DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Alone Against Fear
by Chris D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2020 12:49:23

Quite good. It reminds me a lot of a roguelike moreso than a traditional pen and paper game. Yes, the events can get a tad repetitive over time, but there is a sort of "meta" going on underneath with specific items being able to unlock extra scenes. Fascinating and actually worth the $12 for a solo RPG player.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alone Against Fear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2020 01:42:40

Interesting idea that had no support. Hackbooks mentioned to be coming out in 2017 did not appear. Probably because of 4AD's success.

I wouldn't mind seeing Andrea take this and revise it to work with 4AD as a narrative hybrid.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against the Great Old Ones
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 22:04:21

I dare say, the best Cthulhu-based game since Call of Cthulhu and the Fantasy Flight line. The material is thoroughly researched and presented very well. Eight investigators to choose from, and you'll probably need all of them as the game does not hold your hand.

Repeat: There is no hand-holding in this game. You will lose, and lose terribly, until you learn how to win. It's not a theme park game designed to let you breeze through encounters to ensure you see all the beautiful things they put into it. It doesn't give you a 'been there, done that' t-shirt for showing up. It is very old school, as are all the 4AD books, in that they are meant to be challenging.

If you want a game you can play so you can say you did, roll a die. If it's a six, you won! Congratulations. Here's your shirt. If you want a game that will challenge you and keep you on your toes, 4AtGOO is one to beat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Great Old Ones
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2020 13:34:54

I just finished playing all three chapters of Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters, and here's what I thought of it...

It's actually a really good sampler of applying the 4AD rules to different play styles. The first chapter uses a pregenerated map and introduces the idea of using the random charts with already created maps. After playing Chapter One, a player should have no problem dusting off old maps and using them with 4AD. The second chapter plays just like the default style presented in the Core Book. The third chapter goes a bit abstract, with almost no map at all and larger parties of characters.

The third chapter was actually the most challenging of the three, as keeping track of the four PCs, the eight NPCs and the eighteen demons was made more complex by the demons all having a poison attack. I made a tracking sheet before tackling the third chapter that listed cleric abilities, spells, holy water, scrolls and bandages, as well as hit points. It helped immensely.

I still made a few mistakes during play, but would catch them myself when transcribing the adventure to a log.

The adventure lost one star due to poor editing and some unclear rules that required me to go online to get answers. For the price, however, it's a great deal considering how much playtime is involved.

Overall, it is a nice adventure that expands ideas about playing 4AD. And we get some new monsters.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Caves of the Kobold Slave-Masters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2020 20:32:26

I was a bit hesitant because I already know how to play rpgs solo, have played a solo dungeon crawl with 2nd Edition AD&D fashioned after Diablo, and I've played Castle Ravenloft. What finally got me to buy the book was when I saw the Boardgamegeek page and saw how people were customizing the game and expanding on it. Along with all the affordable add-ons being released for it, the customization of adventure content has really grabbed my interest. That, and it's a lot less cumbersome than AD&D. Especially if you factor in four characters.

I wouldn't mind a guide on how to create custom classes, but I doubt we would see something like that until after all the official classes have been released. This is something that eventually hurt Castle Ravenloft for me. Meanwhile, I can collect all the monsters and make my own vermin, minion and boss charts to fit the theme of my games.

I also like that playing a campaign is possible, but it's left to the player to define as they see fit. This way, new players have a game to play that's focused more on the dungeon crawl experience. As they get accustomed to that, they can add a village or a regular travelling merchant to slowly introduce campaign elements at their own speed. If that's what they want.

Good job on finding a good balance between rpg and board game and solo play. And a special thank you for making something of such quality for solo players, who (contrary to popular belief) don't just play solo because they don't have a group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Eric A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 12:07:03

I needed something to scratch my dice rolling itch. Four Against Darkness more than did the trick. My youngest watched me play the first game and wanted to join, we had a blast. So much so, I bought a few more materials to expand our games. More than worth the cost!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2020 18:18:26

Edit: I gave it another chance, and had a lot of fun. I still say Invisible Goblins are heavy handed, and not very thematic, so in the future I'm house ruling them like a trap. If a party member detects them, nothing is stolen, they harmlessly run away, and the party gets an XP roll. Theives and halflings get +1 on the detect roll vs. a 5. After all, invisibility does not also grant complete silence, and if the characters are alerted, there's no way they're going to steal everything and escape. A) The item they are holding is not invisible, even if they are. B) If the characters can see their items floating through the air, they can attack, and chase the goblins. I think this is more fair than the rule as written.

Upgrading from a 2 to a 4.

Downloaded, and read the rules, sat down to play the first game. Invisible Goblins stole all weapons from the party in the 3rd room. It's not possible to fight the Invisible Goblins, or avoid them. I did not find this very enjoyable, by I may play again some day.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by Courtney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2019 13:19:50

There was a negative review on this product complaining about how this is a storytelling game. This is a storytelling game. It's silly to rate it lower because it does what it says it will do. "High Stakes is a simple, fast set of rules to create awesome stories with your friends." I really like the dice system for this game. It turns simple encounters into surprising scenes. It keeps players involved with really simple rules. I've played Dungeons & Dragons since AD&D. Sometimes you just want to sit down with a friend and make up a story instead. This game is perfect for that. However, it is not D&D. So, don't expect it to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
by Courtney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 23:49:56

This game is fantastic! It puts the fun back into tabletop miniature gaming without eating a hole in your pocket. You don't have to buy miniatures. You can use any fantasy miniatures you already have from boardgames or playing Dungeons & Dragons. The rules are easy to learn and even easier to teach without being too simple. There is a lot to remember, but you can look up rules at the table during your first games. This would be a great game to teach to your kids. I could see this being a great way to get friends interested in the hobby too. I played a game tonight with my wife. That said, there's enough game here to keep the hardcore gamer interested too. I was actually surprised by how robust the rules were. The designer Andrea was kind enough to answer my question about his game quickly. So great customer service. It's too early to tell, but this might end up being my favorite game. I haven't been this happy with a product in years. The inksaving PDF is great too. So many products here are impossible to print because their authors refuse to make a print-friendly file available. I really hope Andrea continues to put out great content for this game. It's really something special.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Song of Blades and Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 07:17:21

This is the best of the solo rpg systems. It is quite simple to grasp and is quite robust in handling multiple adventures. The flexibility of the rooms means that the graph paper gets filled in a balanced and believable way. The ability to level up and go on an over-arching campaign that embraces multiple adventures, makes this compelling. The pocket forms of the rules and tables means it is perfect for long train journeys!

When we consider how the system has so many expansions and published adventures, this is a winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Damien F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:23:55

Sellswords and spellslingers is the game I was looking for, a good generic ruleset for solo/coop fantasy miniature game. I have now a large quantity of fantasy miniaures from various range and SS&SS offers me the possibility to use all of them in the same game. The big difference with other games lies in its activation mechanism that makes the game unpredictable. In a classic game the activations are often heroes activates first then it's the turn of the foes, but in SS&SS, players have to make a test for each activation (players choose the number of activation : between 1 and 3) and for each failure, players have to draw an event card that will determine the way the foes react, before the player could act. Players could see their well tought strategy completely ruined in 2 seconds with only a misluck rolled dice, wich makes the game more challenging and funnier. The rules are quite simple, making the game fast (1-2 hours a game) and reachable to any kind of player. It also leaves room for some roleplaying and for character evolution as it provides a system of XP points and traits to buy or upgrade. The random event deck allows a good replayability if you intend to play the same scenario a few times. The game provides rules, various cards (event cards for the IA, monster cards, spells,...) and 10 scenarii that you can play separately or in a campaign. After it’s up to you to define the way you want to play this game : with miniatures or with counters or paper miniatures; with 3D decors or only on a 2D map; with the scenarii of the book or with your homemade scenarii; solo or coop with friends...

The game is still under developpement as it seems that there are some extensions in progress.

In conclusion, I think that it’s a good investment, especially for people who already owns fantasy miniatures from other games and look for a game where they could develop their own stories and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against the Abyss
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 22:31:26

In my opinion, this is the first supplement of Four Against Darkness that a player should buy, after picking up the basic game. I personally consider it essential, given how much it adds.

The process of turning your character into an Expert is well-laid out, fairly simple and definitely feels significant. And, of course, as the heroes grow in power, the challenges become more formidable.

The Expert Skills add a lot of customization to your character, fleshing out their style and abilities. I actually have a house rule that's worked very well in my own play: every character gains an Expert Skill at first level BUT, the tradeoff is that Bosses and Weird Monsters do not drop a level at half health. Certain monsters are more of a challenge but the heroes can leverage their skill throughout the campaign.

I liked most of the Expert Spells, with the minor exception of Lifeforce Control, which seems underwhelming in comparison to the others.

I'm also a fan of the rules for hiring Professionals and Hirelings- it's a new and useful way to spend your treasure between adventures and can be very useful to the party.

All in all, top marks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2019 21:10:13

This really is an excellent game. The system is simple but also very customizable- it's fairly easy to create new classes, new monsters and new spells with a bit of tinkering. I recommend checking out the supplements as well, especially "Four Against the Abyss," which offers options for higher level adventures.

I have thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and eagerly await the next supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2019 14:07:11

Recently I played a game of Sellswords and Spellslingers at a friend. We already scheduled more sessions. I really liked the simple and versatile rules. Therefore I had to get a copy of my own. I'm already working on a short campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by JM H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2018 10:59:49

This game solves one of the perennial problems of pen-and-paper RPGs: finding people to play with. OK, technically it's not an RPG but a dungeon crawl simulator, but the game is so well designed, that it really feels like you are playing an old school RPG solo. That said, I have also managed to keep my kids amused with it in co-operative mode, and I think it could be used to introduce people to the idea of pen and paper RPGs, with zero GM prep. Although I am blessed with a regular gaming group, they don't all love dungeon crawls as much as me. So if - like me - you're looking for a way to scratch the dungeon crawl itch more often, this is a great way to do it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 88 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles