DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition $29.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
93 10
17 5
3 0
0 0
0 1
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to view
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Charles S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2019 21:58:35

I'll preface this review by saying that I've not been particularly sympathetic to Werewolf in the past. But Werewolf 20th Anniversary Edition has been enough to intrigue me, and soon I'll be playing in a short Werewolf game to see if there's anything for me in it.

This book is very thorough, if not quite as massive as the book in the Mage series. It covers who the Garou are, their mythology, cosmology and society effectively right up front, before going into who an individual Garou is.

The two most interesting chapters, though, are the Spirit World, which explains how the Umbra is laid out and how Werewolves interact with it. The next is The Enemy, which cover Black Spiral Dancers (to more-or-less the same level of detail as the Gaian tribes), Fomori and other enemies. An honorable mention goes to the end of the chapter on Allies for giving spreads for the Lost Tribes and the Changing Breeds (who get more detail in the Changing Breeds book).

Overall, the book is solid, but it does have problems. There are a few layout errors (bolding the wrong text, etc), and it falls apart a bit when crossover is mentioned (my favorite page involves them trying to refer to the Zigg'rauglurr from Mage). And of course, a core problem for Werewolf: the game itself seems to be fairly pro-eugenics, and there's not really any way to separate that out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Amund L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2019 04:20:07

We have had an absolute blast playing this the past months. Great purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Marcie M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/03/2019 03:53:40

We have 2 major issues with our experience and received project. We purchased the premium color, hard back edition on 1/22, it was shipped 1/28, arrived on 2/1 in a damaged box. there was hole bigger than a golf ball on the side of the shipping box. The book binding and pages were exposed and damage was noticable. Upon opeining the package to asses the damage and the product, the top corner pages and cover (front and back) were damaged. The book cover corner art covering is peeling away from the book. We have had the book for 1 day and the binding has already broken, 1 DAY! We are book collectors and treat our books with kid gloves. A book of this size should always be swen and not glued, especially for the price paid for the product. The other major issue we have is the fact that only select sections of this book are color. The desciption of this product should be accurate and state that only part of the book is color. Honestly, the book is not worth the price you pay, you are better off to just purchase the PDF and print at your local printing store.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2019 10:16:25

First off, i really like what they've done with the game. This is the Werewolf I remember and love, and they've done away with the mistakes of the Revised system. The systems are so close to the same that I can still use my old books. Other than updating things for the last 20 years, there are no great surprises here.

Given the size of the tome, and the fact that it includes so much, like the other changing breeds, I don't begrudge the price, either for the pdf or the printing. That said, the binding on the Premium book absolutely sucks. I've had it for a bit over a month and the front cover is already separated from the book. Sure, the paper feels nice and it looks beautiful, but the cover shouldn't already be detached. Hell, I've barely used it as I got the pdf at the same time and have been reading that almost exclusively. It pretty well assures I'll never by a printed work by Drivethru in the future.

So, buy the PDF and enjoy, don't pay for printing. Hell, take it to Staples and have them print it in a bound copy that will last longer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Nathaniel C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2018 13:23:51

This is a massive book, do not be fooled. You will be reading this for days and I love it. There is so much lore and hirtory in this book to get your setting right. The art inside really captures the feel of the world of darkness and tone for the entire Werewolf setting. This is my favorite book in my collection. I love this game and I love this setting. fantastic work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Philip H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2018 03:34:41

I've been a fan of everything related to the World of Darkness since I opened a second hand copy of Werewolf the Apocalypse second edition and I've never looked back since. Werewolf the Apocalypse 20th anniversary edition is everything I could have asked for. From much more in-depth detail of the tribes to the welcome addition of a short preview of changing breeds... This book provides everything a budding werewolf could need to begin!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by John M. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2017 06:34:13

I bought the premium edition of this book, which is admittedly pricey, but is definitely worth it. The production quality is great, and there is so much content for someone wanting to break into the game Werewolf: The Apocalypse for the first time, or for an experienced GM or even as a sourcebook for other World of Darkness Titles. I did a full review on my website which you can read by clicking the link. https://itsmorethanjustgaming.com/2017/08/25/werewolf-the-apocalypse-20th-anniversary-edition/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Linn H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/12/2017 15:52:33

Premium version is totally worth it, even though it's expensive, if you want the book instead of just a pdf. The standard version is pretty crappy, with thin pages and fragile binding, while the premium book is as you expect it to be. As for the content, the writing is not good. The rules could have been better written and more clear, as well as the layout and the chapters.

Apart from this, it's a great game. I love W20, and all awesome things to build great stories of.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2016 11:40:58

Excellent craftsmanship, great rebuild of a classic. I would recommend this game for everyone. I have been playing it since I got the print on demand book. Love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Shannon M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/13/2015 11:27:18

I have utterly no concerns with the content - I'm a longtime Werewolf fan and this was exactly what was needed. However, the simple fact this is bigger than most Old World Bibles is a technical concern. The first time I used the book the front paper cover over the binding split right up the seam. It's just a massively thick book and the binding can't keep up. It's a concern in the long run for longevity of a book that cost me nearly $100 if it can't even hold up to gentle use Day 1.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Martin W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2014 06:16:36

It may have taken 20 years but it was worth every minute of the wait, werewolf 20 is the ultimate rpg core rule book I could not have wished for more.

It now makes me crave the source books that are in perpetration to accompany it.

My the Mother bless the publishers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jonatan R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2013 13:49:39

The game is amazing, easy to understand, and an amazing setting. Since this is the only book you need to play, it's great not to have to look around for what the right edition is and whatever sourcebooks or storyteller companions, playerd handbooks, breedbooks and what not that you sometimes get stuck with in other games. The system is smooth, expandable, and works in my experience well with other oWoD games, at least in the 20th anniversery editions. This books is really what got me into World of Darkness, and I intend to stay.

The only problem I've met is with the printing. The alternative available, as of October 18th 2013, for hardcover color premium falls apart, both this one and the Vampire the Masquerade 20th anniversery edition hardcover color premium are so big, and so poorly bound that pages fall out without any particular wear. I hope Drivethru will look into this, and hopefully do something about it. The old print, which on one side had to be printed in two books, are at least keeping together better than the new big ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Paul H. D. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2013 13:09:24

The 20th Anniversary edition of Werewolf restores the original werewolf in a marvelous way. The Garou Nation, complete with its auspices, breeds and Tribes, is renewed with the most spectacular flair, both literally and visually speaking. The comic book that precedes the source book helps set the gears of the the proverbial Apocalypse machine in motion. From the get go, you get the feel of the werewolf and the packs move, talk, interact with their spirit and corporeal enemies, a few of the sample character types to come and through the dialogue get a very intriguing first impression of the genre.

Very conscientious in its descriptions of all facets of the Garou Nation, the mentalities that govern them, along with the human organizations and the entities of the Shadow World that are the werewolves natural enemies, this volume is a natural historian's dream dream. The ways of the wolf are well documented and put into a literary context to be blended with human ways very creatively. The diversity of the tribes and entities that exist within the World of Darkness where the Garou walk has the potential to open many doors and inspire an enormous variety of story hooks.

As with the 20th Anniversary edition of Vampire, W20 rejuvenates the classic werewolf and makes them so believable, they´ll leap out of the page at you to take chunk of your flesh. With a printer and a decent amount of ink, the comic strip and the illustrations are superior art pieces that were made by a primitive genius. Not unlike Vampire, the gore of the killing scenes may be too much for the weak of hart, so reader discretion is, indeed, advised.

Otherwise, this is a perfect return to the 1992 phenom that earned the love of so many fans of literature. Buy it, if you really want an invigorating, impressive universe, filled with creatures bigger than life to write tales about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by adrian s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/15/2013 18:45:46

Firstly, I can hardly believe that it has been twenty years since I played and GM'd this game. As a fan of the OWoD in general I was planning on buying just the PDF primarily out of nostalgia but after seeing the previews went full ahead and got the premium & PDF combo. I'm so glad I did. This book has reignited my interest in this game and I will be looking to play it as soon as possible.

Stuff I like:

  • The new colour art, especially the Tribe illustrations are great.
  • It has lot of information about the various sub-groups within the tribes so that each member you meet isn't the same as the last.
  • Best of all it has information on all the other shapechanging races that have been mentioned in past books. Whilst this might not be as indepth as the older "monster manuals" for them it at least allows a GM to round out the WoD with a few more interesting creatures.
  • Pentex: Just because I love them as a bad guy.

I'm looking forward other W20 releases and will likely go ahead and buy the Vampire 20th and upcoming Mage book (kickstarter willing) with a hope that both Wraith and Changeling follow.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Werewolf: The Apocalypse 20th Anniversary Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/10/2013 16:27:01

This is a hard review to write. Hard, because it may come as me being overly critical of the product. But the thing that is important to point out, is that I am approaching this product as someone that never played Werewolf the Apocalypse (WtA). When I got into World of Darkness games in 1996, I of course was a bit of a proto-goth. I was into vampire films, listening to Marilyn Manson and Atari Teenage Riot. So of course I was running Vampire the Masquerade for the first time. I also eventually picked up Mage the Ascension, and of course some of the most influential films at the time for me would be Fight Club, The Matrix, and Blade. So a lot of things would classify me more towards the goth/cyber goth side of things than metalhead. And in some ways, this is perhaps why at the time WtA didn’t appeal to me. It seemed all a bit too gung-ho and rather superficial. So given the above and the fact I have never played WtA, yet I know plenty about the setting due to where Mage and Vampire crossed over with it, I am approaching this review blind. Let’s start with the easy bit. Layout and art. Generally the book is excellent looking, but I feel that there is not a unified look to the book. I understand that much of the artwork is from the original books, or is new work by the same artists, and that in itself is a good thing as it means the product taps into the nostalgia of the fans of the game. But, as a new reader, I find the mixing up of full colour art, grayscale, and black and white line art, a bit jarring. Now some of the art work I do like, especially some of the more rough, dreamy pieces. I have to admit to not being a Ron Spencer fan. Sorry guys. But it's just all guts and guns, and rather flat and boring. But then I am a big Christopher Shy fan so you can make your mind up on that front.

http://ethericlabs.blogspot.de/2013/06/review-werewolf-apocalypse-20th.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items