DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Apollo 47 Technical Handbook
by Brian K. K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2022 17:55:37

As a former NASA Contractor (5 years at the Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, AL) and an avid gamer, this game is SO IN MY WHEELHOUSE! Just got my hardcooy book today and it is a thing of beauty. I recommend anyone playing this to take detialed notes and actively use a selection higlighters to really mark this thing up. If your cooy of the game doesn't both looked "lived in" and have an detailed accounting of your mission history... you're missing out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apollo 47 Technical Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Apollo 47 Technical Handbook
by Mike F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2022 13:48:20

This is a communal, improvisational, slice-of-life story-game about an astronaut going about thier business, doing mundane technical astronaut stuff on the moon. Its simple premise is backed with a lot of inspirational tables to color your story, and guidance on how to play.

The hardcover book is a wondrously excessive bagatelle of an artifact: It's a 1200-page book, but only the first 20 pages are the game itself. The rest are reproductions of actual NASA technical manuals from the 1960s, 70s, and 80s. That's all there for inspiration for the story-game, but are completely unnecessary. Still: They are fascinating to thumb through, especially if you're a fan of engineering, technical manuals, and/or NASA history.

I completley love this book, and if it sounds like it would be your cup of tea, it is!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Thousand Year Old Vampire
by Danielle G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2021 16:31:33

Absolutely changed the way I thought about vampires and about roleplaying games and really seems like the best of the best of journaling games. 100% a great purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thousand Year Old Vampire
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Thousand Year Old Vampire
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2021 10:32:07

I played it a few times and i enjoyed it. I think i would have enjoyed it more during the start of quarentine but it is what it is. I wasn't a fan of most of the end prompts but this is a fun solo game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Thousand Year Old Vampire
by Rolfe B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2020 16:20:57

Thousand Year Old Vampire is a very fun journaling game. The clever and flexible system provides for random events and writing prompts that push your character and story in directions you wouldn't have thought of on your own. The mechanics are elegant. They build a narrative organically, never get in the way of a good story, and work wonderfully for any setting where immortal bloodsuckers feel like an appropriate character choice.

Not only is it a delightful solitaire RPG in it's own right, it also can be used as a character backstory generator for any RPG campaign with predatory immortals. I've been using it to breathe unlife and complexity into the NPCs in my Night's Black Agents campaign, for example. At the end of each game, you have a fully-fledged vampiric character, complete with a known history timeline and a secret history of things best forgotten, a skill list, a list of treasures and resources won and lost, and the beginnings of a diary prop that could prove very useful should your players plunder the vampire's lair.

The layout is gorgeous, designed to look like a scrapbook or diary with little snippets of correspondence and newspaper clippings tucked between the pages. Even though I've already got the PDF, I'm kinda tempted to by the hardcover too just because it would be fun to show off.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Thousand Year Old Vampire
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2020 10:46:43

I played Thousand Year Vampire for the first time last night and it was a wonderful role-playing experience…and it is a solo RPG. Needless to say, I thought that all of the characters were well made. Ha!

The rules are simple and easy to use. If you have a ten-sided die, a six-sided die, some paper, and some time, you’re all set!

Things start off by creating basic statistics for your new vampire – characters they know, the things that physically set them apart from humanity, resources to which they have access, and skills. From there it’s a matter of rolling the dice, which take you to different Prompts.

Prompts are a very basic, generalized set of instructions on what happens to your vampire in that step of their unlife. An example that I’m just making up here: “You committed an unspeakable act, even for you, and you must atone in some way. Lose a Resource, which you give to a survivor of the act, and create them as a new Character.”

The Prompts are the magic of this system! The instructions will put your character in a general situation and tell you the boons or losses that you experienced. It is then up to you to use your imagination to fill in the blanks and create the story. You and I could get exactly the same Prompts, but create ENTIRELY different stories, our vampires would grow and become enriched in different ways, and they would take different paths through the world.

The next thing to mention is Memories. You get a limited number of them and there lies some of the major horror of your vampire’s story. It is entirely possible to grow so old and accumulate so many memories that you have forgotten your origins entirely and are left just a creature of the night. It’s easy to see how one could transform from a compassionate healer to a diabolical sadist over time, given the right Prompts and depending on what memories that they’ve retained.

It should be mentioned that the game is created to have an end – your vampire’s destruction. You either die by being unable to sacrifice various statistics of your character when prompted or by getting to a Prompt that tells you that it’s over. The Prompts that do this are near the end of the list, so you don’t have to worry about getting ten minutes into your game and suddenly you’re dead. It is an inevitability, though – the way the dice work, mathematically they will work their way upwards through the Prompt list until you get to your destruction. There is, however, an alternate set of Prompts included in the book that don’t really have “you’re dead” Prompts, but rather rely on the fact that you’ll eventually run out of statistics to sacrifice and therefore end up dead from that route.

I’d have to say that if you’re looking for a good, solo RPG game, you’ve found it in Thousand Year Old Vampire. You do need to be prepared to really exercise your imagination to build your story, be ready to experience much angst over the things that your character ends up doing and the memories that they lose, and you must also accept that you will become a monster the likes of which keep people indoors in the dark of night…



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Cold War Navy
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 02:26:35

It was... Well, it was interesting, fun, ,and I can't ask for more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cold War Navy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Our Vacation
by Richard C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 02:23:46

It's an odd game, and an odd concept for a game, but I enjoyed it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Our Vacation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Everything is Dolphins
by Angel M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2016 13:30:14

Great pick up and play game! Amazing for people just getting into TTRPG. No ardious rules to bog down the game. So play it when the power is out! Or play it once a week with friends! It's flexible enough to make it whatever you want!

Watch my comedic review here: https://youtu.be/mfBA2XFqybg



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Everything is Dolphins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Everything is Dolphins
by Tony P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2016 02:38:49

I'm not entirely sure what I've bought but I love it. Perhaps it's the insane keyboard slappings of a raving lunatic, or maybe it secretly happens to be a bottle-nosed manifesto of sorts. I can't really tell, but there's a role-playing game in there, somewhere. I'm only subtracting a star because the author bothered to call the DM a "Dolphin Master" but then proceeded to call the PCs "Player characters", when obviously the correct answer was "Porpoise characters". I mean, that's a missed opportunity if I ever saw one. Yowza!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles