DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Sandor A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 10:54:55

If you spend hours browsing writing prompts and imagining all the scenarios in which they would make sense or you got into solo role-playing because playing online doesn't cut it for you and you're not allowed to hang out with your friends because of some virus, you'll appreciate this product. Heck, they're great if you just want to unplug and cruise your imagination for a while too.

The quality of the physical cards is on par with a standard deck of playing cards but since there are 60 of them it's a bit of a fight to get them into a standard-sized box; it works, but it's kind of like your dad trying to wear skinny jeans.

Anyway, these are a good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Geoffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 16:31:07

Very cool. These cards are perfect tools for inspiration. I bought these to use for both writing prompts as well as playing some tabletop RPGs solo to learn the rules of different systems and these cards fit the bill perfectly. Well worth the price. The print quality on these cards is great too. I'm going to sleeve mine, but even without sleeving, they feel like they'll last a really long time with regular use. I picked up several different genres and I look forward to playing with every one of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2020 16:24:21

I got the fantasy and science fiction decks. The price dropping during this pandemic helped me in deciding to pick these up. Plus I appreciate the gesture of lowering prices to help keep gamers home during these trying times. Shipping was fast and the cards are incredible. I am a very happy dungeonmaster/wannabe writer.

![(https://photos.app.goo.gl/4zZA1nekc8iwzA9L8/)]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Helen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2020 07:17:04

A beautiful set of cards. This was my first p.o.d purchase from DriveThru and I'm not disappointed (I also bought the Fantasy and Steampunk decks at the same time). The quality of the cards is great, and there are just so many options for new characters, I can't imagine ever running out of ideas. The cards were well packed and shipped quickly, arriving surprisingly quickly to Australia (shipped 30/8 and arrived 16/9). I definitely recommend going for the printed cards!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 17:20:19

I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen. When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.

The one bit of feedback I have on the Fantasy Deck specifically: I feel like all the fantasy illustration makes the content on the cards hard to read. The layout and design of the Base Deck is much more clean and organized. The Base Deck illustration is tastefully done and stays out of the way of the content.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 14:19:55

I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen.

When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

The layout of the information on the base deck is nicely organized and very easy to read because of the fonts used and color scheme.

I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Victoria N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2020 16:17:48

A few weeks ago I bought the cards on PDF and printed to cardstock to try them out. Fantastic! I’ve run DM sessions where I struggled for a name or some sensual observation other than “what you see” and “what you hear”, and these were the perfect answer. Now, some of the sensations/names/etc. are duplicated from deck to deck, but so what? It’s far cooler to pick out the deck that “matches” the theme/genre of the game I am running and I love to support small business and creators. Win win here, folks.

So… I did it. I went ahead and ordered the actual cards. All of the sets.

They are stunning. They’ve got a great weight to them and shuffle so much more easily than cardstock (I know, Captain Obvious here). The printing is crisp and legible, and the little touches on the cards elevate them to a whole new level of coolness.

My only question is: when are you going to create a Film Noir set? Or maybe one with a Greco-Roman history theme? hint hint



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Wow--thanks for the kind words! I hope the cards serve you well! Film Noir and Greco-Roman are interesting suggestions... I'll add those to the list of ideas ;-)
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
by Aaron K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 20:07:29

These cards are beautifully crafted and filled with inspiration, events, details, and more. Just flipping through them gives me ideas for plots and adventures. The cards are also sturdy and well made. I will be using these in my RPGs and writing every time. These are great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 03:24:19

Really useful randomizers. They take some getting used to, but if you use them enough and figure out how they work and how to use them in your games, you could show up to a game session with nothing but a page of notes, this deck and maybe some monster/NPC stats and you can run a dynamic, unpredictable game.

The Genre suppliments, alone solo engine, and universal instructions are well written and thoughtful, although I wish they were a little prettier and more distinctive than just simple black text on white fields. Having each page have a unique look would help with quickly flipping through to find what you're looking for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2020 14:44:48

Hands down the best purchase I ever made on here. I play solo and with my kids a lot and these decks (I also bought Sci-Fi and Fantasy) allow me to enjoy myself to an extent that escaped me before. They are so versatile and useful, easy to use and hack. I use them to help generate loot, create NPCs, answer questions, and so much more. It keeps me feeling honest and prevents that feeling of cheating you can sometimes feel when using a GM-simulator system. I tired Mythic and it is fine, really good actually, but this has all I want and more. Just get them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:25:07

NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:24:44

NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:24:27

NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Robert J W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2019 10:06:35

I use my deck very regularly to get prompts and ideas for solo RPG play, and enjoy the huge variety of tools and generators on each card.

I do have one suggestion for improvement: This version of the deck (Fantasy) has the noisiest background elements of all of the decks so far. It creates a great fantasy atmosphere, but at times all that atmosphere slows down interpretation of results.

If there are more decks to come, I'd love to see a version that makes layout and quick interpretation a top priority, or allows me to reorient and stagger stacks of cards to get several of one kind of prompt, while covering the info I'm not using at the time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Portal Tarot: The Apprentice
by Ava J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2019 18:06:26

I was surprised at how well the Portal Deck works together with the GMA deck!

The other day a friend of mine who DMs a homebrew campaign was trying to think of ideas for small arc intrigue plots centered around a prince the PCs were going to encounter and attempt to win the confidence of. I mentioned to them that I had the GMA cards and Portal Tarot and they asked if I could draw some cards to help inspire ideas.

They had to make dinner, so I spent a while coming up with scenario possibilities: for each scenario, I drew 3 GMA cards and 3 Portal Tarot cards with no particular role envisioned for any of the cards except maybe "adjective / verb / noun". I started from picking three words and then looking at the GMA cards to figure out situational aspects and the tarot cards to figure out the people involved.

Very quickly I came up with several scenarios that were extremely intriguing and unusual. At least one will be used nearly as-is---all will be modified, of course, because as a DM myself I'm only able to run the equivalent of Golden Sky Stories. I'm too cinnamon...

Amusing quick summaries for some of them:

  1. Helping a local temple deal with harassment centered around cultural prejudice. The three tarot cards became three NPCs associated with the temple with very different temperaments and ages.

  2. Investigating the claims of a scholar/architect who wants to improve the water safety around canals but who has been held back by some third party and a really bad grudge has developed between the two. The scholar has been bugging the prince every week so dealing with this matter would be Good.

  3. Investigating a potential contributor to a project to help war veterans find therapeutic help, whose altruistic demeanor is weirdly suspicious for some reason.

  4. Fighting the forces of gentrification where a bunch of rich folks are trying to tear down tenements that are housing poor folks. But in Ancient Rome.

  5. A letter to the prince from a previous war companion that basically reads "halp I did a dumb thing and now there are lawyers, I am sorry and ashamed but at least it was for Justice?"

This is the kind of idea generation I've never been able to do in my life before.

Thank you so much for these decks! I'm looking into maybe using them for art inspiration as well, and not just writing/rpgs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Portal Tarot: The Apprentice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 61 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles