DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Unrelenting Uthuk
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2020 13:15:07

A great supplement. I love the idea of playing the Uthuk. Just what I needed



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Unrelenting Uthuk
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Genesys Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2020 01:37:46

My generic system of choice right now.

Genesys is a narative focused rpg - which means the die rolls are about moveing the story forward in interesting ways. You're not just rolling to see if you pass or fail, but to see if anything else happens along the way. Dice rolls can succeed, but still generate negative consiqences and conversly they can fail and generate a positive outcome. It takes some getting used to but honestly it's amazing - and letting players suggest/decide what those additional outcomes might be allows for a more dynamic game and more invested players!

The downside is the dice. The syustem uses custom polyhedral die and you'll either need to buy 1-2 sets or buy the die rolling app (or if your desperate use regular die and 'convert' the results, but this is very clunky and not reccomended outside of emergencies). They are however the backbone of the game, they just represent a little extra up-front cost.

The book contains several settings starters, with bare bones explanations and rules - but Several full settings have been released by FFG. Terrinoth (dark Fantasy), Android (Cyberpunk style) and Keyforged can all be bought seperatly and added on. And with the foundry putting out great player-made content and settings there is a wealth of options availible for any game.

This is the sort of system that if it went off the market today, I could see me still playing in 10+ years time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Genesys Core Rulebook
by Daniel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2020 16:15:59

Familiarity

I purchased this book immediately upon release, and promptly ran a 9-month campaign using it, as well as numerous one-shots.

Good Points

  • The narrative dice system is unique and very cool! Doubly so if your group is into the more improv-centric aspects of RPGs.
  • Character creation and advancement is moderately flexible (though not as open as some generic systems).
  • Very cool system of gear qualities that make it easy to create interesting weapons and armor that feel mechanically distinct from one another.
  • Threat and advantage make every roll interesting!
  • Strong community support.
  • Simply being a generic (multi-genre) system is a huge selling point, and makes the system more widely useful.

Bad Points

  • Attack and defense scaling is not ideal. It's easy to make a character with maxed-out defenses at or shortly after character creation (especially in fantasy settings, where shields are available). Attack dice pools are very limited in the early game, which can lead to characters with absurd tank potential. Conversely, attacks scale up over the course of a campaign, but defenses largely do not (the defensive talents available to player characters are high-cost to use and have a pretty limited effect), so combat in the late game becomes rocket tag because almost all attacks hit.
  • Characteristic points can be purchased at significant expense during character creation, and are extremely difficult to increase during play. This means that the best character creation strategy is generally to spend as much XP as possible on characteristics (something the book advocates), while leaving all other aspects of the character relatively underdeveloped until the characters gain some XP during play. (This was easy enough to house-rule by reducing starting XP by 50 and giving each player three free-form characteristic increases to spend, but that's a big recurring theme with this book; a lot of things required house rules to function in a way that felt right.)
  • Talent pyramid system can force players to invest XP in low-rank filler talents that they don't want. This also makes character creation for one-shots more complicated than it needs to be.
  • Magic/powers system feels profoundly incomplete. There are a lot of classic effects that aren't available by RAW, leaving them up to the GM to house-rule. The rules assume a traditional D&D-style magic "class" breakdown, and give no insight into how to create a balanced system of your own for sci-fi settings or those with magic that follows a different paradigm. (This is another case that was fixable with house rules, but again, that shouldn't be necessary for a set of rules that cost money.)
  • There are no guidelines for creating vehicles, and a paltry three example vehicles in the book.
  • The hacking system provided is pretty shallow, and not very interesting in play. It also implements a success threshold system (i.e. measuring difficulty by number of successes required), which is a weird outlier given that nothing else in the book measures difficulty in that way. I actually would have been really interested to see this mechanic used more, but it's only in this one place, from what I can recall.
  • The list of talents in the core book is pretty limited. (Note: These last four issues are partially solved by subsequent books and fan-made material, but that doesn't excuse them being issues in the core, especially given that the other books were not available at launch.)

Variable Points (Will vary a lot by personal taste and group)

  • The narrative dice system can be overwhelming for new players.
  • Dice rolls can take a long time to resolve, which can slow down play a lot. Dice pools often take awhile to assemble, and although canceling the symbols gets a lot quicker with practice, figuring out how to spend advantage and threat bogged down play. Additionally, the symbols are abstract enough that a few of my players never really got the hang of reading them, and not for lack of trying.
  • Triumph, advantage, and Story Points give players a truly phenomenal amount of agency. For me, this is one of the biggest upsides of the system, but it won't be to the liking of all GMs.
  • Because Strain is used as both a resource and a damage track, and because increasing Strain Threshold is more expensive per point than increasing Wound Threshold, weapons that deal damage as Strain can be substantially more powerful than weapons that deal damage as Wounds, and a party that wants to abuse this disparity will be able to make combat encounters far easier than intended.
  • The proprietary dice are a major turn-off for some people. I didn't have any issues with that, since the system does a great job providing mechanics that validate the existence of those dice.
  • The setting IPs available to FFG may or may not increase your interest in this product. I personally really like the Android setting, but Terrintoh and Keyforge aren't terribly interesting to me, for example.

Overall Thoughts

I love this system overall, but I can't give 5 stars to a generic system core book that treats magic, vehicles, and hacking as "optional rules" and doesn't fill them out very well. Prior to expansion books, I had to spend a lot of time homebrewing content of my own just to make the system feel playable, to an extent that after I stopped playing it, I actually started work on my own homebrew setting, which didn't feel like all that much extra work in comparison. Genesys evangels will trumpet that the system is a "toolbox" and is thus exempt from critique on this subject, but the fact is that an empty toolbox isn't very useful. I've run systems that gave me a well-stocked toolbox to craft a campaign with little or no homebrew, and this system is not that, nor is it really trying to be. If you're willing to put in the work, Genesys can be a blast, and I highly recommend checking it out if your group enjoys narrative systems and if you don't mind generating rules content for your games. The issues described above prevented Genesys from becoming my long-term main system, but I had a great time running and playing it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
By Sword and Spell
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2020 20:43:41

A great aid to creating non-Terrinoth fantasy. Very useful content. Thanks heaps for the Creative Commons license.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
By Sword and Spell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mimura The Village of Promises
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/22/2020 10:29:01

This book is a great tool for anyone running a Rokugan game. Although designed for use with the 2nd Ed. L5R core book, there is enough descriptive text that it can be easily used within any L5R edition. This book provides a fully functional village that can be dropped into any clan lands, and even provides sidebars with clan specific suggestions. This book also provides descriptions for all the major players in town that characters may encounter, from the regional gokenin to the local begger (although the book is very light on the mechanical side of character desciption, often providing nothing more than "Rank 3 Bushi"; that said, it does make references to the 2nd Ed. L5R core book for suggested stats). This book includes description of the town holidays, religion, geography, history, politics, economy, etc., as well as a number of small maps of the town and surrounding region. A number of campaign suggestions, as well as adventure threads provide a miriad of options that could be developed into full adventures. To conclude, this book provides a very rich setting that would allow a party to spend numerous seasons all in one small out-of-the-way village.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mimura The Village of Promises
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
by kelvin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 14:14:59

A real skills guide helping Players and GM to interpret symbols and possibilties. Lots of exemples for a better understanding how to exploit skills. It is clear and a very good work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skills Guide: Skills Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Grizelda's Gear
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2020 12:45:42

Many GMs and Players under appreciate the value and lore behind the most common items. This is a very well though of piece, which allows the GM to bring life to even the simplest of things in the game.

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grizelda's Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Glad you enjoyed it!
Terrinoth Talents
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2020 12:44:05

I have long awaited a piece of work like this. But I never expected it to be such a massive addition! Thank you for releasing this!

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrinoth Talents
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Terrinoth Treasures: Volume III
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2020 12:42:58

One does not simply ever have enough treasure! Another hearty welcome to my game master's horde.

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrinoth Treasures: Volume III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Trades and Talents [BUNDLE]
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2020 12:41:58

A must have bundle! These two items go hand in hand to give players an amazing range of options for their character ideas!

Keep up the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trades and Talents [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Genesys Adversary Card Template
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 03:21:05

One of the top tools you can add to your GM or writers tool kit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genesys Adversary Card Template
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Terrinoth Adversary Card Template
by James J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 03:21:00

One of the top tools you can add to your GM or writers tool kit!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terrinoth Adversary Card Template
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
by Jay P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 20:09:29

Salvage is exactly what you want from a compact setting for a great rules system like Genesys. Salvage has everything to run the game you want: a short arc featuring one specific element of the setting in focus, a medium arc tieing together two or three mysterious facets, or a full-blown long running campaign that might conclude with something even the author hadn't imagined. The writing is excellent, the production values are professional, and the setting is alien enough to make it interesting but familiar enough to make it relatable.

Even if you don't like some of the authors decisions on the history of how they got to Omega, or maybe you want to re-arrange how things ended up here, the work here is fantastically easy to repurpose. I can even see ways to use some of this material in a Star Wars game, or as part of an original sci-fi universe where this is just the starting point! I hope to see more from this content creator.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Salvage: Genesys Sci-Fi Junkpunk Setting
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 02:39:59

A beautifully laid out book. Very professional looking. Cool setting and some interesting game mechanics, although I thought the actual salvage and building gear from it could have had more flavour added to it. Cannot wait for more material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trades of Terrinoth
by James W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2020 02:25:44

Awesome book. The special abilites add so much flavour to the careers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trades of Terrinoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 393 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles