DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
D13 RPG
by David Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2020 02:29:48

Lester Smith has delivered again. The latest piece of horror by the grandmaster of rpgs had me hooked from beginning to the end.

highly recommend!

David



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D13 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D13 RPG
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 17:14:08

The D13 RPG is a masterpiece. The tone, the rules, the writing, the art - they all come together in a Poe-esque "unity of effect."

As the promo text highlights, the game portrays an interesting balance between long-term play and the immediate lethality that horror necessitates. How can horror be horrific without a true and deep threat to health, community, stability? How can a game make good on that threat - portray it as credible - and still create an ongoing campaign? D13 answers both these questions. I won’t give the framework away except to share that it disappears in the background - no metaplot here. However, just enough background exists to explain just why these individuals, your characters in each adventure, get drawn into the dark. And you also get an interesting side reason to have your individual characters overcome the threats. Players will likely have completely new characters each adventure in a completely new setting, but will find a reason to keep building on the successes of their earlier characters and suffer under the weight of the failures. Bravo.

Really, the background is just an extra touch. The real strength of the D13 RPG is how well it can tell any horror story without being locked into a single setting. Beowulf, MR James, Aliens franchise, slasher flicks, Lovecraft, Blair Witch - it can all be played.

The rules are poetry. Most actions are resolved by rolling equal to or under attribute+skill on d13 (a d4 and d10 with the 0 read as zero). Difficulty is super elegant - escalating levels of difficulty allow either the player or game host to reroll one of the dice. Tarot cards can be used by players to modify certain rolls. You could use regular cards, but you’re going to want tarot cards for the full atmospheric effect. Along those lines, you can use a spirit board and tokens to track combat. As you might expect in a horror game, combat should be avoided as maiming and scarring are easily accomplished and one well-placed hit can take people out. One single die roll determines initiative, hit success, and damage, helping you get away from the mechanical carnage and back to the story-based carnage quickly.

Paranormal powers, if characters have them, are adjudicated by drawing tarot cards to mechanically push your luck for effect. Some card draws may fuel your power, some may only drain your life force. Using powers has real risk and unpredictability all conveyed in a simple system.

Campaign advice is sound, covering running the adventure, creating adventures, and bringing adversaries of various potencies to life. Two adventures, numerous seeds, and some sample evils round out the book.

Over time, my gaming tastes have veered towards supernatural adventure rather than horror solely to keep a campaign alive. With the D13 RPG, I no longer need to pull punches for fear of ending a campaign. It is the perfect package for my horror gaming delivered with great rules in an atmospheric book. Great job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 18:50:09

An elegant dice mechanic with worlds of potential. Highly recommended for fans of games powered by GUMSHOE, One-Roll Engine, and the Apocalypse Engine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Expanded Edition
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 18:48:18

An elegant dice mechanic combined with an innovative "story chapter" system of genre modification, this "Expanded Edition" of the D6xD6 Rules offers an incredible value for both one-shot and campaign play. Highly recommended for fans of games powered by GUMSHOE, One-Roll Engine, and The Apocalypse Engine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Baker Street Irregulars
by JOHN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2018 10:15:57

This setting truly has the feel of a Sherlock Holmes novel. Trust me, I'd know. ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Baker Street Irregulars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Expanded Edition
by Jason W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2017 23:50:29

So I've been out of RPGs for a while and recently found a new group for D&D. I started getting ideas for a sci-fi campaign but didn't want a RPG with a preconcieved setting so I started looking for simple generic/universal systems, as we have some new gamers who were struggling with the table and manual diving required for 5e.

I grabbed a hold of D6xD6 and never looked back. There's only one stat and a damn simple dice mechanic for everything. Combat rolling is quick. Where initiative, hitting, and damage are usually three different rolls, in the D6xD6 system one roll handles everything! The expanded edition comes with a whole bunch of settings to run, or in my case, pilfer for other ideas. And if you need something extra, the rules are extremely flexible and hackable.

If there is one part that could be improved, it might be the experience system. I'm only at the beggining of the campaign I'm running, but it seems you can only go so far. To be fair, the system was originally intended for one-shot scenarios as per the author's description. This is a game for character tomfoolery and creating a story. NOT endless chart searching.

The simplicity of the system has been described on www.d6xd6.com as a "haiku" of a game. I disagree. It's a punk song. Simple, fast, furious and rockin' as hell!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Expanded Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Hungry Dead
by Flames R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/09/2015 11:33:34

The Hungry Dead is a collection of poetry and short stories that mostly hovers around the title’s stated theme. The excellent and evocative cover image shows a slightly decayed – yet no less well turned-out – young woman, a plate of brains in front of her, gold-plated knife and fork in hand. She’s daintily hoisting a forkful, lips parted in anticipation. It sets just the right tone for the collection. By way of full disclosure, I would add that a number of contributors to The Hungry Dead — including the publisher — are friends of mine, so take that for what it’s worth.

Of the fiction, several pieces are standouts: I readily devoured Stephen D. Sullivan’s “Tricks & Treats”. Exploring the origins of Halloween legends, it provides a creeping chill to freeze the blood. J. Robert King’s “Unlife on the Mississippi” brings humor and a clever concept to a rustic, American vampire tale. A Backwoods young man living in the Mississippi basin near Hannibal, Missouri discovers he’s suddenly become a vampire. He soon learns the how of it, and realizes the old adage that with great power comes great responsibility. Who knew it was so easy to create vampires?

Like all anthologies, this one is no less a mixed bag, though I can’t actually say there were any bad works here – only that some were more striking and thought provoking to me than others. The Hungry Dead is well worth picking up for horror fans of all stripes. There is very little here that will challenge the reader unduly, and a fair amount of reward to be had from its consumption.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hungry Dead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Critical Dawn World Setting
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2015 21:52:46

I have purchased many of Lester's products over the years. They are always brimming with detail. This product is no exception. A lot is crammed into six pages here. Easily adapted to your favorite rpg system, but don't turn your nose up at the core d6xd6 system, it is a gem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Critical Dawn World Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by joshua r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2015 15:50:15

Very rich die mechanic that also allows for a very 'lite' rpg in terms of mechanical overhead but while still allowing for many character and tactical options.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by Billy W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2015 18:15:32

In terms of my experience with rpg systems, I felt this system was beautifully simple. No erroneous elements, or features that felt like they were added last minute, and by means of a crowbar. There are few systems, in my opinion, that started out with such a strong, pure and simple core book, yet seem open and comprehensive enough to span as many genres as this one so elegantly does.

My reasoning is as follows: Recently, I've introduced a small group to the pen and paper rpg world (4-7 players in size); before then, they were all console or board game enthusiasts, and somehow had completely missed out! As I was the only one with any knowledge on the subject matter, I was voted to be GM. Knowing that they haven't had exposure to ANY rpg system, I decided to learn a new and simpler one to start them off (simpler to learn, not necessarily simpler to play). As we found out, character gen is fast, the rules are intuitive, and the system flexible...it was perfect for us.

My only concern is that GM's may find it tedious generating beast/monster cards for every possible creature they could meet. A handy addition may be a selection of cards in a similar format as the pc's cards, for beasts and monsters, so (along with a selection of setting and rough plot) players could jump straight in to a fairly 'seat of your pants' style, improv' session.

Cheers, -Billy



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG World of the Seventh Crown
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/30/2015 12:11:27

I haven't looked at D6xD6 yet, but this particular file gives a good compressed view of what I know of Seventh Crown. Hopefully the full blown Seventh Crown Setting comes out in the next year!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG World of the Seventh Crown
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by George C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2015 21:56:18

Ok, so I backed this on Kickstarter and I have played it. I'm giving it a middling score and would edge that closer to the good side. I like the concept of a stripped down, easy to learn and easy to use game system. My intention being to hand this off to an 11 year old boy to have his own special RPG he could learn on.
With that in mind, here's my review.

I found the overall idea of a central theme (Focus) to be a fun idea. And it works for the most part. I just found myself having to go back and re-read and re-read through the materials to pick up the actual "rules" of the game. I felt like I was gleaning a rule here and there. To that end I think a general rewrite to clean up the presentation of the material would really help.

The game itself reminded me somewhat of Megatraveller where two skill of your choice would be applied to make the basis of your dice checks. In this case D6xD6 presents the idea of an Occupation which allows you to dramatically speed up the character generation and really become whatever you want it to be and encompass. Coupled with focuses these become the basis of your dice checks. One persons Wizard may be able to do many kinds of magic by virtue of his occupation, while someone else's wizard may be "focused" on elemental magic and not competent with other types. Seems to me to be your choice.

To me this game is ripe for house rules. It is definitely not fully realized in terms of a catalog of monster, weapons, equipment, economy, etc which is to be expected since the game itself allows you to play any genre you want. In my opinion it relies on you as a GM to spend a fair bit of effort creating your enemies, equipment, and such if you're going to run a bit of a classic fantasy hack-n-slash. This is not a bad thing, just something to prepare for. Again the system is flexible enough to let you play on the fly but spending the time to develop your menagerie first. Conversely I think it would probably shine in terms of just role playing through a story.

Combat a little different and reminded me more of some of the modern video games. No hit points here. Just a scale that you go from Good to Bad to Worse. Different actions can push this up or down. It's a scale of effect. A powerful gun scales up the damage, a set of armor scales down the damage and if you end up taking a hit then you go from Good to Hurt to Really hurt, to :P

Visually the look feels very much like someone with photo shop decided to do most the art work. Not terrible but didn't exactly feel like it fit to me. I think the book would have been better served to find a local artist to do some simple pen drawings. Even to this day I still remember those simple Willingham and Elmore drawings in the basic D&D book that were simple but let your imagination fill in the gaps.

My overall impression is this game concept is good and definitely worth the money. You can easily modify it with house rules to make a game that really fits your style and you can play literally anything (just like Champions). In my opinion it wants a clearer terminology (dice rolls and dice totals), a cleaner presentation of the material, and some full blown examples of game play would be really nice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by Don P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2015 10:50:58

I love this system. I remember its predecessor Zero, and this game goes beyond. It's actually very similar in the mechanics, but the addition of such a great mix of settings is just great. And because I have a copy, I get access to more and more settings as they are released. I'm in love!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by Tim R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2015 15:11:07

Disclosure: I backed D6xD6 on Kickstarter.

I grew up playing AD&D, Gamma World, Traveller, Twilight: 2000, Shadowrun, Star Wars, Call of Cthulhu (all-time favorite!), and other RPGs. As a player I have come to dislike memorizing voluminous complex rules, drawing intricate plans for spaceships/tank platoons/etc on graph paper, and the "stat monster" approach which encourages players to obsess about experience points needed to reach the next character level or obtaining some magical item that will incrementally up their armor class.

What I value is storytelling, camaraderie, and any game that shares those goals. I'm happy to say D6xD6 is a such a game. The game's primary mechanism of "Focus" is unique, elegant, and deceptively simple. It makes for rich decisions during the quick character creation phase...do you want to be an incredible expert in one or two areas, a jack-of-all-trades, or something in-between? It feels equally rich when attempting tasks during gameplay. The dice rolling aspect is quick, fun, and suspenseful. While some reviewers commented it was a bit complex, I found it easier than adding up a laundry list of modifiers to my attack (for instance) while my opponent does the same with their defense modifiers, and then comparing results, calculating ripostes, etc etc. D6xD6 gameplay is fast, fun, and keeps the focus on the story.

Some RPGs lean heavily on the tone of their genre/fictional world to carry a player's interest, counting on that to plaster over mediocre game mechanics. D6xD6 is the opposite; at its heart is an excellent set of well-constructed rules that enable players to explore any genre or world setting they choose. I really like this approach and appreciate the variety of Worlds in the Core Book (with many more from famous fiction authors apparently on the way!).

One final thought for those of you reading these reviews while considering a purchase. It is impossible to fully understand and appreciate any game without playing it. You've probably found this in your own gaming experiences. Perhaps you've been surprised that a game sounded really cool but didn't feel right during play. Or maybe you thought the rules seemed a little complex but made so much sense during gameplay. Good game designers are familiar with this effect, too. It's why they don't just write a bunch of rules and chuck it out into the marketplace. They conduct extensive playtesting with real players, make adjustments to the rules, and do it all again.

Some reviewers have not played D6xD6, much less read the entire set of rules, but are sharing lots of opinions. Other reviewers like me have actually played the game multiple times and really enjoyed it. You decide which approach is right for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by jim t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2014 15:03:25

I have actually played this system a few times at the most recent Gamehole Con in Madison Wisconsin. I have no read every single word of the rules. I've read entire sections and then skimmed the rest. This systems claims 3 things at the outset:

  • Five-minute character creation.

Verdict: True. We made characters for both games I played in. It was fairly simple and easy to understand.

  • Quick-and-easy tactical combat rules.

Verdict: True. They do read as described. perhaps more importantly, when I had them described to me verbally in the games I played, I understood what I was told immediately and didn't need a full combat to figure out how things worked.

  • Endless setting possibilities.

Verdict: True. They've already got a ton and after you've played it once, you can see how easily this system can be used pretty much anywhere. Magic adds a bit of thinking to it, but nothing insurmountable.

Likes: Lester has delivered on his promises. With one exception I'll note below, the writing is clear and concise. D6xD6 is a fine system and worth your time.

A few nitpicks:

The section "Dice: An Aside". I understand why it's in the book, but it doesn't read very well. There is A LOT of information crammed into 9 paragraphs.

I've looked at this PDF on my 3 work PC screens, my home laptop, my iPad, and my wife's Chrome book and the D6xD6 results (page 7) chart looks like it had colored shadow figures around the bars. It looks pretty awful, but I can easily read the chart.

The majority of the art is fine, although anything with blood added or 'zombified' is a bit weak, but doesn't hurt the rules at all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles