DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
D&D Gamma World RPG Booster Cards (GW7e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2022 13:50:40

I never did get the full set of booster cards when they came out. I was very pleased to see these offered as print on demand. The cards are great quality. For $1 more (which is cheap!), I was able to get a nice plastic card deck container. At a glance, I can tell no difference between these cards and the original. Plus, it was printed locally in the KC area. Great job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Gamma World RPG Booster Cards (GW7e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The Haunt Trilogy (Hardcover Special Edition)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2021 00:33:32
The Haunt Trilogy: Special Edition Review

I recently picked up a copy of The Haunt Trilogy: Special Edition, by Phil Beckwith and Travis Legge, and published by PB Publishing. The contents of this book are a compilation of PB Publishing's Haunt trilogy of adventures.

I should add a disclaimer here that I am friends with Phil Beckwith. I will, however, endeavor to keep this review as unbiased as possible.

I purchased a hardcover edition with the PDF. I heartily recommend that if you purchase the print version, you get the PDF version with it as well. I will explain that later.

At first glance, this book is just physically gorgeous. The cover is great, though I wish it was a brighter white color. I absolutely love the design and think it fits nicely side-by-side with my existing 5e hardcovers. The cover image could be better and seems a bit blurry, but the rest of the cover and trade dress makes me easily forgive that. I will say that the cover image is quite creepy!

The layout of the book is gorgeous, and includes some nifty monster art that has an almost comic book style. The monster stat blocks are very easy to read.

However, where the physical book breaks down is with pages in the appendices. Many are meant to be cut out, whether they're paper minis, encounter sheets, or character sheets. I just can't see cutting into a hardback book like this. Get the PDF version as well so you can print any of that out.

The encounter and character sheets have a neat design, but work needs to be done to offer greater contrast for easier reading. This would help those who are visually impaired. There are enough copies of the character sheets in this book to account for a full fourth (roughly) of this book. I would have rather seen added content.

I've only skimmed the text thus far, but I can tell you that the adventures are a set of dungeon crawls, but with story. I regret that I have not had a chance to play the adventures yet. I will say that other reviews have given this trilogy high marks for being well-written.

Check it out!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Haunt Trilogy (Hardcover Special Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Secret Societies of NeoExodus: Section Omega (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/26/2020 23:26:25

This is my mini-review of Section Omega.

As a fan of psionics, I loved that there was a psionic society in the NeoExodus setting. Section Omega is basically the Psi-Corps of NeoExodus. Psionic characters have a choice: join Section Omega, have your psionic powers removed, or die. They're reminiscent of the Wizards of High Sorcery in Dragonlance.

There's a lot of setting info here. Section Omega is entrenched in the history of NeoExodus. There are sections on the history, current status, HQ, and methods of the organization are all addressed, as well as other topics.

Plus a fair amount of crunch, all compatible with the psionics rules from Dreamscarred Press.

As for downsides, there are a few editing errors, including an incomplete sentence and some grammar mistakes. u

Overall, good product. I'd like to rate it higher, but the editing errors prohibit that.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Secret Societies of NeoExodus: Section Omega (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2019 00:51:35

It's a shame that this product has so many typos. A simple spelling and grammar check would have caught them.

I didn't look at the monster too closely, but it has more hit points than a tarrasque.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Good catch on the minor spelling mistakes. As a free product with a solo designer on it sometimes those slip through the cracks, but the product has been updated now. Once you've had a chance to look at the stats of the monster product please let us know what you think! The daunting task of possibly fighting a minor god should be scarier than a tarrasque so it sounds like we are right on target.
Curtain Call: A Sharn Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2019 01:23:59

All in all, a fantastic adventure! It's very DM-friendly. Runs surprisingly well for someone who wasn't prepared (which would be me ;) ).

There were a lot of fun twists and turns. The characters were all great, and the bad guy was quite unique.

I thought the book could have had better transitions between scenes.

Overall, I loved this one and had a blast running it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curtain Call: A Sharn Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

100 Names for Horses
Publisher: Pink Dice Bag Publishing
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2019 23:24:15

I love having horses in my games, largely due to being raised on a horse farm.

I do think a little extra work on formatting the table would help the readability. Some art would be good too. I would have liked to see a horse with a silly grin on its face, or just a nice picture of horses.

Anyway, good job on this. It's nice and simple, yet wholly useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Names for Horses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Atlas of the Dragonlance World (1e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2018 21:39:53

Karen Wynn Fonstad is an amazing cartographer, and her work shines in this atlas. It's a must-have for any fan of the Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Atlas of the Dragonlance World (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Bard - College of Hymns
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2016 23:40:17

While the idea of a divine bard is enticing, this particular rendition felt a little lacking. One of the comments said it lacked a little in inspiration, and I have to agree with this.

In essence, this version gives you some bonus proficiencies (Religion skill, a few cleric cantrips), boost an ally's channel divinity, a healing hymn, and a few cleric spells. It's almost like the whole class is there to boost other classes, yet doesn't retain an identity of its own. In essence, this is a bard with a little cleric mixed in.

I was happy to see an evil variant, but I'm not sure taking from the warlock is the right way to go.

What I was hoping to see was a subclass that stood more on its own (such as the recent College of Satire). If I could make a suggestion to the author, I would recommend reading War of the Lance, a Dragonlance 3.5 sourcebook by Margaret Weis Productions. Inside is the chorister prestige class, which delves into the concept of spiritual music. It provides a few bard options in an era where the bard class isn't normally available, but goes a lot further to make certain it stands on its own.

Likewise, you could look at the Goodfellow of Branchala prestige class from Holy Orders of the Stars, though to be fair, the College of Satire covers much of the same territory.

Anyway, I hope you take this as constructive criticism and I hope you give this idea another shot. Divine bards are all sorts of cool. They just need to have their own separate identity.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Bard - College of Hymns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Crystalmancy: The Powers of Gems
Publisher: EN Publishing
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2004 00:00:00

Crystalmancy is a 57-page PDF product from EN World Publishing, and is the first book by Dallas Parsons. I have to say, if this book is his first, I can?t wait to see what is forthcoming.

Crystalmancy is, simply put, a sourcebook on crystal magic. Overall, I thought this book was great. It was simple, to the point, and refreshing. One of the big selling points is that the zip file includes both a color and a black-and-white copy, just in case you don?t have access to a color printer. Just a note to those who print this out ? be sure to print as ?landscape?, rather than ?portrait?. At first, it looks a bit odd in a 3-ring binder, but I think that adds to the charm.

Chapter One is about the Crystalmancer, a new base class modeled after the Player?s Handbook wizard. Scribe Scroll is replaced with a Spellcrystal ability, and the bonus feats are replaced by various Crystal Mastery abilities. What unbalances this class, though, is that it adds several trinkets at every even level, some of which are near equivalents of metamagic feats.

Don?t want to add a new base class to your campaign? No problem! One can always use the variant Crystalmancer prestige class instead. This is, unfortunately, the only prestige class in the book. I would have liked to see more. Perhaps something akin to the Crystal Proselyte in Malhavoc?s Mindscapes.

This chapter ends with two new feats (Craft Spellcrystal and Create Crystal Familiar), and a Knowledge (Gemology) skill, as well as a sidebar on spellcrystals. This section could have been better labeled, and would benefit from some touch-up layout work. It isn?t clearly labeled otherwise.

Chapter Two is Magic of the Gems, a guide to all sorts of new spells. What I like about this chapter is that it not only has a sorcerer/wizard/crystalmancer spell list, it also has one for bards, clerics, and druids as well. In other words, one can be nearly any spellcasting class (save for paladin and ranger) and be able to use crystalmancy spells. There?s tons of great spells in this chapter, including a particular nasty called Crystallize Blood. That one sends shivers up my spine.

Chapter Three is Crystal Items. This provides an assortment of magical weapons, armor, and other items, including some artifacts as well.

Chapter Four is Locations and Personalities. This chapter includes the Plane of Crystal, a place similar to our world, but made of crystal. There?s a map, as well as various places of interest. Meet Tresmril, Lord of the Crystal Realm while you?re there. Plus, there?s some adventure hooks. There?s also a group of Crystal Keepers, various Crystal Lords, and even a nifty language called Crystil. The alphabet corresponds to the English alphabet, which makes for a fun tool for game masters to add flavor.

Chapter Five is Gem Beasts. This has several new monsters, including a Crystal Creature template and sample Crystal Worg. There?s various other monsters, including a gem dragon. One can even play the Berylis as a player character race.

I found this book to be quite fun and refreshing. It?s hard to find new ways to keep spellcasters fresh, but this book does it well. There?s an underlying thoughtfulness for those who buy this, not only for player options but for the color and black-and-white versions.

This book could stand a bit of touch-up on layout (and that?s really a nitpick), and could stand to have more prestige classes. It may have been nice as well to delve into the relationship of crystalmancers and psions, especially on how they each use crystal.

Overall, this book was a great read, and a lot of fun. Most of my criticisms are nitpicks (i.e. layout on the skill-and-feats areas), and the only real area of concern is game balance for the Crystalmancer base class. I would have liked to see more prestige classes, and it may have been nice as well to delve into the relationship of crystalmancers and psions, especially on how they each use crystal. This is not really necessary, though.

This book was simple, to the point, and covered what it intended to cover (the magic of crystals) quite well. For the price of $5, it was well worth the buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Crystalmancy: The Powers of Gems
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2004 00:00:00

The chart for the Psychic Hero says "Mystic Hero".



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
Well, I guess if the only flaw one finds is a technical issue like a table header, I guess I must have done everything else right. :)
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items