DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Op4s/beta
by Zac B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2019 09:37:46

This product is no longer being developed. So it being a beta release means that it is incomplete and will not be finished. Not sure why it is still available for purchase.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Op4s/beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Rogue Planet
by Anthony M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2019 14:23:10

Quite a unique system for skirmish-level combat. Unique does not necessarily mean good, however Brent seems to have a knack for creating not just unique, but more importantly deep, games. Other systems may appear deep on their surface by bolting on complexity, obscuring an otherwise uninteresting game, like having 30 different weapons with only minute differences between them, or a massive book of spells where only a couple are actually useful. Rogue Planet succeeds in avoiding this (in my opinion) pitfall. There is very little "waste".

What makes this such a deep game is that the mechanics provide oodles of decision points. Every step of the game has at least one interesting decision point. Should I be the active or reactive player this turn? My enemy can only target my closest model (most of the time), so how do I position? Which pawns do I take and which do I lose first? I have a consecutive action limit, so how do I best spend my limited action points to best put me in a winning position, and how is the enemy player going to react to my actions? There's definitely a mind game going on as you try to goad a reactive player into using his actions how you want him to. These are just a taste of the decisions one will have to make in the course of a game. Very good.

There are a couple things I felt are "wonky" or missed opportunities, like a lack of AOE attacks, which would have been a nice way to make a player think twice about using a leader's Command ability. And unless I'm playing the rules wrong, Throw seems to be the auto-choice for a Heavy unit against another Medium or Heavy as the damage potential for a collision is much higher than the standard melee attack, without a significant difference in modifiers needed to pass the skill check. The rules are not clear on whether collision damage overrules the regular damage rules for armor.

Overall, bravo to Brent for such a fun game. I think it's criminal that this game is not more popular compared to other, less-than-stellar popular offerings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

TECH?NO! BOWL: Pixel Block Players
by Manish K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2019 10:04:56

awesome "pimp your boardgame" upgrade for Techno Bowl! Takes some time and a little craftiness, but doable if you tackle teams in small chunks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TECH?NO! BOWL: Pixel Block Players
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mayhem
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 11:38:18

I read a very comprehensive and extremely well done battlereport of Mayhem using 10mm GW figs on the Lead Adventure Forum. I went ahead and bought the rules. The mechanics are great! Overdrive is a truly innovative mechanism. I also like the ability to create army lists using the army creator availble for the rules. I was highly impressed by everything I had read about the rules and their mechanics. We were wanting these to become our default set. However, the rules as laid out made it extremely difficult to follow how the game should play. They were sometimes confusing and often unclear. I actually thought about trying to edit sections of the rues to make them clear and concise, I decided it would be too much work.

These rules have the potential to be one of the BEST fantasy sets on the market. They really do have some very good ideas, concepts and mechanics. But they badly need to be edited and laid out so they are clearer in their pesentation. I'd have given any other set a 2 star rating. But because of the promise they offer I made it a 3. Clean them up and I'd make it a 5! I truly hope the author thinks about doing a new version. I would happily sing their priases if he cleaned them up.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mayhem
by Jan Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2018 15:48:44

An excellent tabletop wargame.

Gameflow is superb. The interaction of rules components is very satisfying. The system has an awesome dice mechanic used for almost every aspect of the game, is easy to learn, has huge customization potential, flows incredibly smoothly, models command and control well and gives the player the feeling of really commanding a huge army across an entire battlefield. In less time it takes to play a game of Warhammer, you command what feels like three times as big an army over an entire landscape. I liked it quite a bit.

Mayhem does two things extremely well:

  1. It gives you complete flexibility and creativity in what units you want to field: Creating your army is as much fun as playing the actual game.

  2. And it gives you freedom in what you want your units to do on the table. It doesn't even have separate phases for moving, shooting etc. You can go back to units you already ordered and activate them again, for example, even after activating other units in the meantime. Gives you an very satisfying feeling of being unhindered and unrestricted.

These two things Mayhem does better than any other tabletop wargame I ever played.

Heartily recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
HAVOC: Tactical Miniature Warfare
by Edmund H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2017 12:08:52

The coupon code for the free paper terrain doesn't work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
HAVOC: Tactical Miniature Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Rogue Planet
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 06:50:43

I'm only a recent skirm-style game convert and have tried a number of systems looking for that elusive 'something special'.

I think I've found it with Rogue Planet.

The depth of tactical choice coupled with the amount of character the mechanics afford is absolutely bang-on. Couple that with basically zero book-keeping, low complexity and a huge amount of adaptability and flexibility... I'm just dumbfounded that my mates hadn't discovered this gem before me! The system provides the means of running an entertaining battle with only a handful of miniatures on each side and little or any homework/prep.

If you'd like a sense of how the game plays, you might like to check out this Battle Report - if you get a sense that we've enjoyed the game, well you're right! I'm looking forward to trialling Brent's other creations in due course.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Rogue Planet
by Aaron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2016 16:26:48

I used to be a big wargammer. I fell out of the hobby for the last 7-10 years.

But I have to say, something drew me in about this game when I saw it as the Deal of the Day. The art is compelling, the layout is great, and the rules seem like they'd make for some great RPG-like scenarios to provide.

It's definitely a fun read. I don't know if I'll get it to the table, but the purchase was worth it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem
by Gavin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2015 12:12:30

Well written, fast and fun! I love games that allow you to "Build your own", and this really gets it right. I use it with my 10mm Warmaster armies, and have always enjoyed it. It is too bad that it is one of the lesser known titles, because it certainly deserves more recognition.

The risk-vs-reward system of using Dice as Attributes is fascinating. The "Roll Low" mechanic is a nice change of pace (how often do you get to crow over rolling a 1?!), and there really isnt a lot to keep track of in the game. I really recommend this title!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Rogue Planet
by Jeremy H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2015 08:46:48

While the presentation is excellent, great art and graphic design throughout, the system is not the Apocalypse World Engine. I think the publisher should fix that. I mean, I'm not totally disappointed, but this isn't what I thought it was going to be. The book was listed as Deal of the Day and time was almost out so I bought it based on the cover and the system it is billed as using.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rogue Planet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jeremy, Sorry that you got something other than what you were expecting! Please send me an email through the contact page on my website, and I\'ll make sure that you\'re taken care of. http://bombshell-games.com/about/contact/ Thanks, Brent
Rogue Planet
by Dillard R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/04/2015 01:31:35

I have been looking for a quick miniatures game to play that offers tactical complexity. I have found it. This is a great game. You can mix Fantasy and Science Fiction and every genre in between and not feel that one or the other is favored over the other. The rules are written in such a way that purchasing gear and skills for each unit (figure) is well balanced. The math used to calculate gear cost is well thought through to make sense with the rules. Melee weapons get special attention with such things as Power Fist, Chain Blade, or Quake Hammer. Ranged weapons are more generic. You have Machine guns or Carbines. But they get love with rules for Opportunity Fire or Return Fire.

No measuring is part of the rules light aspect of the game, but this does not detract from the tactical aspect of the game. The Rogue Die adds an element of control to players using powered weapons or to actions involved in countering other players. The Rogue Die is quick to use and takes little to no math calculations and gives a great deal of flexibility to the game. FX rules makes collisions and blowing up obstacles and objects a possibility again with little to no math involved.

This is a cinematic style game that offers some real tactical crunch and I highly recommend it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem: Armies of Mayhem
by Al V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2014 20:03:24

Armies of Mayhem is a good addition to the game. From what i have seen the army lists are looking fun and are a good method of getting into the game. Only drawback is the nature of the battle scribe files. The system is not the best for a game like mayhem and the using the rooster tool feels a bit hackerish. But it is only a small hick up.

All in all it is a great package(espacially for that price) for getting faster onto the tabletop and help newcomers into mayhem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem: Armies of Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Battlefield: Miniature Modern Warfare
by Harold C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2013 14:02:01

Great, easy-to-read rules with a unique take on wargaming. Can be used for modern to sci-fi with no problem. I quite enjoy this rule set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Battlefield: Miniature Modern Warfare
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mayhem
by roberto b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2013 11:00:04

i'm looking for a simple mass battles system, with a certain freedom in basing and in definition of units to recycle my Ancient Battles 15mm minis. Mayhem is perfect! not only is a fast&fun system, but in matter of few hours i made 3 army list out of simple conversion of AB units to the new system. Conclusion: it's fast, it's fun, it's flexible, it's simple; who want more? oh, i remember IT'S CHEAP! A five-star hit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mayhem
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mayhem
by AJ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2013 19:05:52

I enjoyed learning this game. It has some very interesting mechanics that add much in the way of field tactics to fantasy gaming. Lots of choices to choose from both in army building and on the battlefield. It does seem odd to roll low but it works. Good price and you are given a lot besides the basic rules for the price. Four documents for the price of one. Thanks for a fun game Brent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles