DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 16:51:48

I got the base deck first, and picked this up for the Prompt Icons to have the alternate randomizer.

I loved it more than I expected to. Similar to other story icon generators, you flip over as many as you want/need and interpret. While the rest of the card works exactly like the base deck but has a fantasy slant to the prompts, the icons are useful enough I've taken to keeping this deck on hand just for those. Best modification to the base deck of all the sets in my mind.

I love the GMA decks - they are flexible and easy to use a little, a lot, or to entirely drive your game. I highly recommend getting at least one set if you regularly play solo or GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Demon Hunters
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 16:46:56

I love the base deck - and have been using it for nearly 2 years. I wanted to get the other decks with unique randomizers - so I picked up the Demon Hunters deck for the source material and specialities.

The only real downside to the supplemental decks is the repetition with the base deck - these all feel adjusted from the base deck rather than truly different. Not too much of a problem if you use the decks independently, but it does mean there's only limited utility in mashing them together.

It's still the GMA at heart, it's still wonderful for inspiration or as a tool in the toolbox to help bring in randomized elements or even to drive a whole game from just the cards. I have used these for a couple of one off games - it's so easy to get the outline of an NPC or to quickly get a hook to build a scene off of.

I love the decks, and the minor quibble above does not prevent this from being perfectly useable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Demon Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Christopher H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 16:32:53

I picked up the PDF versions a while ago - printed and played. I enjoyed them so much I came back for a POD version.

The cards are really easy to use - for each piece of information, flip a new card and take the corresponding value.

I got this originally to use to help plan my 1shots and online campaign. I've since incorporated them into some solo play, and even have played just using the cards to resolve everything. I've found them useful as a supplement to my dice and oracle and inspiration charts, and I've found them useful to drive everything off the cards. Very handy - very flexible, and neither way feels like it is too litte/too much. This is very much a flexible tool that can fill different niches for different games/sessions/playstyles.

The base deck is an easy recommend and will fit in to a large variety of games. Also check out the ALONe rules for more ideas on how to use the cards, and look at ways to graft it to your other tools or ruleset.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2021 18:50:26

There's an impressive amount of utility contained within these cards (absolutely crazy for a buck!) - next time I place a physical order I'll probably pick up the Space and Fantacy sets.

A nice bonus with the PDF is that it's got both black & white and color versions, and if you just print them on cardstock and cut them out, you have 120 cards to draw from, no flipping! ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 06:48:16

My single favourite and most-useful GMing tool. I've stressed a lot creating homebrew sessions weekly, but a few shuffles of these cards can easily make up random events, characters and story locations with a bit of help from my imagination. I also have the Story Cubes, a much more budgeted product, which are cool but have the problem of being a bit too open to interpretation at times. I find these cards are a brilliant middle-ground which have options for "open interpretation" but also some good specific words and ideas which help speed up the content-creation process. For example I tried to think of a random event and I got a location as "Good Planes", which seemed too out-there for my low-level campaign, so instead I decided that the NPC was FROM the good planes - an angel. I also got the keyword "Heartbroken". Immediately I came up with the idea that this angel had fallen in love with a seductive and clever mortal witch who had been seeking power and secrets from the greater planes. So now I have an angel disguised as a mortal, a powerful wizard with secrets from the celestial planes, and a great story to go along with it. Of course the angel doesn't want to corrupt their soul with vengeance, but are struggling with it, so in comes my player! Hasn't played out yet but I look forward to it.

That is just one example, I have used the cards to create a lot of content for my homebrew campaign and they have been so worth the money. I also ended up getting the base, horror and sci-fi decks for future use or playing solo games as I sometimes do that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
I just had to say, that’s one heck of an example! I try not to respond to all reviews individually, but I really appreciate hearing that something that cool came from the cards, and it’s exactly the kind of good news I needed in these pandemic times. Stay safe, and I hope the cards continue to serve you well!
The Deck of Tales
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 12:08:32

I already owned the GMA cards and these are nice supplement to those. They allow for quick reference and more images. I use them to customize foes and features of the environment. I would recommend them to solo players especially. Great product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Deck of Tales
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Sandor A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 10:54:55

If you spend hours browsing writing prompts and imagining all the scenarios in which they would make sense or you got into solo role-playing because playing online doesn't cut it for you and you're not allowed to hang out with your friends because of some virus, you'll appreciate this product. Heck, they're great if you just want to unplug and cruise your imagination for a while too.

The quality of the physical cards is on par with a standard deck of playing cards but since there are 60 of them it's a bit of a fight to get them into a standard-sized box; it works, but it's kind of like your dad trying to wear skinny jeans.

Anyway, these are a good buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Geoffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 16:31:07

Very cool. These cards are perfect tools for inspiration. I bought these to use for both writing prompts as well as playing some tabletop RPGs solo to learn the rules of different systems and these cards fit the bill perfectly. Well worth the price. The print quality on these cards is great too. I'm going to sleeve mine, but even without sleeving, they feel like they'll last a really long time with regular use. I picked up several different genres and I look forward to playing with every one of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2020 16:24:21

I got the fantasy and science fiction decks. The price dropping during this pandemic helped me in deciding to pick these up. Plus I appreciate the gesture of lowering prices to help keep gamers home during these trying times. Shipping was fast and the cards are incredible. I am a very happy dungeonmaster/wannabe writer.

![(https://photos.app.goo.gl/4zZA1nekc8iwzA9L8/)]



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Helen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2020 07:17:04

A beautiful set of cards. This was my first p.o.d purchase from DriveThru and I'm not disappointed (I also bought the Fantasy and Steampunk decks at the same time). The quality of the cards is great, and there are just so many options for new characters, I can't imagine ever running out of ideas. The cards were well packed and shipped quickly, arriving surprisingly quickly to Australia (shipped 30/8 and arrived 16/9). I definitely recommend going for the printed cards!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 17:20:19

I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen. When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.

The one bit of feedback I have on the Fantasy Deck specifically: I feel like all the fantasy illustration makes the content on the cards hard to read. The layout and design of the Base Deck is much more clean and organized. The Base Deck illustration is tastefully done and stays out of the way of the content.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 14:19:55

I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen.

When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

The layout of the information on the base deck is nicely organized and very easy to read because of the fonts used and color scheme.

I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Victoria N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2020 16:17:48

A few weeks ago I bought the cards on PDF and printed to cardstock to try them out. Fantastic! I’ve run DM sessions where I struggled for a name or some sensual observation other than “what you see” and “what you hear”, and these were the perfect answer. Now, some of the sensations/names/etc. are duplicated from deck to deck, but so what? It’s far cooler to pick out the deck that “matches” the theme/genre of the game I am running and I love to support small business and creators. Win win here, folks.

So… I did it. I went ahead and ordered the actual cards. All of the sets.

They are stunning. They’ve got a great weight to them and shuffle so much more easily than cardstock (I know, Captain Obvious here). The printing is crisp and legible, and the little touches on the cards elevate them to a whole new level of coolness.

My only question is: when are you going to create a Film Noir set? Or maybe one with a Greco-Roman history theme? hint hint



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Wow--thanks for the kind words! I hope the cards serve you well! Film Noir and Greco-Roman are interesting suggestions... I'll add those to the list of ideas ;-)
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
by Aaron K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 20:07:29

These cards are beautifully crafted and filled with inspiration, events, details, and more. Just flipping through them gives me ideas for plots and adventures. The cards are also sturdy and well made. I will be using these in my RPGs and writing every time. These are great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 03:24:19

Really useful randomizers. They take some getting used to, but if you use them enough and figure out how they work and how to use them in your games, you could show up to a game session with nothing but a page of notes, this deck and maybe some monster/NPC stats and you can run a dynamic, unpredictable game.

The Genre suppliments, alone solo engine, and universal instructions are well written and thoughtful, although I wish they were a little prettier and more distinctive than just simple black text on white fields. Having each page have a unique look would help with quickly flipping through to find what you're looking for.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 67 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles