DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Daring Tales of Adventure: Figure Flats
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2009 11:17:47

This is my first purchase in the Daring Tales of Adventure product line. Overall, I am quite impressed with the value present in this product. The quality of the artwork is superb. The selection is more than adequate. There are plenty of heroes, sidekicks, villains, and by-standers provided. The tri-fold design is not my favorite, but I was quickly able to manipulate the images to provide two-sided figures which I then mounted to home-made slotted foam core bases. I printed multiples of the Nazi figures, since, as you well know, there are always more Nazis. There are enough different poses to make the Nazis look good in a horde. My only complaint is that there are too few poses of some of the other figure types. There are plenty of different colors uses bewteen the figures, but a different pose or two (or five) would have been nice. Still, I'm completely satisfied with the purchase and am planning on buying more the Daring Tales of Adventure line for my home and convention games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure: Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Necropolis 2350 - Figure Flats: War Masters Set (Packs 1-6)
by Peter S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2009 16:12:03

The Good news is that the art is terrific and there are plenty of figures. The vehicles are very nice. they don't have interiors, but you can cut in your own interior if you want. Also you might be able to purchase the vehicles seperately at much less the cost because a big disappointment is that they only provide figures in the trifold position. This can be worked around if you really prefer an inverted T figure that most other paper minis are formated in. However, a bigger disappointment is that they don't allow you to copy paste or resize any of the minis so you can scale them to the size of your other products. You can only use their minis because they are not the same 25mm scale that most others are. I might be able to use a few of the figures that are kneeling but the standing ones look very small compared to most other paper and plastic 25mm figs. What were they thinking that we are going to copy and steal their miniatures. If I wanted to pirate them I would just email a copy of the file to all my friends. Locking the copy/paste feature doesn't do anything except limit the possibilities of their product and make it less desirable to the purchasing public. Too little satisfying product for the price.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Necropolis 2350 - Figure Flats: War Masters Set (Packs 1-6)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sundered Skies: The Ice Tower
by Ryan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2009 15:33:05

This is a decent adventure that can fit well into most any campaign. Unfortunately, it is lacking maps or diagrams for the encounter locations. While one can piece together a mental image from the text (the locations are not terribly complex), one really expects at least some basic graphics in a professional product (especially one that presents itself as a location-based scenario).

I really like the setting, and the story etc. in this product are good. But for the price, they really should have hired an artist. As it is, I'm disappointed and likely won't buy further ACE products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Sundered Skies: The Ice Tower
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Daring Tales of Adventure #04 - The Talons of Lo-Peng
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2008 10:39:07

Like other Daring Tales of Adventure the game starts up right away with action and the pace hardly ever slows down. A mix of Big Trouble in Little China and the Insideous Dr. Fu Manchu the players take on an ancient evil. Like all DToA, Game masters are strongly advised to go the TripleAces website and get all the free goodies there, espeically the Pulp Rules. Like all past DToA it is written for the 4 pre-gens, but can easily accomodate more Players and using custom characters. This adveture really does leverage the TripleAces character flats for most encounters, but I really wish they would have flats for the special characters (Lo-peng and his talons). So far the series of adventures have leveraged a wide variety of pulp sources and still remained original. So I look forward to purchasing the remaining 8 modules as they are released.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure #04 - The Talons of Lo-Peng
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Daring Tales of Adventure #03 - Treasure of the Templars
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2008 10:34:04

Another great scenario by Triple Ace Games. Though things here are more 'fantastic' than past releases, it is a full on global campaign taking players from Washington DC to the Deserts of Egypt to the heart of Spain to beyond (sorry, want to limit the spoilers here).

This adventure can be used the 4 pre-gens from TripleAces website, or if the PCs wish to create their own they can, just pay attention to the EXP level that is expected here.

It is important to any Game Master to go to the Triple Aces website and get the Pulp Era rules that are available as a free PDF to know what some of the unique rules that involved in running a Daring Tales of Adventure (while you are there get the Pre-gens, and the free figure flats)

Again, I wish they would include character flats for the unique creatures/figures for this scenario (of which there are plenty here).

All in all, I am enjoying the product line and look forward to getting the remaining 9 in the months ahead.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure #03 - Treasure of the Templars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Daring Tales of Adventure: Figure Flats
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2008 16:55:30

So I am looking for paper figs for an upcoming round of pulpy goodness for games like Spirit of the Century, Hollow Earth Expedition, and come across these, which then lead me down the slippery slope of other Pulp goodness and their entire Daring Tales of Adventure Line (so see my reviews on those products if you want more info). But to this product. It comes with pages of good Pulpy Characters. If you want go to their website and download the freebies to see what you are getting, in fact do that anyway as those in the Freebie are not in this one. Now to some of the meat of the product. First the good news, all the pre-gen characters of the adventures are in this pack. As are most of the villains any pulpy person would encounter. Plus there are clear indications that this set will satisfy several other solid releases to come from Triple Ace games. So what is there not to like. Well, first the figures are all 3 fold characters (so 2 fronts and a black back), so a good breeze or the comforting cool of a fan can scatter your entire force to the wind. Solutions have been many (paper clips to finding hard to obtain card holding gizmos). I wish they had perhaps gone the route of other companies (like Precis Intermedia Games) with a single fold with a wide base that could easily be glued to pennies. Now I understand why they did this, all the Paper Figures from Earlier PEG items (like Deadlands) were done this way, its just hard to weigh them down. Still I give this product and what it brings to any pulp game a good solid A grade. And I do hope they release more providing more figures for their published scenarios and vehicles (etc.), as well as looking to other Pulp games to perhaps provide for them as well (looking for Hollow Earth Expedition Beastiary). Keep up the good work and look forward to buying more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure: Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Daring Tales of Adventure #02 - Web of the Spider Cult
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2008 16:31:30

The second of what appears to be 10 well connected adventures, this longer tale of Pulp goodness provides another excellent globe-trotting jaunt for players of the Savage Worlds. It also comes with quick cult generation rules for your own future adventures (combine this with the quick pulp adventure rules from Two Fisted Tales RPG and you can make a full adventure in about 30 minutes time). As I mentioned in my review of adventure #1, it is primarily focused on 4 characters, but it is a thrilling tale with so many good elements I can't hardly wait to run it. My only wish is now that I have the figure flats (which based on just the 2 adventures I have so far) I wish special characters and creatures were included in each adventure. In this one, it would have been great to have templates representing the creatures faced. In Adventure #1 it would have been great to have flats for the thing that stalks the players (trying to avoid spoilers here), or cars for the opening scene of To End All Wars. All in all an excellent product and I look forward to running this adventure (with some extra PCs) in the near future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure #02 - Web of the Spider Cult
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Daring Tales of Adventure #01 - To End All Wars & Chaos on Crete
by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2008 16:24:54

As a fan of all things Pulp I was excited to see some adventures being produced for Savage Worlds that would bring this genre to life. All the freebies at the companies website showed that they were serious about producing a quality product. So with little delay I purchased this adventure packet and downloaded the stuff from their website. The first story is a classic Pulp yarn with so much cool stuff(Nazis, Mad Scientist, Zepplins!). PRO - Well written, lots of action, very good plot. CON - this is minor, but important to note - the stories are generic enough to do with any character you cook up, but really shine with the pre-gens available on their website. The downside is only 4 pre-gens are available and the challenges are mostly geared for 4 players. I really wish they would come up with optional 5th or 6th PCs and note how to ratchet up the adventure to accommodate these extras. The second story, Chaos in Crete, while also a good yarn was not as good as the first, still worthy of the genre and more reminiscent of Indian Jone/Mummy and makes the $7 I spent well worth while.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Daring Tales of Adventure #01 - To End All Wars & Chaos on Crete
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 61 to 68 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5 
0 items
 Hottest Titles