DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Z-LAND: The Survival Horror RPG
by Damoclese C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2018 12:50:51

Z-Land is not your typical zombie apocalypse. The infection is not some ambiguous virus left to the reader's imagination, it is a fully fleshed out contagion with a history and explanation of how exactly it takes over it's host in gritty and horifying detail. The sickness will take over your still-living body and force you to charge after and consume the nearest source of flesh, human or animal. The terror does not end when you die, this pathogen will bring back your corpse as shambling, rotting a marionette, and these are only a fraction of the horror that humanity will face in the years and decades after The Longest Night.

Z-Land has three separate eras, the first goes by a million names names: Z-day, the apocalypse, the day the world died. It will rip your character from their normal everyday life and throw them into a nightmare of survival. The second era is a decade and a half after that fatefull night, a time when everyone has given up the pipe-dream of returning the world to the way it was 15 years ago. The cities have been reclaimed, but by the most rutheless and horrific dregs of society who have remade them in their own twisted image. For those who still retain their freedom among the countryside, along the old roads, or even underground, there are pale terrors that haunt the night. The third era is 150 years later when there are none still alive who remember the way the world was. The heinous next stage in human evolution have conqured the broken concrete shells of humanity's cities, the last homo sapiens finding refuge in the forest, underground, or on the oceans. It is a world that none today would recognize, and it is up to you to find out if this is the start of humanity's resurgence, or the last gasp of a dying world.

The game uses the lean and mean Sigil System also used in Stormforge Productions' other game The Runed Age, modified and beefed up to include hunger, thirst, exhaustion, and everything else a post-apocalypse survivor needs to suffer.

What lines would you cross in the name of survival? How far are you willing to go to see the next sunrise? At the end of the day there is only one objective...

...don't get bit...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Z-LAND: The Survival Horror RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Z-LAND: The Survival Horror RPG
by Jason O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 12:54:39

If you are looking for a system to play a Apocalyptic / Zombie type of world , this is the product you have been looking for. It has stripped down the verbose and confusing aspects of (AFMBE , Dead Reign , End of the World ETC ETC)

I have found running with this rule set has simplified running a game and feedback from players has been nothing but positive. The added bonus is having the content from the YouTube run game to see how it works in actions.

Looking forward to supplements and wish the designers nothing but good luck on this project going forward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Haunt
by Canyon A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2018 22:56:37

I love a good horror mystery. Being able to roleplay in one is one of my favourite things to do. Haunt allows you to create in-depth characters with friends. Solving puzzles, figuring out secrets, and ultimately putting a stop to the haunt. It's amazing! Searching for clues, braving a spooky scary location, and interrogating people. There's no combat, Just your deductive reasoning, and the choices you make. I would HIGHLY recommend this game to anyone who loves to roleplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Haunt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Rune Cards
by ian o. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2017 08:43:37

These were really fun. I use them to give to players, but I also used one for Lost Mines of Phandelver for the shrine in the main town. I used it as a kind of substory quest, originating from the shrine and connecting to the banshee encounter.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rune Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Z-Land Beta Document
by Juhell G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 13:58:08

I've Spent a long time Speculating pen and paper sessions but I never really crossed into the realm of actually playing one, and Z-Land has inspired me to gm my first game. Its Highly customizable even at the beta level with Clear set of rules that can account for any situation in game, and with a promise of more to come I'm sold on the idea of Z-Land



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Z-Land Beta Document
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Z-Land Beta Document
by Bradly C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2017 13:45:37

So far so good i've played it a few times and i like it..



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Runed Age Corebook
by Jesse C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2016 20:56:13

(META: This review has been created to be first posted on www.reddit.com/r/RPGReviews, sister sub to www.reddit.com/r/RPGDesign. RPGDesign is a “gathering place for anyone, either casually or professionally, designing, hacking, or otherwise working with the mechanics of pen-and-paper tabletop RPGs.” We at RPGDesign are a “non-denominational” group of designers who are passionate about role playing games. To help promote the projects and creations of our members, we are endeavoring to offer critiques and reviews of the creations of r/RPGDesign contributors.)

Game Review: The Runed Age

This is a review of the RPG Game “The Runed Age”, published by Stormforge Productions, written and by Izak Tait, co-produced by Scott Andrews. The Runed Age PDF is around 310 color pages and includes a beginner “adventure”. The book as some good art works in it, but not a whole lot.

The Runed Age is about fighting and intrigue in an Enlightenment-era type of world where magic is a skill that anyone can learn. Apparently, the secrets of magic are known and codified into Runes. And literally everyone, from every background, knows how to use some Runes. Of course, it’s not utopia… that would be boring. Runes need to be powered. They can be powered slowly with other forms of energy… which need to be generated. They can be powered with blood… which is not practical for most people. And they can be powered with a special magical plutonium metal called “Orichalcum.” And that metal is rare. So yeah… there is rarity in this world even if everyone can purify their own water, start magical campfires and create materials out of thin air.

Recently in this world, a Rune which produces electricity was discovered. Which means that now there is a hole lot of crazy R&D work going on to utilize the new Rune to make interesting devices to kill each other with.

The intro story and many of the fiction works in this game are “pulpy”, but nicely written and engaging. These stories paint a picture of a morally ambiguous world were technology and magic come together. However, this book is written to be understandable to players new to the game.

In many ways I feel like this is an RPG of the Japanese manga Full Metal Alchemist (no… not anime / manga feel… I’m talking about the world setting), with magic and new magic-powered technologies, in a diverse late-Enlightenment world where old institutions will change because of the new technologies. It’s like a “steam-punk” world without they actual steam, but otherwise similar aesthetics. I do wish there was more art that showed more pictures of the world instead of character art. That would help us understand the feeling a little bit more.

The Runed Age uses the Sigil system created for this game. The system seems to be a pretty typical d100, roll under system. This is nothing new, but it is my feeling that this type of system works well for gritty, possibly tactical games that have specialized weapons and specialized characters. It’s simple in concept, yet has a science-fiction-y feel… like a more tactical yet cleaner version of Call of Cthulhu. But the system is not exactly a D100 Basic Role Playing (BRP) game. There are no levels and now classes. There are not as many skills as in other BRP games. Hit locations are determined by reversing the digits on the to-hit roll. Damage is determined by comparing the different between the degrees of success of the attackers and defenders rolls. This is straight forward, yet it does require doing some math.

Character generation is like old Traveller. Lots of tables to generate an extensive and detailed character history. You can pick any background you want – supposedly all the background combinations are balanced. But I think it would be fun to plan out my age then roll 10 tables to determine a detailed past history (which also determines my starting skill levels).

The magic system of The Runed Age is somewhat unique. “ Runes are drawn, etched, carved, painted, sculpted, etc. and then energy is put into them, and then they work. If you think of the more traditional games and media you have seen magic in, the runic arrays here are more like enchantments and magical traps. BUT, unlike your more traditional media, you can do anything you want with the arrays … From fireblasts to blood draining swords to hoverboards (ashamedly yes, really) the only limitation to what you can do with the runes is your own imagination.”

A type of graphic runic language, or Rune-HTML, which players need to learn to create runes (and every character can do this). It’s cool, but requires players really learn it. The Runes are both enchantments and also special powers which the playe can use. I think it may seem to be a hassle to learn the actual runes, but once you do so, it looks very cool and is not difficult. Not to mention, as the game is called The Runed Age, actually writing down the runes helps visualize what the characters are doing.

Magic is handled by either using blood (ie. player health) or using Sigals, which are like Fate points but only power runic arrays. Sigals are gained by narrative mechanics… “GM Intrusions” which are a little like Compels in FATE. So it is a very flexible system, and, in my opinion, offers a balance between traditional and modern RPG styles.

In Summary:

This looks to be a fun game. As I like class-less, level-less systems more than systems derived from The Most Popular RPG in the World… and like traditional style games more than “story creation” games, this is something I would be happy to play. I really like the free-form magic system. If you particularly like steampunk or alternate technology settings set in a European 17th – early 20th century setting, I think this is a great game to try out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Runed Age Corebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Runed Age Corebook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 15:21:53

I'm nust going to say that most of me and my cousin's fun came with creating are carters. There were a few spelling errors in it but you got what the book was saying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles