DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fiasco '11: Fiasco Playset Anthology Vol. 2
by Ivan R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2020 11:14:37

From this anthology I've played News Channel Six, Town and Gown and Camp Death and the've all been a blast. I particualrly like that there's a bit of a twist to the mechanics in Camp Death. It pulls you right into the fiction



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco '11: Fiasco Playset Anthology Vol. 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fiasco Classic
by Nathan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2020 23:31:34

This is my go to when I vet new players into my games. It will show you who can metagame like a writer, think creatively on their feet, and have the confidence to use the spotlight when it's upon them. Also, it's super fun and the stories that you end up telling have you laughing at them for months.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Juggernaut
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2020 16:25:50

I played this game using a couple of Rock Band drum kits and boxes as Juggernaut, with a tray holding the deck of cards. It was an incredibly tense game and a nicely simple one to prepare for. If you want some Twilight Zone style fun and an introduction to Parlour LARP, then this is for you. I wrote a full review and enclosed some photos of my group in lab coats here: http://www.whodaresrolls.com/rpgs/juggernaut/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Juggernaut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star Crossed
by Lee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2020 16:45:11

Great fun for two. It feels really tense and pulls off that feeling of falling for someone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Crossed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Witches
by Whit C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2020 23:08:18

This is an absolutely amazing game! From the themes and structure, to mechanics. It all comes together perfectly to tell the story of these airwomen. It made for the best roleplaying campaign that I've ever played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Witches
by Andrea P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2020 06:16:12

A great self-contained game, with a very precise setting and rules that enrich the immersion in that setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fiasco Companion
by Max P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2019 06:17:20

Some intersting tips and variants.

New tilt/aftermath tables and talks about how to play it in school or with actors, that didn't particularly interested me.

What's worth noting is that the files are excellent: there is a PDF, epub, and mobi. All are flawless.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fiasco Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fiasco Classic
by Max P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 11:10:13

What's worth noting is that the files are excellent: there is a PDF, epub, and mobi. All are flawless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiasco Classic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star Crossed
by Emily G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2019 03:29:32

This game is fantastic. My girlfriend and I bought it for Valentines Day to play together and have not stopped playing since! Since then we have reccomended this game to all of our friends, who also love it.

Since we don't have a tower (and play online a lot), we have adapted to using a standard deck of Playing Cards to simulate the Jenga tower. We shuffle in 2 Jokers. The major suite cards (King, Queen, Jack) will make you pull more cards/"bricks" than normal, increasing tension.

In Depth

The book itself has tons of good roleplaying advice that is applicable even to other tabletop games. I love the use of the X-card, and the encouragement to be open-minded and clear with your intentions. It is definitely some advice I will be sharing with my other gaming groups to make gaming not only more accessible but to make roleplaying more rich.

The pacing in this game makes for some of the most excellent and concise storytelling I've ever experienced.

Each scene contains a Prompt that you and your partner decide to interpret together. It really makes each play through entirely unique.

The Moves you get (2 that are Once per Scene and 2 that are Once per Game) prevents meandering too long on prompts/scenes. Once you run out of moves for a scene, you are highly encouraged by the gameplay to jump to a new scene. This keeps the game moving quickly and without stagnation.

The mechanics reward cooperative play even for competitive people. You are playing "Against the Stars" or "Against Fate" to try and get a good, satisfying ending. The combined effort of trying to make things work out feels like a team building exercise that encourages good communication between both parties working together.

It is an amazingly satisfying experience to get to the end, whatever end that is, and wrap things up with the Epilogue that you both tell together.

I love how creative it inspires you to be, and how it encourages working together to actively listen your friends ideas and build something unique as a whole.

Special Notes

This game is GM-less!! I was surprised and delighted.

Since some might be interested; you really can only play this game with two people unless you are into polyamory.

Then maybe you could play with up to 4. But you should definitely play in even numbers.

Even though this game has elements of Dread, there is no place for "friend" type characters. The mechanics revolve around an evolving relationship (although not necessarily romantic, if you choose to interpret it that way).

You can use it for other things but its not great for a Multiplayer Party Game unless you pair off as friends. Better to run two games at once.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Crossed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star Crossed
by Rachel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2019 19:06:37

This game is a delight. It gives you all the tools you need to write a sweet (or bittersweet!) love story with a friend. Definitely for any players who want to dive into the storytelling aspect and have a fondness for romance!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Crossed
by Colin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2019 11:09:41

Star Crossed tries to riff off of what Dread did so well with the Jenga tower but somehow fails to invoke the same tension. Starts great when your at the begining phase but becomes more fustrating as the game goes on and both of you can only come up with so many ideas. As the Follow I always ended scenes early because I was just flat out of inspiration and wanted something new to work with.

Game is overpriced at $12 dollars.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Star Crossed
by Abby H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2019 19:22:17

I wish I had known about this during the kickstarter! It's so delightful and the pdf is wonderfully and cleanly done.

As for the gameplay itself, it completely fits what I would be expecting with a relationship based on this kind of set up. I found it lovely and wonderful and easy to pick up and play. It was fun and something I know I can play a bunch now. I'm excited to see more from this creator, as well as a possible physical book of this as well! Ready and waiting <3



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:00:50

These are a fantastic addition. I admit I didn't see use for all of the cards contained, but those I did became essential. The pilot cards changed things up with the NPCs, where the group suddenly had to deal with them as people instead of simply being narrative hit points when they're on a mission #RIPDasha. The squadron leader being able to hand out cards to show who's assigned to which plane makes a nice physical element to the briefings. I didn't bother printing the medal cards as they're represented on the sheet and the oaths can be read from the book itself, but the rest are great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Witches
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:57:51

This is the closest to an HBO show that I've experienced in an RPG, and it's been close before. My group are on a break from it just because our emotional stamina can only take so much, but we can't wait to get back into it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Warren
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:56:26

This is a gorgeous game, which uses the PbtA design in some fun, different ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 73 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles