DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2018 07:17:25

The included sample setting, or "campaign seed" as it's called, is clearly a riff on 40k. But criticizing a sci-fi supplement for a Warhammer Fantasy heartbreaker for being too much like the sci-fi version of Warhammer Fantasy is missing the point. And besides, the included setting is just a sample. Just like Zweihander itself, you use this information to make your own world.

The bulk of the material is weapons and armor and other gear like cybernetics. There are included rules for things like automatic weapons and corruption gained form cybernetic implants. Some of the terminilogy was cumbersome, like weapon modes of Semi, Semi-Auto, Full-Auto should have been Semi-Auto, Burst, Full-Auto to keep them more in line with not only the real world but with the terminology you'll find in other games, but that might be bordering on the pedantic. There are a few pages of examples of turning existing Zweihander professions into their Dark Astral equivalents, but I would have liked to see a few more (though they covered most of the 40k equivalents). There is some black and white sketch art throughout the book that evokes that 40k/grimdark feel quite well. There are a handful of typos, but nothing that prohibits comprehension. I'd love to see it expanded to a full product, but what we have here is enough for any GM who's already comfortable with running a Zweihander campaign to run a grimdark sci-fi campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Anthony D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2018 09:16:33

You can find my full review on Sticky Bunton by following this link.

But for TL;DR:

If you are a fan of Warhammer or related Grimdark adventures, then you absolutely cannot go wrong with this game. It's one part OSR, one part 21st Century update to a classic genre, and overall an excellent addition to a gamer's collection.

The game is a bit daunting for new or unprepared GMs, though, and as an OSR retroclone, it possesses a number of the problems of that era of gaming.

Overall, it's a good game with solid support, new products to expand on it, and really scratches that itch for a good grimdark game. Pick it up if you're a fan, dedicated to the genre, or a GM that loves the resources this provides, but sidestep it if you aren't a fan of grimdark or rules-heavy games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Ron S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 07:21:19

As somebody mentioned in another one of the Reviews this particular book is more or less ripped straight from the bowels of the Warhammer 40k franchise. It's a bit embarassing. There's certianly a niche and a desire for games such as this one but with the 4th edition of the warhammer fantasy game coming out soon I was really hoping that you folks would step up your game and create something all your own and unique. You've only changed the setting of choice and instead of renaming/copying the Warhammer Fantsay trappings you've done it again with Warhammer 40k. Not impressed by this product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by W C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 09:31:05

700 pages of tremendous work. This book is a labor of love and it really shows. Also great value for money, particularly if you pick it up during one of their frequent sales. This is a much better version of Warhammer Fantasy that the ones put out by Fantasy Flight games, and very compatible to adventure modules made for Warhammer Fantasy versions 1 and 2. If you like Warhammer or any other kind of gritty fantasy, just get this, you won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Todd E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2018 20:09:01

So much potential. It's got a Heavy Metal/2000AD/Dune/Rogue Trader vibe that really makes me want to read more. The spice must flow! Instead though, it's 6 pages of very cool background/character archtypes and the rest is weapon and gear descriptions. No joke. I'm looking forward to the full release, if it happens. I hope it does.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Richard V. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2018 09:43:34

I've had so much fun reading through this book, and the creative ideas are flowing. Now to just convince my players that it's not scary and to no be afrade of the 700 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Cameron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 12:00:09

This feels a lot like it wants to be Dark Heresy, and I love Dark Heresy, but it feels more related to that than it does to Zwëihander, I know Zwëihander is, at the end of the day, a Spiritual Successor to WHFBRPG, but I'd prefer something a bit more Dune and a bit less 40k-but-not-GW.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dark Astral - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Guy R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 08:27:26

It isn't that this is bad - but it does feel a tiny bit "lacking", in the sense that beyond the general aesthetic I couldn't really make much of the setting or any new rules intended to be in it (Vehicle rules? Space combat? Enviromental hazards found in space? Hacking?). The equipment list is neat to have (I suppose it's the first thing many people would look for in a new science fiction game...), but there, too, it just didn't feel like there was enough "content" to judge. At the end of the day, the only criticisms I can give about this are pieces of equipment I'd have liked to see and didn't (off the top of my head: Terminator armor, guided weapons/missiles, more heavy weapons in general, maybe a vehicle?), but that by itself, I think, could be taken as some. The art is really good though, and it's nice that you've managed to find something that's evocative of Warhammer 40K while still feeling distinctive on its own. I'd definitely be interested in a fuller, more complete book.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Witchhunter's Stat Hat - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by adam r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 09:22:08

A hilarious April Fools joke that ended up being an actual product! It is both fashionable and functional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchhunter's Stat Hat - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Luc B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 13:09:52

These cards are not very useful. They require to look up in the Zweihänder core book for more information on traits associated with the monster. Why bother with buying cards if anyway you have to look in the manual for a definition of the keywords on the cards? Might as well print the monster page in the Zweihänder book.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Martin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/12/2018 05:54:27

I haven't actually played this yet, but I can say that.... It looks great, it's well written and it's full of great ideas for really grim and perilous gaming. I particularly enjoyed the bestiary, which features original takes on a wide range of traditional fantasty creatures, which I'm sure will make it across to all kinds of games I'll run in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

GM Screen - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:58:26

I like having information on the fly if needed while playing. This screen can help anyone new to running Zweihander as well as veteran players. The art on the front of the screen is fantastic as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GM Screen - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
by Jacob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:55:05

Beautiful card, nice quality of print and art. Great for seeing info on the fly while running a game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Cards - ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Jeramy T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2018 08:48:20

Okay, I just purchased this game last night on PDF after playing WHFR 2E with some friends. I have been playing RPGs for a long time and not really played WHFR until last night and loved it, so when snooping online, I saw this game read the preview and realized what I was staring at. I then read the review on RPG.net (I saw the same guy review here) and purchased the PDF.

Coming from a background of GM and Playing many awesome RPGs I have to say the Zweihander is exactly what I've been looking for in a game. It has a refreshing take on traditional Fantasy RPG races, the d100 system is easy to grasp, all the attributes seem to be a little higher than WHFP, and it is Grim and Perilous like the book boldly states on its cover.

I'm still combing through the volumous tome and will be purchasing the hard copy when I get a chance. But if you have not played this system here are some things you can look forward to... at least these are things I've found refreshing in a game.

1) You roll for everything, Race, Gender, Archetypes (which determines starting profession) Attributes, Professions (Class/Careers), height, weight... I will personally let players make a choice in some areas, probably picking two choices between (Race, Gender, and Achetype) the other they roll for. 2) Not all races carry all the same abilities. What I mean by this is that not all elves can shoot bows and fight, and not all dwarves swing axes and wear platemail. Each race has a chart and you roll for the trait you are born with. This applies to humans as well... and Gnomes are miserly little people which is AWESOME!!! 3) It is deadly but heroic your characters will get bloodied and maimed, but they can wear those scars with pride and should they survive they would be the old retired guy in a tavern telling-talls while ordering another round with his nub.

I was looking at purchasing WHFP 2E and was extremely excited when I realized what this was. Glory to the Authors for their work, as a long time gamer who is late in discovering the system it was a Fate point well spent!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
by Norbert P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 13:48:38

If you are a fan of Warhammer fantasy rpg....do yourself a favor and pick up Zweihander....you will not be disappointed.

If you have questions...check out my review: https://youtu.be/kBse1NFKS4Q



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 46 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles