DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Four Against Darkness
by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 07:17:21

This is the best of the solo rpg systems. It is quite simple to grasp and is quite robust in handling multiple adventures. The flexibility of the rooms means that the graph paper gets filled in a balanced and believable way. The ability to level up and go on an over-arching campaign that embraces multiple adventures, makes this compelling. The pocket forms of the rules and tables means it is perfect for long train journeys!

When we consider how the system has so many expansions and published adventures, this is a winner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Damien F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2019 17:23:55

Sellswords and spellslingers is the game I was looking for, a good generic ruleset for solo/coop fantasy miniature game. I have now a large quantity of fantasy miniaures from various range and SS&SS offers me the possibility to use all of them in the same game. The big difference with other games lies in its activation mechanism that makes the game unpredictable. In a classic game the activations are often heroes activates first then it's the turn of the foes, but in SS&SS, players have to make a test for each activation (players choose the number of activation : between 1 and 3) and for each failure, players have to draw an event card that will determine the way the foes react, before the player could act. Players could see their well tought strategy completely ruined in 2 seconds with only a misluck rolled dice, wich makes the game more challenging and funnier. The rules are quite simple, making the game fast (1-2 hours a game) and reachable to any kind of player. It also leaves room for some roleplaying and for character evolution as it provides a system of XP points and traits to buy or upgrade. The random event deck allows a good replayability if you intend to play the same scenario a few times. The game provides rules, various cards (event cards for the IA, monster cards, spells,...) and 10 scenarii that you can play separately or in a campaign. After it’s up to you to define the way you want to play this game : with miniatures or with counters or paper miniatures; with 3D decors or only on a 2D map; with the scenarii of the book or with your homemade scenarii; solo or coop with friends...

The game is still under developpement as it seems that there are some extensions in progress.

In conclusion, I think that it’s a good investment, especially for people who already owns fantasy miniatures from other games and look for a game where they could develop their own stories and adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against the Abyss
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 22:31:26

In my opinion, this is the first supplement of Four Against Darkness that a player should buy, after picking up the basic game. I personally consider it essential, given how much it adds.

The process of turning your character into an Expert is well-laid out, fairly simple and definitely feels significant. And, of course, as the heroes grow in power, the challenges become more formidable.

The Expert Skills add a lot of customization to your character, fleshing out their style and abilities. I actually have a house rule that's worked very well in my own play: every character gains an Expert Skill at first level BUT, the tradeoff is that Bosses and Weird Monsters do not drop a level at half health. Certain monsters are more of a challenge but the heroes can leverage their skill throughout the campaign.

I liked most of the Expert Spells, with the minor exception of Lifeforce Control, which seems underwhelming in comparison to the others.

I'm also a fan of the rules for hiring Professionals and Hirelings- it's a new and useful way to spend your treasure between adventures and can be very useful to the party.

All in all, top marks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against the Abyss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Christopher M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2019 21:10:13

This really is an excellent game. The system is simple but also very customizable- it's fairly easy to create new classes, new monsters and new spells with a bit of tinkering. I recommend checking out the supplements as well, especially "Four Against the Abyss," which offers options for higher level adventures.

I have thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and eagerly await the next supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2019 14:07:11

Recently I played a game of Sellswords and Spellslingers at a friend. We already scheduled more sessions. I really liked the simple and versatile rules. Therefore I had to get a copy of my own. I'm already working on a short campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by JM H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2018 10:59:49

This game solves one of the perennial problems of pen-and-paper RPGs: finding people to play with. OK, technically it's not an RPG but a dungeon crawl simulator, but the game is so well designed, that it really feels like you are playing an old school RPG solo. That said, I have also managed to keep my kids amused with it in co-operative mode, and I think it could be used to introduce people to the idea of pen and paper RPGs, with zero GM prep. Although I am blessed with a regular gaming group, they don't all love dungeon crawls as much as me. So if - like me - you're looking for a way to scratch the dungeon crawl itch more often, this is a great way to do it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dark Waters
by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 23:12:11

Good supplement for 4AD. Nice to have a little bit of background story for the party! One mission features a premade level in remote hideout, which is well balanced for a low level party. The second mission used the randomized generator in 4AD for the rooms, but using new tables for what you will encounter. If the same old encounters are starting to get stale, you will find plenty of new foes, events, features, and traps in this supplement. The new class is fun to play and has interesting abilities unlike any of the standard fantasy classes. I also learned a new word playing the swashbuckler, panache. In addition to all this, you may just be lucky enough to find a magic conch shell! All hail the magic conch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Waters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Kirk C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2018 22:07:41

After finding out about this game via a YouTube video, I decided to give it a go, and I must say I'm impressed! At first glance, I wasn't sure how complex it would be, since everything seemed pretty simple. However, after spending the evening playing the game solo, I've realized there's a suprising amount of depth as well as actual tension. I can't wait to sit down again and continue on my adventure to see what's through the next door, and whether or not my Elf will once again whiff every single attack she makes. Absolutely worth the asking price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Courtship of the Flower Demons
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2018 17:43:20

Honestly, this book is essential if you have 4 Against Darkness. The setting and premise of the Flower Demesne is highly original and wonderfully evocative. You even have to forgoe a certain amount of combat and instead find yourself involved in weird courtship encounters!

The new classes are great too but the real winner (apart from the setting) here is the section on potions. Its incredible!

This book could completely change the way you play 4AD. Hunting for ingredients for potions is now a fascinating and lucrative objective that will see you seeking throughout many of the other books in the line already published.

I highly rate this supplement. Buy it immediately!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Courtship of the Flower Demons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
by Andrea G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2018 10:28:04

Sellsword and Spellslingers, aka a simulator of how many miniatures a kitchen table can carry! I tried the game yesterday with a friend, 2 characters each and playing the first mission (crossing the table in a orc infested area): game started with our heroes slaying some of the deployed enemies and ended with a mass combat with something like 30 orcs turning up and chasing our guys from all directions! The game is quite unpredictable but like all games from Ganesha it is very well designed and we never felt we were at the mercy of pure randomness. The rules are close enough to SoBH so if you play it you will find yourself confortable with the system; the game is strongly story-driven and you can really pick up a miniature you like and make him/her act exactly like its look and attitude suggest. SaS will find a special place in your heart if you are looking for lite rpg/heroic skirmish game with great rules, simple to both understand and explain, giving a sense of exploration and adventure. And the fact heroes can face and (hopefully) dispatch hordes of enemies really make them badass. The only problem I had is that the game needs TONS of minis of a specific kind… I have just six orcs so we played with 24+ “impostors”. As you can imagine the sight was kind of strange, still the idea of hordes is something that makes SaS shine and I just love it. And the game does include counters for all monsters so you are not forced to buy minis if you don’t want to. The enemies deployment works well, still l will probably test an alternative way to the one proposed, which consists in rolling distance on x and y axis. Another mental note for the next time: life will be easier if I print and use the included counters to remember specific conditions.

So, to conclude, we both had great fun and we’ll definitely play the full campaign (probably 1-2 friends will join too) and create our own scenarios. I am extremely happy with this game and I hope Ganesha Games will release soon some kind of expansion – and make a PDF version of the new monster cards Andrea created!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sellswords and Spellslingers Solo and Cooperative fantasy Miniature Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Four Against Darkness
by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2018 16:16:29

Era il gioco che cercavo da tanto tempo! Sono appassionato del genere Fantasy rpg ma, non volendone sapere il mio gruppo di giocarlo, perlomeno con 4AD ho ritrovato la possibilità di giocare e gustare le atmosfere Old School dei bei tempi andati di D&D. Il bot del gioco, grazie all'uso ricorrente e continuo di tabelle casuali, genera sempre nuove scene, situazioni, scontri, colpi di scena che rendono ogni giocata unica. Il total party kill è sempre dietro l'angolo ma nel complesso lo si accetta perchè si vive una bella storia dall'inizio alla fine. Il gioco è supportato dall'autore Andrea Sfiligoi e da un ricco fandom presente su Facebook. Il manuale base contempla la possibilità di fare avanzare i personaggi fino al 3° livello dopodichè, se si vogliono provare sfide nuove e avvincenti, sono disponibili espansioni al regolamento con possibilità di livellare oltre il 9° livello e anche avventure pre-generate. Insomma, la giocabilità di Four Against Darkness è lunga e dà soddisfazione. A differenza di altri solo game presenti sul mercato, qui il giocatore porta avanti un gruppo di quattro personaggi scelti fra un pool disponibile sul manuale e ciascuno di loro ha le sue peculiarità di razza e di classe. Il sistema è semplice ed intuitivo ma, al tempo stesso, abbastanza profondo da contemplare molte situazioni di combattimento e di esplorazione tipiche dell'rpg fantasy. Vivamente consigliato!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2018 13:18:25

A narrative storytelling game which makes it impossible to get into character or becomes immersed in the reality of the world. You are firmly a narrator here, not a character. You are firmly a story-planner here, not a spectator to events unfolding naturally. This is not an RPG. It's a shared storytelling game.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High Stakes - FREE storytelling and adventure rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fiendish Foes
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2018 06:36:49

I love this game series and I actually got this supplement after the newer caverns of chaos. I had taken my party through there and done the scouting mission and decided maybe that was too hard. I thought this earlier work would be easier. Let me tell you was I wrong. XD

My party which I have been through so much with has as of a few moments ago met their end inside the gooey center of an acidic cube. It devoured them one by one as I helplessly watched. No one survived. The supplement certainly lives up to the name fiendish foes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiendish Foes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star Eagles
by James M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2018 10:23:04

This game mashes up the standard Ganesha Games mechanics with a movement system riffing on Wings or War/Star Wars X-Wing. They pair up nicely and it looks pretty cool. But there are a number of weird inconsistencies, especially when trying to build you own ships. Weapons are pre-built, which I don’t mind, there is a fair amount of variety there. The weapon tags are described early in the book, and the available weapons are build on there later in the book. But while there is a Turret weapon quality, there is no weapon that actually possesses that quality, meaning that no ship you build can fire except from of its front arc. Then there there is stuff like the ‘Heavily-Armed’ ship quality. Over in the ship qualities section, it says that this costs 8 points to add to a ship. But over in weapons and missiles you can also buy a pod that’s only effect is to add that quality to a ship. That pod costs 12 points (10 for the pod, 2 for the hard point to mount it on). Why are there two prices for the same thing?

Despite a neat mash-up of mechanics and an interesting structured campaign, there are lots of oddities, ambiguities, and omissions in the book which made it a disappointing purchase for me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Eagles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not like it. However, We will soon issue an amended PDF that will hopefully fix the inconsistencies. Osprey and Hydras ships (and any ship you want to build with that trait) have turrets. Also note that we tried to have more special abilities than are currently used in our background and in the sample forces provided, because they were asked for by playtesters wanting to design ships from other universes. All pods and missiles are 10 pts. it is cheaper to add an ability as a dedicated part of the ship. Pods allow you to customise and give abilities to adjust your ship ability to suit a particular opponent. You pay for that flexibility vs having it fixed.
Four Against Darkness
by David E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2018 02:56:59

Whenever I'm in the mood to play an old school dungeon crawler, I mostly just keep coming back to Four Against Darkness (4AD), because it's one of the best solo engines I've ever come across for that.

It might be easy to overlook 4AD because of how simple it looks. But it's simplicity is actually its strength: Instead of taking an everything-&-the-kitchen-sink approach to solo-gaming (such as with a massive tome of many big tables or etc), it just takes a very minimalist approach. Though table-driven, its tables are small & few. Its focus seems to be more on just making sure that every small bit & piece of it & how it all fits together & works is perfect.

4AD is also so simply organized and modular, it's easy to modify it into whatever you want just by substituting your own tables where they fit into its system. It seems to be so conspicuously designed for that purpose, that it's even hard to resist tinkering with it. In that respect, its versatility & replay-value are practically endless. But I've also got a lot of mileage out of just using the tables it comes with, because they're quite elegantly done & satisfying to play with, too.

Plus 4AD comes with its own RPG system built into it. That system is likewise so simple & elegant, it makes all of the polished work that went into it look easy. But on a closer look, it's actually just one of the most seamlessly streamlined & tight, minimalist versions of old school rule mechanics I've seen. Not only is it conspicuously designed that way to keep 4AD's gameplay fast and fun despite having a solo-dungeon-crawling engine to manage in it, but it also feels faithful to traditional old-school rule mechanics and classes as if we're playing in the 1970's again. It balances those two things perfectly.

The net result is that 4AD is a pure blast to play. The proof was in the pudding as soon as I started playing it: I hadn't had so much fun playing a dungeon-crawler in decades. It just scratched that old school dungeon-crawling itch like nothing else. I couldn't put it down. It became my go-to game for several months.

In fact, I would even consider 4AD to be a good minimalist RPG system in its own right. Except it isn't designed to just run things from other OSR systems unconverted out-of-the-box, the way any other OSR-friendly minimalist RPG systems out there are designed to do. That means you will have to scale-down some of the stats on anything you import from other OSR systems into 4AD's system to make their balance OK, because most things involving stats in 4AD's system tend to be scaled smaller in it. Or considering how simple 4AD's system is to manaage, you could just run a whole other OSR system atop 4AD's solo engine if you like.

Anyway, I just love everything about 4AD. I especially recommend it for anybody into solo dungeon crawls and minimalist hacks of old school rules. But it would also be a great way to introduce younger players to dungeon-crawls, or to play GM-less dungeon-crawls with a group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Four Against Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 79 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles