DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Talisman of the Dark Sorrow
by Søren S. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 11:08:40

Good little adventure with nice rumour table, clear descriptions and a couple of memorable NPCs. It could use a small map, but easy to create yourself from other sources. But... why this Adventure is called "Talisman of the Dark Sorrow" is beyond me? It's not featured in the adventure, mentioned or otherwise. Solid 4 stars even though!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Talisman of the Dark Sorrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Nightmares - A One Shot Adventure
by Shawna C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 10:03:59

This was the first thing I ever DMed and they absolutely loved it! Everything I needed was within it, it was easy for me to run. There was one small hiccup that I ran into, but that was me not reading something correctly. I would absolutely suggest running this for either a break in a campaign or as a one shot.

10/10, do recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nightmares - A One Shot Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Nesme & The Tomb of Yurtrus
by lukas d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 08:58:25

great work. realy good for just starting groups or starting DMs. I may even go as far as to say its better than the starter set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nesme & The Tomb of Yurtrus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Brewski Jubilee
by Kenneth C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 08:29:35

A lovingly crafted romp, packed full with heart and panache.

Plays easily in under 4hrs, tons of non-combat action and room for player shenanigans.

I'd recommend this fantastic downtime adventure for any group!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Brewski Jubilee
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Legendary Hunts: Coastal Encounters
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 07:56:16

A huge assortment of monsters that goes into extreme detail with quests and rewards. Love the sea shanties! I especially love that the monsters come with "greater" and "lesser" versions to throw at your parties of varying levels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legendary Hunts: Coastal Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Treasure of One Armed Jack
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2020 07:53:33

This adventure is really well crafted and easily adaptible. It was incredibly fun to see play out and everything tied together really well (although my party immediately killed the parrot so it was a bit more difficult to give them hints) good laughs, good adventures, good stories. Lots of fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Treasure of One Armed Jack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Essentials: Sidekick Sheets
by patrick m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 21:11:07

First of it's kind and solid enough. so i give it a 5/5



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Essentials: Sidekick Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Armaments of Legacy
by Kyla M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 20:51:50

I really enjoyed this book! I loved the array of magic items offered, but I wish they had given some examples of quests that could be completed that would grant the increase in power instead of just increasing in level. Overall, the design of the content is excellent, and I would gladly read a part two!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Armaments of Legacy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Puzzle Master
by Kyla M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 20:48:56

This was such a blast to playthrough, and I can't wait to use these puzzles in my own campaigns! A clever variety of puzzles laid out in a way that is easy to understand and work through. It really feels like being in an escape room.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzle Master
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Zuilin's Whisper Windows for FGU
by Derek S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 17:23:12

I am overjoyed to have this extension in my lineup. My players frequently whisper me and I always have a hard time making sure I don't miss them. The windows here are clear, legible, and make my life as a DM with players who like to keep some secrets easy!

Thank you for your hard work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zuilin's Whisper Windows for FGU
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
You're most welcome. I'm glad you like it and find it useful!
The Turkey Snatcher
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 12:13:08

Overall, I really liked this one-shot, and so did my players. I'm of the opinion that this is probably the best Thanksgiving one-shot on DMsGuild, certainly for this level of characters. I'll do my best to review the one-shot and donate to the creator (Elven Tower).

I ran this for my party of four level 6 characters, with a pretty decent balance to the party dynamics: a Wizard, Barbarian, Druid, and Monk. I think the optimized party will color the nature of my review, so just take it into account.

What I liked:

  • The lore was fun and engaging, enough mystery to make the reveal meaningful, but still funny because it's a founding father.
  • The rooms were well-planned,
  • It comes with its own map.
  • All the enemies have corresponding stat blocks in the Monster Manual. This was super helpful for running the campaign.

Problems and Suggestions:

  • The map wasn't transparent, which made it pretty hard to run on Roll20. I ultimately found a website to make it transparent, but even it needed a lot of work to align with the squares on Roll20 due to being hand-drawn. The map could also be spruced up a little bit, but it is a free product, so I was happy to do the work myself.

  • This adventure was fun but definitely easy for my players. It wasn't hard for them to evade the mimics, defeat the 3 carrion crawlers, and fight off the gargoyles. Also, and this was kind of my fault for token placement, but the barbarian was able to walk right in between the two Turkey Golems to Ben Franklin and cheese him (he rolled a Nat 20 on initiative, so it took two turns, but happened before anything else). I don't know how they would've faired against the mage, but the Turkey Fey that was summoned (which I called The Great Gobbler) was a decent challenge.

  • There is a fork in the map where the players can choose between three rooms: one with nothing, one with some turkeys to rescue, and one that will effectively be the final boss and end the one-shot; there is nothing in the manual to pull the adventurers to explore the other areas, or even warn them that they're walking into the final boss. I had a carrion crawler drop from the ceiling and drag one PC to the first room, but they didn't explore the area enough to find the entrance to the Underdark. They never found the penultimate room, choosing instead to go stop the ritual. DMs might want to plan for ways to draw your PCs into these extra rooms.

  • The entrance to the Underdark was something I left in, and though ultimately futile in light of what my characters decided to do, I didn't want to provide them an opportunity to walk into the Underdark totally unscripted. DMs will have to find a way to railroad your players away from this; my version was a magical mist emerging from the portal, toxic to humanoids. It would have dissipated with the end of the ritual.

  • Many of the monsters the party fight have pretty low AC and don't hit PCs super well. It's fine, though; they're meant to be fodder to tire out the party up to the final boss. However, and this is more of a complaint with Wizards of the Coast, the "challenge" comes down to repeatedly bashing a low-power monster to chunk away at its HP until it finally dies. The gargoyles were especially tedious; there's four of them in a small room, and though they hardly scratched my party, it was time-consuming for my players to weedle them down (plus, four enemies means 8 turns per round, which adds up). I don't see this as a problem with the one-shot, but DMs might want to keep it in mind.

TL;DR Great adventure, very simple. Some work with Roll20, and DMs looking to run this might want to see my suggestions above. Easy for an focused group of four level 6 PCs, but still fun and worth the work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Turkey Snatcher
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Puzzles, Predicaments, and Perplexities III
by Dave M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 11:40:17

This is actually pretty cool. You can tell the authors put a lot of thought into making each challenge unique. I love the plug-and-play aspect of these puzzles too- lots of options to customize it and weave it into your own adventure. The two adventures they provide are a nice touch (Duck/Canard is awesome).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Puzzles, Predicaments, and Perplexities III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Character Sheets Modular
by Kelsey W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 10:01:25

I cannot rate this character sheet highly enough. Organizing skills by Ability score? Yes, please! Spaces for Exhaustion levels and Death Saving Throws? Absolutely. Spell slot and Ki/Sorcerer point tracker? On the same page as my stats? YES, YES, YES! I can no longer stand even looking at the default Character Sheets. My players love these as well, and they really like the inventory tracking sheets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Sheets Modular
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Soth's Accursed Journal
by Danielle P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2020 08:16:12
There is so much me and my playgroup love: we love the toxicologist and making poison matter, we loved that the elementalist lets you choose an element AND an archetype, but having two trans people, we loved the Monstral the most! Representation matters! Being acknowledged to exist just feels good.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Soth's Accursed Journal
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Lamenting Lighthouse
by Dylan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2020 18:06:00

This was an excellent module to run, overall. The scenario is full of intrigue and was easy to adapt to a homebrew setting. I would only caution DMs to be extra wary with lower level parties.

I ran this for my party of five level five PC's, who are generally tougher than average. Having found that the total XP of the encounters well exceeded their daily threshhold, however, I made a number of changes. Both bosses I adjusted down to CR 9, including reducing the health more than suggested, and lowering the damage output for the wight significantly. I also removed the eels and made the hag friendly by default. Even with the changes and the dice on their side, the party ended up within a round of wiping. This was great for the tension, but relying solely on the APL guidelines would have led to drastically different session results.

The biggest change I would suggest to anyone running it regardless of level is to rework Sally's initial response to the party. Players are generally not prone to deescalation, even when presented with the opportunity. So I would instead have her respond with frightened surprise or an attempt to hide rather than open hostility. This gives the party a better chance to get information out of her, and still affords to ability for a fight to break out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Lamenting Lighthouse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20386 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles