DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Expanse: Salvage Op
by Florent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2020 14:46:26

Great mission, perfect as a 'first session' or gap-filler in any campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Expanse: Salvage Op
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Abzu's Bounty
by Florent C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2020 14:44:53

Excellent campaign, very neatly written and easy to use - despite the size i would definitively recommend to beginning GMs. It captures the essence of the Expanse and takes the player group onto an arc that is not 'spoiled' by the TV series or books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Abzu's Bounty
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Foes: Undead
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2020 23:43:51

Know what's scarrier than wights? Stuff in this book.

Buy it. Terrify your players. Have a good time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foes: Undead
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

House of Orphans
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2020 16:22:44

Cool couple of Elven houses to drop into any setting, along with hooks and drama to get players involved.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
House of Orphans
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2020 14:52:43

I'm really happy to see this game re-released with more support for the fantasy elements that make RPGs a fun escape. I always enjoyed the system, and the polish on intrigue, warfare, combat, and magic makes it even better. Plus, the House system gives a great foundation for players to have a common goal or org.

I'm off to build a House that can take over the world in my homebrew setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sword Chronicle - Feudal Fantasy Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Danger Zones: Bank
by Martin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2020 07:41:27

Considering that this product has no useable maps for VTT, which was the reason I bought it, and what was implied by the description and the cover, this product is an unfortunate disappointment. At the very least, some image files of the bank map itself would have been expected.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Danger Zones: Bank
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Modern AGE Basic Rulebook
by Edward K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2020 20:56:14

Ring Side Report-RPG Review of Modern Age

Originally posted at www.throatpunchgames.com, a new idea every day!

Product- Modern Age Basic Rulebook System-Modern Age Producer- Green Ronin Publishing Price- $6.99 here https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/243966/Modern-AGE-Basic-Rulebook?affiliate_id=658618 TL; DR-Three games in one where every roll matters! 88%

Basics- Dragon Age in your modern age? Modern Age Basic Rulebook is a stand alone game, applying the basics of the Fantasy Age system to a modern or near modern setting. Let’s break this up into pieces.

Basic mechanics: Modern Age is Fantasy Age is Dragon Age. All three of these use 3d6 + ability + focus to do anything. Like all RPGs, it's the basic idea of "roll dice, plus a number, to get a different number to win" idea. Easy enough to pick up and play.

Abilities and focuses: Modern Age has a pretty simple number addition pool where you add an ability. Ability is just like your base statistics in DnD. These range from -2 to +4. You also have focuses, which are basically like skills in DnD except that you get a flat +2 to the roll instead of different values. Later you can specialize so you have a +3 instead of the +2.

Talents and Powers: While abilities and focuses do give you some room to build some fun characters, it's not enough to really differentiate your characters from the pack. That is where talents come into play. Talents are the feats of the system. Talents provide a bonus that makes your character distinct. Talents range from being rich and getting bonuses in buying things to being a bruiser who hits harder. What makes these distinct from DnD feats is there are three levels of each talent. As you level up you can take higher levels of each talent, making you more powerful in your given area. This is how spells/powers/psychic abilities are handled as well. You choose a magic school and that school functions pretty much like a talent providing you new options like making a light happen to casting fireballs. This isn’t a Vancian magic or powers game as characters have a number of power points they can spend at will to do whatever powers they want as often as they can.

Stunt Points: This is the bread and butter of the system. The Age system itself isn’t completely novel as dice + numbers vs a different number isn’t anything new, but this system uses 3d6 with ONE die being a different color. This different die is your stunt die. If any dice show doubles and you succeed, you get to a number of stunt points equal to your stunt die value. These points range from tripping people to better haggling in the market to adding power to your psychic blasts. All dice rolls have a table of stunt points you can spend to make things interesting. This differentiates the system from other roll + number systems, making it its own thing.

Game version: Modern movies are really three different kinds of movies. You have your ultra modern, gritty movies where one bullet kills someone. You have fun pulp where you punch nazis with a satisfying SMACK. You also have movies where one hero kills hundreds of monsters while only getting a single cut over his eye to make him look even more amazing. Modern Age gives you rule tweaks to play in any of these settings by changing damage from weapons, hit points, and number of bad guys you throw at the hero.

Ok, that’s the basics of the game. Let’s look at my thoughts at the game.

Mechanics or Crunch- You can see the direct line from the Dragon Age video game to the Dragon Age game to Fantasy Age to Modern Age. And that is a good thing! I like the basic idea of powers, magic points, and mechanics of the Dragon Age video game, and Dragon Age the RPG system implemented that well. Those basic ideas go from Dragon Age to Fantasy Age and finally to Modern Age. It's a solid, simple to play system. Stunt points and the fact that any roll can make them happen really makes this game pop. Every roll matters. Something that happens in one roll might have big changes to the next as the points can change things in ways you might not have expected. It’s a great touch to make this stick out from all the other roll vs numbers games out there. My one minor gripe is I would like more powers in a character. Characters don’t get a whole lot of powers to play with if they go that route. If you are ok with a pretty simple system without an overabundance of options, this is a good one to jump into. 4.5/5

Theme or Fluff-This book is light on fluf, but that is decidedly on purpose. Modern Age is a modern setting. It’s just today. You have today’s guns. The only fantasy bit is magic powers, and that’s honestly optional. The game references a comic setting as an option to play, but mostly it leaves the game up to you. The three different versions of the game do help you set the game how you want to play. Gritty, pulp, or cinematic are good options for a GM and players to decide how the world should be played. It’s setting light, but that’s by design, which doesn’t hurt the goals of the book. 4/5

Execution- PDF? YEP! Hyperlinked? YES! Ok, we start solid. Overall the book is well done. The font and tables are not my favorite, but that's a print issue as they are a bit cramped for my taste. I also think laying out some items in a table for character advancement would help as opposed to telling me in text. Those small issues annoyed me a bit, because I want to be able to glance over things quickly to get what I need to know quickly. Aside from that, the book is well done. The one thing that stuck out to me is the weapons page. WEAPONS HAVE LABELS IN A PICTURE! I can’t tell you how many RPGs I have read where they mention a weapon, and I have to google what they mean. That’s a small thing that keeps me in this book as I speed read through the thing. Reads quick, easy to navigate, and good art to boot make this a solid product. 4.75/5

Summary-I can’t wait for the next Dragon Age video game. That system was solid. This game is a grand child of that video game, and it’s got all the things I know and love from it. The mechanics are simple and the fact that dice rolls have a chance to make something cool happen besides a critical keep things interesting. The fact I can run three different games from one book makes this pretty versatile for the games I want to play. The book was a quick read that got me playing fast. What I don’t like as much is I would like a bit more about the basic setting, but the basic setting is today. So, I could just look outside and see what it's like. Characters don’t get a ton of options, but that is something from Dragon Age as well. It’s a solid game that makes every roll count, so give this one a try if you crave some modern day gunfights at your table! 88%



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Modern AGE Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Astonishing Adventures - NetherWar 0: Master of Earth
by Sean D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 08:52:51

A decent adventure marred by some technical issues

Between the Emerald City Knights adventure not meeting sales expectations, the downturn in the economy, and the generally low profit margin of adventure modules, I was pleasantly surprised when Green Ronin committed to doing the NetherWar adventure line. After getting a chance to play the first entry, Master of Earth, my feelings are a bit more mixed. It's not a bad module overall, covering how Seven wound up Queen of the Netherworld in the 3E timeline, and it's got an interesting twist where one player gets to be a PL 12 Seven while the others play PL 8 teen heroes, complete with battles that are intended to sort out with Seven fighting the greater threats while the minions take on the teens, and situations where she needs their skills and non-magic abilities (a number of characters in the Netherworld are reistant to magic by nature). And there are also a few bits where it genuinely matters whether characters stop to help people or push forward, which provides opportunities for skill checks and roleplay.

Unfortunately, the execution falls a bit short. The provided Hero Lab file only contains about half of the characters in the module, the abbreviated stat blocks in the scenes don't carry all of the information needed to run the fight, forcing you to move back and forth from the scenes to the expanded profiles in the back, and Bres's detailed entry is missing entirely. I've sent an email to Green Ronin to see if they plan to put out errata, which would likely be sufficient to bump this up to four stars for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Adventures - NetherWar 0: Master of Earth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Lost Citadel Roleplaying (5E)
by Liam V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2020 02:11:37

Incredible setting book with insanely immersive atmosphere. New mechanics that feel at home in 5e and aren't too complicated to pick up, and a cool new race of very good dog boys. I'm very excited to explore this world further at the game table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Citadel Roleplaying (5E)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Idol Pursuits - A Mutants & Masterminds Novella
by Jim M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2020 22:27:48

A great read left me wanting more of the story and the way it is written makes that seem likely. I look forward to the next chapters. The characters are very well developed and the story absorbing so you want to turn the page to find out what happens next. It would make a great screenplay too. Initially I was a bit hesitant to buy something from an author of the same last name as mine but was not disapointed in the least. Well worth your time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Idol Pursuits - A Mutants & Masterminds Novella
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2020 10:02:33

The Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide is a very easy to use to get you and your group playing Dragon Age very quickly. I highly recommend it so tha tyou can check out Dragon Age.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Duty Unto Death
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2020 11:07:59

Duty Unto Death is a fun Dragon Age Module. I enjoyed this module and it's a great introduction to Dragon Age.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Duty Unto Death
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fantasy AGE Encounters: Ancient Shadows
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2020 14:31:00

This was just an incredibly short summary of an encounter that could exist in a video game or any TTRPG without any real grit to it. Its nice and generic in that regard, but there is literally a binary choice presented, with the "This is the vaguely good option, this is the vaguely more effecient/callous option" in three pages for three dollars with little context beyond the intitial problem and a stat block for a monster that, if the story is played straight, will never be seen. I'd have dropped an impulse dollar on this but 3 dollars has pushed me away from looking at any Fantasy Age encounters, just so I don't run into the same problem.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Encounters: Ancient Shadows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
by Nicolas L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2020 11:32:10

All things considered, the quality of the scan is great, the clarity of the images, are more than I could have hoped for. I’m very pleased with the final product, only wish that this and other classic mods/classic booklets were available in soft/hard cover print, and not just as a PDF.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Age RPG Quick Start Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2020 15:25:55

I do not run the 2nd edition of Mutants & Masterminds anymore but when I read it for the first time, I remembered thinking it was really a good products for people playing M&M for the first time (a bit like the Basic Hero's Handbook for 3rd edition). if you are still using M&M 2nd edition and pretty new to it, this is a good purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 617 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles