DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by José B. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2021 14:12:47

I'm not a big fan of chronicles-focused books (even if it has some powers and loresheets), but this one hit it right with me. Although I'm biased cuz I love me some Giovanni Chronicles, and Old Wounds and The Family hit it right at home. Open Your Eyes is a very cultish and esoteric one that mixes things a bit in a cool way. I haven't read The Wellspring deeply, but the street/park level cult and mystery seem really involving. All and all, a damn cool book, which I'm gonna use to mix it up and make a Giovanni Chronicles Part IV.S or a Part V-ish. Although a Hecata Chroniclees would be more appropriate I suppose. The themes and tones of each chronicle of Trails of Ash and Bone are very well defined and expressed, you can basically see the colors and smells of each story just by the synopsis and introduction.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Trails of Ash and Bone (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2021 21:46:02

tl:dr - Whether you're a Storyteller looking to work elements from Cults of the Blood Gods into your chronicle, a new ST starting off, or just looking for a short story to run, I highly recommend this supplement.

Trails of Ash and Bone is a ready to run story book for Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Eidtion. As it is a supplement to the Cults of the Blood Gods Kickstarter, the theme of the stories center either around cults or the clan Hecata. There are four stories as well as new Loresheets, Oblivion Ceremonies, and Ready-Made Characters to introduce into your V5 game.

Intro Fiction - a brief glimpse into the unlife of Carmen Giovanni as told by one of their ghouls. A good read that sets the tone for things to come.

The stories - All of them are good for different reasons. Each explores different aspects and challenges vampires face. I want to run all of them. Old Wounds has some of the creepiest elements for V5 written to date.

Loresheets, Oblivion Ceremonies, and Ready-Made characters - For a wider audience the loresheets don't add much, they are fairly specific to either a location or clan. They fit well with this supplement but have situtuational use in an average VtM campaign. I was one of the Kickstarter backers who helped develop the Oblivion Ceremonies. If you don't care that I'm biased then they are awesome and provide great utility. I like the enclusion of the Ready-Made characters and I think every book like this with stories should have them. Motti is my favorite, no I'm not just saying that because my liscense plate say Gangrel.

Who should buy this supplement? People who like V5. Who shouldn't buy this book? People who don't like the idea of the Hecata merging through the family reunion or dealing with cults. I'm not sure why anyone who falls into those categories would take the time to read this far into the review, but if that is you thanks for reading this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
by Terry R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 23:47:17

TLDR:

Strengths Some wonderfully written individual titans and some amazing "so this is the MO for this group" section. The Theoi writing was just flat out well written. Amazing antagonist lists where the authors seem to have fun putting ancient beasts and legends into a modern world. That's pretty cool. Everyone gets an enemy. For any given agenda, the storyteller has like five options. You want someone to destroy everything? May I interest you in like 12 options each doing it in an interesting way or not? Really solid advice on balancing encounters. Normally books either overmath or get real vague on this shit, not this book. New Knacks/Boons/Relics/Guides awesome The stuff referencing dragon is super optional. I almost wanted more interconnects. If you're "but dragon isn't necessary!" person, it's like maybe 200 words in the entire book and using the power of "just make something up" you should be fine.

Weaknesses I really feel like the book didn't have a unitary vision of what the Titans were. Even a "there are four types of Titans; pantheon rejects, enemies of the gods, those called to primordial, and those who eshew worship" or something could have really helped the book stay together. Like, Aten really wants mortal worship and gets it, but the defining feature are the Callings. Some of those really felt like a god could have one. There was little interconnectedness. It felt like the sections were written in silos and only later lightly connected. A real rogue's gallery is marked by teamwork. I kind of wanted some lair sections. Like you got some cool-ass monsters but like, where do they sleep? The STing antagonists felt real weak.

Minor quibbles: I read the dead tree copy and boy some page numbers would have been great. Finding things in Hero or the rest of the book took a bit of work to do. Alternatively, add way more links in the PDF. There are a few typographic errors and such. Every book has them but if a book has none then the clouds part and the text is pulled heaven-ward. Man, Scion has a lot of capitalized game terms. A few reminders up front would have really gone a long way.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2021 06:34:19

Taking time out to give this product credit where it is due. If every roleplaying game supplement was like this, the roleplaying hobby would be in such a better place. I would rate this as one of the top two Vampire: The Masquerade supplements (V5 or any other edition) ever produced. This is a really well thought through, beautifully presented, detailed and super helpful product. There's everything a GM/Storyteller could want - notes and stats on a wealth of interesting NPCs/SPCs, good flavour and notes on key locations, map of the key parts of the city, a ready-to-roll adventure, plus several pages worth of other story ideas that a GM could usefully spin into another 15-20 sessions worth of gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Nemetondevos: Revised
by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2021 05:26:01

The main thing that strikes me about this book - which is absolutley sublime, and would easily be worth whatever amount of money the author asked for it - is how well it leans into the unknowable aspects of the Nemetondevos. Mysteries of the World cites that the Nemetondevos were reborn recently, but doesn't really go into what that means. This book perfectly explores the idea of a pantheon of gods that has been dead so long that they've forgotten what they used to be gods of, and that leaves the reader with a subtle sense of horror, the threat of an enemy you don't even know about. Of particular interest is how the author uses blank spots in our knowledge of the gods and makes them into great story hooks, expertly blending historical context with fantastical storytelling. Easily worth your time reading, and I await further publications from the author with interest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nemetondevos: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The New Gods
by James M. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2021 11:18:50

I probably wouldn't use this in a traditional game of Scion BUT it is fantastic for one focused souly on this pantheon. The writing is evocative, there are more than enough storyseeds to go around, and, honestly, who could pass up to be a Scion of the Atom?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The New Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Chicago By Night Wallpapers (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by idorx t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2021 13:01:39

f you feel that this product was poorly scanned, or had some other technical issue, please contact us and let us know about it so that we can resolve the issue. img



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Chicago By Night Wallpapers (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:04:02
More than trenchcoats and katanas - a Mephisto review

The Art of Mage - 20 years and more

For the anniversary edition of Mage M20, an accompanying artbook has been published, which tries to summarize twenty years of illustration history. Satyros Phil Brucato first looks back self-critically at the beginnings of Mage and the illustration style of "Trenchcoats and Katanas." Subsequently, the reader learns a bit about the workflow in the early years, when illustrations were still sent by mail, revealing glimpses into the early years of White Wolf.

However, the central part is titled Artistic Legacies, introducing many illustrators with a background, anecdotes, and stories - and especially their artistic work for Mage. The artbook impressively shows the range the illustrators have covered and how Mage's graphic representation has changed over the years. The last chapter also presents the illustrations of Mage M20 - and proves that Mage is not just a role-playing game of the 90s. In addition, chapters are dedicated to the signature characters as well as the creation of the Mage Tarot.

I enjoyed the mixture of texts and illustrations immensely because this excursion shows impressively how the complex topics of the most multifaceted game of the World of Darkness is also reflected in an incredible spectrum of artwork. Of the World of Darkness artbooks, this is my clear favorite so far.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M20 The Art of Mage: 20 Years and More
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Beast Within Revised
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 13:01:48
Back to the beast within - a Mephisto review

The Beast Within - Revised Edition

The original anthology The Beast Within was published back in the early days of Vampire and originally presented 13 stories - fittingly introduced with the 13 clan illustrations. The new edition contains ten stories, two of which were not included in the original book. The setting is Vampire's version of San Francisco. The individual short stories cover very different topics: e.g., a desperate poet stumbling into the world of the kindred, a clanless vampire who is forced to search for his sire, an ancient South American vampire who awakens in a completely alien world.

The individual stories are varied and introduce interesting facets of the game world. However, San Francisco's kindred society plays only a limited role - at least in some stories. Nevertheless, this anthology is still good for learning about various aspects of the kindred of the World of Darkness - e.g., ancient vampires, the social order of clans, intrigues, and so on. From my perspective, the new edition is also an entertaining book in the world of Vampire.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Beast Within Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Heroic Land-Dwellers!
by Björn L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2021 12:59:46

Ordinary and not-so-ordinary heroes - a Mephisto review

Heroic Land-Dwellers!

For a quick start in They came from beneath the sea! the first sourcebook offers 16 characters, fleshed out with background and game statistics, who can face the horrors of beneath the sea as everyday heroes (or not-so-everyday heroes). There are several variants for each of the game's different archetypes: fences, KGB agents, famous adventurers, nuclear scientists, and other characters who have come into contact with the dangerous monsters and mysterious conspiracies of the game. In addition, there are entertaining short stories at the beginning and end of each book.

For gaming groups who want to hit the ground running (and/or have a high character attrition rate), the book offers a good range of coherently fleshed-out and well-illustrated pulp characters (who can also serve as non-player characters), so there should be something for everyone.

(Björn Lippold)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Land-Dwellers!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Zeus! We Just Wanna Talk!
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2021 17:08:41

I read this Tasty Bit and I've never wanted to run Scion as much as I do right now. Thankfully for me at least, it doesn't require knowing a whole lot of mythology of the setting or the real world. It's versitle enough to run a game for new players to introduce them to Scion while having enough of a story to appeal to current players of Scion Origin, Heroes, or Demigod.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zeus! We Just Wanna Talk!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Bertil j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2021 04:22:08

The book is a good supplement for GMs looking for ideas and players in the cult-making business. The book provides a rich set of new and old characters who can serve as good allies or antagonists for a campaign. The merits and flaws are generally only applicable if your character is in a cult. The same goes for the loresheets (Except the Hecata bloodlines) but, it is the book´s subject matter so, take it or leave it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2021 10:12:19

Another solid addition to the V5 game line. In particular really like that these Storyteller Player characters are focused on vampire religions and cults; the addition of new loresheets is always a seller for me as this book introduces some new bloodlines. Honestly, I think Matthew Dawkins and his writing team are really defining V5 in a creatively thematic direction. Beautifully illustrated and needs must be printed and added to my ever expanding 5th edition shelf.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 12:47:50

This is the most well-rounded, skinnable version of Storypath and I've started using it for all manner of games outside of the Trinity Universe. With only a few exceptions the rules are clear, simple, and versatile. Though this book is the basis for the various Trinity lines, it really works well on its own for all sorts of cinematic adventures. I also appreciate the care to show diversity throughout the artwork.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinity Continuum Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2021 08:46:01

Great V5 supplement adds in some returning characters and all new ones. New Merits and Lorsheets to expand on Cultsof the Blood Gods are all very well done. Owned it for two days and my players already have things they want to incorporate into our session



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Children of the Blood (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1397 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles