DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Star System: Every Star A Destination
by Justin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2020 16:19:35

What an absolute delight. If you've a fan of classic d6 Space Fantasy adventures this will scratch an itch you may not have even known you had. Visually, it's like looking at a book you forgot you owned. I'm tempted to pull my Star Wars rulebooks off the shelf and give this a try. I hope we get more books in the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star System: Every Star A Destination
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star System: Every Star A Destination
by Michael R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2020 02:09:39

Great work by a mix of writers presents a ship load of world building scenarios with all the back story you need as a games master. Good for experienced GMs and those just starting out. Clear turning points and structure to help you keep your gaming group asking when the next session will be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star System: Every Star A Destination
by Dean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2020 10:27:04

An all star cast of authors from a long time ago have done a cracking job in bringing some new material life that is reminiscent of the instant adventures and classic adventures books from WEG. There's an adventure in there for everyone and if you liked the style and content of the aforementioned WEG books, then this is for you. The printed copy is really good and overall I think it's good value with a similar price point (inflation adjusted) and production value for WEG books from back in the day. The authors played a huge role in bringing my favourite universe and roleplaying game alive and I really hope this is the start of something and not just a one off. Thank you and I look forward to the next one.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Far West: Amble's Map
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2020 18:10:55

It's not a bad map. It really isn't. But it's also not a good map. And it's also a frustrating and disappointing map.

This map was designed to support the Far West role-playing game that was kickstarted in 2011. As of this writing (in September of 2020), that RPG still has not been released (and Kickstarter backers haven't received an update in more than a year).

This map is difficult to read - the yellow background and the "fold lines" add character, but drastically decrease readability. It's also not even a little bit printer-friendly (and no printer-friendly option is available).

I won't say the setting is impossibly large, because the map's area looks to be about the same size as the continent of Asia is in the real world. Only without oceans creating boundaries. If I'm reading the scale correctly, "Thousand Mesas" alone is larger than the US, much less the "Wild West" that is half of the genre this game is going to theoretically attempt to replicate the feel of once it (eventually) exists.

And yes - the map says "Back East - to the Empire" along the Eastern edge of the map. Which implies that this is a small part of a much larger setting. So maybe it is impossibly huge.

There area few plot hooks scattered here-and-there "Yaebron wood may be purchase here," it says at one point near the far North edge of the map. "Said to be a Mountain Clan stronghold," says another spot just South. A lot of the names are also somewhat evocative - "Eldaire" is marked as "City of Blades," for example. But without context, a lot of the names are just so much gibberish. And many many towns don't even have names, just anecdotes. "Marvelous saloon here," for example. Or "Very recently founded" (which I find interesting, as there is a rail line to that last one).

The fact that this was designed for a specific genre-spanning game means it's not going to be useful as a "generic" map for any other game. Unless you're running a hybrid Wuxia-Western game, in which case you probably have enough imagination that you don't need to use someone else's map. Or can find another usable map online for free.

All in all? Save your money. If you like the RPG (should it ever be published), then maybe you'll find this map worthwhile. But, without a game to support, this is just a weird little map that does no-one any good.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Far West:  Amble's Map
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2020 15:12:42

As other reviewers have said, these are great cards, both in appearance and usefulness. I'll just add that I've only found one that doesn't work with SWADE, a card that allows the player to trade bennies for XP. Which is a testament to the excellent design work that went into these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Deck (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Chad W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2019 22:32:03

Adamant seems to be in hibernation, which is a real shame, especially since Triple Ace has gone to another ruleset. That means that those of us who love pulp and weirdness AND Savage Worlds don't have much other than aging Thrilling Tales stuff to rely upon. Thrilling Tales is great, don't get me wrong, but it desperately needs a SWADE update, better layout and more consistent art. I still give it Five Stars because it's the best thing going for those of us who still listen to The Shadow and I Love a Mystery in our cars. There is no better compendium for running a Weird Pulp SW campaign. But seriously Adamant folks, throw us a bone here, give us an updated Thrilling Tales.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Star System (#1) - Intro & Generator
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2019 18:42:08

It's not really a product. It's more a short list of things you might find in a sci-fi setting. However, it has a random plot generator table that is pretty cool, and, you can easily translate it into other settings and genres.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star System (#1) - Intro & Generator
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

zThe Sword of Gaia
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2019 18:34:00

I wish I had more to say about this, but I don't and now it's gone.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
zThe Sword of Gaia
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

zThe Heart of Darkness
by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2019 18:31:18

Heart of Darkness is a campaign setting and playing aid for Dreamwalker: Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams and Dreamwalker: Diceless Roleplaying in the Land of Dreams. It has no stats, not crunch, it's just fluff, descriptions of the kingdom of malice. It can easily converted to be used in many other occult settings, like Mage, Unknown Armies, etc. and is short and to the point.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
zThe Heart of Darkness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Time Bomb
by David J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2019 01:04:58

The idea that a new nuclear power would have a big enough stockpile to mount a nuclear exchange capable of devastating the entire world is something I'd probably balk at as a player. In a lot of ways it would be better to stick with Russia. But the idea of future versions of established campaign characters coming back to kill a PC to keep them from starting World War III has a lot of appeal. There are no battle maps. The artwork is kind of random with only some of the characters illustrated while other pictures appearing to be generic superhero/villain images. I found myself wondering "Is that Dryad? No, it's a man."



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Time Bomb
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
by Jim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 08:29:06

This conversion guide is now somewhat dated. The guide was released in 2007 (11 years ago as I write this). That's right about when Evil Hat started using Fate (the word) instead of FATE (the acronym). More to the point, it's 6 years before Fate Core and Fate Accelerated were released, and it's when d20 3.5 was the latest d20 release.

The guide is most useful if you're converting from d20 Modern to Spirit of the Century. It has you create up to 10 aspects, just as you'd get for a player character in SotC. It maps d20 Modern skills to SotC skills.

If you're not specifically converting from d20 Modern to SotC, this guide won't do much for you. You'll have to come up with your own skill mappings. The Fate "aspect economy" in Core and Accelerated would have you create no more than 5 aspects instead of 10. You'd come up with your own conversions for creating stress tracks. You could still use the guide's conversions from d20 ability modifiers to levels on the Fate ladder. The guide already suggests that you create Fate stunts from scratch instead of trying to convert anything to stunts, so that guidance can still be applied to newer editions of Fate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FREE d20 to FATE Conversion Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 08:26:52

A great product if you are bored with normal fantasy and want some rayguns as well. This is clearly in the classic John Carter / Flash Gordon pulp science fantasy tradition and it does it extremely well. Lots of good setting background and a very good Plot Point campaign. Artwork is getting a little dated, but it's still very playable.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MARS: Savage Worlds Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Thrilling Tales Adventure Omnibus (Savage Worlds)
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 08:24:13

If you like 30s pulp, you are in the right place. These are top-notch adventures that will keep your players well, thrilled :-) Although these adventures are written for the Thrilling Tales supplement, you could easily run them with just the basic Savage Worlds core rules alone. A great purchase for all pulp fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales Adventure Omnibus (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
by Rodney O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 03:29:55

A fantastic resource for 1920-1930s roleplaying. Great background info, lots of period gear, loads of villains, an excellent adventure generator, and a great 5 chapter plot point campaign. The only thing I don't like is their suggestion of running a game with one super character and all his assistants (a la Doc Savage). While that may be true to the pulp heritage, it doesn't make for a fulfilling RPG session. That niggling criticism aside, this is a must-have package if you like pulp adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Thrilling Tales 2nd Edition (Savage Worlds)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

City-States of Mars: Korium
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2018 22:27:26

An excellent setting book. Huge amount of detail on the region, its cultures, political factions, and it's history. Tons of plot hooks which relate to the region. A large NPC gallery. Edited for easy reading rather than easy referencing during play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City-States of Mars:  Korium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 561 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles