DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories
$ to $







Back
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot $0.00
Average Rating:4.3 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
6 4
1 1
1 1
0 0
0 1
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2024 04:52:37

This is a really good quality deck, the art is superb and the cardstock itself is very good. The pdf booklet is also very useful for advice on how to use it in play. Highly recommended even for something other than mage.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Douglas [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/02/2024 16:11:11

Got my set today (1/2/2024). I'm extremely satisfied with the product. The print and paper quality are better than expected and of the same/similar quality to a standard Rider-Waite tarot deck. As for other reviews mentioning the lack of booklet, there is a free PDF that comes with the purchase, but I would suggest also looking up tarot tutorials on YouTube or going to your local bookstore or occult shop and pick up a few tarot books. Even if you don't practice occultism/Paganism, having the basic knowledge of tarot layouts adds a sense of realism to your game. It also might not be a bad idea to learn how to stack a deck so you get the cards you want every time. As for what the cards mean esoterically, you can either pick up a tarot book (particularly for the Rider-Waite deck) or just make it up for the purposes of your story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Greg F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/24/2023 17:30:52

As of July 2023, when I purchased this "Mage the Ascension" tarot deck, the following issues lead to me giving a one star review:

  1. The only thing about this product that has a Mage the Ascension theme is the tuck box that holds the cards.
  2. There is nothing about the cards themselves that says "Mage the Ascension" - literally nothing. This is basically some random tarot deck put into a Mage tuck box.
  3. Even some of the card names don't matchup to Mage the Ascension. The iconinc tarot card shown on the cover of most versions of the core rules is "The Mage", featuring Dante (one of the early iconic characters in Mage fiction). Yet the corresponding card in this deck is "Magus"
  4. Related to #3 above, the original card art for "The Mage" with Dante is on the back of the tuck box.
  5. For some cards, the color of the card name is very close to the color of the card background, making oit hard to tell what card it is.
  6. And to add insult to injury, the tarot deck came with two small pieces of paoer, one for the tuck box and one for the deck of cards. Each piece of paper has a picture of the product, and for the tarot desk it shows a card from the original set.

I would have been better off going to a local Half Price Book store or an atrology store, find a tarot deck I liked, and then printed my favorite Mage art at a size that would let me put Mage art on the card box, and I would have had a less expensive and much better tarot deck for Mage the Ascension.

At one time this product may have been closer to the original Mage the Ascension deck (in fact it sounds like that may have been the case a few years ago, based on some of the other, older reviews), but that is no longer the case.

If I could give this zero stars I would. Avoid this product, it is a waste of your money if you want a Mage the Ascension tarot deck.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Marcos S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2023 11:20:02

While the paper and printing quality are great, the printing is slightly offset towards the bottom. It's not much, but it's enough to give it a cheap, knock-off feeling. In addition, be aware that the "Six of Questing" card has the wrong typography on it: one would expect to see the roman numeral "VI" on it, but instead, there's a zero "0" on it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Danny S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/27/2021 13:41:14

Super happy with these. My old deck got destroyed.

The quality of print, if you look really close, isn't quite the same as the originals but that's just me being fussy. And the card weight is slightly closer to a normal playing card than the originals. But again, fussy.

As I said I am made up I have this deck back despite these slight criticisms.

(the postage to UK is killer so check before you click)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Amber G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2020 22:31:59

(Deleted my original review after reading another that helped partially resolve a major issue I'd had on my order! Thank you to Van W.!)

Card quality: Very good. Sturdy. Art quality: Exceedingly good. Exceeds expectations. Evokes the Rider-Waite Tarot aesthetic while still putting a Mage spin on things. Tuck box: Good. A teeny bit flimsy, but it's still quite lovely.

The product page says it comes with instructions though, which I thought meant I'd get an actual physical instructional book to help me with my readings and storytelling for chronicles. It didn't, though, but I did find the instructions in the Storyteller's Vault as a pdf. Was saddened at lack of a physical copy though; that was something that I'd factored into whether or not I wanted to purchase. So just be aware that while the product page says it comes with a book, it actually doesn't; you'll have to find the pdf in the Vault. I knocked off a star for that, as I found it to be mildly misleading advertising on the product page.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Mage The Ascension Tarot
Publisher: White Wolf
by Van W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/16/2019 17:18:46

I am unbelievably shocked at how good this is. I thought it was impossible to reproduce this deck since all the original high resolution files were lost, but the quality is incredible. Caveat: you'll need to get the rulebook on another page in the storyteller's vault: https://www.storytellersv- ault.com/product/249135/Mage-The-Ascension-Tarot-Deck-Art-Pack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 7 (of 7 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
pixel_trans.gif
pixel_trans.gif Back pixel_trans.gif
0 items