DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
by Konstantin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2020 23:28:45

До этого были попытки играть в Fate, все не очень удачные. А этот инструмент фактически открыл нам фейт с новой стороны - быстрое создание персонажей, быстрые ваншоты.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
It's Not My Fault! (A Fate Accelerated Character & Situation Generator)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate of Cthulhu
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 05:31:25

Wow. what a great idea. Im still reading it - but its as if Terminator and Yog-Sothoth had a baby. An absolute antidote to those years of Call of Cthulhu, where you'd have a few beers at a speakeasy then go out to become a gibbering insane mess. While there's nothing wrong with that classic style of play, here to some degree the odds are changed in your favor. Sure you are fighting against cultists, monsters and a choice of great old one, but finally you have a chance to triumph. The future is dominated by the horrors of the mythos, by acting in the past you can change that outcome.

The book itself? Snappy narrative. The FATE mechanics are presented in condensed form so its really a complete game (but get the core book anyway - its a great and useful purchase which will provide much more detail). Some nice mechanics on how the flow of the future is changed (or not). There is plenty of meaty background material (organized by great old one), where a specific entity will/has been released, and needless to say, at first blush it seems like your work is cut out for you.

Bottom line. A nice take on a mythos that has been applied to every genre in the RPG world. This is a game where instead of watching your SAN drain away as you behold a gibbering blob of slime, offset it by throwing a grenade into its slavering jaws. As Conan would say (Howard used the Mythos as well) "if it bleeds it can die," so very, very true.

A five star purchase. Nice work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate of Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Ngen Mapu • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Seamus C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2019 12:26:20

"I think the greatest thing [the adventure included in the book] shows off is its ‘Big Bad’, the human whose heart and mind the ngen must try to change in order to save the spring. The character isn’t just a sympathetic villain, she’s not even a villain in the first place: her secret motives would be recognized by most as, if not 100% selfless, morally good. She just doesn’t understand the threat to La Cascada and its ngen, who will vanish from the world forever if the project goes through. For prospective players and GMs wondering how complicated, challenging, and interesting the game could get, she is the perfect example."

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2019/07/09/the-independents-ngen-mapu/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ngen Mapu • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Space Toolkit
by Zachary H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/02/2019 17:40:24

Best RPG product of 2019 for my money. Adds so many tools for a Fate GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Space Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Accessibility Toolkit • Prototype Edition
by Kevin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2019 20:11:22

Bought this 5 months ago and I can't imagine writing NPCs without it! D&D, Fate, Dungeon World - I use it everytime I work on an adventure.

How often do you encounter a disabled NPC in a game? Especially without it being sad or strange? I'm not pointing the finger at anyone but myself. For so long I've been too nervous to include a deaf character or mention someone with mobility issues. Because of this book I was able to write a disabled NPC without feeling like I'm making things worse. It's been such a relief.

It's labeled a prototype but the writing is solid. Dense but easy to digest. Straight up: this book has a lot in it. Blindness, autism, ptsd - it covers subjects I've wanted to learn. Tackling common problems, providing easy solutions, and more. All in an incredibly genuine, straightforward way. The art isn't complete but I liked feeling like I was helping this project along. And I can't wait until they raise enough money to add the art in. As a visual person, I can't wait to learn from even more honest examples.

Even if all you want is more interesting crowds and shopkeepers, this book is absolutely worth it. But to me it's helped with so much more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accessibility Toolkit • Prototype Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron • Inside the Dominion of Unity
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2019 08:43:07

"Inside the Dominion of Unity" is the third supplement released for 'Tachyon Squadron,' which is a fantastic roleplaying game of starfighter combat using the Fate Core rules. The first of those supplements, "Those Who Were Here Before," is a scenario where the player characters and their fightercraft brush up against the dark between the stars, introducing an element of Lovecraftian horror to what is nominally a PEW!PEW!PEW! game about hotshot pilots and space dogfighting, and the fish-out-of-water element of that adventure really made it work. "Starfighter Academy," the second supplement released for this game, adds a new palette of story elements to your 'Tachyon Squadron' game, this time by allowing the players to roleplay newbies in training, building their characters organically through gameplay before your regular campaign even begins. "Inside the Dominion of Unity" stretches the scale and scope of a standard 'Tachyon Squadron' campaign again, this time by shifting its focus to the 'bad guys' in the setting: the evil Dominion itself.

Every tale of adventure needs a good villain, and the Dominion presented in this supplement fits the bill quite nicely. This enemy, it turns out, is an autocratic corporate state, complete with a computer-generated 'dear leader' personality whom the populace have been propagandized to adore. Political officers, institutional racism and systematic oppression of nonbinaries, indoctination sessions, black marks upon your citizenship records for noncompliance-- it's all here. The Dominion would make good baddies in any space opera worthy of the name.

Ah, but who would want to play hotshot fighter pilots in such an oppressive environment? Who would want to fight for such an evil police state? "Inside the Dominion of Unity" answers these questions with a new type of campaign for 'Tachyon Squadron.'

It turns out that there are two dissident resistance movements within the Dominion, fighting its tyrannical evil from within: the Red Fist and the Order of the Last. Player characters in a Dominion-centered campaign can still be heroes by risking everything as cell members of one of these clandestine groups. The Order of the Last is a secret network of dissidents who seek to bring down the Dominion with deliberate acts of sabotage and espionage; fighter pilots who belong to the Order might be tasked with monkeywrenching a mission, or even taking out an especially ruthless political officer in an 'accidental' friendly-fire incident, while still trying to maintain the facade of being loyal members of the Dominion military elite. The Red Fist, on the other hand, is an active rag-tag rebellion, engaging the Dominion on the margins of its territory with hit-and-run guerilla tactics, constantly on the run from Dominion retaliation and reprisals.

The expanded game option presented in this supplement are good stuff, but I also really liked that it provides rules for creating Dominion characters. This is useful even if you don't want to run a Dominion-centered campaign, because it allows you to flesh out the enemy aces and commanders for your normal 'Tachyon Squadron' setting.

This is another amazing supplement for 'Tachyon Squadron,' one of my favorite settings for Fate Core, and I highly recommend both the game and this supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron • Inside the Dominion of Unity
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2019 11:33:32

'Tachyon Squadron' is a setting for the Fate Core system. If you aren't familiar with Fate Core, you probably should be-- it's one of the easiest, fastest-playing, most versatile systems out there. If you already play Fate Core, you know what a fantastic system it is, and you should check out 'Tachyon Squadron,' too, especially if you grew up loving the tropes of rebellious hotshot pilots from TV shows like "Baa Baa Black Sheep" or "Battlestar Galactica" or films like "Top Gun" or even "Star Wars."

And man oh man does this rules set capture those tropes! There are a lot of tweaks from the default Fate rules set, and they all work together magnificently to facilitate a roleplaying game about the fighter pilot genre.

First off, character creation is slightly modified from standard Fate Core, using a streamlined skill and attribute set, but the biggest change is in the use of a 'decompression' Aspect. If you're already familiar with the Fate system, you need no introduction to Aspects, but for everyone else, we're talking about short descriptors of your character which define his or her personality and have an in-game effect during play. In 'Tachyon Squadron,' players have healthy and unhealthy means of decompressing, or dealing with the stress of constant stressful missions. One character might decompress in a healthy manner by spending quality family time with her husband and kids, but decompress in an unhealthy manner by drinking a bit too much on weekends. Another character might get healthy decompression working out between missions, but decompress in an unhealthy manner by raging and getting into fights with anyone who crosses him.

Another minor innovation is the ability to 'minimize' or 'maximize' an individual die in the Fate dice pool. While the rules for minimizing or maximizing die rolls seemed a little gimmicky to me upon first read, in actual play the system works swimmingly, allowing players to 'stack the deck' a bit by playing to their strengths. In other words, this mechanic allows players to think tactically and make strategic decisions during gameplay, splendidly setting the mood for dogfighting ship-to-ship combat.

And that last bit is where 'Tachyon Squadron' really shines-- dogfights. In a game about pilots and the fighter craft that they fly, you obviously need a great system for dogfights, and 'Tachyon Squadron' manages to raise the bar here. Using a pretty simple zone system, author Clark Valentine created a really nifty mini-game within the game, where events are completely random and chaotic, yet players can make tactical decisions to gain the upper hand. This system is now my go-to for starfighter combat in any game; it really is THAT good.

Fate Core is a great roleplaying game because it plays fast and easy at the table, but still has a lot of gears and levers that GM's can adjust to change the way things work and feel during play. 'Tachyon Squadron' is a prime example of how those settings can be adjusted to create something new and innovative. If you're like me and your toes curl at the thought of playing a hotshot pilot in a game of starfighting combat, you're really missing the boat if you aren't playing this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tachyon Squadron • Starfighter Academy
by Jeff P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2019 12:04:33

With 'Starfighter Academy,' game designer Clark Valentine has hit another home run for the "Tachyon Squadron" RPG for FATE Core.

This supplement takes player character trainees through the paces as raw recruits at the titular Academy. Demanding instructors and competitive classmates add to the tension of one challenging training mission after another. Upon graduation, one member of the class-- perhaps even one of the player characters-- will be honored with a coveted award, and then it's off to war for the newly-minted combat pilots. Designed as a four-session mini-campaign, but easily expandable into something longer, 'Starfighter Academy' allows players to gradually build their newbie trainees into the seasoned hotshot pilots that they'll play in an extended "Tachyon Squadron" campaign. Perhaps there will even be some beach sand vollyball along the way!

'Starfighter Academy' is an absolutely fantastic supplement. You can play "Tachyon Squadron" without using this material as a prelude-- indeed, you could even run the 'Starfighter Academy' mini-campaign without going on to play a regular "Tachyon Squadron" game afterwards-- but why would you? The mini-campaign in this supplement flows so seamlessly into the default game setting of "Tachyon Squadron" that one is yin to the other's yang.

"Tachyon Squadron" is already one of the coolest games around. If you aren't playing it now, 'Starfighter Academy' is just another reason why you should be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tachyon Squadron • Starfighter Academy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Ghost Planets • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 07:23:54

Excellent concept. Mediocre execution. The entire premise hinges on the question 'what happened to the alien life in the universe?' and the book sadly never answers it. in typical FATE fashion it offers several possible solutions, but unlike other FATE products, each answer is both weak and shallow. Hardcore FATE fans might find some enjoyment here, but otherwise I'd skip it as there are much deeper products in the genre even at pay-what-you-want pricing.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Planets • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Euan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2019 15:25:01

I bought the book, but I read no further than page 5 because it used tired old citations from a book without a source.

Mcarthyism the rpg.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Red Planet • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Euan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2019 14:34:58

I was pleasantly surprised by this one.

"oh great this is going to be an awkward mix of DND and fallout"

Well it definitely borrows from those things, but it's more post-post apocalypse, and the dnd elements just work, the world work and the rules work, the settings lends itself to all manner of fun story telling, does everything an RPG book should do well



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Morts • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Weird World News • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by Elliott W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2019 14:07:03

This was a really great supplement to start on my adventure of GMing, and it was good for the players who had never done any RPGing before. I even used it with my parents and they really got into it. This is something I will use more down the road, especially when my kids get old enough to start playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird World News • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2019 09:45:18

Amazing epic space opera

You could run multiple campaigns for years with this supplement

The core conceit is that you're a leader aboard a space ark bringing humanity to the mysterious Andromeda galaxy. Are your colonists frozen? generational inhabitants? or cloned upon arrival? your choice! the book has many scenarios for each

Upon reaching Andromeda you must decide who has gone before? are you the first ArkShip to arrive? the second wave? Or a straggler behind the curve? Each has surprising impact upon the state of the galaxy and what you find there

Finally there are all the perils of Andromeda. Establishing a colony and dealing with the natives and other humans from rival ArkShips.

I can't say enough good things about this product. I don't like FATE but this book will be well used believe that!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Andromeda • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Knights of Invasion • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2019 19:40:58

I don't like FATE but i LOVE this adventure. The initial medieval setting is well designed by itself. The book actually contains 3 distinct alien invasion scenarios ALL of which are well written, well thought out, well detailed, and FUN.

I really wanted to dislike this product due to the ruleset but everything else other than the rules is so well done, useful, and original that I can't really go lower than 5 stars.

I can't wait to run it (but I will certainly NOT be using FATE to do so!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Invasion • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Accessibility Toolkit • Prototype Edition
by Trystan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2019 10:16:33

This might well be among the most important RPG supplements in the past decade. It deserves not just the full slate of artwork promised by Evil Hat, but a widely-distributed print run and multiple follow-up books. So many RPG settings, stories, and systems have ableist assumptions baked into them, ranging from the subtly hurtful to the egregiously uninformed and insulting. This toolkit goes a long way to undermining these problems not just in Fate, but in the hobby generally. (I know I'll definitely be using some of the advice within to inform my D&D games.) The writing is clear, the discussion is frank but unjudgemental, the topics surveyed are varied, and everything is written from the perspectives of people who live with the disabilities in question. As others have mentioned, the appendix on further resources could use expansion: pointing people to the DSM may be informative but technical manuals like that can be hard to interpret for non-specialists, and the useful links section only deals with (American) sign language, braille dice, generating audiobooks, and the widely-circulated "spoons" theory—strangely lacking the diversity of issues tackled by previous sections of the book. But here, as ever, search engines are your friend; the rest of the book gives you plenty to start from when looking for further information, so this criticism is a minor one. I want to see many more books like this, tailored not just for Fate but also for other RPG systems and for the hobby in general, at least until incorporating these perspectives into game design is a matter of course in the industry. In particular, a toolkit for decolonizing Fate (and other RPGs) would be a natural and important next step.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accessibility Toolkit • Prototype Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 420 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles