DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Dracula's Get Sourcebookmark
by Alfredo S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2021 03:45:40

In Dracula's Get YOU are a creature of the night, a vampire. Not one of those glitzy romantic vampires you find in certain novels and films (bleagh!), but an authentic member of Dracula's lineage, a manipulative and conscienceless monster that shares with the honorable ancestor exactly the same powers described by Bram Stoker. Just for that alone it is a fun proposal, but it is also a great example of how to deal with supernatural powers using the minimalist mechanics of Lester Smith's Bookmark NO HP rpg. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dracula's Get Sourcebookmark
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bookmark No HP RPG
by Chuck K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2021 15:03:01

I love this little product. Perfect for players new to role playing, and also for experienced veterans. The vets can fill in the blanks and take the story anywhere they want, creating new stories.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bookmark No HP RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bookmark No HP RPG
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2021 04:30:15

At face value, this game seems simple. That's because it is! However, do not let the simplicity fool you. With only a bookmark (hence the name) and a standard set of RPG dice, one is free to do whatever they want within the limits of the GM. Be that food truck owner that by day dispenses tacos to the masses and by night is a sword wielding maniac. And that pesky HP? Forget about it! There is a system using those standard set of RPG dice to accomodate it. To further add to the understandability, my daughter who at the time of this writing is 6-years-old is able to pick it up and go with her food truck owner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bookmark No HP RPG
by Roland P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2021 17:28:53

I can't recommend this game enough! It is an epiphany of game design being so brief but encompassing such multitudes in it's concise design. If you are looking for an easy to pick up and play right away game I think you should certainly give this one a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 Tales from the Terror Tomb
by Alfredo S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/22/2021 06:48:23

Yet another minisetting for the excellent D6xD6 rules by Lester Smith. This one pays homage to the old Warren/EC horror anthology comic-books. The main characters are not exactly heroes, as they are haunted by a Shadow of the Past (some horrible action in their past they did or contributed to) and driven by a Dark Desire (something connected to their Shadow they want so much they are willing to kill or betray anyone to get it). It also adds a simple Terror Token mechanic which rewards the players for acting in character and leading their own characters and the group to their undoing. The result is a game in which everybody will probably meet a grisly ending, but will have a lot of fun doing so. It needs a group of players who are familiar with the kind of fiction Tales from the Terror Tomb is based on and are willing to go along, but in my view that's a feature, not a bug.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 Tales from the Terror Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bookmark No HP RPG
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 16:43:02

Clear, concise, focused. Lots of room for depth without Excessive clutter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bookmark No HP RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 Dungeons RPG - Zine Edition
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 07:11:04

I am a huge fan of D6xD6 as a system- Dungeons is the first "expanded" edition of this great system. Focusing on the classic "dungeon" sword and fantasy genre, it gives you rules to easily set up your own game quickly, offering monsters, spells, charaacter types, etc. for the genre if you want to use them. I does alter the original ruleset in a couple of ways to better reflect the "classic" element of dungeon crwaling, with big heroes and villains battling it out in an easier flow combat system. The "zine" format to me is perfect for an indy game and should be used more often. For gamers looking for cheaper games to play and not lose any real quality, this format is great. And it is inclusive, meaning I can buy it, spend a few generating what I want for my players and run it without having to buy any more books!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 Dungeons RPG - Zine Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2021 07:04:28

Happy to say this game system altered my perception of gaming. I was never a fan of systems with tons of rules and each genre needing it's own rule system. Furthermore I despise character generation. This system allows quick and easy character generation and allows for ANY genre to be played in about 5-10 minutes with a decent GM (or "Host) running the game. It is simple enough that if you need to add additional rules, you can quickly enough to reflect your idea of a particular genre. For my money- quite simply the best RPG system I have used on over 30 years of gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bookmark No HP RPG
by Alfredo S. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2021 07:08:56

The worst part of the Bookmark No HP RPG is... that it is so short you can't really explain anything about how it works without giving the whole rules system away (and this leads to a Fight Club-like situation: "The first rule about Bookmark No HP RPG Club is you don't talk about the Bookmark No HP RPG rules.”) Anyway, Lester Smith has managed --much like he did with D6xD6-- to create a deceptively simple system with hidden depths, built upon a robust dice mechanic and, most of all, fun and suspenseful and which you could probably play anywhere with the help of a smartphone dice roller. Highly recommened if you want to give an innovative minimalist rpg a try. That said, I am going to bend the rules of the Bookmark No HP RPG Club a little bit and present a sample character:

Nina Rodrigues Vocation: Postapocalyptic taxi driver and part-time vigilante Attributes: Brawn d8, Grace d6 Will d10 Wits d4

How do you roll these Attributes? What do you use your Vocation for? I am afraid that would be telling too much ;-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bookmark No HP RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bookmark No HP RPG
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2021 19:58:32

This is game design at its most daring, folks: write a multi-genre RPG that fits on both idea of a bookmark and still gets the job(s) done There's some adjudication required, sure, but this is necessary when there isn't room to fit a "rule for everything" on something that can fit between two pages of a paperback This is the kind of fast and felxible game that puts imagination and improvisation up front, but it also has a simple, robust set of (a few) rules to back it up



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bookmark No HP RPG
by Kurt L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2021 16:46:40

BnHPRPG puts forth a set of unique rules that not only get out of the way of role playing, they in their own unique way facilitate your imagination. They encourage you to answer why. If you want a high crunch rpg, this is not it. I know you are shocked about that given that all the rules actualy fit on a bookmark. If this appeals to you, give it a try, I expect you will have an enjoyable time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 Dungeons RPG - Zine Edition
by zachary t. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2021 22:49:27

So I came upon D6xD6 Core a few months ago and was so intrigued by the central mechanic. Needless to say I was excited fo D6xD6 Dungeons! For reference, though I have played my share of tabletop RPGs I was raised in the world of video games...Fallout 1 & 2, Diablo 1 & 2. I wanted something more open ended than a video game but that gave enough fuel to get my wheels turning as I am not always the most creative. D6xD6 Dungeons does just that.

First, the system has a unique dice roll mechanic that at once simplifies and adds depth. Your Focus number, the only number you use, basically makes you decide between a limited expert or a jack of all trades, or somewhere in between. As you roll you multiply 2D6 and compare to your Focus number. Though I am no math whiz this makes the results less linear compared to a D20 system. (D6xD6 Core has some graphs explaining this. Also some may prefer the D20 systems, to each there own.) All bonuses and detriments to your dice roll are calculated in the same way (addition/subtraction before multiplication...) Where D6xD6 Core had some effects before and after multiplication, this I think is a big improvement in simplifying "the math."

Second, all the classic fantasy races and classes are there to choose from but the author encourages creating your own, and also uses a custom fantasy race and class as a "case study" in the character building how-to example. This makes the task of creating your own custom character/class not as daunting. At the same time the archetypal high fantasy races/classes are there so i don't have to get bogged down in creating something from the top of my head.

Third, the magic system has the same feeling as the class system in that it promotes creativity but gives enough guidance to feel like it is doable by a person used to "melee on left click, fireball on right click" level of creativity. I think I was most surprised by this aspect...but maybe it is not as uncommon as I think.

Fourth, I really live for improving my character, probably to a fault and with only one relevant number (Focus) one may think it is very limited. This was my biggest worry before purchase and I have to say I am pleasantly surprised. Progression can happen on many metrics (specific skills, attributes and vocations). and earning XP is very simple and very intuitive. (Simple in the sense of understandability, it may not be simple for your characters.)

Fifth, my personal preference is for games that allow me to select and improve on particular skills/attributes as opposed to generic "leveling up." D6xD6 Dungeons does that. How skills are improved would easily allow custom skills that could easily be integrated into character progression. I don't see myself doing custom skills at first but nice to know it is doable.

To wrap up, I am excited about diving back into tabletop RPGs and the D6xD6 Dungeon system checks so many boxes. At the same time this is a "zine edition" so the beastiary is adequate but not expansive. Other parts feel a bit brief but the focus* on getting out of the min/max mind (for me) and adding custom elements gives me a challence I am excited to dive into.

*Focus...get it?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 Dungeons RPG - Zine Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D13 RPG
by David Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2020 02:29:48

Lester Smith has delivered again. The latest piece of horror by the grandmaster of rpgs had me hooked from beginning to the end.

highly recommend!

David



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D13 RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

D13 RPG
by Matt H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 17:14:08

The D13 RPG is a masterpiece. The tone, the rules, the writing, the art - they all come together in a Poe-esque "unity of effect."

As the promo text highlights, the game portrays an interesting balance between long-term play and the immediate lethality that horror necessitates. How can horror be horrific without a true and deep threat to health, community, stability? How can a game make good on that threat - portray it as credible - and still create an ongoing campaign? D13 answers both these questions. I won’t give the framework away except to share that it disappears in the background - no metaplot here. However, just enough background exists to explain just why these individuals, your characters in each adventure, get drawn into the dark. And you also get an interesting side reason to have your individual characters overcome the threats. Players will likely have completely new characters each adventure in a completely new setting, but will find a reason to keep building on the successes of their earlier characters and suffer under the weight of the failures. Bravo.

Really, the background is just an extra touch. The real strength of the D13 RPG is how well it can tell any horror story without being locked into a single setting. Beowulf, MR James, Aliens franchise, slasher flicks, Lovecraft, Blair Witch - it can all be played.

The rules are poetry. Most actions are resolved by rolling equal to or under attribute+skill on d13 (a d4 and d10 with the 0 read as zero). Difficulty is super elegant - escalating levels of difficulty allow either the player or game host to reroll one of the dice. Tarot cards can be used by players to modify certain rolls. You could use regular cards, but you’re going to want tarot cards for the full atmospheric effect. Along those lines, you can use a spirit board and tokens to track combat. As you might expect in a horror game, combat should be avoided as maiming and scarring are easily accomplished and one well-placed hit can take people out. One single die roll determines initiative, hit success, and damage, helping you get away from the mechanical carnage and back to the story-based carnage quickly.

Paranormal powers, if characters have them, are adjudicated by drawing tarot cards to mechanically push your luck for effect. Some card draws may fuel your power, some may only drain your life force. Using powers has real risk and unpredictability all conveyed in a simple system.

Campaign advice is sound, covering running the adventure, creating adventures, and bringing adversaries of various potencies to life. Two adventures, numerous seeds, and some sample evils round out the book.

Over time, my gaming tastes have veered towards supernatural adventure rather than horror solely to keep a campaign alive. With the D13 RPG, I no longer need to pull punches for fear of ending a campaign. It is the perfect package for my horror gaming delivered with great rules in an atmospheric book. Great job.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 18:50:09

An elegant dice mechanic with worlds of potential. Highly recommended for fans of games powered by GUMSHOE, One-Roll Engine, and the Apocalypse Engine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D6xD6 RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles