DriveThruCards.com
Narrow Results







Back
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game $9.99 $6.99
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 7
1 1
0 0
0 0
0 1
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Click to view
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Richard P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/31/2016 08:19:04

Love this product, love the cover art too. I love this concept, I really like the changing 'battlefield' mechanic - highest card and lowest card wins is fun but what to play when second highest wins... lots of fun bluffing.

I thought the rules were relatively straightforward but after reading other reviews suggest checking out the Cards and Quests YouTube videos to anyone who wants to see how the game is played. "D-Inifinit plays Cards and Quests" is a whole adventure and very funny it is too.

I also have the Cards and Quests Bestiary and recommend you get that too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Andrew B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/19/2016 19:18:29

Game looks good, but is there character sheets? There was suppose to be some I guess but I can not find them in the book.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Andrew! The character sheets can be downloaded here: http://www.foxandoxcreations.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/CQ_CharacterSheetsLQ.zip We hope you enjoy your game!
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Brendan C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2015 01:30:16

A simple and satisfying to play game that uses a neat alternative to rolling dice.

Using cards means players have the option of succeeding when it counts. The battle mechanics introduce a fun meta-mechanic where the players are trying to bluff the GM and guess what they have in their hand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Jeff H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/03/2015 06:04:04

Admittedly, I am a harsh critic. If I am presented with a sloppy product, I won't even finish reading it (no matter how good the material might otherwise be). I didn’t finish reading Cards & Quests.

I don't trust authors who can't spell, allowing too many typos, and who use "insure" when they mean "ensure." If a writer can’t edit his work, he shouldn't sell it.

The introduction explains that you are playing a fantasy RPG, but it does nothing to orient you to the setting, nothing to explain the kinds of characters available. Nevertheless, immediately after the short intro, you leap right into character creation. It's like creating a character in a vacuum. It's a stark experience and utterly uninspiring.

Then you're told you need a character sheet. I have flipped through this PDF backward and forward. I can’t find one character sheet. And there’s no index at the back of the document. An index would have been super nice.

Without a character sheet, I scoffed and exited out of my PDF of Cards & Quests. I am insulted by the product. I consider it ten bucks down the toilet.

Oh, and by the way, if you're new to roleplaying games, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT. You won't have any idea what's going on. It is apparently written for experienced gamers only. Would have been nice of the author to let us know beforehand.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Sharon L D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2015 12:19:26

This is a sweet & simple RPG system for any adventure you can imagine. All you need is one standard poker deck for each player; choose your favorite elements and go!

Interesting character elements for physical and magic combat (Fire, Wind, Earth, Mountain, Heaven, Thunder, Water, and Lake) make for fun play. You choose two for your character, one primary and one secondary, and all your abilities, spells, and combat actions are now sorted and assigned.

There's even an easy randomizer for character elements for the guy who just can't decide--a rather elegant looking cards-instead-of-dice method that works via visual patterns that are intriguingly like simplified hexagrams from the Chinese Book of Changes.

Most concepts of the system are arranged in easy-to-handle groups of threes and fours. Your body & mind are represented by Physical, Mental, and Spirit; your gear is separated into Weapons, Armor & Shields, and Accessories; Combat Actions are Attack, Counter, & Heal. The four card suits (Spades, Clubs, Hearts, Diamonds) set up differing battlefield conditions (which I think is just plain good game design). The authors have set up good card systems of resolution for most actions you can conceive of during the course of play.

If you really get into Cards & Quest, specialized decks for your character's prime element are available now, and I believe the authors are rolling out a GM's deck and adventures immediately.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Hunter W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2015 21:03:22

I LOVED the card based battle system, it adds another dimension to every fight!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2015 20:11:58

I enjoyed my time playing Cards and Quests!

For me, the main factor that sets C&Q apart from other systems is its card-based mechanic for skill checks and combat. Each player and the GM use a standard deck of 52 cards to represent their character's abilities. Success or failure of a skill or combat check is generally as simple as comparing who played the highest (or sometimes lowest, second highest, or second lowest) value card. Character levels and other modifiers come into play during these checks as well. Two cards are played to attack, one card to defend, or you can choose (or be forced to) play no cards. Depending on your character type, some cards allow you to use special abilities or skills as part of your attack. As cards are played, they are added to that player's discard pile. Once all 52 cards in a player's deck have been played, the character is considered "exhausted", and must rest in order to reshuffle cards into their draw deck (note: there are in-game ways to recover cards from the discard pile other than resting). Cards are typically played out of one's hand. While players can use strategy by paying attention to what cards have already been played or holding onto more powerful cards for times when success is especially important, they are still at the mercy of their shuffled deck, which adds a fun amount of randomness. Overall, the system seems to strike a good balance between strategy and chance.

Character creation takes very little time and effort, which can be a good or bad thing depending on your personal preference. You get to pick your primary and secondary "elements" (class and subclass) as well as your attributes, but your skills, combat abilities, and magic are predetermined based on your element choices. The designers clearly wanted character creation to be simple and quick, and I believe they succeeded in that respect.

The sourcebook assumes that you are at least somewhat familiar with basic tabletop RPG conventions and concepts. As a result, it may not be the best system to use if the GM or players have never played a tabletop RPG before. That being said, the system is overall very lightweight, and is easy to pick up once you've played a couple of combat rounds. The sourcebook currently does not come with any pre-made characters or scenarios, so it is up to the GM to get everyone started.

All in all, I think C&Q is a unique system that has a lot of potential in the hands of the right GM. It is obviously designed for people who enjoy role-playing but dislike too much "rule"-playing. If you're looking for extremely detailed and specific rules and hundreds of pages of character options, this system is probably not for you. But if you want a quick and easy system with enough depth to support your epic storytelling, C&Q is worth checking out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Kervin Q. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2015 16:05:44

I think Cards & Quest is very refreshing especially with the use of cards instead of dice. I really enjoyed playing this RPG. The highlights for me are the dynamic of battle field type and the use of special abilities in conflict.

For battles in most traditional RPGs, the players either want to roll high or low depending on the system to land a successful offense or defense. In Cards & Quest, the rule changes depending on the battle field type and can change multiple times when fighting a monster. This dynamic makes battles a lot more more enjoyable.

Activating special abilities are tied directly with the battle field type and the value of the card. Players have be strategic in order to use their special abilities. This forces all the characters to play a role in the battle as opposed to having one character fight a monster by themselves.

I enjoyed playing Cards & Quests and I would it play it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cards & Quests: An Innovative Fantasy Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Jennifer P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2015 10:35:45

My new favorite RPG! Cards & Quest uses decks of cards instead of dice, which I prefer as it means more control over the outcome since you can choose which cards to play. It's easy-to-understand and lets you jump right into the action! I also like the creativity it allows. It seems much more centered on exploration rather than combat. Combat still happens, but it's resolved quickly.

The characters are well-developed and have cool descriptions. There's also nice, colorful artwork for each. The PDF is great, but I love the physical copy of the book because it's sturdy, has an attractive cover, and is easy to pass around. Same thing for the decks-- the custom Cards & Quest decks look pretty cool and have special cards according to your character's element (designated by hearts, clubs, spades, or diamonds with two elements per each) which in my opinion are a better way to do classes/professions. Again, you can totally play with regular decks, but I'd go for the Cards & Quest decks.

All in all definitely a creative, well-thought-out game that lets even beginners complete a fun quest in a couple of hours. Our group of five had a blast, and I look forward to playing more!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items