DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Masha V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2019 01:28:17

I backed Arcadia on Kickstarter and got the order fulfilled thru Drive Thru RPG.

I am really enjoying Arkadia! It is a very comprehensive greek dnd setting with lots of well balanced classes and items to flesh out your adventures. The art is very good and blends beautifully throughout the book.

This was a great purchase!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Alistair C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 03:50:54

I backed this on Kickstarter.

It was on the smaller scale of a successful RPG on KS so the expectation of this being a "AAA" product in term of size, options and quality is of course tempered by this.

However, the final product is... lacking. Backers were promised a 150 page book and what was delivered was a sub-100 page book. The response being that this is due to a smaller typeface. However the layout and typeface is not smaller than other RPG books out there so...

It's very broad in what it covers but not very deep in its detail. There's 1 page on sea travel and sea encounter/battle mechanics. There's no campaign material. There's no decent map and what's provided is low resolution and low on detail - places to visit, points of interest, capital cities/states etc.

The creator's response to this is that the parts that are low on detail, examples above, are due to being a "token of appreciation" rather than full fledged expanded rules. What this means is that a player as a little bit of something to read but not enough to create.

Others might point to this as an example of "freedom" in that the GM and players are less bound by mechanics and fluff when playing in the world of Arkadia - but what this really means is that there is little to "guide" a player or a GM.

The quality of the print, at least the KS version, is also average at best. Colours appear washed out, i.e. not vibrant. This might be due to the POD process or a choice of aesthetics but either way, it's a little... bland. There are a few great pictures but they're a bright spot in a sea of brown, tan and washed out other colours.

Personally - I've been looking forward to a new Greek themed RPG and was hoping this would be it. Unfortunately I am still searching for a suitable alternative.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Joshua D G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2019 23:57:47

I backed the book on Kickstarter and received fulfillment through DriveThruRPG. The book did not deliver what was promised in the Kickstarter. It was promised to be over 150 pages, and came in at 100. The description and stretch goals suggest there should have been a lot more content that just wasn't there. The most recent Kickstarter update says they are going to be adding a lot of the content that should have been there into the intro adventure for characters levels 1-5, but this seems like a cop out since it should have been in the original book. I would not recommend this product. You would be better off creating your own Greek setting, and looking at free materials online, or OSR bestiaries for monsters and ideas for rules on weapons.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by ronald V. b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2019 15:12:30

this book is incredibly poor, it is like a repumping of the V5. We trade iron with bronze but it is the only true innovation. There are tons of documents about antiquity and we end up with a totally hollow supplement that does not capture the spirit of the time as it can be found in the iliad. A contario if your vision of antiquity is that of Hollywood productions then this product is for you. There is also very little informations to develop a campaign at least in a style different from the classical Medfan. There is also a lack of information on the involvement of the Gods and especially the demi-gods who are an essential component of this era.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2019 07:04:21

Arcana Games delivers a whallop of a punch of new content in just 101 pages. That is right - you get a setting, new races, new classes, new feats, new gear, and new spells all in 101 pages - something that the big kids sometimes need four or five books to fit everything into. The new race variations - Volcano Dwarf being my top pick - and new classes - Barbarian Path of the Hero - are stellar, and do so much to add to even a regular Faerunian set 5e game.

Arkadia could easily be a different plane where players go when they die, or perhaps a lost continent on the other side of Toril. All I am saying is that this book is absolutely worth every penny, and to close, my friend Wiatt was most psyched about their Triton feat which, in his words: "You can actually fight with a trident now and not have it suck."

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Rick V. V. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2019 10:36:26

I joined the Kickstarter as we were making preparations for a Mediterranean adventure. I got the setting and I loved it! I came back for more and was not dissapointed. The music tracks are awesome, I'm loving the flavour they've done with still leaving some parts open for my own inventions. I'm going to delve into the Classes next but I presume it'll be okay. The only thing I've had some trouble with are the feats that I found way to powerful in more than once instance. But that has been worked around with some homebrew adjustments and in two weeks... We'll delve into this theme!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - Music and Ambiance CD
by Rick V. V. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2019 09:53:54

Especially as a musician myself, I appreciate good background tracks in my games. These are incredibly good and fit fine when on repeat. They catch the mood and with the tracks, you have some choice for your favorite dungeon, battle or social encounter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - Music and Ambiance CD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2019 15:25:48

The framework is very solid but I'm left underwhelmed by the amound of material that is absent and necessary for this to be considered a fully fleshed out and stand alone campaign world. If you buy this, prepare to heavily supliment with your own maps, NPCs, plotlines, and story arcs. This resource offers very little in the way of actually preparing you as a DM to deliver the content. Perhaps an adventure in this universe is being planned for future release? It's needed.

It's a wonderful start for anyone who is a Greek Mythology enthusiast AND who wants to get their hands dirty in detailing encounters, adventures, etc. The class and race archetypes are very well written.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2019 01:49:34

This setting brings a lot of uniqueness to the table and the supplement is pretty great because it offers tons of solid worldbuilding elements. There is a lot of information on the setting and the elements of classical Greek mythology have been brought over into the framework of D&D 5E in a very creative manner, allowing other 5E sources like the Player's Handbook to work with the setting seamlessly. The unique flavourful twists on the races, the magic items, monsters and other setting-specific content are paired with some great evocative artwork to create a beautiful and informative book.

If you are looking to bring the wonder and epicness of Greek Mythology to your table, look no further!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 16:48:10

I'm a kickstarter backer, and I've been looking forward to this for several months. Now it's out, and I read through it in about 2 days. It's a really cool setting, I like the background, I like the different city states they've created, and most importantly, it really captures the flavor of Greek myth and is set up well to capture the essential themes of that mythology. I did take away one star because I feel like the world itself could have been fleshed out a bit more - I definitely would have liked more about the various lands and people outside of the major cities themselves. We get some solid information on each of five major city-states (as well as some hints about what lands exist outside Arkadia), but what's around and between them is left as kind of a blank slate. I guess I would have liked perhaps 10-20 pages more detail of the world itself. But for $20, it's absolutely a good buy, and if you are interested in an ancient Greek-inspired world to game in, this is a great resource.

Edit: I'm actually changing my review, and reducing it from 4 stars to 3. I still think this is a good buy, and a good resource, but now that I've had a bit more time to digest it, I think the other complaints about this being bare-bones are legitimate. Don't get me wrong, there's a lot to like here. The way they've incorporated non-human races into the world really works well, for example. And the way the titans are portrayed. But here's the thing - if I really want to run an ancient Greek D&D game (and I very much do), I don't think I can use this on its own. There's a lot of additional work necessary. For one thing, the way the gods are depicted is overly simplified, not only being reduced to 6 in number (a ludicrous reduction from such a wide and varied pantheon), but all the complex relationships between them have been discarded. I realize that this setting is about the age of heroes, but the doings of the gods in antiquity always mattered. Every hero's destiny was shaped because of something the gods did or didn't do. In Arkadia, the gods seem oddly detached. Between that, the aforementioned emptiness of the region outside the cities themselves, and the fact that the lands outside of Arkadia are only barely touched on (they really don't seem like "lived in" places - the Greeks lived in a much larger world than I think the authors give them credit for), I can't deny that I do have some reservations about this product, despite the things I really do love about it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Kevin V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/29/2019 22:20:56

From the makers of Blood & Bone (a masterful low fantasy standalone game), Arkadia places the gods and monsters of ancient Greece into easy reach for a 5th edition campaign. The setting re-homes familiar 5th edition classes and races in a mythical Bronze Age. If you are new to D&D you will still need a 5th Edition D&D players book and Dungeon Masters guide.

in Arkadia you can play as familiar races with a twist: dark elves worshipping a dead worm beneath the sands, orcish legionaires, humans dwelling at the foot of the gods' own mountain. You can even play as gorgons, harpies, sirens, satyrs and centaurs. The unique Phaedran race of hybrids puts an enchanted perspective at the center of player experience, while still being compatible with 5th edition's humanoid-centric rules. Greek gods are transformed in name, but still take their archetypical roles - wisdom, war, underworld and so on. Their all-too human personalities feel especially at home in the Greek setting, and serve to make the Titans that much more unfathomable, ominoua and alien by comparison.

Players will appreciate that this is an approachable and handsome publication, while GMs will like that it plays nice with other 5e resources. The Enchanted Items and Monster lists are well done, and a short section on naval combat expands on what you might be used to from a 5e game. The lore has compelling hooks, and feels cohesively grounded in Greek myth and D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Ingolf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2019 15:55:17

This book has high quality art that is wonderful. That was all the good things I can say about it.

The book has only 100 pages. Since it has many full page or one third of a page illustrations, I say that it is less than 75 pages. So, you'd expect a very crunchy text, but that isn't the case. There are long lists of things like possible names that fill-up pages.

Of the "new" races only the Phaedran seem intersting. The rest is mostly a rebranding of things already out there, but it does not have much flavor. Since there are no backgrounds in the book characters should use the the old ones from the Player's Handbook, but those do not tie into the setting at all. E.g. the Ravnica book did this perfectly. So, your characters are just rebranded versions of the standard fantasy ones.

The monster section was somewhat ok, but there is very little in here and again almost no real hook into the setting.

I thought that probably the setting description will give me more of that mythological Greek setting that is promised, but again everything is on a superficial level.

In summary: no real crunch and no fluff either. For 5 bucks that might be ok, but 20 is almost an insult.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Griffin E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2019 17:52:36

This has much more coherent and succinct descriptions than I'm used to in these kinds of projects. As someone who really just wanted to breath new life into my existing campaigns to keep my players fascinated this is absolutely wonderful. The magical items alone are ridiculously interesting. (I'm already planning on having a "trade ship" arrive in my current campaign to introduce some of these items into the world my players are currently in.) which I'm then going to use as the foreshadowing before they find their way to this new land. Keep up the great work. :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Hegedus G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2019 17:22:45

The design and the illustrations are all wonderfuls, that is fact. Sadly, the book promises much, but give less; basically, this is a highly simplified version of the ancient greek world's feeling. No new backgrounds. The Gods & Titans are dull mirages of the "real" greek gods&titans. (summa 13 page, inculding the settings chapter) The world map is a rough-and-ready sketch: there is only 6 cities, 3 terrain feature and some coarse line of two other landmass. The is only 4 example ships & 3 weapons, but zero instuction how can you use this in a ship-to-ship combat. I backed this project on Kickstarter, but honestly, im deeply disappointed. I can find much more content some free or much cheaper from homebrew author's book. I recommend this work for anybody, who have interest in the ancient, bronze age adventures, but dont like read history or fictional novels/watch movies from the ancient greek era and still want play "something like that".



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Arkadia - The Greek Setting for 5e
by Alexander M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2019 16:43:41

I backed Arkadia since the beginning of the Kickstarter, and this was worth every penny. The team is talented, and I can't wait to see more of what they do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles