DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Night Witches
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2021 16:15:39

OK, Simply put this is historical gaming done right. it is a brilliant rendering of the experiences of marginalised grouos in war. It has mechanics that perfectly synch with its intent. i have honestly never been more impressed by a game, if ten stars were an option it would get all of them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2021 06:31:15

So Alien was my gateway drug into the Year Zero Engine Universe and importantly the game that inspired me to get back into gaming. It was and continues to be an excellent game with amazing art and a set of mechanics that are perfectly tuned to the game setting. I cannot recommend this book any more highly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Djachroum and the Rimward Reach
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2021 06:24:47

Ok this is a bloody excellent translation of the original material and opens up a whole space for regular play by a team of interested players. Its also quite useful if you are playing through the emessiary lost campaign under the official free league banner as well this region is given some prominenance at the end of the second book (no spoilers will be provided). In addition the file contains the original art from Free League and makes available for the first time a large amount of Swedish original material for use by English Speakers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Djachroum and the Rimward Reach
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Trilemma Adventures Compendium Volume I
Publisher: Trilemma Adventures
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:47:33

So I backed this as a Kickstarter and then found myself needing to run a series of one shots using rhe Forbidden Lands Rules, this book along with the Forbidden Lands Bestiary (servants of Memory) was awesome. The encounters and the maps are of the highest quality and its truly awesome that this product was adapted for that use. I would suggest that if you buy this, you make sure you get the Bestiary as well, as the two products combined are what make it really take off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trilemma Adventures Compendium Volume I
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Servants of Memory
Publisher: Trilemma Adventures
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:44:15

So I backed this as a Kickstarter and then found myself needing to run a series of one shots using rhe Forbidden Lands Rules, this book along with the Adventure compendium was awesome. The creatures are fundamentally weird and have a unique flavour which escapes the usual D&D tropes in a microsecond. The Art is excellent and the approahc overall to the background of the key cultures that are explored in the game a re fascinating and fun to apply to a game. I would sugges that if you buy this, you make sure you get the compendium as well, as the two products combined are what make it really take off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Servants of Memory
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Coriolis Calendar
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:37:42

Ok so this is just a beautiful book, I am using the calendar in my game and its perfect for use in working through the very complex timeline of the core modules for Coriolis. Every one of the Icon's is given a royal treatment and the images alone make the book worth buying. I am also a fan of the story for each of the Icons, they add colour to the game and give the Scheherazade treatment to each of the Icons, making them come alive. I can recommend this book enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2021 05:33:19

So I liked the colour this product provides and for getting into character its often worth picking up a few words here and there. Its very short but then its less than a cup of coffee so the balance for me is there. It'll save you an amount of work looking up phrases in Arabic Dictionaries and give you a few choice words to say.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Third Horizon Phrasebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:49:52

I will be honest, I was hoping for more re the factions, covering the thematic elements of every faction and in particular how the tech they develop aligns with their fundamental beliefs, for instance I would have liked to have seen tech from the Nomads as they have a strong link to the second horizion. Having said that its a nice piece of work from the Free League Stable, they really know how to present thier information and deliver a beautiful product overall.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Coriols: Artifacts & Faction Tech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:42:20

The Planetarium is one of those very useful tools for a GM with a thousand things to do everyday. It provides a concise background to every system in the Miran Chain, famous for Zalos, Odacon and of course Mira itself, but with many poorly or nor described at all systems. For a party who have an exploration or mercantile bent this resource allows the gm to quickly describe entire systems in some detail and gives a number of launching points for the imagination of flower and grow. Each planet in every system has a small image, each system is visualised by sun allowing you to accurately depict the entire system in a moment. All of the information could be provided to the players ahead of time (except for the story leads embedded in system description), giving the party access to plot their own path for a more freeform style game.

Overall a really good product and a great companion for the Coriolis Atlas (especially the community sourced one) filling in all of the detail of the less well understood systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Coriolis Planetarium: The Miran Chain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:09:11

Ok I am a sucker for an interesting setting and the conflict that arises between cultures, which is what is so great about Vaesen. I really appreciated the detail that Niclas has established for the indigenous inhabitants of the area and the inclusion of their cultural beliefs in the game. The plot of the adventure is a solid Industrialisation versus local beliefs tale, with good characters and some complexity of motivations on behalf of both groups in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sáivu - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creature Creator. An alien beast creator for Coriolis.
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2021 16:05:33

Hey, this is actually a really nice tool for a quick monster creation need, the tables are pretty well thought out and the structure of the beasts is pretty good with most analogues covered through the framework provided. I actually like it a lot and am using it to create on the fly monsters for my death world campaign I am running using Coriolis. Nice work man.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creature Creator. An alien beast creator for Coriolis.
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2020 17:13:40

This is one of those games that captures the heart of its topic and brings real joy to the gaming table. If you love Cats or despise them it won't matter, because all of the mysteries of why cats do what they do will be explained. I finally know why the cat leaves dead mice at the door, so thanks Innana for keeping the house safe from evil spirits.

The mechanic is pure Fate with the enhancements required for the schools of Cat magic and a number of cat talents. The opponents are dastardly and evil. The cats have an endless task defending thier charges from self inflicted wounds and risky behaviour.

Its a great game, one that the whole family can enjoy (its readily turned down or up in creep factor to address audience issues). If you have a few bucks to spare, this is the game to spend it on.

PS it does require that you have core Fate Rules as a starting point.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Secrets of Cats • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Things from the Flood RPG: Rulebook
Publisher: Free League Publishing
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/05/2020 17:06:41

Things from the Flood may be the best roleplaying game I have ever owned or run. Its mechanic is simple, compelling and focussed on things that drive players to roleplay. I have found it a joy to GM, it allows you to focus on the narrative over dice rolling. Its also a game that is perfect for these times, a sense of hope lost pervades most of what we do right now, whether its the failure of governments or the people we are in truly troubled times.

Mechanically the Game requires the players to own the rolling of dice, GMs set difficulty targets which are measured through a number of successes required to complete the task. The year zero engine system (Free Leagues go to mechanic) plays out extremely well here (6's on the dice are successes, the players have a dice pool comprised of Stat, Skill and any other bonus they can scrounge up). Failures can reuslt in conditions, which firstly reduce the dice pool for a player going forward and if enough are accumulated can result in the player being broken.

The rulebook contains a well documented campaign, character creation and GM sections as well as a alt history take that builds on the original Tales from the Loop and extends it. Overall its a joy to own and run.

A couple of inspirations to draw upon, the recent Tales from the Loop TV Show on Prime is actually more aligned with Things from the FLood that the original Loop Game. In addtion the later Stranger Things Seasons are a clear source of inspiration. This is a game that at its heart is a realisation of all the teen troupes, carry those awkward memeories into the Game and you'll have endless inspiration.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Things from the Flood RPG: Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items