DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2018 13:18:25

A narrative storytelling game which makes it impossible to get into character or becomes immersed in the reality of the world. You are firmly a narrator here, not a character. You are firmly a story-planner here, not a spectator to events unfolding naturally. This is not an RPG. It's a shared storytelling game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fiendish Foes
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2018 06:36:49

I love this game series and I actually got this supplement after the newer caverns of chaos. I had taken my party through there and done the scouting mission and decided maybe that was too hard. I thought this earlier work would be easier. Let me tell you was I wrong. XD

My party which I have been through so much with has as of a few moments ago met their end inside the gooey center of an acidic cube. It devoured them one by one as I helplessly watched. No one survived. The supplement certainly lives up to the name fiendish foes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiendish Foes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star Eagles
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2018 10:23:04

This game mashes up the standard Ganesha Games mechanics with a movement system riffing on Wings or War/Star Wars X-Wing. They pair up nicely and it looks pretty cool. But there are a number of weird inconsistencies, especially when trying to build you own ships. Weapons are pre-built, which I don’t mind, there is a fair amount of variety there. The weapon tags are described early in the book, and the available weapons are build on there later in the book. But while there is a Turret weapon quality, there is no weapon that actually possesses that quality, meaning that no ship you build can fire except from of its front arc. Then there there is stuff like the ‘Heavily-Armed’ ship quality. Over in the ship qualities section, it says that this costs 8 points to add to a ship. But over in weapons and missiles you can also buy a pod that’s only effect is to add that quality to a ship. That pod costs 12 points (10 for the pod, 2 for the hard point to mount it on). Why are there two prices for the same thing?

Despite a neat mash-up of mechanics and an interesting structured campaign, there are lots of oddities, ambiguities, and omissions in the book which made it a disappointing purchase for me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Eagles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not like it. However, We will soon issue an amended PDF that will hopefully fix the inconsistencies. Osprey and Hydras ships (and any ship you want to build with that trait) have turrets. Also note that we tried to have more special abilities than are currently used in our background and in the sample forces provided, because they were asked for by playtesters wanting to design ships from other universes. All pods and missiles are 10 pts. it is cheaper to add an ability as a dedicated part of the ship. Pods allow you to customise and give abilities to adjust your ship ability to suit a particular opponent. You pay for that flexibility vs having it fixed.
Four Against Darkness
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2018 02:56:59

Whenever I'm in the mood to play an old school dungeon crawler, I mostly just keep coming back to Four Against Darkness (4AD), because it's one of the best solo engines I've ever come across for that.

It might be easy to overlook 4AD because of how simple it looks. But it's simplicity is actually its strength: Instead of taking an everything-&-the-kitchen-sink approach to solo-gaming (such as with a massive tome of many big tables or etc), it just takes a very minimalist approach. Though table-driven, its tables are small & few. Its focus seems to be more on just making sure that every small bit & piece of it & how it all fits together & works is perfect.

4AD is also so simply organized and modular, it's easy to modify it into whatever you want just by substituting your own tables where they fit into its system. It seems to be so conspicuously designed for that purpose, that it's even hard to resist tinkering with it. In that respect, its versatility & replay-value are practically endless. But I've also got a lot of mileage out of just using the tables it comes with, because they're quite elegantly done & satisfying to play with, too.

Plus 4AD comes with its own RPG system built into it. That system is likewise so simple & elegant, it makes all of the polished work that went into it look easy. But on a closer look, it's actually just one of the most seamlessly streamlined & tight, minimalist versions of old school rule mechanics I've seen. Not only is it conspicuously designed that way to keep 4AD's gameplay fast and fun despite having a solo-dungeon-crawling engine to manage in it, but it also feels faithful to traditional old-school rule mechanics and classes as if we're playing in the 1970's again. It balances those two things perfectly.

The net result is that 4AD is a pure blast to play. The proof was in the pudding as soon as I started playing it: I hadn't had so much fun playing a dungeon-crawler in decades. It just scratched that old school dungeon-crawling itch like nothing else. I couldn't put it down. It became my go-to game for several months.

In fact, I would even consider 4AD to be a good minimalist RPG system in its own right. Except it isn't designed to just run things from other OSR systems unconverted out-of-the-box, the way any other OSR-friendly minimalist RPG systems out there are designed to do. That means you will have to scale-down some of the stats on anything you import from other OSR systems into 4AD's system to make their balance OK, because most things involving stats in 4AD's system tend to be scaled smaller in it. Or considering how simple 4AD's system is to manaage, you could just run a whole other OSR system atop 4AD's solo engine if you like.

Anyway, I just love everything about 4AD. I especially recommend it for anybody into solo dungeon crawls and minimalist hacks of old school rules. But it would also be a great way to introduce younger players to dungeon-crawls, or to play GM-less dungeon-crawls with a group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by wesley h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2018 14:22:03

This is a really fun and solid game! I already want more! Hopefully there will be some expansions. I would love to see more traits and event card. Keep up the awesome work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Robert H. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2018 01:34:34

This is a great system! The battles keep going back and forth, constantly keeping the game exciting. It is very easy to introduce house rules and to make new creature profiles. The system is open for adjustments and your own ideas. This makes it a lot more involving game than bigger more polished games - in my opinion it is a good thing. The artwork is a nice change from mainstream generic fantasy. I can't recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Furies of the Barrens RPG
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2018 16:15:53

This is a fun product! The setting is creative and fun with elements of Thundarr the Barbarian and as another reviewer said some Jack Kirby spices thrown into the mix . The races (classes) are unique and interesting. The system is a variant of The Black Hack, so it is rules lite. I can't wait to give this game a full blown spin.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Furies of the Barrens RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by Will E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2018 11:36:47

Fun, fast, and frantic best describes this game. The combat narrative unfolds like a battle scene straight out of 'Lord of the Rings'. My 11 year-old son ALWAYS wants to play!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Faustus Furius
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2018 21:41:54

Wow, for 8 bucks how could you go wrong? This game is a blast! I bought some Micro Machine Pod Racers and adjusted only the name Chariot to Pod Racer in the rules and Voila! I had a pod racing game that the whole wargaming gang just loved. Lots of crashes, attacks, and wild stunts when you have the Favor of the People but beware they peope are fickle and sometimes they like to mob up and charge the track, be careful you dont hit those maniacs! Great game, A++



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Faustus Furius
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blood, Sweat and Cheers
by Ken D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 15:29:09

Buy this game.

If you're looking through reviews wondering if you should buy it, I can assure you it's fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood, Sweat and Cheers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Baris K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2017 16:51:47

Still very easy rules but this time enahnced with all the goodies for newbies and hardcore gamers alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Furies of the Barrens RPG
by James R M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2017 08:00:37

Love this! The imagination for the world and the playable races/classes and monsters, etc. is pure. Its like Jack Kirby dropped acid and was told to elaborate on Thundarr the Barbarian. If there was a fund to have this printed in physical form (I'm old school like that), I would plunk down a load of cash for that. Buy this folks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Furies of the Barrens RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blood, Sweat and Cheers
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 15:45:09

This game is both fun and addictive. The basics are easy to learn, allowing you to build strategy for each gladiator type. The combination of card play skill versus dice roll and card draw luck insure no two matches will turn out the same. I introduced this game to a “non-gamer” friend and he is now hooked. Simple game mechanics are quick to learn and open enough to allow you to add your own narrative flourish to the game. Would love for the author to add a supplemental pack with female and dwarf gladiators and alternate special action cards. Very good game, highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood, Sweat and Cheers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Song of Blades and Heroes
by thomas l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2017 13:43:38

Song of Blades and Heroes has an excellent premise and good basic mechanics. Unfortunately some parts of the rules are poorly worded so they are difficult to understand. For example, I didn't realize a defending miniature can knock down or kill its opponent when it is attacked on my first reading. The other frustrating part of the book is its constant references to supplements and other publications by the author. It tells you you can give a unit an ability like illusionist, tower shield, or music, but doesn't explain what those abilities do. This is annoying and makes the game feel unfinished.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Furies of the Barrens RPG
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2017 07:49:34

Art is really old school black and white,sets a great tone where in combination with the text really makes me want to run a game.Nice job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Furies of the Barrens RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 68 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles