DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Tutorial: Versatile InDesign Book Covers
Publisher: Adam Jury
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/12/2017 16:42:58

As a developer, I've had some frustration in the past when it comes to getting my covers ready. I'd always have to make two different files; one for PDF and one for print. Now I don't have to. This is a quick, excellent video that shows you how to make use of InDesign's master pages to create covers for both print and PDF in a single document!

If you are just starting to learn InDesign, or have used the product for a while and want to speed up your workflow, this tutorial is for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tutorial: Versatile InDesign Book Covers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2017 12:34:27

I run my own RPG publishing company, so I rarely review products from other companies. I don't want to give other publishers the idea that I'm playing favoritism if I like a product or more importantly, in the event that I don't like a product (or have a similar product), writing the review to discourage others from buying it.

This book demands a response.

Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers, is quite simply one of the best writing guides I've read. The PDF gives established writers and aspiring writers alike a wealth of information on grammar, style, word usage; I could go on and on.

Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers has already helped me refine a manuscript I'm currently working on, and I'm not even finished reading the pdf! I encourage anyone seeking to hone their wordsmithing skills to buy this product immediately.

If I could ask for one thing, it would be to get this book into Print on Demand as soon as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Writing With Style: An Editor's Advice for RPG Writers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Tome of Brutal Tactics
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Michael j. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2016 15:55:19

If you’re looking for a supplement that adds a level of grit to your 5e campaign, this is the product to get.

All of the General Combat feats are thematic and tactical. Want to extend your critical threat range? You’re covered with the Critical Hitter feat. Some feats, such as Rending Gash and Signature Maneuver even boost the die type of the weapons you use.

Skill Mastery feats are an interesting expansion on the existing skill structure, applying ability bonuses to certain stats based on skill proficiencies. You also gain advantage on checks linked to the skill.

Weapon Style feats are pretty cool, allowing you to focus in improving your combat mastery with different types of weapons (Heavy, slashing, piercing, etc.). I think this section could have been fleshed out more, but the existing feats are great.

The new Boons are appropriately combat themed. You can do things like turn a normal attack into a critical hit, deflect damage, or even deal ongoing damage.

Combat Maneuvers are sexy. You can apply new conditions to a foe, such as gushing wounds, internal injuries, and even the loss of limbs! I wish there were more of these.

The Called Shot rules are wicked slick. Their execution is simple (on a successful hit, a Saving Throw determines whether or not the effect is applied) and the effects easy to manage without having to remember a ton of new conditions. Too many game designers try and introduce called shot systems, which end up being little more than table after table of specific effects. Detail is fine, but too much detail slows the game down. These rules don’t. Well done.

I think the new backgrounds, and the class options are cool, and provide interesting options for character creation without being redundant.

Two new conditions are presented: Battered, Bloodied. I think these are definitely worth integrating into your game if you wish to reflect the idea that characters get progressively weaker as they sustain more damage in combat. Helpless is listed in the conditions section, but I’m not sure if this is a new condition or not, as there doesn’t seem to be anything that triggers it.

Overall, very good supplement, especially for the price. There are a few issues with formatting that I would like to see cleaned up, but they aren’t deal breakers. The artwork is good and thematic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tome of Brutal Tactics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Venture 4th: Monster Maker
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2008 14:46:44

Venture 4th: Monster maker is exactly what the name implies; a solid set of guidelines for creating your own unique creatures for 4th edition games.

I don't consider myself an expert at game mechanics, but I felt that, after a few reads (I've read through it three times now), I am able to create monsters of any level, whether they are solo creatures, minions, elite monsters: Whatever type of monster I need, I can make with this set of guidelines.

The only thing I noticed were some nagging typos

Kudos to Adamant Entertainment for a great 4e product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Venture 4th: Monster Maker
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shaman's Stockart Spaceship #1
Publisher: Shaman's Stock Art
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/12/2008 11:06:44

Outstanding art. I wouldn't expect anything less from Anthony Cournoyer.

Thes eimages immediately fired up my imagination and I'm planning a project based on them.

Great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaman's Stockart Spaceship #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Shaman's Stockart Fantasy Creature #1
Publisher: Shaman's Stock Art
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2007 00:00:00

Outstanding resource.

I couldn't be happier with these images.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shaman's Stockart Fantasy Creature #1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ERG001: Portrait Package - Full rights
Publisher: Eastern Raider Games
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/29/2006 00:00:00

*Revised after finally getting enough spare time**

The art is quality which I will definately be using in at least one of my products.

The fact that the publisher went and changed the format of his images makes me very happy. I can't wait to see what his next effort (science fiction, maybe?) is!

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ERG001: Portrait Package - Full rights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Creator Reply:
I will ask Sage if there is a way to transfer the money back to you. Naturally this way, you loose the license and cannot use the images. I am sorry you haven't found the images useable. The resolutions of the images were lined (with numbers) in the products description but I still thank you to pointing out this problem, I changed the product description to even more stress the fact: the images are mostly meant for electronic use. These are not 72 dpi images. This property is given in an image and might be shown to you by your image-viewer application, but it is a property what's defined by the resolution. In most up this property can be changed, without changing the resolution. It might be true to you that you cannot do anything with a 100x100 image, but a forum admin can add it to the forums avatars, so it might be useable for other users. I thank you for your comment and I hope my next product, I am working on will be more satisfying, though that's not a stock art collection. Regards, Peter
ePublishing 101 (#9) - Branding 2: Logo Design
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2006 00:00:00

Another great product from Adamant Entertainment. This is an essential product for publishers and not just because it tells you (as you might guess from the title) what constitutes a good logo and what is a bad logo.

This product gives a great tutorial on how to design a logo in Adobe Illustrator and bring it into Photoshop to use with your cover art.

I highly recommend this product.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ePublishing 101 (#9) - Branding 2: Logo Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

ePublishing 101 (#7) - The Future
Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2006 00:00:00

Very good product.

I liked Gareth's insights into the future of the industry and his suggestions for finding new ways to take advantage of the e-publishing paradigm. I will definately be looking for ways in which I can use his suggestions with my company.

The layout seemed a bit rushed to me, but it wasn't anything that I would call bad.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I loved the research into the industry (particularly the "long tail" model)and the "Taking Advantage" section.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: minor nitpicks about layout, but nothing huge.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ePublishing 101 (#7) - The Future
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

My Thoughts on Writing and Publishing Short PDFs
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/11/2005 00:00:00

"My Thoughts on Writing and Publishing Short PDFs Comments" is an outstanding product filled with sound advice for any publisher who might be thinking about publishing short PDFs.

If you are a game publisher and have been thinking about creating short PDFs, I strongly suggest checking this product out first.

Kudos to Phillip Reed for a great, inexpensive product!<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Everything.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There were a couple of typos, but it wasn't a HUGE deal.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
My Thoughts on Writing and Publishing Short PDFs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Hell on Earth D20
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2004 00:00:00

Pretty cool product_BUT_I was dissapointed that they didn't take the time to Bookmark the PDF.

I know this isn't a print version, and it's a nitpick, but other companies bookmark their products, and it just seems really unproffessional (and kinda lazy to boot) to not take the time and bookmark it for easier navigation

It doesn't take that long to do it. Trust me, I've done it before.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth D20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
Publisher: RPG Objects
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2004 00:00:00

Totally awesome E-book. I hope this baby goes to print.

If you Like the Zombie Genre, you won't be dissapointed with this gem.

Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Brains: The Zombie Hunter's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blood and Relics (2nd Edition)
Publisher: RPG Objects
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2004 00:00:00

Pretty awesome update to an already quality product.

I was really anticipating this release and wasn't let down.

Charles Rice is a genius!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood and Relics (2nd Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Modern Backdrops
Publisher: RPG Objects
by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2003 00:00:00

I picked up Modern Backdrops last night, and I have to say that I'm very impressed. The maps are well done. The content from cover to cover raises the bar on what game writers such as myself need to be thinking about when they begin to write setting information for D20 Modern supplements.

Each town has plenty of information for Game masters to use, whether they want to inject a quick adventure into an existing campaign, or start new campaigns.

Modern Backdrops is a great resource for any Game Master.

My only real problem with the book is that there isn't a printable version, but that's just a minor issue, as I'm sure that the guys at RPGobjects will rectify the problem soon enough. They always have great support for the products they release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern Backdrops
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items