicht der Kampagne, der zur Not geklont wiederkehrt, gleich, wie oft er getötet wird.

Eine Beispielrebellion wird in den Regelbeispielen und erzählenden Texten vor Augen geführt, die auch den Umweg über die Suche nach dem Maulwurf im Team zeigt. Den dort genannten Figuren kann man als NSCs in den Missionen begegnen und findet diese Figuren auch in den Innenillustrationen wieder.

Erscheinungsbild Das vollfarbige PDF ist v.a. in schwarz, weiß, grau und rot gehalten. Graphiken und Bilder sind etwas spärlich gehalten und beschränken sich auf Charakterbilder diverser NSCs sowie zweiseitige Szenenbilder zu den Kapitelanfängen. Dafür sind die Bilder aber auch hochwertig. Die Schrift ist leserlich, durch farbige Hervorhebungen gut gegliedert. Auch als Buch mit 308 Seiten in annähernd DIN C5 dürfte es handlich genug für den Transport sein. Insgesamt ein solides Buch, das aber nicht wegen des Designs gekauft werden dürfte.

Fazit Uprising stellt den Widerstandskampf der kleinen Résistance gegen das Unterdrückungsregime im futuristischen Paris Nouveau dar. Durch ein klar definiertes Ende – Sieg oder Niederlage der Résistance – ist der Rahmen überschaubar. Durch eine sehr gelenkte Charaktererschaffung kann man sehr schnell das Spiel beginnen, da die Wahlmöglichkeiten bei der Charaktererschaffung auf das Spielziel hin fokussiert und begrenzt wurden, was allerdings auf Kosten der Individualität geht.

Wenn man einen Widerstandskampf gegen einen totalitären Überwachungsstaat voller Intrigen, persönlicher Ziele und der Angst vor einem Verräter spielen will, den man in sicherlich zehn Sitzungen zu einem klar definierten Ende führen kann, ist man bei Uprising goldrichtig. Schneller Start, klares Ziel und die Regulierung gegenseitigen Misstrauens sind die Stärken dieses Spiels.

Zu etwas anderem ist Uprising aber nicht zu gebrauchen, da alle enthaltenen Mechaniken darauf abzielen. Uprising ist ein hochspezialisiertes Spiel nach Fate-Regeln, dass die eine Sache, die es können will, sehr gut kann, alles andere aber nahezu gar nicht oder nur mit viel Eigenleistung, wobei Regelneuerungen wie Advancement-Points und Blowback auch für eigene Fate-Spiele einen Blick wert sind.

Der größte Haken aber ist meiner Meinung nach, dass sich nach einmaligen Durchspielen der Kampagne der Zweck des Spiels in dieser Spielrunde erübrigt hat: Es ist ein Spiel, das für exakt eine einzige Kampagne ausgelegt ist.

Der Ersteindruck basiert auf der Lektüre des PDFs sowie einem Praxistest in Form eines One Shots.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Uprising: The Dystopian Universe RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Monster of the Week
by Tyson W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2018 23:49:13

Monster of the Week is a fun game. I love urban fantasy shows like Buffy, Angel, and YuYu Hakusho. I had never played a Powered by the Apocolypse game before this one. Now this is one of my favorite games. It's a game that doesn't take a lot of prep, and it's quite simple. So simple that you don't even really need to make a character. Just pick a playbook that appeals to you, and go from there. I do think that at least one of the playbooks is a bit too powerful, (the Divine) and I was afraid of it becoming a battle between me and him. As a Keeper, I find it very easy to run this game. Having a simple three-act story, not unlike an episode of one of the TV shows that inspired this game. The players will usually mess up the story, but that's the joy of these kinds of games.

Most of my experience with this game is as a Keeper. As of writing this, I've played one session as a Professional. I found the system to be oddly liberating, not needing to worry about what kind of armor, or what kind of weapons I have. Weapons do from 1 to 3 damage, and armor just acts as a soak for damage. As an experienced roleplayer, it is liberating, but some newer players may be slightly confused by the vague nature of the "moves."

Monster of the Week is now one of my go-to games. It's a game that takes basically no prep, and is very fun when you succeed, and when you fail. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster of the Week
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron
by Geoffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2018 04:59:12

This is a read review of the pdf, which I kickstarted. Disclaimer : I translated some past FATE products from Evil Hat, in French.

Summary :

A nice product, with some strong parts (system for fighter space fights, new rules…) and some very weak points (world building). A must have if you want to play star fighter pilots. If you want a full fleshed space opera Fate game, I think you may still use it for fighter rules.

Content description : It starts with some general information about the world of Tachyon Squadron, and what are the difference with regular Fate.

Second main part is character creation. There are several good things here, for example the Decompression Aspect. Pity the precise rule is not explained from start and you have to wait for 80 pages to understand it fully. Theres is not even a direct link to the rule. Another good thing is the Gear Stunts rules which I appreciate : it helps maximize rolls, instead of a static bonus, and you have as much of them as you want, allowing PC to stack equipments. Can probably be used on other Fate games gear heavy, like Transhumanity Fate.

Then engagement rules. Its it 47 pages long, the biggest chunk of the book. It is a bit more crunchy than your average Fate, but not that much and gives players and GM plenty of options to represent spatial fights. Extended exemples provide good insights on this sub system. It ends with a 6 pages details on aerial fighter terminology, maneuvers and so on. A very good bit ! The only lacking point is a capital ship against capital ship rule, probably excluded out of complexity and lack of space.

After that you have some data one the Tahcyonverse, 13 pages long. It has some interesting story seeds but not much else. It tries to give some general background information about the Draconic system, a secessionist system from a imperialistic Dominion, which was at war with the Terran centric, democratic-in-words Republic supporting the secessionist. A handful of places in the system are described, quite generic.

Next part deals with pilots life, on missions and off-duty. Only 9 pages long, it gives some good examples of Players activities, with mechanical effects.

GMing : 13 pages on how to build and run an interesting militray campaign, and spatial encounters . Ships : 19 pages, with small and large ships, military and civilian. Pretty standard in here. People of interest : 6 pages. Pregenerated characters : 11 pages 2 scenarios : 13 pages, one against pirates, one against the big bad empire. Quick reference sheet, PC Starfighter sheet, and a blanck PC sheet

Art : good, without much else. It is done in a comic tone, but may have benefitted from a darker tone, to fit the theme.

Layout : if you know a the Fate worlds product line, you will be right at home here.

What I liked :

  • Unified stress rules. Stress disappears when the PC take actions to relieve it. It may push the boundaries of plausabilitiy but it may be interesting from a story perspective. GM has to be careful about PC exposition, since it may end with one player taking all light on systemic bar brawls.
  • gear stunt rule : this one was missing for games where stacking equipment is a part of the setting. It is pretty simple and intelligent
  • Engagements rules : already described . It may even stand as a mini spatial game, on par with some board game.

Could have been even better with :

  • capital ships rules. 'Cause if the PCs have to protect a warship it has to be used on something, like the bad guy capital ship / station / you name it…
  • better world buidling. The conflict is pretty uninteresting and mostly incoherent. You have to defend a Macguffin state from big mustache baddies with some support from small mustach no-as-baddies. You fight here because you believe in the cause, but it quite unclear why the Draconic state is much better at anything than the Dominion. How it got ride of it in the first place anyway ? Without any serious military power, it is unclear how it has not been crushed right from the start by the Dominion. NPC described are mostly monodimensional but it fits the genre. The biggest lack is the absence of handful of baddies : the GM has to build them from scratch ; it could have been great to have two admirals / officers, and a roster of four / five antagonist pilots to give more personality at the opposition and some NPC aspects for the GM to throw Fate Points at them. Crap, the GMing tips even advice you to do so, but prefer to spend 11 pages on pregenerated PC. In all honesty, the pregen PC could be used for this, but you have to tweak them.
  • broader focus. The game is meant for playing spatial fighter pilots in a mercenary unit. With almost two hundred pages and 12 dollars later, it delivers but you are not going anywhere else, unless you do some heavy work of background writing, and rules hacking from an Evil Hat toolkit or from another game, like Diaspora.


Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 387 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles