DriveThruCards.com
Browse Categories







Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
Publisher: PenguinComics
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2021 15:43:40

Short & Cute!

Fun little diversion and I think it strikes a nice balance not being too simple or complex.

My 8yo son got a big kick out of it!

Obligatory this game cost me 1 quarter and lasted about as long as a real game of pinball. ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Random Solo Adventure: Pinball
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

LIfers - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game # 18
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2021 12:44:27

Picked this up on a whim during the Space sale and it's not bad for 37 cents.

It's a mini-book - one sheet of paper which folded makes 8 pages.

One page is the cover, two describe an interesting background setting and the remaining actually flesh out a decent RPG system.

The minigame wants to be a self-contained game, but IMHO these would work much better if the RPG framework was a mini-book all to itself and the setting was given more detail and room to breathe, including only scenario-specific equipment & rules.

Still, you could fill an afternoon with this, and possibly have it lead into something larger, but it's mostly an idea/setup that would be better used in some other system.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
LIfers - Rarr I'm A Pocket Game # 18
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Blammo Bots - Rarr! I'm a Pocket Game #2
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2021 12:33:10

Decent amount of game here for the price.

Picked this up on a whim during the Space sale for 37 cents and I'm pleased with it.

As said in the description this one reminds me a lot of Xybots (I've got one in the garage!) where player(s) are taversing a maze filled with robots trying to kill them.

The GM has a map and only tells the player(s) what they can see from their perspective in it.

Fun for short sessions, and could easily be dropped into a larger SciFi game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blammo Bots - Rarr! I'm a Pocket Game #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Curse of Castle Ravenstein
Publisher: Alexey Aparin
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/12/2021 18:22:32

Great theme and another unique victory condition make this another great adventure!

Playing with the cards is a real treat - the printed oversized cards are very nice, drawing for each results of room type, contents, etc. I really like this style of artwork as well.

Slight update to the Magic Treasure cards is nice "If you already have this, roll on the 4AD magic treasure table instead." I be applying that to all of these dungeons from here on out.

For this set I would not reommend adding in extra Bosses - you will want to meet these guys. And they go away from the deck so at that point you could sub in a card or three...

Also note that the bosses scale along with Highest Character Level to make sure you have enough challenge. My level 2 characters made is out a little beat up and mostly leveled up to 3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Curse of Castle Ravenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Forest of the Spider Queen
Publisher: Alexey Aparin
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2021 14:43:04

Just played through this with new characters and here are my impressions:

  • The first printed cards I have gotten from DTRPG and the quality is very nice - the oversized cards are a real treat! Not sure what I'm going to store them in yet though.

  • The goal for this adventure is quite different, carve a path to all four edges of the map, which makes for a nice change and forces you to travel a bit. For an extra challenge, don't allow these paths to be within 4 squares from the corners of the map - that'll prevent you from bee-lining to the corners.

  • Generating all room content from cards is very elagent. I drew a card for each element until the stack was empty, then reshuffled. Makes me want a crazy full 36 card deck to play the base game with! (Note: Alexy just came out with a Monsters Deck in the time it took me to get this order, it for sure will be in my next physical order...) I did add the two Boss Monster cards to the mix but they didn't show up this game. (That dang giant spider through, I saw him a few times...)

  • Moving around outside was a nice change of pace, with lots of dead ends, but ways to hack through the trees and/or swim/fly across rivers. Double the wandering monsters on this map, I ran into many! (In fact wandering monsters killed off my wizard and cleric while returning to the start room...)

  • Overall a very fun 'dungeon' to play through, I look forward to playing through the others!


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Forest of the Spider Queen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Animated Armor - Boss Card
Publisher: Alexey Aparin
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/11/2021 14:24:32

Very nice to have these to add to the boss pool while playing these 4AD adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animated Armor - Boss Card
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Publisher: Larcenous Designs, LLC
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2021 18:50:26

There's an impressive amount of utility contained within these cards (absolutely crazy for a buck!) - next time I place a physical order I'll probably pick up the Space and Fantacy sets.

A nice bonus with the PDF is that it's got both black & white and color versions, and if you just print them on cardstock and cut them out, you have 120 cards to draw from, no flipping! ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Fiendish Foes
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Chad B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/08/2021 19:04:43

First supplement I added to 4AD after having a party survive a few adventures - characters are all around level 4 and I'm afraid of dying again! ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fiendish Foes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruCards.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items