DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Witch Girls Adventure Rule book
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 11:46:23

Terrific set of rules but the inability to search greatly limits the usefulness of the PDF.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Adventure Rule book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Hex Scouts Guide to Cryptozoology
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2019 12:55:18

“The Hex Scouts Guide to Cryptozoology” is a supplement for the Witch Girls Adventures role-playing game that deals with a girl-scout like organization for the magical girl.

Anyone who liked the “Secret Saturdays” cartoon shouldn’t hesitate to pick this up immediately!

A great idea with a terrific backstory and organization. It makes it very easy to get into the structure of a game with “earning badges” consisting of very interesting and varied adventures.

It is a 98 page PDF, with most of the book (around 67 pages) consisting of a ‘monster manual’. The rest is detailing the nature and organization of the “Hex Scouts”.

The PDF has readable fonts but it is on the dark brown ‘parchment’ like background that is extremely unpleasant to read. Searching the PDF is especially difficulty because it’s almost impossible to tell the highlighted word from the background.

There is color art scattered throughout some of it appropriate to the text, some of it not. It mostly depicts Hex-scouts ‘day-in-the-life’ scenes. The style is ...unusual. Almost like stained glass with rich colors. A step up from the “Super Crusader” art if you’re familiar with that style.

I’m not sure why thematically a blood splat marks the page numbers, but it does the job.

Personally I don’t think it even comes close to the art in the “Witch Girls Adventures” core rulebook. It’s not out of place and better than nothing but I wouldn’t call it “playful” or “inspiring” either.

The art for the badges and chapter separators (mostly just badges) is very good and very inspiring for the material.

All in all it does what it says on the tin and gives enough material to easy creating an episodic game of the adventures of a troop of young witches.

What is there is excellent and will be perfect for setting up an easy to run game with a varied cast of characters who can come and go as the players schedules allow (something very much needed in today’s busy world). So if you’re looking to run a “open” game, I can’t think of a better way to organize it.

A great history and background, an explanation of the organization and specifics on meetings and events make it very gameable.

Earning “Badges” is done by accomplishing a certain number of missions, with the older girls getting the more complex missions. The missions are open-ended enough that getting them will be fun and not subject to the “leveling-up” mentality prevalent in a lot of RPGs. There are 12 badges described and all of them seem interesting to play.

For example, earning the “Mermaid” badge requires visiting a total of 12 oceans - including earth and other realms. The adventures practically write themselves.

The scouting activities are well described and inspire great ideas for wholesome adventure where combat isn’t necessary or expected (mostly).

Four new Cliques are added: A horse rider, an archer, a monster whisperer and totem spirit watcher.

Skills gives some new skills are added: Animal Training, including a list of the tricks the animals can be taught.

Crafts including example difficulties and time to craft. It mentions “Wealth” with no explanation as to what that is.

Fighting: Range Weapon is also given, along with a list of nine maneuvers its possible to do with this skill.

Herbalism skill and Languages along with a list of “exotic” languages.

Medicine is also given along with eight example difficulties and modifiers for the type of patient.

Riding skill and Survival skill along with seven example difficulties.

Track along with 5 different example difficulties and terrain modifiers.

Cryptozoology is considered a Magical skill and is a knowledge skill.

An absolutely excellent skill section that doesn’t skimp on the details.

New scout/nature oriented talents are also given: Capricious, Environmentalist, Flower-child, Naturalist, Relentless and Survivalist.

Heritages are also given: Moon Maiden, Monster (with monster examples), Summoner and Shape-shifter all with a good amount of details.

The Magic section gives examples of Summoning and Summoning spells and Totem Bonds with two pages of examples.

Another excellent and well-detailed section. It might be too many rules for some, but they are all well written, detailed and distinctly different from anything else, and well-suited to magical scouts.

The Equipment section is not and has not only a fine selection of camping equipment but “Add ons” which for a cost can add abilities to the weapons as well.

Finally there is the rest of the book - the Cryptids.

It first describes several pocket dimensions where cryptids are kept in a form of magical nature preserves.

Cryptids are given a sort of “Challenge Rating” that compares their difficulty to defeat with the equivalent “Stars” and “Groups of Stars”.

The Cryptid descriptions are pretty standard “monster manual” descriptions and all take up one or two pages.

They give some extra information in terms of the locations where they are likely to be found and their motivations and some “common traits” that can be chosen that mean that not every cryptid of the same type will behave the same way.

They also give some ‘hooks’ that are good for inspiring an adventure and ‘facts’ that can be used to for researching.

Also, every cryptid is illustrated and truthfully, while I’m not very fond of the ‘human’ depictions in this book I think the cryptid illustrations are excellent and evocative. Forget everything I said before! Go figure.

There are some ‘classic’ monsters and some entirely original ones (at least new to me). These descriptions are overflowing with plot ideas and this is something I WILL be using and WOULD be willing to get a printed copy of! Though please get a white background!

The variety is amazing and if you play games like “Monster of the Week”, “Meddling Kids” or “Cupcake Scouts” there is a lot to like here.

There’s even stats for normal animals as well.

Unfortunately it is marred by the worst editing I have seen in quite a long time - and I buy a LOT of PDFs.

Extra spaces in sentences are the smallest of the errors. Extra lines between paragraphs. Misspelled words (that won’t get caught by a spellchecker). Weirdly worded phrases and dropped words are most common. Hex-Scouts sometimes has a hyphen and sometimes doesn’t. Missing commas that make the sentence confusing. Words after semi-colons sometimes capitalized sometimes not. For example:

“Most Covens have three or more, meet twice a month...”. In the next paragraph it states that Covens have monthly meetings. So do they meet once a month or twice a month?

“If the creature isn’t to dangerous...”;

“Hex Scouts depending on their skill explore those places and even help map and them.”

“Hex Scouts competed on broom carpet and flying steed amongst a coven and other covens in various races...”

“...as members as long as the are of age and....”

“.This magical uniform provides +_1 bonuses to resist intense heat and cold, Changes to Standard uniform, Casual uniform and dress uniform for 1 Zap point and is resistant to dirt wear and tear” So if you spend at Zap point they are also resistant to dirt and wear and tear, but if you DON’T spend a Zap point they resist intense heat and cold? And what the heck IS a Standard, Casual and Dress uniform? They are never mentioned again.

“To show this Directors..”

“Basic Perks” What are the basic perks? I think they are the uniform(s) and skill bonuses, but it’s never made clear.

“...don’t have I easy...”

I could go on, but I think you get the drift. It’s mostly understandable but a frustrating and jarring read.

Especially considering the high production values of the other Witch Girls Adventure book, this is especially glaring.

As a supplement to mine for ideas and a campaign, I highly recommend it.

The information is so dense and useful I’d even buy a print copy.

(Like most Witch Girls Adventure products) This Is Good Stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Scouts Guide to Cryptozoology
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Adventure Star Creation Guide
by Gorram W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2018 18:13:58

An excellent product, definitely fun and interesting. I look forward to exploring this world more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Adventure Star Creation Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Princess Lucinda's guide to world domination!
by Roderick Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2016 17:00:55

Before purchase, the preview is misleading because it only provides a single page of sample art, the cover. This cover artwork is of much higher quality than the remainder of the book, and the "humour" of this guide is tedious, at best. The ideas contained here would be better served as part of a larger narrative, perhaps with Lucinda describing possible plans to her friends.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Princess Lucinda's guide to world domination!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Magical Minutia: Crossover
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/01/2015 11:16:03

This book for Witch Girls Adventures previews a bit of the rules we will see in WGA 2.0 and the upcoming super hero games from Channel M. WE are introduced to Nemsis Earth, an Earth populated by superheroes and some differences in history. Chapter 1 covers the details of this new Earth and it's features, both magical and tech. The book is presented from the point of view of a Witch Girl travelling across the dimensions. There are plenty of new equipment for Witch Girl stars and even a new heritage (Half-Metahuman). Chapter 3 covers Channel M's new "Youthquake" team of superpowered teens. The general feel of this "Crisis on Two Earths" and honestly I really like that. I wish I had had this back when I was working on Season 3 of my Willow & Tara game where I crossed over to a super powered Earth that resembled the Earth int he DC universe. While reading this I was also wishing I had an Icons version of this. Same ideas, characters and text, but Icons as the rules. They would mesh together rather nice I think. If you are a fan of supers and Witch Girls Adventures then this is a good buy. One issue. I hate to bring this up, really. I love Malcolm's work but he should really hire a good proofreader and editor to help clean up his work. That leaves him to focus on the big ideas and let others do the editorial work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Magical Minutia: Crossover
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Adventure Rule book
by keith b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2015 01:29:15

Upon purchasing a product I immediately start looking at how many genres the system can mimic easily and how many it can with a little work. The game system and information provided can handle many genres easily with no effort on the GMs part. So if you don't want to be a teen age witch you can easily be a male teen with magical powers or a witch hunter, shapeshifter, vampire, God of past pantheons, etc. with the information provided by means of dozens of samples of npcs and creatures and animals you can be almost anything you want with in the world provided. If you want to be a super hero or government agent with psionic powers you can with very little effort. I immediately started to think of past cartoons that could be mimicked such as 1980's He-man, thunder cats, up to current thunder cats, dragonball z, and many others that can be done. the only genre not possible without a lot more effort is Mecha but as the greatest part of the game is the magic system you probably do not want to emulate that as there are many other systems that do a wonderful job with Mecha. If given a choice of books buy this one over the more recent Respelled as it is a cheaply made copy with only a few of the supplement material added but has a lot of the other info removed. This book and the game system is easy, versatile and perfect for beginners but also has world information and social rules for those wanting more than a combat simply game however if that is what you want it can also provide that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Adventure Rule book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Respelled
by Mike B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2015 23:42:57

I backed the Kickstarter for this project (formerly WGA: Book of Shadows) three years ago. Over a year and a half ago, the author simply stopped communicating with the backers, no updates, comments, or responses to emails. Today, the backers have finally received our download codes and I must say, it fails to impress.

After nearly three years of development (half of that in radio-silence), the final product is fairly riddled with typos and formatting issues, lacks vast chunks of promised content (setting information, the option to play non-witches, any kind of bestiary), and smacks of a quick-and-dirty retread of a previous product. A paragraph at the beginning declares that this is actually WGA 1.5 (not 2.0) and is simply meant to be layered on top of the original book. I hate this kind of "update," because it lazily declares "everything in the previous edition is still cannon, except for this, and this, and this..."

Ultimately, I paid $20 dollars, three years ago, for something that now sells for $10, and I would be better served simply playing the original version. Don't give these guys any of your money. It's a poor product, made by people who lack even the most common of courtesies concerning their customer base.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Respelled
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Adventures: Director's Cut
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2014 12:49:42

A lot of what said about Witch Girls is still true from my original review. Here it is, with edits to reflect this newer version.

We now have 2, soon to be 3, versions of Witch Girls Adventures. WGA = Witch Girls Adventures (1st ed) WGA-DC = the Director's Cut, this version. 1.5 Edition. WGA-BoS = Witch Girls Adventures: Book of Shadows, 2nd Edition. Out sometime in the future.

Witch Girls Adventures is a a "Drama Diaries" game, using the "Drama Dice" system from Malcolm Harris. This version, WGA-DC is using the first ed version of the Drama Dice system with some of the modifications of the upcoming 2nd Edition.

It is aimed at new players predominantly and girls in particular. The book begins with 10 pages of the Witch Girls Adventures comic to set the tone and mood of the game.

The book continues as it goes on to your typical introduction into what is a roleplaying game and is written for a young or teen girl audience ("just tell the geek (trust me; they are used to being called geeks) behind counter you need... ") cute. But too much of this would ruin the presentation of the game for me. Thankfully this is the only time, but it does establish one thing right away; this game is going for a different audience. The intro stuff continues with some terms both for the game and for RPGs.

It makes an odd left turn to give us optional rules (we haven't had any rules yet for these to be optional to) about how to run a "Harry Potter" like game with this. Eh. Nice, but this should have come last, not first. I still think this would have worked better as an appendix.

Chapter 2 gives us "Cliques" . So perfect. In another game these would be "Factions" or "Classes" or even "Traditions" or "Associations" or "Backgrounds", but given the Middle-school/High-school this is great. Cliques basically give your starting dice and what skills you are likely to have. The system is very easy. The dice system (The Drama Dice system as it is called) quickly reminds one of Cortex or Savage Worlds. Attributes are scored d2 to d12 for most types. The spread even looks the same as Cortex and Savage Worlds. Not surprisingly, afterall it is a logical progression. You have six attributes Body (which combines Strength, Agility and stamina), Mind (intelligence), Senses, Will, Social and Magic. Right away you see there is only one body type attribute but four mental ones. This is the way it should be really, WGA is not about beating people up, it is about the social aspects of the game and about magic, our last attribute. There are some secondary attributes that are derived. Rolls are made depending on the dice vs a difficulty table very similar to d20 or Unisystems' success levels. Cliques are detailed and they are your basic magical girl stereotypes (the Goth, the insider, the outsider…) . Plenty here to work with and if you are so inclined create your own (which is what the "Harry Potter" bit tries to do).

Chapter 3 moves onto skills. Each chapter has some fiction to introduce you to the Witch Girls world. It seems to be a cross between Charmed, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Buffy and the Craft mixed in with anime magical girls. Skills. Unlike Cortex or Savage Worlds, skills are given a + score like Unisystem or d20. Roll the die associated with the attribute (each skill is connected to an attribute like d20) add the bonus the skill provides, check your success, or roll greater. There are 34 mundane skills and 10 magical skills. A little too much in my book, but I am willing to see how it works out here.

Chapter 4 Traits details traits, which are like Edges or Qualities. They are broken up into Talents (which you can get later in life) and Heritages (which are inborn and never change). Heritages have both a positive and negative aspect to them. Typical ones are there like "Beautiful" and others which have to be unique to this game like "Drama Queen".

Chapters 2, 3 and 4 are all well detailed and very straight forward.

Chapter 5 is Magic. Really this is what we came here for. There is a lot more here on what magic is and what it means to a witch. There are different types of magic (necromancy, mentalism, cybermancy…) which you can spend points on to improve your rank. This can provide a lot of variance between witches. Think of it as somewhere between Harry Potter's classes and Mage's spheres. As GM (a Director in WGA) I might limit some of these to NPCs (Guest Stars) and not to PCs (Stars). Spell casting is broken down into a lot of detail. More than maybe the seasoned gamer needs, but given the audience it might be about right. Effects are broken out into Magic Type Rank (MTR) and the overall feel is like a table you might see in Mage or Mutants & Masterminds with what MTR (read as Power level) you need to achieve a certain effect. Want to cast that spell across the world? Better have an MTR of 9. There are rules for Signature Spells, which take less Zap (read: Mana, Essence), choose only one and from the "School" with your highest MTR (which makes sense really). I like the idea of the signature spell and might try it in my other games too. This is all followed by 20+ pages of spells and these by no means seem to be all of them. Since your cast member (Star, remember) isn't going to be buying swords, guns or anything else that characters spend money or points on then this is a good thing.

Chapter 6. Your Star gets an allowance allowing her to buy things like magical computers, flying Vespas, and more brooms than found in Home Depot. There are familiars, clothes, wings and all sorts of magical equipment here as well. You could build an adventure on just shopping for these things cause I am sure getting them is not as easy as going to the mall. Lots of neat wands and I have to say the books for young witches are pretty funny ("Samantha's Guide to Merry Mortals" yeah that made me laugh). And a bunch of mundane stuff like DVD players and skateboards. The allowance system is nice, I like it better than the Modern d20 purchase DCs and easier than keeping track of cash.

Chapter 7 is some odds and ends. A character questionnaire (nice) and a filled out character sheet (also nice). Good detail on what things mean and if you are new to games a certain boon.

Chapter 8 is for Directors, so all the rules of the game. The system, some combat rules (yes this is the FIRST game I have seen where the rules for shopping are longer than the rules for combat. ;) ) Some nice background fluff and some ideas for different types of stories, basically you can do Buffy, Good vs. Evil, Charmed, and Magic School. The experience system is "interesting" (Voodollars), but it looks like it works.

Chapter 9 is the world background. Now this one is kind of neat. I details the various races (witches are a different race) and they are not alone. Some history, some magical places (Santa's Workshop, No joke and it looks cool!) The ruling council of Witches (I am yoinking this for my Unisystem games), Spelling Bees, groups and other schools. Even how the mundane world reacts to all of this.

Chapter 10 presents some creatures. But if the art is any indication most of these are not for combat purposes, but potential dates (well there is only one witch kissing a vampire…) Nearly every kind of creature is covered from fairies to Cthulhu like horrors. But no demons. Seems a bit odd, given it all. Some NPCs (Guest Stars) of note.

Chapter 11 details the Willow Mistt School. Lands, buildings, faculty, everything you would expect to find is here. Willow Mistt is not Hogwarts, but it is easy to make the comparisons. I actually found it closer to Claremont Academy from Mutants & Masterminds.

We close with a sample Episode, some plot ideas, a lexicon, and a list of Witch names (see how many you recognize!), and some NPCs with sheets.

The Good: Harris obviously has a love for this genre and it shows. The rules are well crafted and while there is nothing earth shaking here, they are familiar mechanics done up in a very nice way. The point of view of the work is nice. This is anti-Grim-Dark. It's not all unicorns, princesses and kittens (though it does have all that), it's a fun game. The art is not D&D 4e, but it is good and more to the point very appropriate for this game. For new players this is a great little game. More experienced players may want more, but that is not due to the game itself, but rather expectations. Do not expect this to be "WitchCraft: The Junior High Years" (though you can do that). This Director's Cut has been update to mostly full color interiors. Especially the art.

The Bad: I know Harris is basically a one man operation so I am willing to cut him some slack here. But there are a large number of typos that should be fixed and some terms that might have either been mistakes or from earlier versions (the Magic attribute is called "Zap" in one spot.) I am willing to overlook those IF they are corrected in the 2nd Edition. They should have been corrected in this edition to be honest, but I am going to cut him the slack here but none in the 2nd ed WGA-BoS.

The Ugly: Well....WGA has something of a weird rep online. I am not sure it is entirely justified to be honest. Gamers can get really weird about the oddest things. Are some of the witches depicted here anti-social monsters? Yeah. The poster child, Princess Lucinda is exactly that, but it is presented in the same vein of cartoon violence.

So. Who is Witch Girls Adventures for? Well , that sort of depends but here is what I see.

New players and Game Master get a lot with this book. I see them having a great time. People that enjoy the more social aspects of a game (and of gaming) rather than a bunch of combats. Anyone that is a fan of Magical Girl Anime, Witches or even high school based games. Anyone that has ever wished for a Harry Potter RPG. Anyone that looks at the setting and resists the urge to make it "darker". WGA is not about being dark. You can be evil sure, and as a witch the entire world is after you, but the setting does not need the WoD feel at all.

Last Words This is a fun game. Take it as it is, not as you want it to be, and you will have fun too. If you are an old pro, use this game to introduce younger people to the hobby. I hope that Malcolm Harris is successful and ends up getting a lot of new people, boys and girls, to our hobby.

The Director's cut adds a few more pages and most of the interior is now full color. There are some new pieces of art and some of the older b/w art is now in color. Whether or not this is worth 10 bucks is up to you. I enjoyed the 1st ed so much I wanted to get this.

I have two hopes for Witch Girls now.

  1. That the final copy of 2nd edition, WGA-BoS, is out soon.
  2. That Malcolm Harris gets someone to help with the editing. It is a shame to mar a great and fun game with some easily fixed typos.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Adventures: Director's Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

OWG: The Orginal Witch Girls
by Bill H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2013 20:01:52

Fair quality scans, but missing pages (e.g., 21-29 in the Halloween Spook-Tacular). Text content not OCRed.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OWG: The Orginal Witch Girls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Princess Lucinda Graphic Novel- Book 1 : Black Rose of the Empire
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2013 13:01:31

Are you tired of fairy tales with the clichè goody goody Princess who is just a helpless damsel in distress in need of being saved by a knight in shining armor? Then this graphic novel is perfect for you! Meet Lucinda Nightbane, the 12-year-old Princess, whose parents rule over an Empire of 12 worlds with an iron fist. In contrast to the standard Princess, Lucinda is clever, ruthless, and more than capable of fending for herself. She doesnt need a hero to save her, because she has immense magic powers and she isnt afraid to use them against everyone who attacks, insults or in any other form is rude to her (and since she is the High Princess of a whole universe and sees everyone that doesn`t belong to her family as a lowly servant, being rude to her might even include crossing her ways when she is in a bad mood).

Now, its important to note that Lucinda is, in a way, a little evil. She is portrayed as being cruel on a whim and quite self-centered and the rebels who attack her kingdom, the antagonists, are actually trying to free the empire from the evil tyrant family. In any other work of fiction, they might be the good guys, the heroes. But this story is more original than that. Lucinda, who may sound unysmpathetic at first, is actually a great, original character. Shes fun to watch, imaginative in the use of her powers (she prefers permanently transforming her unfortunate victims into all kinds of things, from insects to ice cream) and you can`t help but feel for her when she SPOILER ALERT has to watch her parents die in front of her.

This first issue of what will be a three part series deals with her backstory and how she is forced to move to earth, which she describes as a "small, backwards world in a dung heap of a universe, filled with hairless apes".

I recommand this graphic novel to everyone who would enjoy a twisted version of a fairy tale and is a fan of dark humor. Lucinda is an awesome character, worthy of her own movie or television show, and her story is simply epic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Princess Lucinda Graphic Novel- Book 1 : Black Rose of the Empire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Witch Girls Book of Shadows Preview
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/27/2012 07:03:39

Less a preview and more of a commercial for WGA 2.0. Still the art is nice and I would have liked to seen a preview of something new in this edition. WGA 1.0 is a great game so my hopes are very high.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Girls Book of Shadows Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Princess Lucinda Preview
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2012 23:59:41

I enjoyed reading this. The story is fun, the art is really nice, and I get a huge kick out of Lucinda.

My only complaint about this comic is that it really needs some serious proofreading before going to print - the biggest sin being punctuation. A lack of commas made the story a little hard to read; it was very distracting.

If that can be fixed, it'll be perfect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Princess Lucinda Preview
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

OWG: The Orginal Witch Girls
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/20/2012 13:38:22

The comic that came before the RPG. The first 200 or so pages are comic content of various artists, but all in the WitchGirls School and world. The next dozen or so pages is the Coventry School written up for the Witch Girls RPG. And we end with WGA write-ups for all the characters that appeared in the comics.
One of the great things about the Witch Girls game are the characters. So this is a nice treat really. If you are a fan of the game and want some more NPCs for your own school or need some ideas on adventure then this is a great book to have.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OWG: The Orginal Witch Girls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Macho: Last Action Heroes
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/30/2011 22:10:20

WHAT WORKS: While it isn't politically correct, it doesn't push the envelope remotely as much as the games I have been reviewing recently, meaning it's probably safer for a broader audience. It is tailor made for a slightly tongue in cheek version of an all-star action movie set-up ala The Expendables, allowing for a pretty decent range of character types and adversaries.

WHAT DOESN'T WORK: The book was riddled with typos, in headings and buried in the text. For those worried about game balance, Muscle seemed a tad overly strong, since it is used to get your Tough Points, Speed and affect your damage, while Attitude is pretty much used in roleplay situations. A broader list of Para-Macho-Abilities would have been great, as I could see characters stepping over each other pretty quickly, especially in a larger group. Oh, and ranking The Von Erich Family above Chuck Norris in the Macho Hall of Fame?!?! Are you nuts? I also question The A-Team and MacGyver as being sources of "Grade A" senseless violence, as A-Team was notorious for its "bloodless carnage" and MacGyver was designed specifically as a counter to "violent cop shows".

CONCLUSION: A little editing could have gone a long ways here on the presentation, which also suffered from lackluster art. That being said, there could easily be much fun had with any group willing to embrace the tropes and kick some ass for a night or two of beer and pretzels gaming. I am terribly interested in the superhero RPG advertised in the back of the book, however.

For my full review, please visit: http://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2011/05/tommys-take-on-macho-last-action-heroes.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Macho: Last Action Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Princess Lucinda Issue 1
by cecil p. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2011 20:32:05

This is a really good manga. I read the issue 0 and thought it was funny but this is not like the issue 0 manga In that manga we get Princess Lucinda being a pest on earth. In this we learn what her pre-earth life was like.

She was a real Princess and had everything and not to go all spoiler but we see how she loses most of it. And where the story hits is how sorry you feel for her and her sister. It’s like reading a movie only you get to read the characters thoughts along with what they say.

But it isn’t all story the art here is kewl. Sketches with some ink. I usually hate black and white manga but this is different and reminds me of black and white illustrations old books.

I would give this a six but it just goes up to five.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Princess Lucinda Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 23 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles