DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 05:00:50

These are a fantastic addition. I admit I didn't see use for all of the cards contained, but those I did became essential. The pilot cards changed things up with the NPCs, where the group suddenly had to deal with them as people instead of simply being narrative hit points when they're on a mission #RIPDasha. The squadron leader being able to hand out cards to show who's assigned to which plane makes a nice physical element to the briefings. I didn't bother printing the medal cards as they're represented on the sheet and the oaths can be read from the book itself, but the rest are great.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches - Nachthexen Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Night Witches
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:57:51

This is the closest to an HBO show that I've experienced in an RPG, and it's been close before. My group are on a break from it just because our emotional stamina can only take so much, but we can't wait to get back into it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Witches
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Warren
Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2019 04:56:26

This is a gorgeous game, which uses the PbtA design in some fun, different ways.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Warren
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tall Pines, A Surreal Murder Mystery Game
Publisher: Self-Critical Hits
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:42:06

This game allows you to make weird, Twin Peak style mysteries with compelling characters and a system of incorporating symbolism which looks deceptively simple at first. We were surprised by many of the twists and turns, but it all felt like part of a cohesive, if strange, narrative.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tall Pines, A Surreal Murder Mystery Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

7th Sea Hero Creation Index
Publisher: Chaosium
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:07:05

Really useful for my game, i printed it in a small booklet form and it helped my group find the backgrounds and advantages they wanted from throughout the released 7th Sea books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Hero Creation Index
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Minimal Playbooks Plus - Dungeon World
Publisher: Sentinel Sheets
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2018 18:03:33

i was after half-page playbooks for some introductory games and these are perfect!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minimal Playbooks Plus - Dungeon World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Publisher: Chaosium
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/23/2017 07:37:16

As someone who adored the original 7th Sea, this feels like a return to a beloved game and a massive evolution of it. John Wick is a game designer who's made a ton of games, most of which feel like they've led to this.

Characters are swashbuckling heroes with mechanics to back that up. The nations of Theah present an interesting fictional Europe (and beyond!) with magic and myth amongst it. The setting is deep, but still ultimately about the player characters.

The previous edition had a good fictional Europe, but this version feels both more researched and more progressive, which it should be as this is a fantasy world.

The system is roll and keep (them all!) which is similar but more extreme than the original 7th Sea. Now all those lovely dice are clumped together in batches totalling 10 each. These results allow you to not only succeed at what you're doing, but select which other risks in a challenge you deal with and which don't. This level of agency of the players is sublime.

So far I've only played, but cannot wait to run this game for my group.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea Core Rulebook (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dead of Night
Publisher: SteamPower Publishing
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2017 09:45:33

This is a really nice, simple RPG system with some discussions on making a horror game and plot hooks for several games. The system has a simple solution to initiative as players can't roll if they just rolled. Drama Points act as both your health and methods of adding plot, switching stats or other bonuses. This means that you get more by doing things like investigating noises alone or dropping a weapon after hitting the monster. I've run it a couple of times and played it a bit more than that. It's good fun, easily hackable and relatively prepless



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead of Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

One Ugly Motherfucker
Publisher: Newstand Press
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2017 09:36:21

This game is gloriously stupid and I love it. The players are a bunch of macho action heroes apart from one who plays a monster hunting them. They're picked off bit by bit until one survivor's left. It's super-short, ran with no prep or rules knowledge ahead of time. The endgame needs tightening up a little and with a very co-operative group the bidding mechanic for control of the monster was unnecessary, but these were easily overlooked. This game allowed us to play Predator in 90 minutes and for the low price of pay-what-you-want, that's fantastic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Ugly Motherfucker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
Publisher: White Wolf
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2017 09:13:31

The system makes some interesting changes as well as some fairly unnecessary ones. I like the abstraction of Hunger but not the constant rolling for it every scene. The adventure is hot garbage. It's railroady, fairly regularly insults decisions players make, pushes people in specific directions and is about punishing the characters for things they did before the adventure began which they had no agency over. Even then, it's fairly veiled about this being just a beatdown of some characters. Then there's the edginess, oh dear got the edginess. This is deep and edgy in a way which makes me imagine it responding to criticism by stomping to its room, blasting some Linkin Park and drawing images of Shadow the Hedgehog being more awesome than Sonic to post on their DeviantArt page.

Download literally any other Vampire demo.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: the Masquerade (V5 pre-alpha playtest)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

100 Baffling Riddles
Publisher: Lee's Lists
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 15:00:42

99 problems? Finding a point to this product isn't one! I would feel like a heel if I used any of these in a game. The riddles, as warned in the description, make no sense. It's not just the answers though, the questions themselves are an assault to the English language.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
100 Baffling Riddles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Dungeon & Castle Map Sample Collection
Publisher: Stainless Steel Dragon
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:57:02

The opening sentence of this book mentions it's free, which should have been edited out once the author decided to charge money for it. The cover and the catalogue selection in the back are embarrassing more than anything else, something of a bygone age. The maps are apparently from the 80's and it shows. I gave this two stars as I'll probably use the pirate cove in a 7th Sea game and some adaptation.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon & Castle Map Sample Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
What you see in the previews, if pretty much what you get inside. Yes, these map sets were created a long time ago, but some people still find them useful. All prices subject to change without notice or apologies.
CRUSH the REBELLION
Publisher: DDE Adventures
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:53:08

I've read but not played this game. It looks like a way of doing a more politically-based 40k game or anything in an oppressive, dark future. Despite serving a tyrant, the cast are all serving their own alternative secret motivations. While I don't encourage player secrets in most RPGs, this one provides a good reason for it. The layout is clean, crisp and is easy on the eye. I'm looking forward to trying this, possibly as an alternative to Dark Heresy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
CRUSH the REBELLION
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Gravestones volume 1
Publisher: Trooper X
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:50:33

There are some incredibly rough formatting issues. The use of a bloodstain on most pages renders sections pretty much unreadable. The art feels like it should have been left out entirely and the motivation for the monster attack in the adventure feels like it doesn't relate close enough to the players and could be missed entirely. This feels like an early work, something which hopefully the author learnt from.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Gravestones volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback on this .25 cent adventure seed. I will remove the bloodstains as soon as possible. I will weigh adventure specific art vs. The five dollar or more price tag to charge you the readers. I have to ask, did you actually run the adventure? Our playtests went fine, all four of them. Hopefully, you will take cost of art vs. 25 cent price tag into consideration when leaving a 1 star review, that makes it so that the writer, can no longer sell it.
One Sheet - Song of the Siren (Fate Core)
Publisher: Atomic Overmind Press
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2017 14:47:31

I admit I randomly bought this as part of a 'five star game Russian Roulette' for the GM's Day sale. This was a real shining star out of my selection. I don't own the setting, but I love Fate and it's a really nice premise which I plan on adapting to a custom setting. I'll probably have to check out the campaign setting, just in case it's of this calibre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Sheet - Song of the Siren (Fate Core)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items