DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Publisher: EDGE Studio
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:58:54

Very cool setting, very interesting game system. The rules are a little rough in play, but not bad (and that could also be the fact that I haven't played it enough to really get into the groove with it.) Interesting core mechanic, amazing magic / karma system. My biggest complaint is that they hinted at this incredibly cool setting, but never came out with any additional supplements for it (and this is the kind of game that needs supplements.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Monster of the Week
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:45:29

Fun game for a proactive group of innovative players, willing to define their own setting and suspend a certain amount of disbelief. Potential to get a little silly, but otherwise decent representation of this genre.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monster of the Week
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Urban Shadows (1st Ed.)
Publisher: Magpie Games
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:40:48

Fun game of city politics in an urban fantasy setting. Requires proactive, bought-in players, and you'll need to define the setting yourselves. But the system will support at least a few sessions of political drama.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Urban Shadows (1st Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:36:17

The splats, character creation, and the basic rules are all great, an improvement over the classic game. The setting is not as cool - you've traded in being cosmic warriors raging against spirits of corruption, for... well, just being territorial supernatural gangsters. That could be kind of fun too (if less epic) if it weren't for the fact that you're at a serious disadvantage in fighting your primary enemies, spirits: they can hop between worlds anywhere, and you have to do so at special loci, which means they can always escape with minimal effort. No more running down your prey and tearing it apart; now you have to... wind silver wire around it three times?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: the Forsaken 2nd Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 16:24:48

I like this game a lot in theory. The concepts and setting are very cool, and this edition has pretty much everything you want from classic Mage in one place. The problem comes when you're trying to decide what can be done with the various spheres of magick, and what constitutes coincidental vs. vulgar magick. In practice, magick tends to turn into arguments or silliness.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage: The Ascension 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate System Toolkit
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:47:37

Great supplement for anyone looking to hack or design their own game. The magic rules alone are worth the price of admission, even if you don't play Fate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate System Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:40:49

I like Fate in theory. Lots of really great game ideas. But when we get it to the table, it winds up feeling less like a roleplaying game than a storytelling experience moderated by Fate points ...which is fine if that's what you're looking for. I just like my games to give me a little more discovery, exploration, and surprise.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 15:01:54

I like Fate in theory. Lots of really great game ideas. But when we get it to the table, it winds up feeling less like a roleplaying game than a storytelling experience moderated by Fate points ...which is fine if that's what you're looking for. I just like my games to give me a little more discovery, exploration, and surprise.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition • A Fate Core Build
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Corporia RPG
Publisher: Brabblemark Press
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 14:49:37

Good, fun game with a cool premise. A little spare on details, it left me wishing for a stack of supplements that, sadly, don't exist.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Corporia RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Publisher: Chaosium
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 11:39:23

The first edition of this game was possibly the most fun I've ever had as a player. The second edition changed a few things in the setting, which maybe didn't make it better, but didn't make it worse either; it's still an awesome setting. Swordsman schools lost some of their luster, but weren't ruined. Sorcery was retooled in some very interesting ways - if possible, it's even better than it was in the first edition. Character generation is great, and I really like the way backgrounds and advantages are presented. My biggest gripe? The core mechanic is useless. I'm a veteran gamer of the crunchy and the fluffy, the trad and the indie... and I've tried to run this game multiple times, watched APs, and googled advice on how to run it. And the story falls flat on its face whenever the dice come out. It's a real shame because they had a perfectly serviceable core mechanic in the first edition - not perfect, but decent.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Deck of Fate
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 11:11:50

Super cool alternative to Fate dice, with lots of additional little tools built in, all in a beautiful design. It makes me wish I liked the Fate system better so I could use it more often.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deck of Fate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Monsterhearts
Publisher: Buried Without Ceremony
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 11:07:52

I normally try not to review games I haven't actually played or run, but I had to say a few words about this one. The game itself, with its strings and stats and moves and agendas is amazingly elegant. Reading these rules actually changed how I GM other games, and how I think about game design. This would be a 5-star review if not for the subject matter, which is unabashedly all about horror, abuse, and underage sex.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Monsterhearts
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

No Thank You, Evil!
Publisher: Monte Cook Games
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 11:00:46

This game was my younger kids' intro to tabletop RPGs when they were 5 and 7, and they loved it. Great game for kids, beautifully presented. If you're planning to run it, consider getting the physical box with the cards and dice and fiddly bits, which add to the overall experience. My kids still game with me today. We've moved on to more complex games, but there are elements of this game I still borrow, including PC pets and some of the GM advice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Thank You, Evil!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Publisher: White Wolf
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 09:14:45

The core rules for the new WoD game are solid. The designers cracked the code on character generation, and it's as good in this game as it's ever going to get. The game system also is solid, elegant, and works pretty well at the table. While the game may get a little wonky at higher levels or with some of the additional supernatural templates, it plays really, really well for a group of mortal investigators in a (modern) dark fantasy world.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New World of Darkness Rulebook (1st Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Changeling: The Lost
Publisher: White Wolf
by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2020 09:05:56

As with Werewolf and Mage, the reimagining of Changeling made some improvements to the game mechanics and some interesting innovations in the splats (kiths and courts.) But (also as with Werewolf and Mage) it completely gutted everything I loved about the original setting, and replaced it with a world of torment, futility, and despair.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: The Lost
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items