DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
by Steven B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2020 17:31:48

My 9 year old and I played a cooperative version of this and quite enjoyed it.

Traditionally, when it comes to slavery, the pirates were the good guys. Pirates did a lot of "stealing property" that was actually freeing slaves.

The normal way to play involves fighting pirates. However, with the rules-lite nature of the Micro RPG, it was easy to invert that part of the narrative.

We were pirates coming to liberate treasure and slaves from a cop-infested ship intent to "return stolen property."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
by Mark P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 05:23:29

I've played through this fantastic little game about six times now - albeit some sessions lasted longer than others because it is DEADLY! It offers exactly what I hoped it would - an easy to manage, admin light, solo role playing experience. I'm a big fan of the 'Micro Chapbook' line as it scratches an itch I have for ttrpgs which require little set up time and can be easily transported for gaming 'on the road'. The card game version captures the essence of the core rules very well but makes the whole experience even more streamlined. I absolutely love the b/w artwork which adds to the game's OSR feel. I purchased the pnp version so do be prepared for some production time as you'll need to cut out and fold the cards. Once all that is done it's very easy to get up and running with a game as the rule book is coherant and easy to follow.

One word of warning: be prepared to die and die often! This game will suit you, if like me, you're a 'time poor' gamer. I have been setting this up and leaving it out on the desk in my gaming space then grabbing five minutes here and there to run a hero through a dungeon. They haven't lasted long yet, but that's ok - it's so quick to set up and play again.

Finally, I've only played this solo so far but look forward to getting it on the table for a coop game soon. I think this would be an excellent way to introduce kids (maybe 7 plus) to roleplaying since it's a very snappy experience with little down time. This game deserves a wider audience so I hope the now availiable 'pre-printed' version will attract people to giving it a try.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG: The Card Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

There is Something in the House!
by Stephen T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/20/2020 07:32:00

This is a quick dice-chucker game with a ghost-house theme. Lead-up action to the confrontation is slow-paced, but once you make it to the attic and face off with the ghost the terror escalates quickly and it becomes a race against the odds with your dwindling dice pool.

Those of you who dislike the influence of luck in your games will not like this much at all - particularly the end game, where all the action is. But if you have a handful of dice and about 15-20 minutes to spare, this game is a fun diversion for several play-throughs.

The random tables that help construct the origin story of the ghostly haunting are a nice touch. I like seeing games that both embrace a theme, and have fun with it at the same time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
There is Something in the House!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome review. Thanks for the kind words.
Field of Dire Souls: A Micro Chapbook RPG Scenario
by Nicholas J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2020 11:24:32

This is a great freebie (as usual!). I gotta ask, is it possible to get a character sheet as it's own pdf download in the future? Love your work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Field of Dire Souls: A Micro Chapbook RPG Scenario
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Chapbook Scifi RPG: Deluxe Core Rulebook
by Raymond T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2020 18:31:54

If you’re new to this game, do yourself a favor and spend the couple of bucks to purchase one of these core rulebooks.

I downloaded a couple of the medieval themed freebies and I read the short version of the rules that comes with them. I sat down and played three games, and I did a couple of things wrong, such as not understanding what ‘proficient’ meant, forgetting little things like room effects, etc. For those first three games, I lost, and I lost badly. Yes, I can be dense at times, but the rules were irritatingly vague and I ended up nerfing myself because I interpreted them wrong.

I could see that the game had its merits. For my next attempt, I changed themes to sci-fi, and then I thought, I should just get the associated rulebook because it might clarify a few things that I was having trouble with. The rules were fleshed out just enough for me to get a grasp on what I’d done wrong before, while still leaving room for personal adjustments. Also, I hit Old Reliable Youtube and I looked up the term Micro Chapbook RPG. I found three examples of game-play, including a good series by Rigaroga. I played three more games in the Bug Ship scenario, and while I did not win, I was closer than before and I liked the competitiveness in the game dynamics. Finally, on game seven, I beat the dreaded Bug Queen! I am looking forward to playing another scenario.

I was wondering if there was overlap between the three free scenarios and the six scenarios in the rulebook. There is overlap. The three freebies are Bug Ship, Space Pirates and System Breach. These scenarios have been renamed and their details randomized in the rulebook. From what I can see, the three additional scenarios are Oversized Asteroid, Mining Rig and Interdimensional Rift. I want to play the two other freebies before I move on to the randomized versions found in the rulebook. There is a lot of filler in the rulebook, with large images and short bursts of letters, but there is another reason why purchasing it makes sense. It’s inexpensive! Okay, besides that, the weapons, armor and items are all included in organized charts. This allowed me to see everything that was available all at once, instead of having to go through each free scenario picking and choosing what worked best for my Dex-based character.

This game is repetitive, but the variety and randomization give it re-playability for me. You’ve got six levels of everything: door obstructions, room effects, aliens, etc., that will help to keep the monotony away. This is exactly the sort of game I was looking for: one that wasn’t too complex, that had a good amount of action, and that included decent progress and rewards for all the dungeon crawling involved. I thought this was a short game at first, but now I can see how a player can increase the playing time by adding more and more rooms, or facing enemies multiple times. I give this game 5 out of 5 stars.

(That’s it for the review. If you’d like to read my playing strategy, read on.)

The series of videos by Rigaroga were great, partly due to his morbid sense of humor. What he did was create a character, a halfling that died quickly, and then he created an ogre that went into the same scenario and retrieved the halfling’s body. The ogre took the body to the clerics and had it revived, for free since he had no gold, and then Rigaroga had a melee ogre and a ranged halfling as his sidekick. I thought that was great! This game can be modified so that the solo player can manage multiple characters, as long as the bad guys are balanced out.

All right, back to my strategy. I only did this in my first sci-fi game. When my Dex character got into a brawl, he stayed there until he either won or got crunched up. If he survived, he was left pretty low on Life. I let him backtrack to the Entrance where he was magically revitalized back to full stats, like it would happen back in Diablo II when the character went back to town. When he returned into the Bug Ship, he checked to see if any new monsters spawned in already cleared areas, before he ventured into new rooms. I only did this in my first game. My character died, but he did collect enough credits to purchase ranged and melee weapons with consistent 2 Damage, because the 1D3 Damage was killing me before.

After that, my next objective was to purchase the big Med Kit that would return me to full Health. Any credits over that went to upgrading my weapons first, and my gear second. As long as I had a Med Kit ready, I was golden, pony-boy. By then, I could take on every bad guy in a game twice. When I faced the Bug Queen, I had two Med Kits on hand. I ended up using only 1 of them, but it was touch and go until that final smackdown gave me the victory. It remains to be seen whether or not my character will be overpowered in the next scenario, but if he is, I can always make the bad guys tougher to compensate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook Scifi RPG: Deluxe Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2020 14:32:32

edit: Thanks for a quick update! If it was cut and pasted from "Bug Ship", it's thoroughly adapted for space pirates with some nice touches.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Pirates: A Scifi Micro Chapbook RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review, Jim. I've made a few updates that hopefully make the text not as jarring and a touch clearer. Thanks for playing my games!
Micro Chapbook RPG: The Board Game
by Royce R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2020 21:27:49

If there's a better buy out there for $2.99 I'm not aware of it. The rules are concise and easy to understand; the pieces are professional looking and will look even better if they are laminated, and there's a whole world of micro chapbook adventures out there in the highly unlikely event you run out of ideas for playing with what's included. But be advised: this is the dark, baby. Expect to die like we vote here in Louisiana: early and often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG: The Board Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Scenario Collection 1
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 10:23:22

I love the new organization of the scenarios. This layout is helpful. I realized that the originals did not have any of the flavor text/background information in the actual pdf's. I find the extra background helps give the game more depth. And it's nice to have the scenarios collected together in one file. Even the basic rules are included. Heading to Amazon now to order the print version!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Scenario Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! I'm glad you are enjoying the game!
Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Core Rulebook
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 10:17:38

This is a tough solo dungeon crawl, but it is a lot of fun. I ordered the collection of scenarios as well as the print version of this product on Amazon. The game system is simple to learn. It also has a lot of supplements (4 magic books, several scenarios, and two other supplements - a sourcebook for worlds outside the dungeons and one for creating epic characters - all of which are PWYW). Great for when you have no one to play, but it can also be used with a GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review, John. Yes! Lots of free supplements and many more in the project lineup.
One Page Apocalypse: Volume 1: Christmas Fallout
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2020 10:58:59

Excellent Game. Looking forward to future scenerios.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Apocalypse: Volume 1: Christmas Fallout
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Core Rulebook
by Alfie G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2020 15:49:55

Absolutely amazing. I fell in love with this system the first time I see it and read through it properly. While I haven't had a chance to playtest it yet, the combat looks solid, as do all the other rules. To top it of, the ability to play both solo and with a GM is what really makes this one special. I will definitely be running a few adventures with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Chapbook RPG Deluxe Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review. Your support helps me to make more games.
Castle of the Dead: A Micro Chapbook RPG
by Justin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2020 11:11:47

I had great fun playing this with my kids. I love that it's one sheet of paper folded in half. I just printed out two copies so each kid had a set of rules, and their character sheet on the cover. (That's the lowest ink version). We used dwarven forge tiles to build out the castle, that worked out quite well. Mechanically the game is quite tough, and a bit of a slog, but the rules are so simple it's easy to hack. For my kids game I let them go back to town and buy stuff, however that reset the castle. Other tweaks I'm considering: Dex and Wits seem quite weak, I may put in Dex based melee, and maybe Wits based ranged and melee weapons. The spell book solves the Wits issue, but to keep it contained to the basic game adding a couple wits weapons seems doable.

Finding the boss is quite difficult, even after encountering the other monsters you have to find the right room (1/3) and then roll the boss (1/6). That's a 1/18 chance. I will probably make it so that once the boss can spawn, he does automatically.

The fights seem to take a bit too long, but that may be due to my kids and their particular characters. I'm considering having a pool of health for a group of monsters rather than individual health, which would allow overkilling with good damage rolls.

I'm going to look through more chapbooks to see the variations in the rules before making any changes yet.

Oh, also the game works perfectly fine with two players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Castle of the Dead: A Micro Chapbook RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Mutants RPG (Core Rulebook)
by William C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2020 01:21:31

Very well written. The order of the chapters is the order you play the game. I generally play one room a day and save my map on LibreOffice Draw. I got lucky with the stats, but I imagine if you roll low stats, you are out of luck. I'm going to be creative with the junk creation rules to give more options in combat, things to slow down monsters, stun them, or maybe even trap them! The game is simple, and seems easy to add mods like this. Maybe items that can give stat bonuses until they break? The only request I would have is to be able to add bookmarks to the pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Micro Mutants RPG (Core Rulebook)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Micro Mutants RPG (Core Rulebook)
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2020 08:51:00

I'm a big fan of the Micro Chapbook games. I really like the versatility and variety that the author has come up with. This new, separate iteration is a departure, both in theme and mechanics, but it all works excellently to create an engaging new game.

The basic Micro Chapbook system is a 1d6 'roll under your attribute' mechanic. Micro Mutants gives an effective range of 3-11 for stats, and uses a d12 to make attribute checks. Races are replaced with Mutations, each of which gives various abilities the character can make use of. More can be acquired, but if your Infection level rises too high, you become a blob of mutated goo. Equipment is very thematic of the 1980s post-apoc setting, including the ability to break down the random things you find into 'Junk'. This is the basic resource that you use to craft any items that you can't find, although they won't be quite as good as items found by rolling on the charts. You can even create unique items by combining 2 or 3 basic items. I'm looking for a spiked wristband to go with my extension cord, then I'm making me a spiked whip!

Instead of separate dungeons, your character explores an old mall, with each run starting in your home base, the Food Court. There are many different types of shops, each with their own search tables and mix of items you can find. Every room defeated, however, brings you closer to the Boss of that run. Like in previous games, each room has a randomly generated type, size, and monster content, although this game, being almost 90 pages long, has quite a bit more of each element.

Its self-contained, massively replayable, and best of all- fun. There are a couple of typos here and there, but nothing so egregious that it affects the gameplay. Overall, an excellent choice for solo gameplay, with the ever-present GM option given at the end. Worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Brain, thanks once again for your interest and support in my products. This game was truly a labor of love and I'm glad you're enjoying it. Also, my apologies for the typos. I go over the text multiple times and use multiple grammar filters to help, but--as I learned working in the book publishing world prior to my game design career--you can never catch every single one. Thanks again!
The Dark West
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 09:58:37

This is a great little system which is both simple to learn and play, yet there's still enough there to give it some realism. I especially like the Moment of Chance rule as well as the optional use of cards instead of dice. The rules are clearly explained and the book is well organized. Most of all I like that the game is simple enough that it won't get in the way of the roleplaying.

I'd like to see more of these with different genres and settings, perhaps some scenarios too. I see there haven't been any new releases for this system since 2016. V2 only had one - Radio Mystery in 2018. So I'm not getting my hopes up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
John! Thank you so much for playing the game! It was my original game design I did years ago way before I was designing full time! Perhaps because of your interest, I'll go ahead and make a couple more of these. V2 only had one because I was dissatisfied with the end result of the updated system. I also created the Chapbook system (different than my new and most popular Micro Chapbook system) which people have liked but doesn't have the excitement of the card drawing drama of the original. I really appreciate you playing the game and leaving feedback!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles