DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Lebor Óe In Dea
by Kyle N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2019 14:00:47

This is an intense labor of love, from someone who clearly knows what the hell they're talking about. It assumes that the Tuatha used in game are a bit more classic, but there's enough information on who these Gods are that a dedicated SG can work with it.

Plus, there's all kinds of shiny Relics, and other Birthrights. Would recommend to anybody who wants to really dig deep into the Tuatha de Danann in their games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lebor Óe In Dea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Adversaries of the Righteous: Ixier, Who Dreams for the Dead
by Ivan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2019 10:17:36

First off: this rating only applies if you already have Exalted 3e. On its own, this is, at best, 3.5/5 for having cool ideas, but lacking the setting and system behind it makes it rather more meaningless.

Ixier is a weird ghost thingie that got made from the collateral a whole bunch of people created. you can probably read that in the image, which makes up about 2/5 of the total pdf. You've then got Intimacies, roleplaying hints, and advice for putting Ixier in your campaign, followed by full stats for the creature.

Ixier isn't going to ruin a combat-capable Exalt's day without some help, but if you wanted to do that I guess you could bump its numbers up if that was your intention. Instead it has a really cool theme, goal, and general demeanour.

It has 3 new Charms, one of which has the Eclipse keyword. All of them are unique, and make this creature a quite new thing in the world of Exalted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adversaries of the Righteous: Ixier, Who Dreams for the Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
by Grant G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2019 23:54:32

Detailed - Interesting - Fun This is the MUST have companion for anyone wanting to do a sea based campaign or even just a side adventure at sea. It is well thought out and organized... so many options, tools, and resources for a DM to play with and adapt to maximize their seafaring adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sea: the Crimson Abyss (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by rc c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2019 00:58:37

If you're intrigued by Werewolf: the Forsaken, the extra, 6th chapter will cover one of the most daunting prospects of introducing troupes and STs to the game, and how to tackle the duality of Flesh and Spirit that seems to be so jarring for new entrees into this Chronicle of Darkness, plus 6 chronicle pitches which you could play each for years. That alone, in my opinion, merits the full price of this sourcebook. But that's not all you get.

You get a bloated Toad Host with ties to your Councilum peddling Artefacts and Imbued Items (which he can use at will), with a personal army of Uratha bodyguards;

You get a liege of the Lamprey Hosts who can incubate their larvas inside the blood of your Coterie's sires from within the very Gauntlet, to the ultimate dismay of any Covenant;

You get Zi'ir, Devourers, Tyrants and Void Reiving Ghost Wolves to toss at your Cell of Hunters;

You get a Primordial Geryo that refuses to allow anything to die before it hadn't wrestled it's secrets - before snuffing out the candle of life from such a thing as your Crewe;

You get another Geryo that may very well be an instant contender for the Apex in any Hive, and who'd kidnap and incarcerate Incarnates for fun;

You get Balehounds that gnaw at the very fabric of reality by their mere presence;

And the above is just the tip of the ice-berg. Hands down one of the best supplements I've ever gotten.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Lebor Óe In Dea
by MICHAEL M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 03:17:45

While a lot of work has clarly gone into this, and I'm sure it's a valuable deep dive reference into Irish mythology, I was disappointed that it was just that -- a dive into Irish myth with Scion stats added. I would have enjoyed a lot more imaginative work in what the Tuatha de Danann can bring to a Scion chronicle, including perspectives on how the pantheon can relate to the modern world. This leaves all of that work up to the reader, merely providing research material. If you're looking for Gae Bolga shotguns and urban Dullahans, you're not going to find much here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lebor Óe In Dea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Magic Items of Ghelspad
by Nolan L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 11:28:55

I'm never going to say no to more magic items. I feel like that is a huge missing piece of 5e.

There are some great takes on ideas that are creative and fun. I like some fluff with my magic, not just power for power sake.

I'm not sure why Magic Item Sets never crossed my mind, but not only will I add this to my game, but I'm going to have more peices start to work together in my home games.

Thanks for putting this together!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Magic Items of Ghelspad
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kinds words! I'm glad you like it.
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 20:33:16

This book makes the Pure and other things to go bump in the Shadow extremely powerful and felt like good fits for any type of game you are running. There are some settings to be used provided in the book as well as exploration of some of the antagonists only hinted at in the core book of Werewolf the Forsaken.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Realm
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:26:06

Overall, I love this book and my only real complaint is that I wished there was more! It's definitely worth knowing that this is a setting book, and has very little new mechanical content. That said, the setting material is awesome and definitely opens up the Blessed Isle and satrapies of the Realm for interesting play opportunities.

To hear my complete thoughts and a detailed look at the content chapter by chapter content, check out our review episode: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-32-exalted-the-realm-book-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Realm
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Consumed
by Crystal M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 00:02:57

Consumed is a great low level scenario that will fit in any Scarred Lands campaign. It is written to be versitile in location, so a GM can use it anywhere in the setting. The scenario helps players learn to coordinate with each other and work together, as well as give them connections within the world which they can call upon later if needed. It is light on NPCs, making it easier to run as a GM with less characters they need to control. Any GM for Scarred Lands should have this in their arsenal for their campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consumed
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

A Scholarly Schism
by Jakob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2019 10:19:55

Had the pleasure of running this short adventure for my group a few nights ago as part as our playthrough of the Vengeance of the Shunned campaign.

This adventure picks up nicely from where A Mishap of ill Potent leaves the storyline. I find the adventure to be above the usual short adventures you find on this site or DM Guild, and especially the part with the Academy has some great scenes that are both interesting, drives the narrative, and gives a plausible impression of an academy in chaos and lock down. I would have liked to steal this idea for one of my own campaigns.

I have a few additional comments and suggestions to some of the sections in the adventure but none of these small issues lessened the experience of running or playing the story. My comments are posted in the Discussion tab.

Note: this adventure uses "alchemical substances" that provide the same explosive effect as gunpowder. This might contradict other GMs' view on the technology level in Scarred Lands. It is, however, not widespread in this adventure, but in the hands of a single insignificant (in the larger picture) npc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Scholarly Schism
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for this review! Cat has woven an incredible story to bring forth the overall narrative in a fresh and exciting way and I am glad to see you and your players enjoyed it! -Travis
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
by Martyn F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2019 05:01:08

I was invited to a Mage game a week ago and jumped at the chance! I remembered the original back in 1993 and how cool the magic system was but, back then, could find no players.

To my dismay, this new edition is double the size of what I remember and benefits not one whit from the self-important, indulgent, patronising, and boring woffle it is stuffed with. Making progress with learning the core mechanics so I can get up to speed in just a few days is like swimming through treacle.

Mage 20 is morbidly obese and, along with sensations of frustration and depair, you'll find your arteries hardening with the sheer length of time you need to sit still to absorb and make sense of it.

I must assume that this book is for long-standing fans only whose past dedication to the game has given them postgrad level knowledge of its immensity.

The notion of trying to recruit new players to the system and then handing them 700 pages of rules comes close to being a laughable refutation of the whole system.

I'm still giving Mage 20 three stars as the magic system, that one thing which made the original Mage so interesting and original, is still there; but it's now relegated to chapter ten with a massive potential barrier of drivel erected in front of it.

There must be many experienced gamers out there -- I am one -- who have not played Mage before but who do not need to be spoon fed over how to role play or sermonized over modern American topics in social justice. We want rules that give us the core systems in compact and clear format; rules that enable us to gain a sufficient understanding to jump into our first game with just a few days notice. Even when such core rules are presented within this volume, they themselves are padded from within with interstitial fat that absorbs a lot of the wonder and joy I remember feeling when reading the original.

I think what we are looking at here is the Entropy Sphere in action. The game itself has become a form of decadent bloatware. Its grossly increased length represents a decline in standards rather than the opposite.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2019 11:05:30

Quality PDF. The information on Bale Hounds, Ghost Wolves, and Void Spirits is well written and I'm excited to incorporate it into my stories. Glad I bought this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2019 04:07:03

tl;dr It's a great book, and a must have for Werewolf storytellers as well as Shadow Gifts players will want to have access to. Most of the antagonists can fit well into other games, and there's links to Hunter, Beast, Contagion Chronicles, Mummy and other settings.

As a reminder you can check the preview link under the image of the book and see the first few pages (it usually starts at the table of contents, but the first page of that doesn't show).

Shunned by the Moon is part of the Night Horrors line, offering a variety of interesting antagonists and obstacles for Werewolf: the Forsaken. With a dash of Vampire's 'Wicked Dead' it doesn't just offer example NPCs but a lot of 'variant' antagonists that deviate from the standard (like spirits from outer space, Bale Hounds, and ghost wolf mutants or claimed), and a good-sized last chapter offering a ton of advice about running werewolf and specifically running it with the dominating theme of the hunt. Each of the tribal Sacred Prey are covered, as well as out of context threats like idigam and geryo. It's a surprisingly big book, too, 205 pages is about 40 more pages than the previous biggest books, and it is pretty packed with content. So at the least, you get a lot of material for the price.

The first chapter is really kicked off by the intro fiction, which depicts a Forsaken raid on a Pure facility with a lot of surprises coming from every werewolf involved. And the chapter expands and explains, we get the upgraded Pure ready for second edition, backed by their Firstborn totems and able to fight Forsaken on even ground through new Aspects, Rites, and Merits. Five new Gifts are made available (not limited to the Pure and really useful for Forsaken), those of Agony, Blood, Disease, Fervor, and Hunger. There's 3 example Pure, each turning the stereotype of their tribe on their head, I particularly liked the celebrity party girl Predator King who drives others of the idle rich and famous to obscene acts of savagery. The next part updates the Bale Hounds to 2e, with 5 Maeljin disassociated from the 7 Deadly Sins and instead focused on subverting werewolf culture (though they can be targeted towards other enemies), these guys are pretty nasty, and develop physical mutations as they grow in power, complete with 3 example NPCs of different levels of corruption, ranging from prospective recruit to Envoy of Soulless Wolf. Lastly there's a group of sort of ghost wolf 'mutants,' which show some of the downsides of not being anchored to a Firstborn, including the Tyrants who become sort of a domineering pack totem for the herd of humans they oversee, Devourers who get obscene powers via the consumption of werewolf flesh, Void Reivers who are infected by spirits from the dark reaches of space, and Mimics, arguably an evolution that doubles down on the shapeshifting of werewolves to create predators without codes or honor or restraint. There's also the titular Moon-Shunned, who through quirks of fate are born without Auspice and invisible to Luna's light.

The next chapter focuses on Spirits and the Shadow. The first spirits we get lean towards the more powerful and high ranked, but all have good reasons to run into werewolves, whether because they hate them or because their normal activities might upset territories. There's even a Lune, a Maeltinet, and a Secondborn (their backstory ties in to that of Task Force Valkyrie, from Hunter). The middle of this chapter focuses on oddities of the Shadow, specifically Wounds (offering many options for how they might hinder those inside, but also how werewolves can heal them) and void spirits, alien spirits from beyond Earth's atmosphere, like the aggressive Urinsahi from Mars, or the near-apocalyptic Skybreaker void leviathan. 'What about spirits from space' has been a popular question the last few years and this section does a lot to explore the answer and give some nasty surprises. The rest of the chapter is made up of Ridden and Claimed, ranging from outright destructive entities to those who are much more manipulative that may not even seem harmful at first glance.

Chapter three is all about the hosts. While it doesn't delve into the specific biology of them, there's four new types of host and each has a fleshed out example that can easily act as a jumping-off point for those who want to make their own Toad, Wasp, Termite or Lamprey hosts. Here we also see an established member of the Spider-hosts, and a Locust-host who has their own cult and wide area of influence. It would be great to have a lot more about the hosts I'm particularly happy with this chapter, each antagonist is fully fleshed out with their own abilities and motives that show what their hosts are like, and they offer a much more dangerous set of antagonists than the new hosts in the last Night Horrors for the game, Wolfsbane.

Then we get to the Herd, human threats. There's only three groups here but they offer some sideways looks at humans as prey, in that they are not out to actively ruin werewolf lives, but do the kind of things that can require werewolf attention. The first group, RD-13, has found some method to make gateways to other worlds, one of which is the Shadow. Unfortunately their understanding of these worlds is incomplete and there's a lot of seepage, leading to mutations of their workforce and 'things' running loose in territories. The second group is the Church of the Wolf, a modern religion created by people whose minds have been shattered by the effects of Lunacy, and seek out the entities they see as the descendants of gods (werewolves). Aside from seeking out werewolves they seem to be favored by Luna, and have some interesting tricks up their sleeves in the form of rites, the one we have mechanics for lets them force a werewolf to go on a sacred hunt on a target of the congregation's choice. The last group is one that's been wanted for a while as well, Shadow occultists, human shamans who gain the ability to use Influences and often pick up a patron in the form of Shadow entities.

The penultimate chapter, appropriately titled 'Nightmares' is where things get really nasty. This focuses on the things called out-of-context antagonists in the wave of second edition Chronicles, and things that hunt werewolves. It starts with idigam, offering a bunch of new powers for them (Forge Undead is a new add to Essence shaping that satisfies my idigam-as-zombie apocalypse yearning) and four new ones, including a particularly nasty and gigantic one that exists in the Gauntlet itself (along with some rules for how to enter it). Then enter the Geryo, a mostly new antagonist that debut in the Contagion Chronicle, they see themselves as alpha version examples of werewolves, and superior despite being sealed away by their creators. There's some crossover with Beast here, as while the Uratha were believed to be created by Father Wolf and Luna, Father Wolf is thought to have partnered with Beast's Dark Mother to create the Geryo, and there's some mechanical feedback that reinforces this. Ancient horrors that offer a more personal threat to the werewolves than the world-changing idigam, they are still hugely nasty entities, capable of infecting packs with their transmogrifying body horror contagion.

The last chapter, Commencing Your Hunt, is all about running the game. It offers a lot of ideas and advice to help storytellers focus their game on the predatory world of werewolves and get that mood across to their players. It starts with six different and customizable pitches that encompass the big events of werewolf life, from turf wars to the rebirth of Pangaea, including references to entities within the rest of the book that can be used for stories about these kinds of things. The next part of the chapter focuses on the setting, neatly encapsulating a lot of first edition's Territories in a series of easy to crib charts that can help storytellers flesh out their setting while also offering ideas for how to portray it to their players. As a long time Werewolf storyteller and player I've seen a lot of people struggle with how to get started and this chapter really helps people along with that, it's good for those new to the game as well as more experienced storytellers. It's easily worthy of being in the core book.

All in all, it's a great book. Mixing the flavors of the two kinds of Night Horrors books, by offering 'types' of antagonist as well as specific examples lets people plug and play antagonists as well as offers a bit of blue prints for those who want to build things themselves. All the sacred prey are covered, and often range in 'difficulty' from annoyances that aren't quite threat enough to be killed to Final Boss, as well as out-of-context threats for just about every one of those used to their 'standard' sacred prey. Players aren't left out, with new Gifts and enough mechanics and ideas to offer options for those who want to play Pure or Bale Hounds or mortal Shadow Shamans, while still expanding options for regular Forsaken. Even for those who primarily run other lines there's plot hooks and antagonists that can easily fit in (nearly every game is susceptible to claiming, or is going to be upset by the presence of some of the creatures within), with some even being fitting for mid-to-high end Hunter the Vigil targets. The only real negative thing I can say about the book is that it doesn't spend a lot of chapters detailing the intricacies of monster culture and society, though the telling glimpses seen through the antagonists, story hooks and rumors go a long way.

I wanted to add this. I'm not an art guy. Most of the time I don't look at it much unless it stands out (I have a couple of the posters). I don't have an easy way to read these pdfs beyond my desktop, my e-reader doesn't do pdfs well and I usually end up just copying the text so when I re-read it its without images. But I do do my first readthrough via the pdf itself and I really liked the images. I think some of the artists are new (the photorealistic Shadow Occultist art seems different from the realistic figures of the Pure characters). Regardless, I like it, and especially with the alien and monstrous things I think they did a good job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Mishap of Ill Portent
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 14:57:25

The Scarred Lands is an awesome setting, and with A Mishap of Ill Portent, players who are new to the world begin in the little sleepy village of Durgan's Rest and from there the adventure ezplodes. With plenty of roleplaying and combat, Travis did an excellent job of designing a wonderful multi-module campaign.One of the other things that Travis did excellently well was to create a setting, NPCs, and a conflict that will truly draw in the players and make them get invested a) in Scarred Lands and b) in the game. Too often do I run into an issue of players not giving two hoots about the place they are playing in.

On top of that, I really like the new monster addition in the appendix of the scorch zombie - because there are many things that can instill fear into players and NPCS, with fire and undeath being two of them. Overall, A Mishap of Ill Portent is an excellent and marvelous entry in the new Scarred Lands line-up, but also offers DMs a chance to run their players in a game that truly will make them need to understand and invest in the world around them.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Score: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Mishap of Ill Portent
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

A Scholarly Schism
by Preston B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 10:35:50

The adventure opens with a very interesting and refreshing take on the "bandits on the road" encounter that serves to actually drive forward the narrative.

After that, The Bridged City is truly a magical city like is often promised in Dungeons and Dragons adventures but is seldom delivered. The variety of gameplay between A Mishap of Ill Portent and this adventure already is quite vast. Want to role play using a dwarvish bomb to blow a hole into a force field and break into a sealed wizard and magical engineering academy? This is the perfect adventure for you.

The series initial big bad is revealed and she seems fairly fierce. I don't want to give any spoilers, but the fact that the authors choose to utilize the setting specific tattoo magic is great.

I will say that this adventure COULD be played without playing A Mishap of Ill Portent, but a lot of the content in this adventure references back to that adventure in such a way that it is all but requisite.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Scholarly Schism
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you SO MUCH for this review! Glad to hear you are enjoying the campaign so far! - Travis
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1088 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles