DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
by Heidi [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2024 07:39:42

Ran this for my husband over Valentine's weekend as part of an engagement party for two of our characters, and it was great fun. We still play Marquis's Cup on character downtime.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Night of Masks and Monsters (A Requiem of Wings #1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
D&D Solo Adventure: Caught In A Wizard's Web
by John V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2024 06:30:11

I consider this adventure pretty good, but not awesome.

On one hand, I had fun running my character through the adventure. On the other hand, this felt like a product that didn't receive quite as much love by the author as some of the earlier ones. There were a few places that clearly needed an editor's touch.

Also, I don't care for the overuse of the "NO REST UNTIL WE SAY SO" mechanic that seems to pervade solo modules. It feels like an artificial restriction, like a DM saying "no your character can't do that cuz I say so." For example, right before going into the final location (vague to avoid spoilers) it would have been nice to allow the character multiple nights of rest if they needed it. In general, a bit more of an "open world" approach would have made this a much more enjoyable module, even though it had some aspects of that.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Solo Adventure: Caught In A Wizard's Web
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Zodiac Class
by Spencer J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 18:54:14

-Overall, I think this class is another great design by Taron. It both feels fun to play, and I absolutely love the narrative that their magic comes from a cosmic force: conduits to the inivere’s will. Such a unique way for an individual to be able to harness the power of magic, it’s awesome! -Looking at the base class itself, really solid stuff here. I was definitely a bit concerned at first, seeing the spellcasting being VERY similar to warlock’s pact magic, but I quickly changed my mind once I read “Ritual Apotelesma.” The idea of being able to cast any Zodiac divination spell as a ritual, regardless if it normally is one, is genius. Not only does that greatly tie into real-world beliefs of reading the stars and constellations for divine prophecy, but it also encourages you to try out some divination spells you normally wouldn't want to try having such limited spell slots. Not to mention the cool mechanic where by casting a divination ritual you can change what cantrip you know, further encouraging you to cast divine spells this way to change up your cantrip playstyle, it's really great fun! I’m also a big fan of this class’ version of mystic arcanum: while it works the same in deciding the level you can cast a 6th, 7th, 8th, and 9th level spell, what makes it different is that you ignore any requirements needed to normally cast the spell. Want to cast Geotag but dont have the 1sp map you need to cast it? No worries, cosmic will just allow you to do it. Great way to keep it in line with warlock spell progression, but still make it feel unique. -The other base class feature focus the zodiac gets is their celestial transformation. Giving off Sailor Moon/Saint Seiya vibes, as a bonus action you transform into an avatar of the cosmic will, giving you some cool benefits. Benefits which only improve depending on the subclass you picked. -And speaking of subclasses, boy are the ones here really interesting! Based on constellations from both Tarot and common constellations in fantasy, Taron has made some fun options to pick from! You’ve got your martial and ranged options, Sign of the Dragon and Archer respectively, your healer in Sign of the Chalice, your sort of backliner/blaster option with Sign of the Lantern, and Sign of the palm comes off as both a controller and an excellent exploration choice (what with the multiple mage hand you can summon). -This also goes without saying, but Maxwell Polikoff once again knocked the artwork out of the park. The images are so colorful and evocative, it really gives off this celestial vibe. Personally, Sign of the Lantern is my favorite piece: I loved the idea of a light-focused subclass belonging to this little shift guy covering his face and body. Fantastic art to go with a fantastic class!

-Now, having said all that, there are some personal gripes I have with the class. Specifically, the layout/layout writing. Some of the writing within this class feels like it was a bit rushed and not thoroughly looked through. For example: every subclass gets at 1st level an upgrade to their constellar alignment feature: when you pick the constellation (and therefore cantrip), you also get the constellation and cantrip that belongs to the subclass you picked. But the wording between each subclass is never consistent. Some subclasses, like Palm or Dragon, say that “you are always aligned to [specific subclass], in addition to the chosen constellation”, while others like Chalice or Lantern say “when you use Constellar Alignment to align yourself with a constellation, you are also aligned to the [specific subclass].” For me there’s this weird narrative disconnect between the subclasses, where some Star Sign you are always connected to: it is a part of who you are, while others are just an additional bonus with your other constellar alignment. What they do mechanically is fine: they both allow you to essentially have 2 different cantrips at once, but narrative is just as important to a class as mechanics. Or how every subclass calls and refers to the 1st class feature as “Constellar Alignment”, but the actual feature itself is called “Constellar Exaclation,” and the table for that feature is “Constellation Alignment.” There is no consistency. -As for more of a layout issue: there’s small things like the Feats and Spells description just copied from the Dancer class, but the big one for me is the spells. The spells within this class seem to be all over the place, and it makes it really frustrating to figure out what the Zodiac does and doesn’t know. For example, the class itself states that you know the Astrology cantrip, and then depending on your constellation alignment you know either the Luminous Arrow, Give Life, Guidance, Minor illusion, Light, Prediction, or Friends cantrip. But then way at the bottom of the doc in the Spell Description, for the list of spells, the cantrips Speak True, Star Streak, and Vortex Dart say that it can be learned by the Zodiac. But there is nowhere anywhere else within the class itself that states how you would even get access to them. The Zodiac does not have a naturally known number of cantrips like most spellcasters, they only get ones based on the constellation. One of cantrips within the Spell Description, Star Streak, is a Zodiac only spell, which means that as it's written there is no way to actually use the spell at all. Then there’s things like within the Spell Description saying that the 1st level spell Nothing Well is a spell Zodiac can learn. But then you look at the Zodiac Spell List earlier in the class, and Nothing Well is not there: it's not on the list. So is Nothing Well a zodiac spell it can learn, or not? And then there’s things like the spell Healing Spirit not clarifying that it’s a Xanathar’s Guide to Everything spell, not the Player’s Handbook, or the spell Quarry’s Mark not properly giving credit to OAP (as that was the team who designed that spell). Don’t get me wrong, most of the class is pretty good at making sure to acknowledge the creators of additional spells for the Zodiac, but not seeing the proper credit for Quarry’s Mark makes me wonder if another spell or two might have accidentally been missed.

-Again, overall this is a really cool class addition to 5e. The Zodiac feels like a unique fullcaster with enough interesting mechanics to its spellcasting and its celestial transformation to stand out from the other official fullcasters in the game, while also having a really cool narrative of being destined by the cosmos to represent them and their will. But the lack of consistency between wording on the features and the confusion when it comes to the spells are what are going to give this class only 3 out of 5 stars for me. Hopefully, if Taron does the Sign of the Twins and Sign of the Sphinx subclasses my critiques on the layout will be fixed, and then this will indeed be a 5 out of 5 class to play!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Zodiac Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Beckoning Road: Varlo's Guide to the Cities of the Unapproachable East
by B C C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 17:38:01

Bravo! We finally get to see George and Eric put out a mega-sized Forgotten Realms book ... and they do not disappoint. This book is leagues above WotC's & TSR's F.R. work in all aspects - art, format, maps & detailed lore accuracy. The content is truly evocative and lush. What a great bedtime read in addition to being a neccessary lore addition to your F.R. world as well!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Beckoning Road: Varlo's Guide to the Cities of the Unapproachable East
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Talona's Touch: Poisons of the Forgotten Realms
by B C C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 16:57:03

When you think of top-tier Realmslore Authors, George Krashos is right there up with Ed Greenwood. This small PDF is a classic example of that. Really, all of George's work here on DM's Guild (along with his sometimes partner, Eric L. Boyd) is the cream of the crop when it comes to Forgotten Realms lore that will absolutely enrich your F.R. game by tenfold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Talona's Touch: Poisons of the Forgotten Realms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Vines of Wrath - A Mini-game for the Wizard of Wines Encounter in the Curse of Strahd
by Don R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 12:44:43

This is an interesting redesign of an otherwise boring encounter and you can tell that the author put a lot of work into it. Unfortunately it is very confusing in its organization. The markups that indicate what is to be read to the players are not always there. There is reference to an optional phase, but it's very confusing how to implement it and when. The document requires a LOT of jumping around and searching through pages to find information that is not where it would make sense to be.

I am also worried that it is very overpowered for a group of 5th level players. There are several tough battles in a row, with time pressures that don't allow for short rests.

I think that Mr. Chalmers has great ideas and is very creative, he just needs some assistance in organizing his ideas in a way that is easy for the reader to assimilate.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Vines of Wrath - A Mini-game for the Wizard of Wines Encounter in the Curse of Strahd
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
I appreciate the feedback & thank you for buying the add-on. Any confusion in organization is likely due to my wanting to offer two ways to play: one that stays as close as possible to the module, and a second that deviates from the Wizard of Wines storyline in significant ways (but I think is a more satisfying explanation to the many inconsistencies in RAW). I've tried to separate these as clearly as I can, but it seems perhaps not enough. As for the challenge, I created it for my CoS group of 5 fifth-level players and it was challenging but survivable - of course, especially with the first encounter, there's randomness involved. That said, the DM should feel free to adjust encounter difficulty (such as the # of mobs or by adding potions of healing, etc) to compensate for their table makeup. If you run it, I hope you find a nice balance! I would be interested in hearing more of your concerns - I always appreciate feedback & try and incorporate it into revisions to make my games better. If you are unable to message me through DMG, then please ping me on reddit! (u/SwimmingOk4643). Look forward to hearing from you!
pixel_trans.gif
Tolkienesque-Historical Adventures in 5e
by George [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 12:38:11

This is excellent! It's short and to the point, and is a perfect resource for playing D&D 5e in low-magic settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tolkienesque-Historical Adventures in 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Planescape: Metropolis
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 11:39:51

This is a masterclass adventure. The timing was perfect for my group. They recently finished the Fortune's Wheel casino and were about to go into the outlands when 2 of our players had to cancel for our next session. As the DM, I had to scramble to find an appropriate one-shot that would be fun and also still fit within the campaigh. Metropolis delivered on all fronts. It's incredibly well-produced. Although you can do it in 1 long session, it sorta lends itself more naturally to a 2-session adventure.

Highly recommended for anybody planning 5E adventures in Sigil, even if you're not doing the ToFW campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Planescape: Metropolis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
SJ-DC-MAD-01 Madjammer Nightmare Dome
by William T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 08:51:59

This is a well-written adventure covering all three pillars of gameplay. I liked how there was plenty of guidance on how to run the challenges/encounters with respect to the three pillars and suggestions on player actions. This makes the module easy to run as written; definitely a plus point for DMs!

For the gameplay, my players generally enjoyed it. I found it to be a fast-paced and engaging adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SJ-DC-MAD-01 Madjammer Nightmare Dome
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Storm Over Purple Rocks
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 08:18:19

I found a lot of use for this module.

In general, there is surprisingly little information available about the Purple Rocks, despite the fact that it is a fairly important location in Storm King's Thunder (SPOILERS: it's near the Purple Rocks where Slarkrethel's minions are keeping King Hekaton).

I was interested in expanding the Purple Rocks as a more detailed location for my PCs to investigate as they were searching for Hekaton, and so I picked this module up as a source of inspiration and information for planning my adventures.

As such, it's important to note that I didn't run this adventure as written and primarily used it to help me plan my own material. However, I used some of the included NPCs and read through everything. In short, I found the module to be a really nice contained adventure....cool ideas and a cool pseudo-Lovecraft feel. Also, some cool artwork and maps. Neat ideas.

The only contstructive comment I'd make is that the hag's motivation felt a tiny bit lacking. At the same time, enough information is provided about her role to either come up with your own way for her to relate to the story -or- create your own "villian" for that part of the adveture.

Regardless, I thank the person who created this content for posting it on the DMs guild. It helped me work through my own homebrew content and I really appreciate that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Storm Over Purple Rocks
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
by Josh K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 08:00:39

This is really an absolute must for anyone interested in what is arguably the most famous library in Faerun. Essentially, this includes all of the source information I was hoping the WOTC book "Candlekeep Mysteries" would have included, but didn't. (note: Candlekeep Mysteries includes some cool adventures, which mostly don't take place in the library, and some source material for the library itself.....but I was really hoping for more detailed information on this location over new adventures).

Anyways, this companion includes content for both players and DMs, but it's the latter I'm really interested in. In that regard, the companion doesn't disappoint. Lots of cool details about various locations within this massive library and these provide plenty of inspiration for creating adventures. The companion also comes with a really nice overall map of Candlekeep.

Basically, I can't come up with a reason why anyone interested in Forgotten Realms wouldn't find value in this resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elminster's Candlekeep Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Xem’s Guide to Exploration
by Tom [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/03/2024 06:08:13

Overwritten, random collection of ideas which are variously trite or underdeveloped. Claims to be about exploration but full of player-authored worldbuilding which undercuts that pillar. Makes grandiose claims that it doesn't deliver on - "Connections create goals", but they aren't goals, they're post-facto NPCs.

We could use a dozen pages of discussion of world design around Zones - we get one-half page that's oversimplified & doesn't integrate well with everything that follows. Then we get something like six pages of "Travel Roles", which there are already many implementations of for 5e; it's not clear how this one stands out from the others.

It reintroduces skill challenges, which took a lot of discussion and examples to make work well in 4e, but doesn't do that work. There's a bit of "extraordinary actions" that seem unrelated to everything else in the document.

Filler text "in character", meant to be humorous, particularly with a heavy-handed accent, makes me wish I could give 0 stars.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Xem’s Guide to Exploration
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Halflings & Hops: Gazetteer of Luiren
by Gelcur G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2024 21:39:52

I went in wanting to like this product, who doesn't like some good Halfling fun? I was not disappointed.

The product is well formated and the style and art is very consistent throughout, very polished. I will say the font is annoying, some letters are clipped at the bottom? The letter i on one line will have the bottom serif and the next line its cut off. The maps are nice. The key for the Willownook is on the same page as the map, in a digital format that is nice plus.

There is a good bit of usable lore in here, especially if you just want to jump into running a quest. Plot hooks and sidebars with extra tidbits. I would have liked more on Halfling cuisine, especially meals. As a DM I would have liked to have, populations on villages/towns/cities along with % demographics, as well as brief abbrievated stat blocks for named NPCs.

It would also be nice if the villages of Willownook and Applebrook had a short summary to begin with telling me, imports, exports, economy, or other things to help me portray a place. I gleamed that Willownook is known for apples and honey but not till much later to do I see they have a bustling dock. Willownook's Culture and Society section read very generic Halfling. Applebrook is stated multiple times as being a succesful quickly growing new settlement but no real details were given. There is also a typo on page 41 of the Lazy Cat Inn that says Willownook and I'm guessing it means Applebrook.

Willownook includes a short blurb on each of the different Halfling families that's a nice bonus. And it worth repeating all the areas have just enough meat on them to grab and flesh out into side quest or a full adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Halflings & Hops: Gazetteer of Luiren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Masters of the Mundane: A Collection of Character Classes for Low-Magic Settings
by Evan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2024 13:28:14

Play tested- incredible. Thoughtfully crafted classes supported by an excellent understanding of the core balance and mechanics of the game. Each class brings something very special without being out of balance with existing classes or enemies.

Must have for any group looking for balanced character options and extended player choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Masters of the Mundane: A Collection of Character Classes for Low-Magic Settings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Blue Alley
by Marcin B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/02/2024 10:37:27

Really fun adventure to run, and due to it's gimmick quite easy to slot in to existing campaigns. Had to adapt one of the puzzles since it depends on specific words and I'm running my games in another language, but most of the rooms worked well as written. Players enjoyed it and it was a great addition to our Waterdeep Dragon Heist campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blue Alley
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 28414 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles